Ocean Varadero El Patriarca

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    L

    We absolutely enjoyed our stay and would love to go back. It was the perfect location to bring our family together.

    Reviewed by Linda on May 28, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    We loved the layout of the property as everything was within easy walking distance. The rooms were quite nice and the restaurants were more than adequate. We got excellent service from our maid, Gleisey, and the service in the restaurants was warm and friendly. Even the groundskeepers and pool attendants were friendly.. The only negative of our visit at this hotel was the service at the front desk. We found the staff there to be much less friendly and accommodating than the rest of the staff at the resort. Our visit to Oceans was to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary with our family. When we checked in, they told us that we were being upgraded. However, the upgrade to "Privilege" only gave us a slightly larger room but caused us embarrassment, as we were not allowed to us the "Privilege" facilities in our section. Perhaps Oceans should consider NOT upgrading at all or upgrading the whole package for future patrons.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    A

    Enjoyed it and are definitely going back - soon!

    Reviewed by Alan on Jul 20, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Had a great time. Days on the beach, evenings in the piano bar. Took a couple of days to get comfortable with the food service, but after that it was fine. Staff was friendly an very accommodating. We went to relax in the sun and proved perfect for our wants.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    p

    tout aimé

    Reviewed by patricia on Apr 17, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    allo nous moi et mon amoureux ca fait deux fois que nous allons au el patriarca varadéro et ont n aime beaucoup... nous sommes aller oct 16 et avril 17 et sans parler du personnel tres gentil et accuillant et on va y retourner au mois oct 17 car ont aime bien la place et c est tres chaleureux... et la nourriture tres bonne...Merci

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    K

    Amazing and recommend anyone to stay here.

    Reviewed by Kim and Hugh Love on Mar 01, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    We went to Varadero for our 2nd trip to Cuba. This resort was amazing. The workers friendly and helpful. The layout of the resort well thought out. The best thing was al a carte restaurants did not need reservations, we never ate at the buffet for dinner and did not have to waste time in the morning trying to get into the al a carte. Exchanging money was very easy and accessible 24 hours per day. We really enjoyed the little coffee shop that was open daily from 0700 to 2100hrs. The rooms were big and well maintained. We came back to our room with a new creature made on our bed daily. The housekeepers were very creative. There was always chairs at the pool to access without having to get up early in the morning to save them. Overall we can't wait to go back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    L

    Loved it....would return in a heartbeat

    Reviewed by Lee Rankin on Oct 10, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    This hotel was really great. I have been to Cuba a number of times but never to this property. I found the staff friendly and very proficient at their jobs. The beach was really nice and the pools were great. The restaurants were good but we were there in "low" season and they alternated opening in the evening. Fine by me and a good business decision. The buffet was exceptional. Everything was fresh, clean and very nicely presented. Loved the fresh donuts and frittatas in the morning!!!! We took in the nightly entertainment. The shows were colourful, entertaining and well put together. The water/pool show was really amazing. I would not hesitate to return to this hotel and would recommend it to my friends and family. I felt comfortable, was treated well by all the staff and I never wanted for food or drink. As a bonus, we had towel swans, blanket "creatures" and lots of happy smiles and greetings. What more can you ask for when vacationing?

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    J

    A great place to spend a vacation in Varadero.

    Reviewed by Jerry Jaleel on Apr 03, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    Overall one of the best resorts in Varadero. I have been a guest at this hotel three years in a row since 2013, and plans to go thete again this year. The service in fabulous, the food and drinks are great, the staff and management are keen to look after your interests. The white sand beach is fitted with lounge chairs and shelters. Its buffet with huge selection and ala carte restaurants and snackbar will cater to your interests. The bars are well stocked, and don't forget to enjoy some mojitos while you are there.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    A great resort! Friendly, helpful staff! Well-appointed room!

    Reviewed by Sharon & David, NS, CAN on Apr 02, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    My husband and I visited Ocean El Patriarca from March 22 to 29. Our room was wonderfully appointed.....up-to-date and clean, with excellent maid service. The air-conditioning did not work; however, if we had mentioned it, I'm sure it would have been fixed or we would have been moved.....we didn't bother, as we didn't mind the warm air. Staff maids, restaurant, lobby, gardeners, bars were all very, very friendly without being imposing. The entire facility was clean and well-maintained. Food - lots of it, and good variety; however, it seemed very bland, for the most part, but we decided this was cultural. The beach was always clean - ie, no garbage and the seaweed seemed to disappear overnight, which we thought must have been mulched or gathered by staff. Unfortunately, there were many people who did not respect the beach and left behind their bar glasses, etc of course, this is not a reflection on the resort staff, only to mention they did an impeccable job of cleaning up after the disrespectful guests . Everyone at the resort were always friendly and helpful. A lovely vacation!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    Would go back in a heartbeat

    Reviewed by S&S on Jan 08, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    First time El Patriarca and first time at Varadero. Absolutely loved everything about the facility, amenities, food and people.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    d

    Speechless

    Reviewed by djRice on Nov 19, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2015

    Trip Type: Wedding

    Great Wedding Destination! Thank you West Jet for the recommendation. Service was excellent. Beach was fabulous! Just what I needed.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    g

    amazing

    Reviewed by gerilynn on Nov 02, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2015

    Trip Type: Friends

    This resort was fantastic.the staff treated us and themselves as family everyone worked hard to ensure our vacation was memorable.the rooms were close to the beach and very clean our maid was very accomidating with beach towels . The pool was closed for repair but who needed pool when you had such beautiful beach to go to.i would definatly recommend this resort

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4513 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Wedding

    Reviewed by Cody P() on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Beautiful beach for a nice wedding. We are having very much fun here at this resort. The drinks and food are fantastic. The pool is also very nice and the DJ Pepe is awesome!!! The weather was great during our 7 day stay.

    Cuba vacation

    Reviewed by Owen W() on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I like it here. I came here with my family and we all are having fun with the beaches and the pool every one here is very nice. The food is amazing here and I we all love. It is the best vacation I have ever.

    Cuba vacation

    Reviewed by Serge L() on Apr 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Very good resort, beach is nice, staff is friendly. Rooms are very clean as well. The à la carte restaurants are amazing my favorite is the italienne, you can go as many times as you want without reservation.

    Got made April 16th

    Reviewed by Nessa201188() on Apr 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Spend 7 days at this resort few minor things not worth chatting about, food was ok never got sick main thing, staff was good, rooms were clean, and beach was nice, weather was great, best drinks I found in piano bar. I will post a pic of my uncle and boyfriend with the best bartenders :)

    Trip to CUBA

    Reviewed by Clare B() on Apr 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Our first time to Cuba. It is our honeymoon and had a lovely relaxing stay in the resort. Fresh towels everyday and lovely presentations on the bed via the maid each day. Fabulous 4 course meal ans entertainer at the beach bar on Thursday night

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX