The Beach at Atlantis

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    T

    Loved the beach and the Aquaventure park.

    Reviewed by Theresa on May 18, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2019

    Trip Type: Large group

    Beautiful hotel with great amenities including the aquaventure area. The waterview and ocean view rooms were very adequate. Loved the close proximity to the lazy river and the kids area. Food options were plentiful and the food was always great.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    T

    Below average resort, old outdated building and not clean at all.

    Reviewed by Tina on Apr 07, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2019

    Trip Type: Couple

    This resort is dirty and many things did not work. Out of two pools, one was not heated all week, the food was cold even at their 5 star restaurant. Service terrible, when the server came by for drinks at the pool or beach, they never followed through and came back with the drinks. Not many food options by the water, pizza took half hour to hour and a half. Internet was so slow, and had to pay for an upgrade. Bed was very uncomfortable. Rooms had carpet, smelled musty, the floors in bathroom area were never washed. Bathroom area was not cleaned well at all, never had a clean smell. The patio furniture was all tattered up, the bar area was never wiped down in the room. There was an old napkin on the fridge left all week, never got wiped down. Very dirty hotel. Food was below average. Not much fruit, breakfast bars had one person working in the egg sections and pancake section respectively, took forever, toilets in the restaurants and main building were not cleaned well, everything was old and plumbing was slow. I don't go away often and will never return to a sandals. Way overpriced, if it was half the price I wouldn't complain, but shouldn't be this expensive when clearly at the most 3 star.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4310 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-3.5

    Value

    Value-3

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Fun trip except ripped off

    Reviewed by Claire P() on Aug 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    I’m a single mom traveling with two kids. I wanted a place where everything was right there- and was willing to pay Bahamas prices. When we arrived, our door keycard did not work- this happens- left the kids and the luggage and went back to the front desk. I really didn’t want to stand in the line again and a woman happened to pay attention to me after a few minutes and gave me a new key card. This one didn’t work either. This time I got the bellhop- who directed me to a phone next to the woman who gave me the keycards, who shrugged her shoulders at them not working. I called security to hopefully open my door for the first time. Security was unable to open the door. They called engineering. I went back to the front desk and asked for a new room. She stated I had to ‘follow the process.’ I was stuck- so finally after over 2 hours, we got into our room. The next morning I had a $900 credit card charge they said was a hold. 4 days later, the keycard deactivated, and we followed this ‘process’ again. On checkout, I was given a $900 bill + $85 in taxes. I charged everything to my credit card not the room card- so it looks like they took several of our meals every day, along with someone else’s, to get up to the $900 hold fee. I let her know we were not paying this because it was a double charge and she was checking on it. When my credit card was billed a few days later, at least now my credit card can fight it for me. I kept every receipt, so how unlucky for them I was organized on this trip! No one has ever gotten back to me about the door or the charges, which is the reason for my post today. My 9 year old put it best, things don’t seem to work right in the Bahamas! Other than being taken advantage of monetarily and spending two of our six nights locked out waiting, the place is beautiful. Plenty to do and we had fun regardless- it would have been a shame to let them ruin it. My best advise is to possibly not stay at the beach, pick one of their other hotels- they seem to be better run. Keep track of what you spend and how you spend it. You cannot go wrong with the food places- Carmine’s was the most reasonably priced with lots of food. Swimming with the dolphins was amazing- you also get a snorkel and mask, so do this close to the first day and the kids can entertain themselves in the ocean for days. I would rate Atlantis a 5 if the customer service around our problems was better or existed. Things happen- it is how you handle them- and they did not.

    Amazing beach!

    Reviewed by 596raynas(corpus christi, United States) on Aug 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Resort is beautiful and beach is amazing!! clearest water, swam and snorkel daily. Pools and water park amazing experience for my kids and enjoyed by all Kids 9-19! The rapid river was our favorite part. Took 9-13 year olds to kids club nightly and they were begging to go and didn’t want to leave. We loved that they were having fun and that allowed us visit the casino or eat out. They had a blast every night! Food is terrible and price is worse. This is only thing that made trip bad. We spent a small fortune just to eat. Go to Dunkin’ Donuts or Anthony on corner and visit the store next to it to get your souvenirs. We loved the Italian one and the pizzas but rest was average food at 5 star price. Steakhouse was awful. Great experience for my children. My 19 year cold drink and gamble so he was happy and the 9 year old loved the aquariums (we visited all daily) and the kids club. Everyone should go once but take your own snacks and eat off resort to save money. My husband went to Fish Fry 3 times! He loved the food there! Everyone is friendly and helpful. We loved our housekeeper and tipped her bc she was so helpful and nice!

    Paradise...lost!

    Reviewed by N19NEH(Kirkby-in-Ashfield, United Kingdom) on Aug 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Planning this holiday for 18 months and setting out budgets and going from a recommendation led us to a 3 night stay at The Beach, Atlantis. Good points first, the room was big enough for four people, it was nice and bright with the decor and as a Marriott BonVoy member (forgot to add account number to stay) it was on the first impression what we would come to expect from a good quality Marriott room. The shark and ray pools dotted around the resort are just something different and some of the aquariums truly worth seeing. However, this resort is huge, so big it is overwhelming. We found some of the staff really good and others to preoccupied with the "flash" rather than being there to put the customer 1st (priority in a £250 a night hotel, right?). The in resort amenities offer a great variety, but most are at an (inflated) additional cost to the resort fee you pay. The food and drink prices in resort are top end for middle the road quality and finally the longer you stay the more little things you find not quite adding up to the rate you pay. Cracked concrete balcony above was a bit concerning, patio doors with major rust problems another concern and last but far from least the amount of insect or flea bites my family (especially my wife) on our legs to which we are still applying the hydrocortisone cream to that may or may not have been attributed to the room - not sure if pets are allowed in Atlantis. Overall, most reviews of Atlantis are spot on, it is grand but it's showing its age and the room rates charged may find it being overtook by other resorts in the near future. The Ocean Club golf course is a must do if you have the time and $240 green fee is fine by you...go when storms not forecast as there is no refund!

    Lots to do but way expensive

    Reviewed by jaysong996(Pocatello, Idaho) on Aug 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Atlantis Room: The Beach towers need updated. Everything is old so looks dirty, be assured it is clean though. The customer service is great and is always available for any issues or questions. Water park: The water park is awesome and had tons of stuff to do. If you can rent a cabana it is worth it. The lazy river is actually called rapids river and is not lazy at all. Really good time. Some of the rides share stairs for other rides. This is sometimes confusing but once you get It figured out you can do the less popular slides as fast and as much as you want. Food and drinks: very expensive and confusing. When you check in they will try and charge you 300 a day to charge to your room for food and drink charges. You get back what you don’t use at the end. If you don’t do the 300 a day any resort credits you got as a deal for booking is a hassle to use. If you choose the meal plan it is extremely limited on choices at the approved restaurants. Our friends did the math for their family and the meal plan was more expensive then what they spent without it. You get charged a 15% gratuity on all charges as well as a resort tax. When you check out they charge the resort tax on all of your room charges again. Snorkeling the cove was amazing. Calm waters and lots of fish. Overall a ton to do and extremely fun but for the price I wouldn’t go back.

    Best Beaches!!! Beautiful Property!! Fun For All!!

    Reviewed by ChristineLKN() on Aug 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Stayed at The Beach Hotel. Was the least expensive with the least bells and whistles but perfect since we didn't spend much time in the room. The property was stunning with something for everyone from the beach, pools, lazy rivers and water slides to the aquariums, marine life and casino. Will defiantly go back.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX