Valentin Imperial, Riviera Maya

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    T

    Definitely going back!

    Reviewed by Tiago on Jan 15, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2018

    Trip Type: Honeymoon

    We went for our honeymoon and I'm glad we picked this resort. I cannot express how much we loved every aspect of our stay. The location was great (about 30 minutes away from the airport), and the rooms were large. The food was 5 star at every restaurant (even the buffets has excellent food for breakfast and lunch). I've been to other resorts in the area, and VIM is hands down the best.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    M

    Great Christmas with a Celiac

    Reviewed by Martins on Dec 28, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    I would highly recommend the Valentin Imperial Maya. We just got back from our Christmas there and really enjoyed the trip. Our family enjoyed the excellent service and accommodations. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The activities were good and we had no complaints. We have stayed at other resorts and would agree even though it's a little more expensive it is definitely worth it. They serve nothing but top shelf liquor and the food services was excellent. The entertainment was excellent, the amenities were pretty good though there wasn't much to do at the beach. They had 2 sail boats and a couple ocean sit on top kayaks that they never allowed out. That is the only thing I would like to see improved. Regarding being a celiac. I was very nervous going when I booked the trip as I am more sensitive than most celiacs I can't even eat everything with the CF logo less than 20ppm of gluten . I only had one issue where a server screwed up at Hacienda Mexican Restaurant and gave me flour fajita instead of corn. Luckily I realized it was flour and only had one bad night. After that I learned how to deal with the language barrier having a food allergy. If you constantly mention at every place you eat the words "Food Allergy" and "Gluten Free" it made a huge difference. You still have to be careful but after that it was much easier. This place is great if you have an allergy, they will make you pretty much anything you want separately off the menu. One person to mention was Luis at Le Marche, That guy was amazing, after he realized I was having trouble, he made sure they made something for me every day special for breakfast and any lunch I ate there. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone traveling with allergies. Just make sure that the waiter/ waitress understands your allergy, if unsure ask for a manager and you will be very well looked after. They take it seriously and their kitchen staff do an excellent job. I can't wait to go back!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    W

    Sing along with me-Oh Oh Mexico!

    Reviewed by Wayne & Chris London Ont on Jan 17, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2014

    Trip Type: Family

    Hubby and I travelled to the Valentin Imperial Maya for the first time with WestJet in October 2013. It was our first time in Mexico and our first time using WestJet. We loved both so much we came back October 3rd to the 10th 2014. This time we brought my brother and his wife too. It was a surprise to celebrate their 15th wedding anniversary and her 50th birthday. It was their first time in Mexico and their first time at an all inclusive. After clearing the airport we didn't have to wait very long and we were on our shuttle to VIM. Upon arrival we were greeted with cool cloths, our luggage was whisked away and we were escorted to the lobby by our wonderful Eduardo, who took care of us last year. We were seated and offered champagne. Didn't wait very long and it was time to check in. We were given the building I had requested-Building 4, top floor , king size bed for all of us! Eduardo escorted us to the golf cart, loaded our luggage and took us to Building 4. We took the elevator to the top floor and Eduardo brought all our luggage up and took us to my brother's room. What a joy-they had it decorated with two towel swans on the bed with a red rose and rose petals strewn on the bed. A bucket of chilled champagne with two flute glasses and a plate of tuxedo strawberries. We left them to enjoy and Eduardo escorted us to our room and we had chilled champagne awaiting us too. This resort is amazing, all adult, no wristbands to wear, no reservations needed for dinner-go where you want when you want. There is 24 hour room service included and it is not to be missed. The restaurants in the evening are all a la carte and there is a good variety to chose from. We loved the Italian, French and Steakhouse. Food is excellent for an all inclusive. Breakfast and lunch have 2 choices of buffet restaurants and the food is varied and fresh. There is a huge main pool with ample seating, lazy river pool which is laid back. The beach is gorgeous. They were blown away! Go Enjoy!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 13933 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Not impressed...

    Reviewed by 8lindsayl(Ottawa, Canada) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    I was following the reviews and seemed like such a great resort. I guess I had my hopes up. Unfortunately, we are not yet impressed. Grounds are nice, but if you don’t book privilege package, you are treated like a lower class. Asked for a second or third floor room with a king bed, how hard could that be? Apparently impossible unless you pay $700 USD. Ridiculous... I have been to many resorts, and never had a problem with this request even in regular rooms. Just disappointed as we have been to better places and paid less. We will make the best of the rest of our vacation. Sadly, don’t think we will be back like a lot of other guests.

    Keep coming back for more

    Reviewed by Jesse L() on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Absolutely LOVE this resort. If you want to party, you can, if you want to relax, you can. Having multiple large pools makes that very easy. This resort NEVER seems crowded, even if they are 100% booked. The grounds are always perfect. I do miss when they used to play more "fun" music all day at the "fun side" of the main pool. I always ask where I can find Veronica tending bar as she is always awesome. She still remembers my drink every year I come down. But this stay's star, was Darvellio at Mar Tierra for lunch. He was always happy, very quick with our drinks. Not only did he bring the drinks we ordered, but every day, he brought us a surprise drink as well that he thought we may like based on what we ordered! I really wish the Imperial Band played more often, but I would not be surprised if they are in too high of demand to be there more often. A week or two after arriving back home, I booked my next trip. This will be my 7th time back. I will say this year, I found the Ginger Ale tasted pretty different....and not enjoyable. Not a huge deal, just had to switch from Crown and Ginger to something else.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Exceeded all my expectations

    Reviewed by robankn(Broken Arrow, Oklahoma) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I read hundreds of reviews about Valentin Imperial before I went there and let me tell you it was better than I was expecting and my expectations were very high. From the time we arrived there we were greeted with welcome home and it really did feel like you were welcome. I usually stay at Secrets Akumal and we were very nervous to try a different resort. First thing let me tell you, the food was so much better than I was accustomed to getting in Mexico. The French restaurant was my favorite. Definitely get the crusted onion soup! Its to die for. The hibachi was also great! The resort is huge, but it was very easy to get around, they shuttle you to and from anywhere you want to go. Most places were a short walk to go to the beach or the pool but when it was time to go to the restaurants in the evening, you just pick up the phone and ask for a golf cart and they are there almost before you can get out the door so there was never any issue with getting around the resort and they run 24/7. The room service was also a pleasant surprise, you get great food delivered to your door and it comes very quickly. I cannot say enough about the staff there! Everyone was was very nice and very helpful with any request. Francisco was the concierge at the beach and he was one of my favorites. Many reviews said that the privilege package was not worth the money, but we were so glad we did the privilege package. You can order lobster at dinner which would have otherwise been a $50 per plate surcharge and you get a bed on the beach or the pool reserved for whenever you want just by request. there are many cabanas available for the privilege guests and they are well worth it in my opinion. If you are not privilege, you would pay $45 per day for a cabana and no guarantee you will get one. We like quiet and uncrowded atmosphere and even though they were full to capacity it never felt crowded or loud to us. The resort was beautiful and very very well maintained. There was not one spot in the entire resort that was not in near perfect condition. We were in awe of the beauty of the grounds and just how meticulously it was maintained. One of the best parts of our trip was the fact that they have top shelf liquors. With the privilege you get 3 bottles of wine or liquor delivered to your room free of charge and its not off brand stuff! We had Crown Royal, Hennessey and Baileys Irish cream. We stayed in an ocean view room and it was awesome to look out in the morning and see the sunrise on the ocean. I was surprised how inexpensive an ocean view room was compared to a regular room with no view. I think it was only $140 more for the ocean view and we chose the second floor so we could see the water. If you get a first floor room, you can walk out of your room and onto the beach in merely 30 steps. That was pretty nice to be so close to the beach and the perk is that its located very close to the pool and the Tierra Mar restaurant where they serve an outstanding breakfast buffet. it is the farthest place from the other restaurants but like I said before, we never walked it one time, the carts were on the spot whenever you needed them. The nighttime entertainment was great also! Every night they had very good shows/singers in the main courtyard. We don't usually go for the night life scene but it was very tasteful and sophisticated gatherings so we did attend several and really enjoyed ourselves. The martini bar was great, they serve all kinds of drinks that you would normally pay a lot of money to get and it was a very nice relaxed atmosphere. One thing you must know is to make sure you bring pants and some elegant evening clothes because they do have fairly strict dress policy for the restaurants. men must have pants and women can wear either a dress or some elegant shorts but they do not allow flip flops or beachwear in the restaurants. At first I thought that was a little ridiculous but after a few nights I realized why they have that policy. The atmosphere in the restaurants was very nice and it made the nights feel more special as if were on a date each night. If you are considering booking a trip to Valentin Imperial, do not hesitate, you will be glad you did. My wife is probably the most picky woman when it comes to service and acomodations and she was blown away by the Valentin Imperial!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Valentin Resort

    Reviewed by POR456() on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Five stars to staff for all variety of services. Spanish colonial hacienda style very attractive. Large resort but layout and open spaces gave impression of small resort and more privacy. Beautiful, immaculately groomed grounds. Hoped for some jungle trails and opportunity to see more birds, etc., which property seemed suited to include for nature/wildlife lovers. Many daytime activities and evening entertainment options, or just hanging out w spouse/friend/partner. Limited shaded areas for daytime lounging/ reading. Restaurants excellent/good/ neutral. No other experience with "all inclusives," but research suggested Valentin much better than most, including some higher rated and more expensive. Package said “gratuities included,” but about ½ guests tipped regularly. We got in the habit, with some reluctance given pkg description, but tips were not “expected” and were appreciatively received. Common areas very clean and well kept. Elected an upgraded room, but it needed upgrading - floor cleaning/polishing, replacement of items, fixing basic bathroom/shower functions. Room definitely not up to five star rating.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    The best

    Reviewed by 3olivesstuffed(Methuen, Massachusetts) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    For the forth time The Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya has lived up to ALL our expectations . Food, drink and service were top notch. Cleanliness of are room was perfect and continued throughout the week.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX