Sandals Montego Bay

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    S

    Nice Spacious Property

    Reviewed by Sandy on May 21, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    This is a nice property that has great food options and friendly staff. This property has a nice beach and is located a short distance from the airport so there are times when you can hear planes. This is a no tipping property

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    M

    A Sure Thing

    Reviewed by MJ on May 09, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    This property has something for everyone. Great food options, entertainment, lovely accommodations and a great beach.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    t

    Loved the food and the staff was so friendly.

    Reviewed by tessa on May 04, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    Beautiful resort. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. It's also great that there is a no-tipping policy to make things simpler. The food was amazing with a great selection of vegetarian food items. The location was very close to the airport and when the flights went by the staff would wave up at the plane. The amenities in the bathroom was of excellent quality. Thoroughly had a great time.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    B

    Lively resort!

    Reviewed by Basia M on May 02, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    A very lively resort with a lot of activities offered. It's geared more towards a social crowd, yet you can still get away from it if you would like some romantic time. The swim up rooms are amazing as they offer you access to a nice pool in a quiet location. The hotel has a wonderful beach. Hotel has a modern decor and the grounds beautifully landscaped.The food is delicious. Keep in mind this resort is the closest of all the other Sandals to the airport and you will hear the planes taking off, but the location is really convenient and close to the hip strip.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    M

    Great Beach!

    Reviewed by Mel Dawe on May 01, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Friends

    Beautiful resort with an amazing beach. service was great - never had to tip which was quite nice! Food was good, resort had lots of open areas near the water which I like . The only major downfall for this resort is the location directly across from the airport runway - not alot of flights that leave and arrive daily into Montego Bay , but when they do it is really quite loud

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    N

    I loved our stay at this resort! Great food options. Spacious resort. Truly enjoyed staying in a swim-up club level room with patio.

    Reviewed by Nada on May 01, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    An upbeat vibe and energy at this resort. Staff are very accommodating and are always smiling. Conveniently, situated 4km from the airport.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    S

    Beach for days!

    Reviewed by Sam on Apr 30, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    Amazing service! The beach is amazing as the property is well layed out and the beach is very long, lots of room to find a beach chair! The airport is very close so when the planes take off you can see them (and hear them!) from the beach! Didn't bother me however can be startling if you aren't expecting it. The service and food was amazing - if you go here try Tokyo Jo's restaurant!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    S

    Only go to resort if you have no other choices available

    Reviewed by SandS on Jun 18, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    Rooms very nice. States 15 minutes from airport, property is on other side of airport about 100m away from fence of airport property. Seats on transfer bus were covered in duct tape to keep them together, and driver fully expected/demanded a tip. Check in awful, room was not ready, couldn’t get any info from staff and finally told maintenance issue and will have to have another room for a night. Arrived at 10:30am, no room/access to luggage until 4pm. Had to give flight info just before leaving as iPad check in doesn’t work. Annoying that their technology at check-in to "simplify" stay doesn't work. Hot tub did not function for whole vacation, pool closed at 5:3pm. Food was of average quality, no complaints, and not spectacular. Staff were generally expecting gratuities for their services, even for a tip-included vacation. Noisy construction currently on the site, no warning at time of booking. Knew about noisy planes bring ear plugs if you want an afternoon nap . This resort not recommended, may consider different Sandals.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    F

    tennis and water sports need more staff

    Reviewed by Falco79AD on Feb 24, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    We just returned from our first vacation at Sandals Montego Bay. We enjoyed our 10 days. Overall we give this resort 7/10. The staff are very helpful and pleasant. We give them 8/10. We enjoyed the beach, water and land activities, shows and food. Rooms are kept clean and appear to be recently upgraded Sea Grapes block . Showering is awkward because they have Arc shower curtains but not the curved Arc shower rods. Fitness centre is very well kept with variety of quality durable equipment and free weights. However, the treadmill touch screens have issues. The tennis courts need improving. Only 1/4 was okay not great . Surfaces are cracked water-sun damage . Nets are kept too tight with no way to slacken the tension. They need to keep cleaning tools on hand at the courts brooms and squeegee . The water sports are well run by knowledgable staff with whom safety comes first. We like that! But they are under staffed because they close every day for 2 hours from noon to 2 pm. This takes away the best time for sailing - limits sailing time for the day to maybe 3 hours in morning. At noon they call you back to beach for their 2 hour lunch break. By time they re-open at 2 pm it is often too windy to sail anymore for the rest of the day! The water sports group needs more staff and they need to stagger their lunch breaks to ensure they are well staffed at all times. This needs to change. This is a game breaker! For these reasons we will likely not return unless they fix these issues. We may recommend this resort to our friends, but with mixed reservations.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6556 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Paradise

    Reviewed by harlee t() on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We spent 5 days at this incredible resort. From the moment we got picked up at the airport- in a BMW- we felt so taken care of. Everyone was so hospitable, welcoming and kind. The resort was beautiful, all the staff were kind and accommodating. The food and drink were delicious. We really enjoyed how the Playmakers engaged you in activities. We were impressed by the variety of food and happy that there were many Jamaican dishes to try. Latitudes- the over water bar- is so romantic and beautiful. The hobie cats were a blast and kayaking was fun as well. Again- all of the staff are so accommodating and kind. We were sad to leave and cannot wait to return again!

    Incredible Beach Destination

    Reviewed by B8655GLkevinh(Houston, Texas) on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Overall, just a phenomenal vacation experience. This was my first ever Sandals experience and when I think of what the ultimate beach vacation is supposed to entail, this absolutely fulfilled that thought. We stayed 4 days in a butler suite (HBH) and can't say enough good things. From the reception into the Sandals Club at the airport to the BMW transfers and even to checkout, it was all simply wonderful. Our butlers were available for anything/everything we requested, the dining (room service, several restaurants) was fantastic and the bar service was also superlative. The physical property is in tip-top shape and very impressive. I've been told of many recent capital improvements and left very impressed. The beach is as advertised, pure and simple. You must be aware that the airport is quite literally next door. There are about 25 departures a day and you will get to see every one of them if you are outdoors. That said, the planes didn't bother us one bit at all. Very excited to return sometime in the near future.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Fabulous

    Reviewed by Luvnillini() on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We had one of the rooms that walked out to the pool...I highly recommend it! But any room would be fine. Once you're on site, you can go to any of the pools. They've done some remodeling and added a few restaurants since our last visit there just a year ago, and it's all wonderful! Every need or desire is anticipated, and there's really nothing lacking in the facility or the service. I highly recommend it!!

    Wedding in Paradise

    Reviewed by AMReynolds77(Lodi, New Jersey) on Jul 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We invited over 50 guests to attend our SMB wedding and everyone couldn’t stop raving about the quality of service, the beautiful resort and the amazing staff! Our wedding planner Sherika was absolutely amazing to say the least. From start to finish she accommodated all of our requests with delight. Our wedding was everything we hoped for. The staff made the entire experience efffortless. The playmakers hosted a few private events for our guests which were super fun that our guests truly enjoyed them! Every night there was something being hosted on the resort for the guests for entertainment including game nights, talent shows, karaoke and live music. The food is all top notch. Couldn’t pick a favorite spot because they were all really yummy! 11 out of 10. We already booked our anniversary trip for next year. Highly highly recommended. We few tips, men bring long pants as there are two restaurants that require it. Bring bug spray! At night they tend to come out and if ur out be sure to use it. Bites don’t look cute with a swim suit haha. Bring cash. Though it’s an all inclusive, there is a gift shop and it’s required for any excursions.

    Relaxing in Paradise

    Reviewed by EJandCathyRomero() on Jul 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Our first visit to Jamaica was all that we had dreamed. Sandals Montego Bay resort was pristine, beautiful, and had everything we needed to be comfortable and relaxed during our stay. Our room was centrally located and we took advantage of the amazing tub on the balcony several times. The bars were wonderful and made anything we asked (custom). The restaurants were also fabulous, but we had two favorites - one was Soy (sushi) which was BLOW MY MIND amazing! The sushi was up there as one of the best we have ever had. I cannot tell you how great the sashimi was! But the desserts (cheesecake and amazing fruit bowl) will never be forgotten! The waitress we got at Soy was SHANTINA and I just loved her! She had a great smile and made us feel so welcome. She was WONDERFUL! Butch's Steakhouse also met our expectations and more. The service we received was great even though we forgot to make reservations - Venessa took GREAT care of us! Thank you for everything!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX