Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    K

    Very Family Oriented Hotel

    Reviewed by Kim on Jul 10, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    We had a fantastic time at this property! The location is great as it's right on the bay, one block away from the main beach and close to Belmont Park. Sea World is about a 20 min drive away. The staff were all friendly and very accommodating! This property is great for Families. It has a very tropical feel to it like you are in Hawaii. Koi ponds and exotic birds, even ducks and their ducklings walking around. My son loved it! They do also have a Luaus and kids movie nights on the beach. They also have a evening boat ride to their sister property. Lot's to do at this Resort! I would highly recommend to anyone and I will definitely return.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 5102 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Larry and Marsha’s 38th. Wedding Anniversary

    Reviewed by CoronadoLar(Coronado, California) on Aug 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    A quick shoutout to Jamison in the restaurant for her attentive friendly approach to every detail helped bring back many memories 38 years ago when we were married on the deck above. We have made it a yearly tradition to return every year for dinner. I think it was Marco at the cold line who is also celebrating his 33rd. Anniversary. Thanks Jamison and Alex for your thoughtfulness. Larry & Marsha A.

    Wonderful visit

    Reviewed by steve(Newton, Massachusetts) on Aug 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    And a great time was had by all! We booked 4 rooms, for three generations visiting San Diego for a family event. 1) resort has an awesome location. Right on the bay, and trivial walk to the beach. Best in San Diego, in my opinion. 2) service was excellent. From checkin to checkout, everyone was friendly and helpful. 3) rooms were great. We opted for the mission bay view, which was worth it. Clean and comfortable. One of the rooms was a suite on the ground floor that literally walked out onto the beach. Awesome/fantastic/wow. 4) shoutout to Tanner Shimp for his thorough knowledge and helpful answers to our questions about the resort. 5) nice coffee shop in lobby for easy coffee/drink/pastry at any time. 6) ate at Oceania, several times, and will write a separate review. I didn’t go in the pool, but when walking by, lots of kids were having a blast. Played beach volleyball right outside the hotel. Loved it. Next time I will pack my rollerblades, as the bike paths are right on the property and you can circle the bay. Next time in SD, I will stay here. (I’ve stayed in Airbnb and paradise point before, and prefer the catamaran). Super friendly place, not stuffy/formal, and great for kids (and we loved it as a party of adults).

    Luxurious rooms, very nice people

    Reviewed by isaackaufer() on Aug 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I stayed here for a weekend and it was fantastic. Very spacious rooms in the Tower, including a kitchen, couch, and balcony facing the bay. The only meal I ate there was breakfast and that was very good too. Very nice staff all around, including Tanner Shimp, who was able to provide lots of fun and helpful information about the resort.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Always a great stay, and good pool food and drinks

    Reviewed by Kerry D(San Diego, California) on Aug 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We started this tradition last year, bringing the family to the Catamaran Resort for an annual stay-cation. Belmont Park is a quick scooter ride down the boardwalk, and the Bahia Belle can bring you back. They even let you stay at the pool after you check out so you can maximize your time here without rushing. Chef Greg was on the pool grill today, and everything was delicious! Will definitely be coming back.

    Amazing Food at the Oceana Coastal Kitchen

    Reviewed by rachelb8888() on Aug 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Our stay at the Catamaran was excellent. The location was great since it was not too far from downtown or the Zoo. Although it appears the rooms could use an upgrade, overall the experience was exceptional. In addition, we had the pleasure of dining at the Oceana Coastal Kitchen. We ate at the sushi bar and all I have to say is our waiter (Daniel) and sushi chef (Charl O.) were phenomenal. Daniel was always checking in on us and providing amazing service. Charl was a sushi master who crafted very tasty dishes and, since we sat at the sushi bar, he offered delightful conversation. Cannot wait to return!

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX