Friendly Vallarta

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    T

    Not enjoyable

    Reviewed by Trewett on Mar 08, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2019

    Trip Type: Couple

    This was a disappointment as a 4star resort. Dated , HARD BEDS , poor service to fix ac that didn?t work. No room services. Food ok but not great.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    G

    Absolutely amazing and now with the upgrades going to be even more amazing.

    Reviewed by Gramma of 4 on Feb 05, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    We have been to the friendly numerous times. This will be our 20th stay. We go for our anniversary every year. They are amazing. The best hotel we have ever stayed at. Never ever had a problem with anything.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    R

    Enjoyed our stay!

    Reviewed by Rcklys on Dec 22, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    Is a smaller resort that is easy to get around. Staff always very helpful, especially if you offer some small incentives(min. Wage is only 90 pescos/day). Rooms always clean along with all common areas. Pools and beach area well attended. Only issues we had were the fact that our kids are older teens and could only use the ?kids? pool even though adult pools weren?t overly used. But the kids pool wasn?t overly crowded so not a big deal. Food at the buffets and restaurants all very similar and not a lot of variety throughout the week, food could be warmer as well. All rooms except 1st floor of tower have a view of beach/pool.Overall we enjoyed our stay here.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    A

    Everything is great here

    Reviewed by Arlene on Oct 25, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    It was so good we are coming back this winter. There was nothing we did not like. We have another couple coming this year. Entertainment, food and staff were awesome.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    D

    Loved our stay

    Reviewed by David on Nov 29, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    The service is excellent and there is a variety of food. Plenty of night activity and something for everyone, if you wish to get involved and if you don't that's OK to. Would highly recommend going to Friendly as we plan on going again soon. Remember to keep in mind what you are there for and it will be very easy to overlook the minor stuff, which there really is not much of. Ask for Double Double when requiring a drink, great personality, as are all the staff. Tip the staff for their service, keeping in mind what they make, you wouldn't regret it and they appreciate the acknowledgement You will not be disappointed and if you are, what can I say. David Alberta Canada

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    K

    We loved our time at the Friendly! Plan to be back this year.

    Reviewed by Kathy and Norm Horne on Mar 08, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    We travelled from Saskatoon to Puerto Vallarta and stayed at the Friendly Vallarta for two weeks from December 7 to December 21. We were absolutely astounded at the friendliness of the staff during our stay. They went out of their way to try and accommodate all of our requests; from the people at the front desk to the waiters, bartenders, and housekeeping staff. We found the hotel to be clean and the staff were always cleaning, polishing and improving the resort. The meals were very good, especially in the a la carte restaurant. The evening activities were all very enjoyable, the beach was beautiful, and downtown Puerto Vallarta was just a short bus or cab ride away. We are planning a trip again this December and are definitely going to book into Friendly Vallarta again.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    B

    we loved our stay, staff very friendly and resort extremely clean

    Reviewed by Barry on Mar 26, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    My wife and I spend two weeks a Friendly and we found almost everything just excellent. The accommodations were extremely clean, the staff the same very friendly , the food was very good and the specialty restaurant was outstanding as was the staff. Activities for both children and adults alike were just great, and over all the whole experience was very enjoyable, we would certainly go back to this resort again - and the price was right. West Jet was also extremely efficient and helpful - having staff to meet you at the airport, direct to transportation to take you to your resort and at the end ensure you are picked up and returned to the airport. A brief orientation was most beneficial and all in all just great

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    P

    Don't expect much!

    Reviewed by Phil T. on Mar 10, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    We stayed at the Friendly Vallarta for 10 days beginning on Feb. 20, 2015. Their website states that this is a 5 star hotel. It is not. There are no room amenities worth mentioning. The food is bland and I often thought that I was eating leftovers. The Gourmet restaurant was nice but certainly not gourmet. Wine served in the restaurants was marginal at best. WestJet states that the All Inclusive price included gratuities. If you think that is true then you will not be served. Planning to leave a gratuity for maid service at the end of our stay, we left nothing each day as we headed out to the beach. By the fourth day we were without washcloths and bathmat. A healthy tip the next morning restored service. Many guests went to the beach with rolls of American ones, to give to servers for their free drinks, umbrellas and loungers. The lobby reeks of cigarette smoke and is often filled with drunken guests smoking and drinking. Is this a place for kids? The worst part was the poor value tours offered through WestJet by Timon Tours to various local sights. The sights were great. But the prices were unpublished and only determined when one talked to a local rep. Could the prices change from guest to guest? Who knows? All prices are in $US which is strange for a Canadian company in Mexico. WestJet used to be great. After this trip, I have lots of stories to counter that thought.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4233 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Diarrea and Tifoidea

    Reviewed by Meander36162761868() on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    The food made me sick, i got tifoidea type 2, for all the life, but in the other aspects is a good hotel, dont eat the hamburguers on the swim area, i got sick for that, and is like 2 weeks pass and im still sick

    1st time in Puerto Vallarta

    Reviewed by Excursion33622394842(Winnipeg, Canada) on Apr 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    A very friendly place that's for sure. The food was good. But I was not looking for gourmet meals. They lived up to the Buffett experience. We loved the events of bracelets and dream catcher making, the event girls were wonderful. We wanted to go kayaking but the did not have a two seater, my daughter would not go alone. I didn't like that they had an adult only pool. I was not able to meet other adults as I could go in the adult only pool. Other resorts I've visited that said were family friend all the pools were available to everyone no segregation. The friendly is situated at a perfect place bus fare to downtown only 20 pesos. It's a very clean resort, nothing super fancy just perfect. Loved the drink containers we received, very environmentally friendly. Workers at the Friendly spoke good English and understood. They went out of there way to help especially Antonio aka Pit Bull, our towel friend.

    Nice food and cool activities

    Reviewed by Javier B(Aguascalientes, Mexico) on Apr 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I went there for 3 nights on an express family trip and have the following comments: The bad: The rooms are old, because the hotel itself is old The TV is small, so the volume has to be high in order for your kids to hear it throughout the room and it's annoying The gym is small and has just a handful of things available. i.e. it has only 3 treadmills The good: The food in the main restaurants, although they do not offer a whole lot of different options during the week, I didn't mind since it's good. The overall staff, everyone is nice and always greets you The activities for guests, they do a lot of fun stuff for the guests both inside and outside (small city tours) since early in the morning and until late at night, if you want to be entertained all day by the staff, trust me, you will. And on that note, I would like to give a special thank you to Kenia Iñiguez and Natalia Reyes, who took us on a tour to downtown, a tour to the Vallarta port, hosted Zumba lessons, and even helped us made bracelets with strings to have mementos from our trip, always having a smile in their faces and making us laugh with their jokes. The trip probably would not have been the same without them. I have been to bigger, newer and nicer hotels in Vallarta, but if I find a good deal for Friendly in the future I would definitely go back.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    No sleep

    Reviewed by Sherry M(Courtenay, Canada) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Day 1–This hotel needs to get into the century. I had to leave a piece of identification at the desk before they would check us in. I ended up leaving my drivers license as I would not part with my passport. They they checked us into a occupied room, we walked in on other guests. Guests in the lower rooms partied until 5:30 am. No one stopped it. Day 2 and 3 were ok.then a convention checked in for the next 3 days it became awful could not get into a restaurant in the morning or evening, the let them party in the main lobby till 3:00 am the 1st night. Second night it went on till 4:00 am. Third night at 3:30 we called the desk again drunk guests pounding on doors and hollering in the hallways. Again no one stopped it. So if you require sleeping this is not the place for you. I have been to P.V 12 times and this is my first and last time here.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-1

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-1

    Can't Go Wrong.

    Reviewed by Safari19697704186() on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    In my mind this is a 5 star place. The food is good, the rooms and other areas are clean, the staff all very friendly as is the name. I don't need polished brass, marble everywhere and a place you feel like you should be wearing a suit. I am on holidays at the Friendly Vallarta to relax and enjoy the surroundings including the great beach right at the resort. Some people may think I am crazy about the rate I posted but but I am a meat and potatoes kinda guy. So if you like to relax and enjoy your holiday go here.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX