Iberostar Grand Hotel Bávaro

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    J

    Luxurious Getaway

    Reviewed by JR on Jun 16, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    Nautical with old world style. It sort of reminds me of the Venetian in Vegas in regards to the d?cor. The food is excellent with the highlight being the Italian restaurant. La Tentazione. The steak was to die for (and I lived in Calgary the home of some of the very best steak) and for me a treat was that even though it was an Italian restaurant there was very little garlic (love it, but it doesn?t love me) in the dishes. Lots of variety in restaurants, shops and entertainment There was an outstanding Saxophone player in the evening that you definitely have to see. The staff were friendly and knowledgeable. The rooms were lush and comfortable with plenty of room and nice amenties included. They also often have fabulous golf specials so definitely ask about them if you like the sport. There is a fun Pirate Ship Bar and Disco that I recommend you check out. Also if you stay at the Grand you also have access to the Iberostar Dominicana and the Iberostar Bavaro Suites. Will definitely be back for a stay here, plus walking through the sister resorts was nice as there were lots of cool places to stay when you want to get out of the sun for a while.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    T

    Great food in a stunning environment. Absolutely loved it.

    Reviewed by Theresa on Jun 12, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    Absolutely gorgeous location. The day we arrived had a few clouds in the sky which totally made me compare this location to the inside of the Venetian Hotel in Las Vegas where the gondolas are. It was absolutely stunning with the 'lake' complete with a pirate ship. We had dinner at the fine dining French restaruant complete with sommelier which was fabulous. The service was excellent. I would definitely come back again.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 11834 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Second trip

    Reviewed by tinasantos2(Lakeville, Massachusetts) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Excellent accommodations, service, weather, food, and pools. Rooms are spacious and clean. Every staff member friendly and very helpful. Our butlers were fantastic! Thank you Dawell, Leo, Cesar, and Carlos! We will be back for another couples trip soon.

    Lives up to the hype

    Reviewed by OakvilleRob(Oakville, Canada) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We are currently at the resort on day 9 of a 14 days stay. My wife and I read 50+ reviews before selecting this hotel. Would we come back?... Yes absolutely. For every minor issue that we have had, there are 10 extremely positive comments. I’m not going to write a novel here like a lot of people do, but I do have a few comments. This is an outstanding, upscale couples resort. The place is never crowded and there is a large # of square feet per guest. The place is immaculate! If you’re a foodie and are coming for the food, I’d suggest that you temper your expectations. Food is merely okay, nothing more. We aren’t here for the food, we’re here for rest and relaxation and for that it is a home run! Before coming down we read lots of comments about the staff being eager to please and having a positive, upbeat personality. Another home run. Our butlers Junior and Boom Boom are fantastic as are the social conveners Mini-me and Hot Chocolate. All passionate and extremely eager to please. Frankly everyone here is like that. The management should be proud of the attitude that their team is conveying. Great job everyone! Negatives? Not much, just nit picky stuff. Yes, you do have to be downstairs before 715 to reserve a prime spot by the pool. Whatever you do, don’t order the gluten free spaghetti in the Italian restaurant unless you like cheap, canned style spaghetti. Those are the only issues after 8 full days. One last tip, repeated by multiple people... no need for Star Prestige upgrade. We will be back, guaranteed! P.s. the concierges sell a snorkeling trip that includes swimming with the sharks and rays, as well as a stop to swim at a sand bar. It was tremendous fun... 10/10

    Complete and Fair Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro

    Reviewed by Stephane G() on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Overall, the Iberostar Grand Bavaro meets the expectations of a quiet, high quality hotel with high standards. My wife and I were there for our 25th anniversary and wanted something small, quiet, high quality food, hygiene standards and comfortable room with decent service. At a high level, this hotel met our expectations. Stayed 10 days from late March to early April. Quiet: The hotel is for adults only and this makes a big difference contributing to a quiet vacation for a couple or group of adults. Unlike some other hotels, there are no music or animation on the beach which leaves you with a quiet environment to enjoy the sounds from the ocean. If you feel like you want the music and animation, you can go by the pool. Want more? You have access to the neighbour Iberostar hotels, restaurants, activities, spa and all of their other services (note that children are allowed on those resorts). You can access all Iberostar properties but they can't come to your resort (Grand Bavaro is their highest standard). Resort: Small enough so you don't have to take a cart to get to a restaurant or activities. The other benefit is that you don't have to constantly watch for those carts while walking the property (something that is annoying on large resorts). It takes 5-7 minutes to go from one extremity of the resort to the other so you don't feel rushed to get to dinner. Another major benefit is that, should it rain (which was the case 2 afternoons and evenings), you can go anywhere without having to go under the rain as the resort is in U-Shape so you can walk from your room to restaurants, to the spa, to the activities, evening shows, etc without being affected by the rain. Food: All restaurants' food is high quality with great service. The Japanese restaurant is very noisy with the chefs demonstrating their skills for Teppanyaki on the metal plate. Hard to hear each other so I wouldn't recommend for a quiet romantic dinner. Service is average for this one but great for others. Otherwise, high hygiene throughout the resort which makes it safer to prevent food-related illnesses. I didn't hear of anyone having been sick. Rooms: We have done many resorts and I can't recall anywhere there was nothing to be fixed in the room. We also had a few things to repair but they got fixed within 12 hours from our request. Yes, as reported by others, rooms are smaller than on other similar resorts, washroom is a bit tight in space but otherwise, acceptable. The balcony is very comfortable, table, chairs, "love seat" with cushions and even an area where you can dry your clothes. Butlers/Concierge: We have been treated well by our butlers (you have one on duty in the morning to afternoon and the other from afternoon to 11pm should you need anything. We have Verenise and Denny. I made it clear to both of them that we were not interested in participating in their "sales pitch" to get sold on their Iberostar vacation packages or whatever and wanted privacy. We just wanted to get our rebate coupons printed without having to endure the "selling danse". They respected that and to their benefits, we spent more on the spa by taking advantage of those coupons. SPA: Worth it but services are a bit more expensive (especially for massage - manicure and pedicure are standard price. Secret: you have access to the Jacuzzi, hot/cold jet shower, sauna and steam room. BEACH; Shallow, safe, nice sand, weeds cleaned off by 7am so no issues there. Nice and relatively quiet. Quiet because of the smaller resort and no animation or music on the beach. "Relatively" because there are vendors passing by walking from the small artisan shops 0.5km on your right going to the other busier resorts on your left. However, ignore them the first 2-3 days and they won't bug you anymore. Not as bad as others have described (again compared to our experience on other resorts). STAFF: Only good things to say. People are friendly, helpful and respectful. If they know that you don't want to participate to activities, they won't come to you or bug you each day. Again, small resort so you get to know the staff often working in restaurants for breakfast/lunch and then in the evening. GARDENS: Some of the nicest and cleanest, well-maintained I have seen. Despite the little artificial lake on the property, we haven't seen any mosquitoes or crawling bugs. MAXIMIZE YOUR STAY: This is just a personal recommendation. Although you don't have to tip anyone as it is an all-inclusive resort, I strongly recommend that you do. The little dollar or few dollars that you leave for the cleaning lady (remember that you have a different lady for the turn-down in the room), at the bar, your server, your team at the restaurant, your butler, etc., those will add a lot more to the experience of your stay. People in Dominican Republic do not earn much so the little you give them, makes a huge difference for them and that often translates into much elaborated decorations in your room, quality of service, faster service to get things done and contributes to their own lives. I gave a dollar in the minibar and made specific requests on what I liked. You should see how this changed what I had, how much they would put back in terms of drinks and food, all to my preferences. I personally like sometimes to give tip to people who never get tip (old man taking care of the garden or lady cleaning the public washrooms. Their smile and reaction is totally worth the dollar. UPGRADING TO PRESTIGE? The hotel offers an upgrade for the Prestige. I wouldn't recommend it as it will cost you $40 per day per person so $80 per couple. You can get a much better experience by spending much less per day in tip ;-) CONCLUSION: We definitely plan going back. Perhaps not as often as this 75 year old couple that we met and has celebrated last week their 600 night stay at this resort but we want to return next year. Je recommande fortement cet hôtel pour tous les couples qui veulent se reposer ou célébrer leur anniversaire et passer du temps de qualité ensemble. De la qualité du site, de la nourriture, du service, de l'entretien et de l'expérience en général, vous ne serez pas déçu.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Great all-inclusive resort

    Reviewed by lovetotravel52607(Erie, Pennsylvania) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I'm not quite sure anyone would write a bad review of this resort. We've been to many all-inclusives and this one was definitely high on the list.. The people were very nice, the resort itself is beautiful and well maintained and the service was excellent. The food is what is expected of this type of resort. One of our favorite things was the buffet down by the pool that served breakfast from 10 - 12:00. It saved a long walk to the main buffet at the lobby area. Our room was down by the beach and it was a great location. There was plenty of shaded spots and there is a beach bar and also beach service. We didn't utilize the pool area, mainly because there are not enough shaded spots and it was always quite crowded. I didn't' want to play the game of going down at 6am to save a spot, so we enjoyed the beach. The rooms were fine, nothing fancy, but large enough and had a very nice balcony that easily fit 2. The housekeeping service was excellent, although they really need to stock the mini bar daily which didn't happen. We enjoyed the villas and the fact that we weren't in a high rise and didn't have to deal with elevators. My only criticism is when you check in (which was very easy) they then hand you over to a concierge to make your dinner reservations. We did get our reservations, but their main objective was to set a meeting/tour of their time shares, which we declined. We felt sort of bombarded within our first 20 minutes of being on their property so be aware of this. They could also use some kind of entertainment at night besides their show. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would definitely recommend it.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Relaxing stay

    Reviewed by DavJo12(London, United Kingdom) on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Relaxing stay What can we say that hasn’t been said before about this hotel on TA? Probably not much, but what stood out for us were the friendly staff, nice pools, plenty of sun loungers on the beach, the variety and quality of food and a very relaxing feel about the property. The butler service was welcomed but we only really used it for booking restaurants. Our butlers, Denny and Verenise, were friendly and helpful. There were plenty of activities to choose from during the day and we took part in a dancing lesson which was fun. We do need to mention the beach, which itself is beautiful and well maintained. However, the sea on this side of the island is not crystal clear and algae were also present, so if that’s not your thing, you may need to look elsewhere. Overall, a great hotel which provided us with exactly what we wanted, a relaxing stay.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX