Hilton Playa del Carmen, an All-inclusive Resort

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Riviera Maya
    5. Hilton Playa del Carmen, an All-inclusive Resort
    6. Hilton Playa del Carmen, an All-inclusive Resort review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    J

    Best holiday ever

    Reviewed by Jessica on Feb 24, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    We have been to the Royal Playa del Carmen 9 times and plan to go back again this year. Great location, excellent staff. There is not one thing that we could complain about. We have travelled to different places and find this is definitely a 5 star and one of the best.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    d

    Excellent food and service

    Reviewed by dirtdigger on Sep 29, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: September 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Excellent service. We ate at one of their restaurants and they just made some food up for my wife that was not on the menu. You are right in Playa so you can try some of the local restaurants and shops, but we found the food and drinks so good at the Royal that we only ate off site once. The only reason I gave the beach a 4 star is that I like to snorkel and their

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 19137 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Another Great Stay

    Reviewed by willy610(Lake of the Ozarks, Missouri) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We have stayed at this resort 7 times across the last 5 years. This was the second time we have been there since it was acquired by Hilton. We could tell that they are working hard to keep all the things that are so great about the resort the same - suburb service; you will be so spoiled by all the great employees! At the pool Vicenta De Coss took excellent care of us at the pool! We had a great experience at the Chef's Plate and enjoyed having Jorge and all the rest take such good care of us. The rooms have all the amenities you would want - robe, lots of pillows, comfy bed...

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Great Hotel, Poor Beach, would not go back because:

    Reviewed by Scott 5() on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    The moment you arrive there are bellmen that manage your luggage, and others that check you in, all the while having you relax with your favorite drink in your hand. Its clean, bright, friendly environment, but loud as its cement. Restaurants are great, but also loud, found myself leaning in to talk to my wife and to hear her. So make reservations for later and go when there's not so many people to talk over. Maria, Maria was our favorite. Staff and waiters are happy, and move quickly to serve equally in all restaurants. Rooms were great, first class. Mini bar stocked with whatever you want. As a Diamond member in HIlton, I was looking forward to better pool side accommodations, but was gently asked to move from a pool location as a large event had priority. That was when I discovered I started counting the hours, looking forward to leaving. Pool servers put out towels on front row recliners to reserve them for others, who never showed. For a large event this is a great place to come, but for individuals not so much as the catering around the pool areas and evenings was more for the groups. Lots of people were here and we got a little lost in the sea of them all. The Beach: One star as there was sand. One morning, had glass beer bottles from the day before on the sand, and recliners were not cleaned off. Cruise ship docks immediately next to the hotel. So people on top of people come to shop in the tourist shopping area next to the hotel, and to walk the beach. So we couldn't walk, its more weave and dodge around the people and seaweed on the beach, and in the water. We got 100 feet down the beach and were done! Seaweed around your ankles, 1 foot deep worth at the point were the serf receedes. But then a tractor comes and takes it up, but there so much that it's still in the water and shortly piles back on the beach. Hotel recliners come right up to the edge of the sand and water, so beach walkers are immediately walking in front of the chairs, sometimes stepping over you. We never got a good pool area so abandoned that to sit on the balcony of the room each day. Music around the pool, is calm and loud depending on the time of day, I thought that was a nice touch, but at times loud and thumping. The content was poor, as the bridal party was sitting next to the speakers I wondered what they thought as "it must of been love, but it over now", and "the boy is not my son" was playing. I travel for a living and fortunate to have other hotels and places to compare this to, so what the Hotel could influence was 5 stars, but the large group, cruise ship people, and awful beach 1 star. Would I go back? No.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-2

    Great girl's trip every year!

    Reviewed by travel24681012() on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    It was great as always. This was my 8th time at this hotel. Service is great as well as food and rooms. Great location to shopping and entertainment. I would recommend to anyone this resort. In fact, I did and they loved it! I want to list some employees that made our trip great. Asiana- Francisco, Abner and Ernesto. At the Spa- Enrique and Denis. Around the pool- Fernando, Sergio, Tony, Dany, Victor, Andres.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Amazing time at Playa Del Carmen

    Reviewed by Leggietou(Wollongong, Australia) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Where do I even start?. We visited the Hilton for 10 days. Upon our arrival, you walk into an amazingly welcoming environment, cocktail provided while you do check in and a view to die for. The hotel is amazing, as we walked through to our room we were just amazed at how amazing everything looked. The room was a garden view and was maybe the best place to be. We spent most of our time in the lobby bar with the lovely bar staff Reyes, Mauro, Gabriel, Fransico and Benita who we became such great friends with. The restaurants have everything you could want and the food was amazing. The staff are so friends and happy to help with anything you need. Beachside/ Poolside, the wait staff will bring you anything you want. They do daily activity down at the pool and also show during the night time. So there is never a dull moment. There is a service desk which will have a meeting with you when you first get there to give you a rundown of what there is in the area and some hot tips. If you haven't already you can book a tour of the hotel and get the best deals. Make sure you visit the spa for a rest day. I got a massage by Molly which was just amazing and so relaxing. Make sure you learn some basic Spanish words as they really appreciate you trying to talk in their language. Since going, two friends have already booked a holiday here. I honestly couldn't recommend this play highly enough. We will differently be back.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Just Ok!!!

    Reviewed by May2507(New Jersey) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Large resort in good location for 5th Avenue. Nice choice of restaurants with good service. We saw a great singer called Ingrid but the rest of the entertainment is too repetitive! Cabaret show - Friday night then Monday night again!!! Also Karaoke on a Saturday night in a five star hotel is probably the worse entertainment we have ever seen and all whilst drinking from a plastic cup!! (All bars serve drinks from plastic cups and glasses) This hotel is for a younger crowd - maybe bad timing for us but lots of stags and hens and the largest group we have ever seen at a holiday resort (180 people)!! This corporate group who took over most of the hotel - so noisy with very late night dismantling of event set!! Definitely no return for us or friends!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX