Now Amber Puerto Vallarta

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    R

    "Amazing enjoyable vacation from the resort to the fiendly staff"

    Reviewed by Rod Cozma on Dec 01, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2018

    Trip Type: Friends

    Just got back from an amazing trip to the Now Amber. As disabled wheelchair bound traveler we have been able to many resorts in Puerto Vallarta over the years. We found the Now to be very accessible with wheelchair accessible rooms. Ahead of time I was able to contact the Concierge Daniela and arrange for the handicap room and a booking at the chefs table in the Hibachi restaurant, she was able to honor our request, very much appreciated. Right from our arrival the friendliness and concern for our wellbeing was very evident. The staff were amazing, with their energy and smiling faces were friendly and very helpful. All the staff display courteousness, professional and a happy spirit that we appreciate and could learn from, they all deserve a big shout of praise and applause! Now for the resort itself, it is very beautiful and well looked after and did not seem to crowded or noisy at 71 per cent occupancy. Chairs and towels were always available. We were able to try Capers Italian restaurant 2 times, the food was amazing and had many choices. The Castaways restaurant had many choices including Surf and Turf and coconut ice cream. The Hibachi grill was an enjoyable food and entertainment experience and the Himitsu Pan Asian restaurant was great. We were able to book the French restaurant in the Secret side as well.Every morning w e would go to the Coco Caf? and get our coffee ,loti or cappuccino , and go to the beach and enjoy the ocean. Breakfast and lunch at Carnival had many tasty food options. Our handicap room was spacious and had everything we could ask for including a beautiful view of the resort and the ocean. The grounds were well maintained with a lot of room for everyone. Really, staying at any resort as we have been to many in Puerto Vallarta over the years one may encounter a few hiccups and things that may not go your way . We must remember that sometimes it is us that may have to make an attitude adjustment and go with the flow and enjoy yourself.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    We enjoyed our stay!

    Reviewed by SandyP on May 17, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    The Now Amber is very beautiful. We were not advised at check in that the room numbers are on the ground so we found it a bit challenging locating our room initially. The rooms are very nice and spacious and have a sliding door separating the room from the washroom with a separate door for the toilet. The El la Carte restaurant was very good with very nice presentation

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    N

    I loved this hotel! Especially the freshly squeezed juice served at breakfast.

    Reviewed by Nada on May 17, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    This is an exceptional resort. I loved the spaciousness of the resort without being too large. A beautifully design lobby area - a modern twist with authentic Mexican decor. The rooms are a substantial size, and provide all the necessary amenities. The pools area is well designed with a large number of lounge chairs to choose from to catch some Vitamin D. A bonus is a swim up bar in the pool area.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    K

    Beautiful views

    Reviewed by Kris on May 16, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    This a beautiful resort. The rooms are very nice and the views are spectacular. The Italian restaurant was my favourite, delicious! Excellent staff and service and a great location in Puerto Vallarta. You can walk to the Malecon in about 40 minutes. The beach in this area is the one downside. No fault of the resort, is just typical of this area. Just a bit rocky. The upside to the beach is that the servers come right to your chair to serve you. Still very nice if you're sitting and sunbathing and people watching. If you prefer a no Kid-zone you could try next-door at Secrets for an adult only experience, they are attached.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    G

    First time, first Hotel ! Unforgettable experience overall!!

    Reviewed by Gigi on May 10, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    Now is Wow...!!! Luxury, location, views, beautiful clean rooms and amazing food! Let's not forget the staff, always eager to help and please you!!!

    L

    A dream hotel with great location!

    Reviewed by Lena on May 09, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    Excellent hotel with a beautiful view! Great location, 5 minutes away from downtown and good for both families or couples. Spacious room with separate space for the bathroom and shower and bathtub. At night you could hear the surf from the waves, very relaxing! Great selections of restaurants and food, the staff are all amazing! I was here with a group but would like to come back on my own time soon!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    I

    Wonderful hotel with great service and location

    Reviewed by Irene on May 09, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    This is a great hotel with great service. The rooms were quite large and the service was amazing. The food quality was very good and highly recommend the Italian restaurant. We arrived quite late at the hotel and was happy to see that we could still get into the a la carte restaurant at 10pm.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    N

    Great Property. Great Location.

    Reviewed by NinaW on Apr 27, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    The Now Amber is an elegant resort. Although I found check in to be very slow, they were detailed & informative when it was my turn. I found the room number hard to find, until I realized it was on the ground. Quirky, but easy to navigate once understood. The room was spacious and I liked the separate room for the toilet. The dual sinks in the bathroom was nice and having sliding doors made the room feel more spacious. The restaurants were delicious with attention to detail. The property was full when we went, but didn’t feel crowded and the waiter at the pool took care of us. I enjoyed the location and would definitely stay there again!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    k

    A nice enough resort but it lacks the polish to make it a five star destination. Over priced.

    Reviewed by knh959 on Mar 15, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    Certainly not a five star resort. Sales, sales and more sales. From the moment you check in with the reception desk until you depart, somebody is trying to sell you something. Vacation Club, spa, tours, trinkets, t-shirts' hats, and on and on. The beach is sub standard and full of pebbles. If you plan on swimming in the ocean you will need beach shoes or very tough bare feet. Food was edible but not remarkable. If cigarette and cigar smoke bother you then be prepared. People a surprising large number of them smoke wherever they like INCLUDING in the lobby area, pool side and even while in the pool. Lots of private functions mainly weddings but no private function area - they just kick you out of the pool section they're taking over for the function. Full credit though to resort staff. They do go out of their way to provide the best service possible. I'd also like to give a shout out to the WestJet rep Monica. She was/is wonderful.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    M

    Go somewhere else

    Reviewed by Mary on Jan 25, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    This resort was billed as 4.5 stars but I would dispute that rating. The hotel was okay but not luxurious. The beds were hard and the pillows like bricks. The buffet for breakfast and lunch was mediocre. The evening restaurants were only good to average. The French one was the best by far. It was nice to have access to Secrets next door but it was really not much different as a resort. The gym was old and not clean, with broken machines. The beach in Puerto Vallarta seemed to be polluted. For the first time ever on a trip to Mexico we didn't swim at all because there was brown scum in the water; no other tourists seemed to be in there either. Perhaps it was the dirty and polluted creeks and lagoons that flowed into the bay, or the horse manure left on the beach that caused the pollution. We couldn't even sit and read on the beach because of the booming music from our own resort and Secrets next door each competing to be louder. Give it a pass. There are much nicer places to go in Mexico.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4608 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Thank you for a wonderful time!

    Reviewed by Can_travel89(Edmonton) on Aug 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This is my second visit to Now Amber and, if possible, it’s even better than the first time I came five years ago. I can’t say enough to about the staff here. They go absolutely out of their way to make sure you’re having an excellent time, taken care of, and feel welcome. I believe I heard “this is your home” more than once. And they are sincere about it. I want to give a special thanks to: - Rodriguez at the poolside, who couldn’t have been kinder and harder working; - Miguel at the poolside, who served us so well; - Noeh who is both the best character, but knows his job so well and is so accommodating; - Alejandra at the buffet, who went out of her way to make us feel so welcome and at home every single day; - and last, but never the least, Norma from the entertainment crew who kept us busy, taught us some new bracelet making skills :) and was so sincerely lovely, she’s just a gem. It’s the people that make this resort so great. Thanks for an amazing summer vacation. Hope to be back soon!

    Great Service

    Reviewed by Nancy B(Chicago, Illinois) on Aug 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My family and I stood at Now Amber from 7/28-8/4. We were with about 15 other friends. What a great time we had. From the moment we arrived the service was amazing. We were greeted with wet towels and drinks. Jaime in front desk was very patient, polite and was able to accommodate any request my family and I had. Jose Garcia went above and beyond at Castways restaurant along with Jonathan. Jose gave us the best service and we were a party of 18 sitting in the balcony over looking the beach. Every morning with smiles Humberto Iniguez and Daniel Arce took care us at the breakfast buffet. They made sure we had everything we wanted and needed. What makes this resort is the service and beautiful views of the beach and town. What great massages we had at the spa. If I can complain of one thing is the required dress code for men at the Italian restaurant. How can they require men to wear dress pants and a collar shirt while being on vacation during one of the hottest months?

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Great place for a family vacation

    Reviewed by relling2019(Canton, Michigan) on Aug 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Our family visited Now Amber for 4 nights in August 2019. We had an excellent time at the resort. The service at this resort was excellent. We especially enjoyed Miguel R's excellent service poolside, truly a great guy! We felt the resort was clean and comfortable. The downside was that the availability of towels in the rooms still seems to be a prevalent problem at this resort. Aside from that, our room was clean and well equipped.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Excellent resorts

    Reviewed by nazyc4(San Jose, California) on Aug 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Every year I am going to Puerto Vallarta and staying at different resorts but my experience with Now Amber was different. It is excellent resorts with friendly staff, excellent service, clean, close to downtown, wonderful entertainments and amazing restaurants. All of the rooms have ocean view. The good thing about this resort, Now Amber and Secret are at the same resorts. It means you can use pools and restaurants at both resorts. If you feel like enjoying family area, you can use the facilities and restaurants at Now Amber. And if you feel you prefer staying at a quite and more romantic place as a adult you can enjoying Secrets’ facilities and restaurants. We used the poolside restaurants for lunch, it was amazing. At night we used French, Italian, Mexican, Japanese and buffet. All was good with a great service. The entertainment team did a great job to provided different activities for all ages. At the 100 degree temperatures, all staff always were greeted us with smiles and tried to gave us the best service. I would like to mention some of staff’s name that helped us a lot, Ana S, Alejandra, Octavio, Adryan, Aldo and all entertainment teams. I highly recommended Now Amber.

    Excellent Service

    Reviewed by Emin A() on Aug 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I had a great stay at this resort. Jan at the second floor bar was incredible. He was very professional, funny, and made me and my friends feel welcome. Great experience and will definitely consider coming back.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX