El Dorado Royale by Karisma

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    S

    What a relaxing resort. Perfect for a get away, and the swim out pool overlooked the ocean making it that much more elegant and tranquil

    Reviewed by Shannon on Jun 23, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    The staff at El Dorado were absolutely amazing. My maid Norma was outstanding and made sure that all aspects of my room were clean and organized by the time I got back to it. I would definitely go back to this resort again in a heartbeat!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    We loved our stay good weather. Brilliant entertainment staff. Daniel & Ilsa.

    Reviewed by Steve on Jun 01, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    This was the first time we have been to this hotel and Mexico. It had been recommended to us by our Daughter and her husband who also came with us. On arriving we were very impressed. On our first night we ate in the La isla. We were very impressed with the food and its presentation. We ate in the cocatal at most breakfasts which was a buffet restaurant. We asked most mornings to sit at one of Samis tables as we found him very charming and helpful and knew straight away how we liked our tea hot and strong . Our favourite restaurant was Kampai, the only problem with this restaurant was that we were unable to book and always had to wait in excess of one hour. The entertainment staff Daniel and Ilsa were brilliant and always greeted us and made us feel welcome. We like the beach but unfortunately it was covered in seaweed although they were working hard at trying to clean it up. We will definitely be returning to this hotel and maybe next time we will book a swim up pool. Steve and Mary United Kingdom.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    R

    Friendly helpful staff most cases made things OK.

    Reviewed by Randy on Mar 29, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    The beach is not suitable for swimming.Nice cabanas on beach,very quite. We assumed that they think gourmet means "very small"for portions for all servings in a la carte restaurants . My wife and I got up and walked away from our food several times when food came overcooked and greasy and overly salted. When there was a group of chefs visiting the resort to critique the food improved as they stepped up the food to impress them, we observed several other people leave food on table also. We flushed our room service food down the toilet. We were staying in Casitas the concierge said that years ago all rooms had views but now trees had grown up and put most rooms into darkness. The bed was totally collapsed on one side, back to concierge and he said they do not check rooms for problems, he had the bed replaced that day. I felt I was turning into a chronic. We had to keep telling ourselves remember it is Mexico. The cost was higher than average so we were expecting better. Bad Mexican food we have better in Canada. No lunch or dinner buffets, only break fast buffet, we were told by waiter they are to expensive.Best part was the liquor good quality. We had stayed at Bahia Principe, Robinson Resort had a great time great buffets with great Mayan/ Mexican food with beaches you could snorkel in front of. For what we payed for 10 days we will be going back to Hawaii next time. Not sure who is giving this place great reviews.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 13744 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Gregorio from cocotal

    Reviewed by GlobeTrotting250637(Dallas, Texas) on Aug 25, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Gregorio was fabulous at El dorado Royal. He was our personal waiter at cocotal and then at a wedding reception. Phenomenal. He deserves a raise! Went above and beyond! We actually stayed next door at generations and Jesus the driver and Jesus the concierge were fabulous. Both went the extra mile!

    Amazing Resort!

    Reviewed by anslater2019() on Aug 25, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    The resort and the customer service were beyond my expectations. I had a truly wonderful time traveling with my family (there were 7 ladies). Our rooms were not ready when we arrived, so we headed to Jo Jo’s for lunch. Victor (our waiter) made us feel incredibly special during that meal, and other’s throughout our stay. My only negative was the lack of privacy when using the shower due to the glass wall. If I were traveling as a couple it would’ve been fine. But because I was on a girls’ trip I would’ve preferred more privacy.

    T and C's vacation

    Reviewed by tkennedy45373(Troy, Ohio) on Aug 25, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Would go back here in a heartbeat. Will plan on it in the future. People were great. Made some new friends and we were taken care of royally. Swim out room is the only way to go if you want to relax without going anywhere. Even room service was great and, the only place you can get eggs benedict. Met people from Europe, Canada, US and of course Mexico. Don't miss out on this one.,

    One of the best resorts I've been to!

    Reviewed by Imp3rial13(Toronto, Canada) on Aug 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I had an amazing time at El Dorado; the people were friendly, the resort was clean, the food was amazing and the amenities were terrific. My only gripe was the shuttle service rarely came at the posted times. Irrespective of that I would definitely come here a second time! Thank you!

    Fantastic resort

    Reviewed by TRuck2492() on Aug 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We absolutely loved this resort, we visited as a family and I would say it's definitely more tailored to couples but we still very much enjoyed ourselves. The staff are all fantastic, a personal stand out for me would be Elio in the Martini he's an incredibly knowledgeable and funny bloke, a real asset to their team

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX