Barceló Maya Grand Resort

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    D

    Choose your room carefully ,if they let you and you will have a great time.

    Reviewed by Daryle B on Nov 26, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Beautiful hotel, beach and pools-5 star.Food and service 3-4 star.DO NOT accept room near the entertainment theatres, loud music goes past 10:30 pm when the shows end usually to 11:30 or later.I think a 5 star hotel should provide wifi to all the rooms free.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    B

    Love the place!!!

    Reviewed by BarceloLover on Aug 07, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    Great resort. We've been 14 times to this resort and will keep on coming back. Rooms are clean and safe. Staff may be a bit slow at times but you can have slow staff anywhere. Just take it in stride as you are on vacation. There are always chairs around the pool and on the beach. Regrding the "nickel and diming" espressed by others, well if you are expecting high end alcohol and wifi, you will pay for that. There is free wifi around the resort at certain times and after the 3rd drink, does it really matter what alcohol you are drinking?

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    F

    Dirty Rooms, cheap food, indifferent service..NOT worth your $$ NOT 4.5*

    Reviewed by Frankenbarbie01 on Feb 19, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2018

    Trip Type: Friends

    Travel Agent booked this trip.I was horribly disappointed! Upon checking in the receptionist says "this will do ..for now" making me think strange they plan to move us? Weird. We get to the rooms (4 people, 2 rooms) they are NOTHING like what we expected to be in! Moldy smelling, dirty floors (made my feet black!) FOOD remnants on the door hardware, a chunk of cardboard shoved into the electronic light activator (the power was going out repeatedly in my sisters room..safety issue!) on the ground floor and appeared to have been pried open at one point!. Since the receptionist said "for now" we decided the next day to insist on getting the rooms we believed we had booked. After repeated visits and complaints by my sister and myself I lost patience and got on the phone to Westjet. Turns out "Run of the House" means they can put you wherever they want (Thanks travel agent!!??) I used ALL of my purchased data plan dealing with getting our party moved. They finally agreed to move us...the rooms were 1 level up just as dirty and REEKED of cigarette smoke. I would not let the bellman unload our luggage, we went back to the front desk and insisted their Superior rooms were Inferior rooms and were NOT acceptable, I stayed at Iberostar resorts in the past and if they were not going to provide acceptable (clean and safe!!) accommodations we would leave the resort. They finally moved us from the Beach to the Tropical. This was at least a step up in the bedding department, it didn't feel like we were sleeping on shower curtains. We were all just so tired of arguing with the resort we decided this was as good as its gonna get. We booked a couple of dinner reservations and upon arriving was told No we have no reservation for you!! We insisted they needed to figure this out. We were seated at a table, rushed through dinner and no one batted an eye when a wine glass stem crumbled in my hand while eating! This hotel is horrible and I will never again stay at a Barcelo

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    D

    Would not go back do to the fact they are not truely an all inclusive as they charge for everything

    Reviewed by Dave on Jan 08, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    The resort is great and the beach is amazing however the resort credit is a scam, it is only a 25% discount and not a trye credit. The resort charges you for everything and nickels and dimes you on all their amenities

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6352 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Would stay again!

    Reviewed by Escape325040() on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Everything about Barcelo was great. Very clean, friendly staff and amazing rooms. Would like to see the food quality to improve. Ordered room service and the food was so bad I couldn’t get through the whole meal. A la carte restaurants were amazing! Other than that I would definitely stay here again.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    I would not recommend...

    Reviewed by Tolga C() on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    I have been to quite many all Inclusive hotels and stayed in this hotel in 2012...it was pretty good at my stay in 2012 but this time; it was a big disappointment. Overall; Clean and very well maintained rooms and hotel... Unfortunately; food variety and quality was very low.. Entertainment was pretty bad.. And the worst; hotel staff was not friendly at all...

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-2

    Value

    Value-2

    family vacation

    Reviewed by GoPlaces06406522607(Stamford, Connecticut) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    we picked barcelo for vacation spot. we thought we were going to Cancun area, but realized we were on the Riviera Maya. But the experienced was great I don't have anything to complain about it from the guy who drove us from the airport to the hotel and all the tours we did people really helpful and accommodating. the only suggestion I will have try to exchange money to pesos it will be easy to buy everywhere they don't handle change so they round any transaction so you ending up loosing money and also wen you book any tour make sure to know in what hotel lobby your tour will pick you up remenber the resort has 5 hotels so 5 different lobbies

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Look out were coming back

    Reviewed by Bob M() on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    4 of us my wife and I with my son and his girlfriend junior suites for both this will be our 11th consecutive year we are celebrating his graduation from Drexel University this year 2 weeks for me and wifey one for my son and girlfriend.can't say enough good things always well maintained

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Brilliant resort

    Reviewed by lindsayk691() on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We were here for two weeks and never got bored! Plenty restaurants so never got bored of choice and reservations no problem. Plenty drinks choices at bars and fast service most of the time. Loved the pool bar, could maybe do with more music around the pool areas. Free snorkelling was fun. Only fault would be the evening entertainment, wish there was more selection as it’s the same shows every week. Wish we were going back this year!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX