Iberostar Selection Varadero

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    S

    I wish I could have stayed longer.

    Reviewed by Susan Finlay on Jan 24, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Friends

    All I can say is that it was perfect and I would love to come back. If only we could put in an order for ideal weather. However, on days we could not enjoy the beach we signed on for excursion trips that were excellent. I worked in the hospitality industry in Canada for 26 years and wish all our staff were as completely accommodating as the staff we encountered at Iberostar Varadero. The food was varied and delicious and the grounds immaculate with almost no indication of damage from hurricane Irma.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    N

    I am definitely coming back with my family next year!

    Reviewed by Nina R. on Jul 03, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2016

    Trip Type: Friends

    While travelling throughout Cuba last month, I stayed at a hotel two doors down and it was not as nice. We ended up going to the Iberostar Varadero by fluke when our previous accommodation arrangements fell through. What a lucky break! This hotel was so much better in terms of the hotel itself: very clean and very nice and more updated. The beds were softer, there were more pillows; squishy nice huggable pillows. The staff were amazing and they were super attentive unlike the first hotel we ended up at where I felt I almost had to go behind the scenes and get a glass of water or a cup of coffee myself . Some people say that the food at Cuban hotels is not good... MYTH BUSTER: It's not the Cuban food, it's YOUR HOTEL'S FOOD. The Iberostar Varadero had a selection of fresh, colourful fruits and and salads, more international dishes to choose from and the food looked good and fresh not like it had been sitting there for a couple of hours . THE FOOD WAS VERY GOOD!!!! The beach was one of the best beaches I have ever visited and I come from a country in the Caribbean so that's saying something! . The pool was nice, didn't try the hot tub though. In terms of Amenities, they were good. They have a pharmacy onsite as well as medical attention should you need it during your stay. There is also a nice store on the premises as well as a separate unit where you can purchase tobacco and liquour. You can also buy books in various languages should you run out of literature. THE KIDS AREA!!!! I didn't bring my kids with me on this trip since they wouldn't have survived the 12-plus hour days of roadtripping but the kids' area at this hotel is beautiful! I know they are gonna love it. I am definitely coming back with my family next year!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    Enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to friends

    Reviewed by Sonia on Mar 26, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    We enjoyed our stay, were very satisfied with our room and the food was great. Very good selection in buffet and staff were very good. Grounds are well kept. Pool was very clean and a pleasure to swim in.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    R

    I'll be back for sure

    Reviewed by Riss on Apr 27, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2014

    Trip Type: Wedding

    Loved this. So much fun.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 8068 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Paradise

    Reviewed by Liam008(Weston super Mare, United Kingdom) on May 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My wife and I have just returned after spending 9 nights in paradise. The hotel is a delight. The staff are incredible and work tirelessly to ensure that you have everything you need to make the most of your holiday. Everyone greets you with a cheery “Hola” and smiles from the gardeners to the managers. The food is fantastic and the best we have experienced on our other all inclusive holidays. The chefs work non stop in front of red hot grill stations and cater for every taste and request. We ate at the speciality restaurants some evenings. They were easy to book and each was very enjoyable. The evening entertainment is very good catering for all tastes. At breakfast, lunch and dinner we were treated to live music from extremely talented musicians. WiFi is a national issue not a specific hotel issue. There is no free WiFi in Cuba and 1 hour connection costs 1 CUC everywhere. Thank you to all the staff for making our holiday so fantastic and we cannot wait to return.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Great spot for a family vacation

    Reviewed by G8968NLkevinb(Toronto, Canada) on May 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We spent a week here at the beginning of May and we really enjoyed our stay. We stayed in building 17 and we had a nice view looking out to the sea. The beach had lots of palapas to lay under and the water was fantastic. Beautiful turquoise in colour and so calm. The grounds were nice and the staff were very friendly! Shout out to Victor! The a la cart restaurants were ok. We actually enjoyed the buffet more for a few of the nights because of what they were serving. It was my first time in Cuba so the food was better than I expected. Bring bug spray if you plan of being outside at night. I got eaten alive enjoying cigars on my balcony at night! All in all we really enjoyed our stay at Iberostar Varadero.

    Vacation in Paradise!

    Reviewed by MOOOOOJOOOOO() on May 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We just returned from the most wonderful vacation at the Iberostar Varadero! This hotel resort is definitely a 5 star resort thanks to the breathtaking beach, picturesque hotel, extremely gracious and accomodating staff, top notch food in terms of quality and variety, cleanliness, Broadway worthy entertainment/shows, well maintained grounds, large/beautiful pools....basically a vacation in Paradise! We already miss it and can’t wait to return next year. Many thanks to the staff, and especially José Viggllarrel who would welcome us every morning for breakfast with his artistic food sculptures! See you next year!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Great vacation

    Reviewed by Sherriff2371(Ottawa, Canada) on May 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Clean, peaceful, amazing staff, unbelievably professional entertainment only available on broadway. It is the best food quality and taste in Cuba . I visited Cuba more than 16 times . This is my second Time in Ibrostar Varadero.

    Relaxed break

    Reviewed by corradojuniorsoprano() on May 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Myself and my partner have just returned from the Iberostar Varadero. We found the hotel very good in some aspects not so good in others. The rooms are spacious and basic, we had a sea view room which was fantastic but little things like broken off door handles on the patio doors and a dirty looking sofa bed let the room down. The grounds are beautifully kept and the gardeners never seem to stop, the pool area is lovely with plenty of beds and the beach is stunning. The food was a bit hit and miss, out of the Al a carte probably only the Cuban one we really enjoyed, the Mediterranean was bland and the Japanese portions were small. The buffet restaurant has plenty of choice and quite nice most of the time. Thank you to Roxy doing omlettes and Javier and his very enjoyable pasta dishes. The alcoholic drinks are abysmal the beer is watered down terribly. If you tell them you will notice they have something at the side of the tap they push to try make it actually have some fizz and taste of beer. The cocktails are awful too with no real fruit used in any of them and again badly watered down. The only person in the resort who seemed to be able to make and actually know what a mojito is was Alberto on the swim up bar. The Cuban day on the Friday is cool food was good with pop up bar etc and was introduced to one local decent drink Canchancharra. Bar staff seemed gutted to have to mix you one though when I asked for them in the days after in the normal bars away from the Cuban day area. The shows are hit and miss, the rock show, 80s and boogie Nights shows were very good the rest ok apart from the horror show which should be renamed horrorific show, please change it or scrap it as it's awful and the reaction from the audience should tell you that. Some of the dancers and singers are fantastic some can't keep time or hold a note but I appreciate they work hard. Don't book trips through the hotel do your research before hand, the hop on off bus is great for going into Varadero, check out the Beatles bar one evening costs 20 CUC one way for taxi. Tips go a long way and give what you can it costs the locals daft money even just for toilet roll. Overall we really enjoyed the stay but it's more 4 star at best than 5 and I think the Meliá international that's recently opened in the resort will be number 1 before too long. Thanks to Reina our made keeping room clean and JD and entertainment staff around pool who do not stop also. Also guys please use working freezers for the ice cream around the pool and in restaurants it was always like melted mush whenever you tried to get one. WiFi is 1 CUC per hour so they say but I reckon you get 15 mins tops on each card. In this day and age I would expect free WiFi especially from a hotel claiming to be number one.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX