Villas Vallarta by Canto Del Sol

3.0 star rating

Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    d

    they also push time shares, so all in all I would choose another resort to stay at.

    Reviewed by debra on Feb 04, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    I like the staff, but had to argue to get water as they make you buy it at this resort. excuse me but everyone should be supplied water!!! i will try to find a hotel that gives you water. they finally did but said only two small bottles a day for two people. I do not want to go t a place where you get steressed out...its suppose to be a holiday and stress free.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    s

    We always enjoy our stay

    Reviewed by scarpino on Dec 04, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    I enjoy always my stay at the Villas,staff is great service also my stay always is awesome thank you Villas Vallarta see u in January again..................

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 345 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Reasonably priced, very clean, amazing housekeeping, great pool

    Reviewed by _katsy1956(Valemount, Canada) on Feb 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I am an older, singe female who has just returned from a 2 week stay at Villas Vallarta. When I booked Villas Vallarta, I was a little concerned that it was quite far south of the main boardwalk/tourist area, but this was not an issue. The area is a busy, inexpensive to medium priced, tourist zone. The food in the area is good and inexpensive. As a single traveler, I never felt safety was an issue. Transport to and from the area is available and cheap. Lots of buses and taxis. Taxi to the airport 120 pesos and the bus was 10 pesos. I upgraded from a standard room to a studio because I wanted a quieter room with AC. The room was very clean with a very comfortable king sized bed. The pool was so welcoming that I only spent one day at the beach. The buffet breakfast was organized, hot and had a good selection of food with lots of meat for carnivore types. The housekeeping was outstanding. All staff were very helpful! I would definitely stay there again.

    Best staff EVER!

    Reviewed by anitaw486(Winkler, Canada) on Feb 03, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    2nd time staying at Canto Del Sol. The place is a little out dated, but the staff is so great that you hardly notice. Angel was at the front desk to welcome us such a funny guy! Carlo Villa and Juan are security guy, one of the nicest men we have ever meet in all our travels. Isidro,Oscar, Sergio best smile where a pleasure to see each day. Cresencio front desk always ready to help. Patty lobby bar, is the boom.com anyone who meets her is blessed. Germen new pool waiter genuinely cares along with Jacky and Salvador, always happy to serve you, Ruben who cleans at the new pool works hard what a pleasure to meet. Carlos at Villas pool bar doesn’t know much English but was great getting to know him anyways. I could go on and on about the staff. Canto Del sol has the best staff, they made us fell like we were home with family. I hope the owners and management team knows how blessed they are with amazing staff. Anyone thinking of going to canto Del sol but are hesitate of it being out dated, trust me the staff makes up for it. We used to do 4 to 5 star resort but never had the welcoming great service like at canto Del sol. There food is amazing, rooms are clean, drinks are great, location is ideal! A place never makes the vacation, it’s the people that do! We are sincerely thankful for the great hospitality during our stay and looking forward to returning and seeing our friends again in a few weeks! Your friends from Canada -Brian & Anita

    Best of both worlds

    Reviewed by Linda S(Saskatoon, Canada) on Jan 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My husband and I booked a week in the sun through Sunwing. On considering the choices for an all-inclusive location, this relatively inexpensive place caught his eye. We were entitled to all the dining and entertainment across the street at Canto del Sol, but we could then retreat to the peace and quiet of Villas Vallarta where the pool and bar were quiet and very pleasant with chairs always available.We could go across to the buffet and a la carte restaurants(each of the 3 were fabulous for service and food quality by the way. Spanish coffee made by Miguel at the Italian a la carte was quite an experience) or eat in the smaller, but pleasant buffet at Villas and we often did for breakfast and sometimes for lunch. Juan was a constant presence at Villas buffet and very good server. Yes the standard rooms are a far walk from the lobby and only entrance, but the other hotels have huge hallways too. Our room had comfortable bed, flat screen TV, sofa, small balcony, small safe in the room and a renovated bathroom with a rain shower. The A/C worked well, there was always hot water, and the room was clean and kept that way, as was the whole place. Check in and out was easy. We did attend a couple of shows across the road at Canto and I participated in the aquafit class. These were fine, but again it was nice to have the option of our own quiet pool and bar. There was a usable elevator since I have some ankle issues making stairs difficult. It is a short walk to the main street where one can catch a local bus for 10 pesos downtown. One can also walk down the beach for a km. or 2 or down the street to the Malecon, seek out banks for ATM, local restaurants or clubs for a change of pace. The beach, wave action and beautiful sunsets are only a short walk across the road at Canto. We had a wonderful holiday that did not break the bank, felt very safe in the city and were very impressed by the friendliness and helpfulness of all those involved in serving us there. Seriously considering returning next year for a longer time. This location also offers rooms with kitchenettes and without all-inclusive depending on your needs.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Impressive Quaint Abode

    Reviewed by MontrealMaria52(Montreal, Canada) on Jan 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I was very impressed with the discreet and quaint nature of the Villa Vallarta resort. This is not the kind of resort where there is a great deal of "action" or noise. The room I received was with an RCI exchange. It is not a huge resort or one with an artificial sense of what would find elsewhere. The staff were professional and helpful. There is an elevator for those challenged with all those stairs. Room itself (503) came with a fully equipped kitchen, air conditioning, free WiFi, flat TV screen, and a nice balcony. Would highly recommend the resort for those seeking a quiet place. Neighbourhood feels like a real neighbourhood with plenty of places to explore and restaurants to find. Mega grocery shopping, open 24 hours a few blocks away but there are also plenty of OXO stores to pick up basic supplies. Would highly recommend Villa Vallarta this modest resort.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    All inclusive nightmare

    Reviewed by logshack() on Dec 18, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    We have been coming here for over 10 years and always book the all inclusive which includes everything the Canto del Sol has to offer. We brought friends along again and they stayed in the Canto and we stayed in the villas . While checking in we were informed that the Villas now have their own All Inclusive. We would no longer be able to go to the Canto surf and turf , Mex. , Italian or buffet. We would not be allowed to sit by the pool or spend time with our friends. We would be able to use the washroom and the staff would bring our drinks and snacks to the beach. The one buffet in the Villas has 6 trays of food , during the week the place was empty and the food would sit for 3-4 hrs. We went for breakfast but they wouldn't fry an egg and didn't have meat , bacon, sausage or ham . Everything was pre made and sat for hrs. We went to the front desk at the Canto and talked to the manager , I explained the deal to her and said that this isn't even close to what we paid for or received the years before. She said there was noting she could do for us . I said o.k. , I will pay to upgrade to the Canto which is $600. - $700.00 more Canadian $. She said no they don't have a price for that . She said the only thing we could do was pay the All inclusive day rate of $140.00 Can. a day = $1960.00.. I call BS ,, bad service and very bad management. The staff at this hotel are amazing , hard working , kind people that treat us like family after getting to know them for yrs. We have a group of about 20 people that come every year from all over Canada and USA . We are planning a change next Dec. thanks to this Manager. Make sure you know what you are paying for , they got paid a lot of money for food and we didn't receive anything even close the previous visits. We enjoyed most of our meals eating at the excellent local restaurants so had to pay twice for food on this trip . We made the best of the bad situation and enjoyed our vacation.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX