Casa Marina Beach Resort

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    P

    Very good value for the money, had a great stay and would return

    Reviewed by Pat on Dec 08, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    This is pretty nice resort for a 3 star. The staff are great, great views and beach but not the type of beach for long walks.The food was pretty good with lots of choice.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    T

    We loved our stay.

    Reviewed by Tracy on Nov 20, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2018

    Trip Type: Wedding

    Going back for sure! We were a wedding party of 25 with 10 rooms and we were all very happy with the accommodations.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    P

    WE HAD A GREAT 11 DAYS

    Reviewed by Paulette on Jun 06, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Friends

    We were 2 couples staying here , first and formost someone needs to tell the manager that he should park his car elswhere as there were a few people watching people on the streets we did alot of people watching and that was a nightly thing we enjoyed , WHEN the managers car was not blocking our view. We really loved the resort but wished it had a swim up bar . We were put in the older rooms my sister was placed far from me we plan our trips as we dont see each other much so would have loved to have her beside us , it finally happened when we got our travel rep to do it it was done very quickly very HAPPY for that .The food was AWESOME great varity and loved everything . Pablo the guy that helped us was VERY VERY awesome would Highly reccomend him to future travelers we miss him so much over all this is a nice place and would go back but not right now .

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    p

    Going back in 2018

    Reviewed by pothole on Nov 01, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    I'm beginning to believe that people who write negative reviews actually look for things to complain about. They would have a few things to complain about on my trip, two of the restaurants were closed, workmen were upgrading one entire building and one of the bars was closed !! I DIDN'T CARE, The Casa Marina Resort is fabulous and cannot be beaten for the price. Many reviewers state the food is awful and the buffets are the same every day, totally untrue. I am the cook at home and a very picky eater, the food at Casa Marina is excellent and even better than a certain 5 star resort further up the coast. Juan on the omelette station is a master at cooking eggs, which were delicious whichever way he did them, the restaurant staff kept the selections topped up and were quick to clear away used crockery. The Italian specialty restaurant Tuscan Beef was fabulous although I didn't think the Seafood restaurant was anything special. The buffets were different every day and the food served was always fresh and very flavourful. The AC worked fine and we never had a problem with the hot water, towels or soap and shampoo products. If the pop in the fridge was consumed it was replaced but beer was only there the first day. A beautiful fruit tray was delivered to our room after we had checked in with a pineapple, 3 different types of melon and mango. We never had a problem with loungers by the pool and guests swam from 6am to well after 8, you could not do this in the 5 star place I have stayed at. The beer was ice cold and green flags flew every day, now, I had to get my own drinks at the pool, the bathroom wasn't marble and I didn't get beer in the fridge every day, if that's what you want, pay another $500 per week and go elsewhere. If you want a fabulous beach vacation with good food, friendly staff and great entertainment, go to Casa Marina. I spoke to a family from T.O who were on their 11th visit, would that happen if this place wasn't great?? The shops and bars in Sosua a

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    P

    Going back, enuff said !

    Reviewed by Pothole on Oct 27, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    Excellent value for money at this resort. The staff are fabulous and if people would stop looking for every iota to complain about maybe they would actually enjoy their vacation. We went lo season ( June) and although some of the bars and restaurants were closed for renovations the 2 minute walk to the next bar didn't kill us !!! Food, pools and entertinment were great and being able to walk out of the front of the complex straight into the town was an added bonus as normally you woyuldn't be able to do that. A local bat with Canadian owners hooked us up with a taxi guy who drove us where ever we wanted to go and spent the whole day showing us around Puerto Plata and the local life. Forget the tour operators, we bought him lunch at siesta time as we wanted to make purchases in the jewelry district and for the whole day he only charged us $80us. We are probably going next June too.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    Busloads of locals on the weekend from Friday to Sunday

    Reviewed by Lio on Jul 04, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    The Casa Marina is a good value except from Friday to Sunday when busloads of locals come with their whole family. They take over the pools.buffet, bars and jacuzi's It seems that the hotel has promotions for the locals and international travellers are left with a lot of loud of noise and line ups. The food is good asnd there is variety, the rooms are comfortable, however the plumming in the washroom needs updating. No elevators so be aware on what floor they put you. 4 floors Wi--Fi one has to pay for it almost useless very few spots where you can get the signal, if it's not essential spend the money on something else

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    J

    I'll be back.

    Reviewed by Jules on May 31, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2015

    Trip Type: Single

    Love this resort. The staff are fabulous. There is always good food to eat. Being in a village gives you all kinds of perks. Lots to see and do. Thank you.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    v

    I would never recommend this hotel and would never stay there again

    Reviewed by victoria on May 19, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: May 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    Casa Marina Beach Resort had beautiful grounds while the rooms needed updates. The rooms garden level had no windows to open and no screens on the sliding glass doors that locked, So it was necessary to use the air conditioning. At times a perfume smell would come from the A/C. During our 10 day stay they fumigated twice. There was no place in the rooms to hang towels for 3 people- one towel bar that was 24 inches. The sheets were threadbare and blankets had holes. There was lots of variety in food however it was poor quality. Everything was over salted. Some of the staff were very nice while on the most part I felt like I was imposing on them when I requested something. The children's program they offered was unorganized and lacked supplies.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    G

    Good Standard Beach Getaway 3-Star

    Reviewed by Gtatk on Mar 25, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    My boyfriend and I found this place last minute during the peak season of beach escapes in winter and it is a solid three-star resort. We went in expecting a three-star and were quite happy, in general. The rooms are outdated, yes, but the mattress is comfortable and the air conditioning works very well. Surprisingly great selection of TV channels. The best part of the Casa Marina resort are the grounds and the beach. The grounds are beautiful. The view from the beach is absolutely breathtaking. You always have a view of the mountain and the city of Puerto Plata. I loved the beach and swimming in the ocean. The waves and currents are stronger than in the Caribbean Sea, but I personally find that a lot more fun! The food is okay. Nothing special - and it got a little repetitive after 5 days. That said, in general it's quite tasty and at least there're generally enough options to satisfy anyone. You can also make a reservation at any of the à la carte restaurants. They say you need to make a reservation before 11:30 am the same day, but the spots fill up so fast that we actually had to make reservations at least 1-2 days in advance! The reception staff is unfortunately very rude, but the rest of the staff are generally very nice. We did one excursion: Paradise Island. Very highly recommended but you leave very early in the morning so make sure to grab some fruit from the buffet the night before because there's no opportunity to eat until 2 pm that day! As well, I discovered that I am terrified of speedboating in the ocean. If you think this may be you, go with the VIP Paradise Island where you arrive on a much larger boat. All in all, it's a very good resort and for the price we paid, we can't complain. I would recommend to anyone who wants a cheap getaway and doesn't need five-start treatment.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX