Grand Sirenis Matlali Hills Resort & Spa

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    J

    If you don?t go to the timeshare meeting don?t expect to get into the theme restaurants.

    Reviewed by John on Oct 17, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: July 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Overall I enjoyed the stay and the facilities, but trying to get a reservation to any of the restaurants was a nightmare. I had no interest in spending 6 hours in a timeshare/vacation club meeting and because of that the restaurants all became fully booked. You must have a reservation to eat at any of the restaurants other than the buffet (which was small with limited choices, ? of the salad bar were trays of sliced onions) Every time I tried to get a reservation I got a different story, from ?the computers are down?, ?the chef hasn?t released any tables?, ?we only book 24 hours in advance? to ?fully reserved?. The small buffet looks over the steak house and never once was it ever full, it holds 50 people and often there were 8 or fewer people in there and they would not allow anyone else in. I expressed my concern to many people who kept trying to turn it around to ?come to our presentation and then you can get whatever reservation you like?. Had I known this going in that there was only 1 small buffet restaurant I would have been ok, but I was disappointed that I never had the chance to eat at the Brazilian steakhouse that was advertised.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    D

    We would never go back to the Grand Sirenus

    Reviewed by DLW on Feb 05, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    We would never go back there even though the location up in the Hills was great. The staff were accommodating with what they had to work with. The Beach Club was nothing less than disgusting especially the washrooms. All the furniture was dated, stained and in many cases broken. We are composing a letter defining what we found, we are seasoned travelers in Mexico and this resort did not live up to its rating. Westjet most certainly did look after us in our travels and in the tours we went on, that we did appreciate greatly.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    N

    Grand Sirenis not so Grand

    Reviewed by Nicky on Jan 12, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: November 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    The only thing grand about the Grand Sirenis is the property. Food quality is poor. Some staff try to be accommodating, while others just are not interested. Cleanliness standards are low. We would not recommend this hotel.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    M

    I would not recommend or go back.

    Reviewed by Marie on Dec 27, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2017

    Trip Type: Single

    Pros:Overall rooms and resort layout is great. Nice to be in the jungle looking at the wild life. It doesn?t feel crowded. Spa is the best thing about this resort. The staff is attentive and really cares. One of the best facial I ever had. Good products and good services. Pools are nice. Japanese restaurant and the breakfast at the Italian restaurant were really good. Chef at the beach is excellent. Cons: Adjoining rooms can be noisy. No shampoo/conditionner. Asked for refill of containers - never came. Hotel is miles from everything, they have no onsite store for necessities. I got bored really quickly. Hot water takes a long time to come. Once it does, you had to be quick or step aside as it got freezing again. I know Mexico has water quality issue, but your eyes and nose shouldn?t burn while showering. Service: I wasn?t impressed. I spoke to several others customers and they all said the same: we are not feeling it? we are disappointed in services.. I asked for some basics & was told no. I involved Westjet and then efforts were made. Steakhouse: my tenderloin tasted as if it was dipped in a salt bath for days. The buffet is not great. I went to an all inclusive and lost 2lbs. The wine (Marbella) is undrinkable. a 4.5 start resort should offer a decent house wine. There are cats begging for food as you eat. The beach is not private and you will be hassled to buy knick gnats. At the beach, the Chef cooked Paella. I could see langoustines. Sorry, can?t have it, you?re not a member. So you are treated according to your bracelet colour. Tips are included in the fare but the staff expects more. I gave out $65 US on top of what was in the fare. I arrived late due to weather. I called Room service (24 hrs) as all was closed. I was hung up on 4 times. I had to work for everything. I?m not a difficult guest nor were all the families I met. None of us felt we have value for money. I?m used to 3 stars. This was going to be my taste of a 4.5 stars. Not even close.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    K

    Exceeded our expectations! Beautiful resort with wonderful staff!

    Reviewed by Kate on Apr 26, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    Just back from a wonderful week at the Matlali Hills Resort in La Cruz Mexico! We absolutely loved this resort, the location, the staff, the food, the suites - all awesome! The resort is not on the beach - it has a wonderful location hillside with lovely views. The vegetation is beautiful - grounds are immaculate! There is a shuttle that runs you to a private beach club every half hour if you so wish. Once at the beach everything is provided - chairs, umbrellas, food, and of course a bar - all included with your package! We thought the mix of being at the beach if you wanted - or just relaxing at the resort in their spectacular infinity pools or the "relaxing hot springs pool" was perfect! The resort is set on the hillside - so their is a fair bit of walking up and down, but shuttles are provided if needed. The staff at the resort are wonderful - so hard working and willing to please! Carla from the entertainment team was great - kept me in shape with aqua-fit and yoga on the beach! Alberto was excellent in Raixe's buffet - always remembered our tea and orange juice in the morning! Thankyou for the wonderful vacation - we shall return!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    E

    Relaxing Oasis, what a wonderful vacation!

    Reviewed by Erika on Mar 02, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    My friend and I stay at this resort February 16th to the 22nd. Our trip was everything we had hoped for, a relaxing getaway from our hectic lives. I think this resort is ideal for people looking for a quiet, relaxing and beautiful place to stay. It's certainly felt like I was at a spa for a week. There are three pool areas. One GORGEOUS infinity pool area, where we stayed the majority of our trip. A 'relaxation pool" that has a fresh juice bar and an adult only pool area. All three pools are lovely, but the view from that infinity pool, nothing really beats that.I am not really a big beach fan, i've always preferred to be poolside on vacation, but there is a beach available. It is a short, ten minute shuttle ride away, to a small sectioned off beach area that has it's own snack&bar area. The service is EXCEPTIONAL. I have never felt more valued with excellent service from the servers at the amazing a la carte restaurants, the bar and poolside and the customer service/front desk staff. Although i can not give a personal mention to every one of the helpful staff that improved our stay, I would be remiss if I did not mention Alexi. He worked at the front desk and went above and beyond, ensuring our health and safety needs were met. He was always cheerful and beyond helpful. He certainly is an incredible person and made our trip that much more special, thank you so much Alexi : The restaurants were a great mix of food steakhouse, brazil, italian and Japanese . All a wonderful experience with exceptional and friendly service, what incredibly lovely staff! Overal, we had a lovely time, and if I had the money or vacation time to allow for it, i'd go again at any opportunity I had. For those people who enjoy loud atmospheres, blaring music, disco/dance bar night life and wild/loud entertainment staff and amenities, this place likely isn't for you. But for those people, looking for a relaxing, beautiful, romantic getaway- this is your place!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 905 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Family Vacation

    Reviewed by Curious724864(Toronto, Canada) on Mar 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Traveled here December 2017 with my family over Christmas. Beautiful resort. The rooms are GORGEOUS - you feel like you are in the middle of the jungle!! It is new so everything is in great condition and spotless! The staff here were very friendly and spoke wonderful english. The food was average in my opinion.. not fantastic but not bad either. I will say that the wine they served was also not that best but that is fairly typical for many resorts so we had purchased a few bottles of wine at Duty free to take with us in our rooms and very thankful we did! If you are looking for a beach, this is really not a great resort for you as you do need to take a shuttle (travels down Hwy and road approx. 12 minutes or so) and the beach is so so.. we actually enjoyed the pools much more. Again, the resort itself is stunning and the service was wonderful. I did not use the spa but I heard from others that it was wonderful as well. Its a great little oasis for relaxation, would highly recommend to couples or someone who nees a little down time - not so much of a party resort!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Beautiful Oasis in La Cruz de Huanacaxtle

    Reviewed by John D() on Mar 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We spent a phenomenal 16 days in a magnificant <presidential suite> overlooking the Playa de Banderas in La Cruz, Mexico. The condo/apartment was fully furnished with it's own private "infinity pool" on the outside deck. We highly recommend this location in the complex versus some of the other junior suites, which are higher up the side of the hills surrounding the property. The 5 restaurant themes were excellent and the food quality thourghout the banquet service was very good. However, an added bonus for us in the <Presidential suite> was that it also came equipped with a full kitchen. The staff were very professional & accommodating with most if not all speaking a good English or at least making an honest attempt to understand our feeble Spanish. The proximity to the small beachside town of La Cruz was also a bonus not only for the beautiful beach club facilities offerred by the Grand Sirenis Matlali, but it still has retained some of the character of the West coast of Mexico of the early 2000's. We would definitely relive this wonderful holiday in the near future.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    OMG so many hills!

    Reviewed by flopsymillington(Nottingham, United Kingdom) on Mar 06, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Not our choice of hotels. Moved due to sickness at our original hotel. Lovely hotel but not 5 star. Food not great. Really difficult to get into the Al a cart restaurants. Staff lovely. Location feels a long way from anything. Rooms a very long walk up steep hills /steps to get to main hotel. Unfortunately got sick.

    Loved it!

    Reviewed by juelynnt(St-Eustache, Qc) on Mar 04, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was one of the best location and vacation ever. Beautiful resort, very nice beach, hiking trails... Food is delicious in every restaurent. I recommend this hotel for active couples and different surroundings...

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Quiet resort in the hills

    Reviewed by Davessss(Cardiff, United Kingdom) on Mar 01, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    The Grand Sirenis Matlali Hills wasn’t our first choice of hotel having been moved from the Grand Fiesta Americana due to an outbreak of sickness. Roughly a 45 minute bus journey from the airport after a 12 hour flight and 3 hours passing through customs at PVR airport was bearable. Check in was relatively smooth but upon reaching our room neither key worked which meant a bit of faffing around to get it sorted. Room is pleasant enough, plenty of space with a large balcony also. The sink however became blocked on a number of occasions and flooded part of the floor. Maintenance were good and sorted this fairly promptly. Minibar being restocked was a little hit and miss however. The hotel itself is in a nice setting, up in the hills only 5-10 minutes drive from their beach club Eva Mandarina. Bar staff and waiters at the Tequila bar (pool) and beach bar are fantastic, work hard all day long. Food at both the pool snack bar and beach bar is far better than any of the tasteless rubbish that is served at the buffet. Most of it is inedible and if you’re not first in to the buffet you can forget finding anything remotely tasty for dinner. Avoid the wine at all costs.. it tastes like scrumpy cider. Rodizio restaurant wasn’t bad, Mauricio was our server and although was rushed off his feet did a great job! Italian was very poor, wrong order twice for one of our party.. it is not difficult to alter one ingredient on a small pizza! One of the female supervisors, fairly short dark haired lady just stood and smirked as we waited for the food to be brought out. Do your job properly please. Japanese restaurant was superb, all cooked fresh in front of us and was always very tasty, the best of the week by far! The resort is fairly hilly but there are couple of lovely shuttle drivers that we used for the first few days, very friendly and helpful guys. Adults only pool is very peaceful and clean with plenty of sun loungers and shaded spots. Great views from here too. Interesting concierge too.. ala carte restaurants are full all week until they say “give a good tip & we can sort something out” especially when arriving for one of our bookings, it looked like too much trouble to fit us in to a half empty restaurant, not what you expect from a supposedly five star hotel. In summary I’d give the hotel 4/5 because is in a great setting, most of the staff are superb and the pool and beach areas are lovely. Food definitely needs to be improved, manage your expectations and you’ll have a good time here.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX