Marival Distinct Luxury Residences

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    C

    A fabulous place making for a fabulous vaction

    Reviewed by Carol F on Feb 17, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    This was the first hot vacation my husband and I have taken. We could not have chosen a better place! The condo was luxurious. We hoped for a fabulous balcony with ocean view and got exactly that. We could see and hear the ocean crashing from the generous balcony. Birds and Iguanas frequented the trees near our balcony. The condo was beautiful clean and well equipped, The maid service was impeccable. Turn down service, what a treat! The amenities of the residence were beautiful, quiet, staff were friendly and served beyond the call of duty. One of our favorites was the beach, just a 2 minute walk from the condo. Walk one direction, for miles there is beach fronted by private and undeveloped property. This allowed us to see sea turtle hatchlings being released, turtle nests and numerous shore birds, walk the other way and you are where all of the resort action is. Rides are free to the sister resort. The car and taxi service people were so amazing. Efficient and friendly. The concierge was extremely helpful as well. I thoroughly enjoyed the gym each day before my morning beach walk. We always felt safe, happy and pampered. I would completely recommend the Marival Residences! Loved, loved, loved our time there!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    P

    Worst first day of a trip ever, West Jet Vacations rocks when it comes to supporting their customers.

    Reviewed by P V Lover on Nov 18, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: November 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    Unfortunately not the start to a great 10 day family vacation. The promised construction of the new Buffet area was not finished on schedule. We were subjected to construction noise until after 9 pm including jack hammering outside our window. Only one A la Carte was open out of the 5 and the buffet included moldy cheese and very bland food. We were told that our daughter could help her 3 year old daughter on the slides but she was whistled out. We were in the older suites section ,not the luxury half and because we weren't members there were pools and bars we couldn't use. We only stayed the one day and the concierge tried to ease all our issues including our oldest daughters Celiac / Glutten issues but we weren't willing to put up with 48 hrs more construction. West Jet was able to accommodate our request to change Hotels and the rest of our 9 days were awesome elsewhere.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    C

    Best All Inclusive Food EVER!

    Reviewed by CatN on Jul 09, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    I had the most amazing meals of my life at this resort! If you are a foodie I highly recommend this property. The staff was so friendly and hard working. The waiter even brought my beer to me while I was sitting in the pool. If you are looking for a nice relaxing holiday with great food and drinks I would definitely recommend this hotel.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 2803 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Dissapointed experience

    Reviewed by Alfredo S(Windsor, United Kingdom) on May 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    This was our most expensive all inclusive vacation ever, but it was not what we expected. To begin with the hotel has set up a Tip system that forces the passengers to tip right and left and if not done, you get poor service.You have to sign every time an invoice as a way to include tips The whole area of Nuevo Vallarta is set up mainly for Americans with expected tips anywhere you go including the farmers market. The food is borderline, entertainment is improvised with little attendance. They use one to one notice in the pool area the day of the activity. One show was planned one evening when there was a complete power shut down for 1 hour, so we sat on the dark with no power for the band, what a disaster. Recommended reservations for the sister hotel done at with the concierge were not implemented, so we had to go in person to make our own. Food was borderline was well as our hotel. Check out was a shocking experience. I did this half hour before leaving and was invited to go back to remove the bracelet. I removed this by myself and loaded luggage in mini bus transfer. The driver asked for the check out invoice and realized this was not given except for the copy of bank card receipt. I returned to the front desk to ask for it and was told I was to return the bracelet according to the small print of a contract that I signed, which I never did. Then they asked for penalty payment of $40 USD, which I refused to pay. Then we were all stacked in transfer because the driver would not take us to the airport - like hostages. Finally a relative found the bracelet dropped by grand-son in the water fountain. This hotel needs a clear and fair check-out system similar to most of the luxury hotels. Plus: Breakfast was great, hotel facilities very good and beautiful, great swimming pool for children, beach access and large luxury rooms.Children's activities excellent. Because of this embarrassing experience I cannot recommend this hotel.

    Another Great Trip to Marival Residences

    Reviewed by MikeF_from_Virginia() on May 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We love Marival Residences. The staff is fantastic -- from the wonderful bell boys when you get there, to Guillermo and Fernando in Omaggio Restaurant and the entire beach club staff. The rooms are wonderful and the food is now than ever before. You cannot go wrong with picking Marival.

    Big but beautiful

    Reviewed by susan c(Lyme, Connecticut) on May 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    A little too big for my liking but very nice.Beware of timeshare trap.They will try to get you to do the 90 minute timeshare tour. Food is just so so.Grounds are gorgeous.Drinks are weak.The beach is very nice,people could not have been nicer!

    Marival Residences Luxury Resort

    Reviewed by PCJ1912(Washington DC, District of Columbia) on May 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This was my first time staying here and I must say it was amazing. I was very happy with my room, customer service and the food was delicious. I loved the pool and our poolside servers Juan Carlos and Frankie were the best!!!

    Inconsistent Service

    Reviewed by Dave W(Ocean Springs, Mississippi) on May 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    We booked this all-inclusive resort through SWA Vacations based on traveler reviews, price and timing. We arrived on Tuesday, May 7th and stayed in a one-bedroom penthouse residence with a private roof-top terrace and plunge pool for our Honeymoon. Here are the pro's and con's: Pro's: 1. Some great staff members who seem genuinely concerned that our stay be great. Geraldo (bell/shuttle services), Fernando, Bennacio, Alfredo, and Himer (servers at Omaggio's), Paco/Oscar (beach services) 2. Location is great (close to town but secluded enough for respite) 3. Residences were VERY spacious and cool with just room AC units 4. Food quality for the most part was very good 5. Adult beverages were good and served quickly 6. Room service was fast, efficient and the food quality was really good. 7. Mozza Mare Beach Club is a great place to enjoy the beach (views and service) If the list stopped there the trip would have been a solid 5 rating. That being said, the con's to our trip really put a sour taste in our mouths. The real problem at Marival to us was the INCONSISTENT service we received from the following: Con's 1. Multiple restaurants were closed on the property at various times. To the point where it put pressure on the open dining venues to accommodate reservations. At check in we were given a verbal tour of all the dining venues and strong encouraged to make reservations for dinner at most of them. Surely the staff knew these restaurants were closed at that time, we don't understand why we weren't told this. 2. Housekeeping left only two bath towels each day. Keep in mind we had our own private plunge pool. Daily we had to call the front desk and request hand towels, bath towels, floor mats, and wash clothes. This was corrected on the last night of our stay. 3. Was offered a daily newspaper delivered to our door at check in. Recieved a total of ZERO newspapers. 4. Plunge pool on rooftop was too hot to swim. We called on the 3rd day to see if temp could be regulated and was told yes. We were told that when a residence is unoccupied for a long period of time the water temp in the pool rises because of it being a rooftop pool and is 100% exposed to the sun. The solution was to drain the pool and fill with water again. The solution worked and the pool was great for the last two days of our stay. That being said, if you know that's a problem why not solve it before your guests arrive? I'm pretty the pool is a big reason people pay the higher price for a penthouse residence. 5. Turn down service/pillow sweets are advertised as a daily service. We didn't get turn down service and candies on the pillows until the 4th day of our stay. And it was only on the 4th day that we received this service. The fifth night, the door bell rand, I opened it and was asked if "would you like turn down service?". I said "yes please" and was handed two candies in the doorway. The housekeeper then moved on to the next room. I was in shock LOL 6. The final straw....We finally were able to get reservations at Amalfi Cocina Italiana for Italian food on the 4th night of our stay. We arrived at the reservation time to be told that flip-flops weren't allowed. My wife told the manager that we didn't know that and the concierge didn't mention it when we made the reservations. He made a reference to the concierge was causing problems by not telling guests about this requirement. From what I could see women could wear open toe shoes with no heel and men would wear sandals but God forbid anyone show up at a beach resort wearing flip-flops. He then said, "we will seat you, but I need you to walk around this way and not through the main dining room." I immediately fell to my knees in thanksgiving to God that this manager was going to allow me the privilege to dine in his restaurant. (heavy sarcasm please). We were seated and 10 minutes later a waiter arrived to welcome us and get our drink orders. We ordered our drinks and an appetizer. Drinks arrived 10 minutes later and we ordered dinner. At the 20 minute mark after ordering dinner we got up and left. No one tried to stop us, no one questioned why. The only feeling we got was from other patrons who had that "they are smarter than us for leaving" look on their face. There was no manager to talk to but there was a long line at the host stand. We walked to the hotel front desk an I asked to speak to the manager. They young man said "I am the superviser." My thought was, ok buddy if you want to take what I'm about to give, then batter up. I pretty much unloaded on the guy about the poor experience letting him know that this was our honeymoon on multiple occasions. When I finished he said that I needed to speak to the restaurant manager not him. That, in a nutshell, summed up our problem with marival. That "pass the buck" mentality kills it for me. Buddy I know it's not your fault the restaurant screwed up, but take some ownership and get me some help in getting a solution to the problem. Don't put it back on me, I already paid top dollar for this week of food and beverage. It's sad to say but the con's in the case killed the trip. We LOVED Puerto Vallarta and we will go back. We just won't stay with Marival there, or at any of their other properties.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX