Be Live Adults Only Los Cactus

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    D

    Great place, great friends

    Reviewed by Denise on Oct 05, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2018

    Trip Type: Single

    Been going to Cuba at the same resort for the past ten years. It's my home away from home. Staff is wonderful, always eager to help you whenever they can. Good services everywhere in that resort. Cleaning ladies do a great job, gardeners go out of their way to keep the grounds looking super. Cooks, waiters, waitresses always big smiles. At the reception, they go out of their way to please you. The beach is awesome and the water is like the best. Beautiful place to relax. I am returning this month and I can't wait.

    B

    I loved my stay. I have stayed 3 times and will go back again. The staff are SUPER friendly and very accomodating.

    Reviewed by Barry on Sep 27, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Single

    The location is great. The beach is close from the rooms. The staff are AWESOME !!!!!!!!! The resort def needs some upgrades but the friendly staff helps to balance it out.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    F

    We loved this place, going back again!!

    Reviewed by Freeman on Aug 02, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    The beach was really close and it was quite and relaxing. Planning our next trip there this year...

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    P

    Worth the money for me, a senior

    Reviewed by PoppaReg on Feb 26, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2014

    Trip Type: Single

    I have been twice, and am presently making plans for a third trip there this June.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3010 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Peaceful, Beautiful Resort

    Reviewed by zachjenna(ontario) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This was our first trip to Cuba, and were cautioned about many things. However, we found Los Cactus to be a wonderful resort, and we had no issues or problems. We loved the grounds and the proximity to the beach. We stayed in the Gardenview Suite (G section) and would highly recommend that area. Both H and G sections are quiet, and very close to the dining area, pool, and beach. We enjoyed the food. The breakfast selection was very good - ate fresh papayas every day, as well as the omelettes from the grill. (which seemed to be very popular). Fruit juices were fresh and there was a good variety. The buns from their bakery were so fresh and tasty - I often ate 2! We usually ate our lunch at the BBQ Grill - fresh white fish and a variety of meat was grilled. The fried plantain chips were a hit - freshly made and excellent. We stayed away from the mayo based salads. The rice was very tasty. We were provided with plenty of water in our room. Water pressure was fine. Most of the guests we met were repeat visitors to Los Cacus - some even coming twice a year. However, if you want a party atmosphere at your resort, this one is not for you. It is more peaceful and relaxing. Overall, we would recommend this resort, and plan to return.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Wow! Love this Place!

    Reviewed by Diana H() on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We were here the first week of March and bit by bit fell in love with the Los Cactus. This was our 15th vacation in Cuba and flew with Air Transat. We were on the third floor of the Junior Suite building which I was initially a little weary of, but we actually quite enjoyed the location! The Air Transat BBQ was absolutely phenomenal, anyone who had the invite and didn't go, don't know the great food and service they missed out on. The food in general at the Los Cactus was outstanding. We were never disappointed with the variety or deliciousness at the a la cartes or the Buffet. We did however, find that the service in the Buffet was rather hit and miss, and quite often we were just ignored. We absolutely loved the Beach Grill, great lunchtime selection, the guys that look after the burgers and grill were great! Loved the bars, especially the one that we called "the treehouse" by the Junior Suite building and a special shout out to Mabel and her amazing Spanish coffees! Each one made with Mabel love! The two gals at the Pool Bar and the Beach Bar were fantastic! If it wasn't for our lackluster Maid who cleaned our room, I would have given 5 stars. I always leave a tip every single day and for that I never once received clean towels in our room. The bathroom was never cleaned, sink or toilet. When we arrived there in the wee hours of the morning, there was no toilet paper in our room, thankfully we had our own that first night. Would we return? Absolutely!

    Our 10th but not last visit !

    Reviewed by angusmac01(Moncton, Canada) on Mar 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We just spent a week at this hotel and have returned many times over the last 10 years. We have always stayed in the ocean view suites and several of the garden view rooms. Despite other comments on some reviews we love this building and if you Choose a room on the Dunas bar side there is no noise. They all have lovely balconies that do over look the beautiful gardens. My partner is a landscape designer and is always amazed at the glorious and well laid out grounds. The variety of flowers and plant life beautiful. It is a smaller resort so everything is easily accessible. I don’t want to have to take a golf cart to get to the beach!! The lobby, shops , bars , buffet and pool and beach all 5 minute walk . This is not a party central resort which we love and having said that everyone has a great time! There is a wide variety of drinks and of course anything and everything to go with Cuban rum along with 2 types of beer and red and white Spanish wine. The buffet food is good , lots of choices and the pasta station is great. I am a sucker for exceptional bread and rolls and the Cubans win the prize! People complained about the butter. It is non salty and healthy!Lots of fish, chicken and pork . A variety of fresh fruits and vegetables. A very diverse choice for meals. The a la cartes are nice for a change and our favorite is the Cuban restaurant. Downstairs the coffee bar with the wonderful Maybel to serve you . From the front reception staff and the staff/ guest relations , to the servers in the restaurants and the bars, the women who clean your rooms to the groundskeepers you will not find a harder working group of people who are not only efficient, friendly and professional but manage to put up with the most demanding guests with grace and dignity. My hat is off to them all. There is a great rum , coffee and cigar shop, try the honey it is delicious . Lovely gift shop next door. There is wifi available in several areas of the resort wifi cards available for one peso for one hour.The beach area is valued as the 2nd best beach in the Caribbean. It is clean well maintained and the ocean is amazing. It would help if guests would pick up their own garbage and cigarette butts. Bring bubba mugs, better for the environment and less trips back and forth to the bars. We bring gifts that include Tylenol, cold medicine, reading glasses and other items that may be difficult to find for the Cuban people. We also tip. We love the ambiance in this resort , happy it has retained some of the old Cubam charm . We will return and tell all my family and friends about this much beloved resort .

    Honeymoon

    Reviewed by 123teddybear567() on Mar 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Lovely grounds. Room was absolutely awful. It smelt damp and there was water coming up through the floor so we spent very little time in the room as the smell was so overpowering . Food was hit and miss. We moved hotel after 2 days. Wouldn’t recommend this place.

    Los Cactus - My first visit and it won't be my last!

    Reviewed by Wlynne70(Canada) on Mar 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I have visited Cuba many times, this was my 6th time to Varadero & my first time at this resort. I can tell you, it won't be my last! I travelled solo but met family who was already there. I wasn't at all concerned about any negative reviews I have read, I take those with a grain of salt...for obvious reasons.... We met so many amazing people & had an absolute blast with them! I can certainly say I LOVED the aspect of this being an adults only resort. Not only did we not have to listen to screaming and yelling, but we didn't have to babysit other people's children on the beach or around the pool or in the buffet (yes, this has happened to me many times...). While I love kids, I don't think I should have to ensure the safety of other people's children on vacation because they feel the staff are built in babysitters.... The grounds were beautiful, the beach amazing and the staff made us feel like family. The staff, what can I say, they are all wonderful!!! From the minute I checked in, my experience with everyone was just fantastic. Such sweet people! My room was great, I had booked a gardenview suite, which I really enjoyed. I had plenty of hot water every day, my room was left immaculate and bottled water was provided every day (sometimes 2!). I was left the sweetest notes every day by my maid, who unfortunately, I never got to meet in person. I have been to Cuba many times and have never had an issue with the food although I can be a picky eater, but I was super impressed with all the food at Los Cactus, not only at the buffet, but at the beach grill, and ala cartes. I never went hungry. I certainly also never went thirsty :) There was limited supply sometimes of some drinks (ie wine) but I'm on vacation and just chose something else. I'd rather spend my time having an actual drink instead of complaining about the fact that I can't have a glass of wine right that minute. There is a fantastic coffee bar and Maybel will make you an unbelievable spanish coffee (among other kinds). Location of hotel is great, a short cab ride into town or just hop on the bus. In short, without hesitation I will be back. And I will recommend this hotel to anyone I know travelling to Varadero.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX