Finest Playa Mujeres by Excellence Group

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Cancun
    5. Finest Playa Mujeres by Excellence Group
    6. Finest Playa Mujeres by Excellence Group review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    M

    Great for families

    Reviewed by Marie on Jul 05, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    This is a great resort for families. The pool and waterpark are great for kids. The pool is also divided and has an adult section. So you can put the kids in camp and have some quiet time with adults. The rooms are very spacious and clean. The restaurants are great. So many that we couldn't even try them all. The room service was a bit lacking. Food was bland. Overall, a great stay for all.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    T

    Not a 5 * any more! 4 hours for food! Musty stinky rooms!

    Reviewed by The Family Trip Planner on Apr 24, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    This is going to be a bittersweet review. I love Mexico and it's people. That still applies! But this was supposed to be a week at a 5 star, expensive property that came highly recommended. We have been terribly disappointed by Finest. We booked it August 2016 for a mini family reunion in April 2017. We had 3 swim-up suites booked with a request that they be as close together as possible. I realize there are no guarantees. The request was on file and I emailed the property who did email me back about a month before our arrival, as a reminder. The front desk clerk must've been new and did not know the property layout. He had us in the same building and assured us "07" and "08" are next door to each other and "04" is just three doors down, same side. Well, not so much! 04 and 07 were on same hallway, 3 doors apart but 08 was on a different corridor altogether. So, quite spread out and two of the rooms 07 and 08 are at intersections of pathways so quite busy areas -- not the best locations, for sure. Anyway, moving past that first let down! The rooms - all 3 - smelled severely musty/mouldy. To the point that allergies were triggered and headaches. Most noticeable when you left for a meal and returned. Housekeeping staff did their best with a lightly scented cleaner and I would think it was gone, 30 min later it was back. Horribly unpleasant. Way beyond that tropical scent that comes home on your clothes. This was nasty! The staff generally were great, just couldn't do enough for you, honestly! The problem is there's not enough staff! Where it's noticeable is in every single restaurant and bar. These men and women are run off their feet! The same person is hosting, clearing, taking orders, serving...maybe cooking, lol? I started to wonder when one night our meal took 4 hours! Not by choice!! Property is only 3 years old maybe. Corona contract ended 6 months ago so no Corona on site! New management perhaps??? Somethings wrong and it's not the staff's fault!!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    A

    Amazing family resort!

    Reviewed by Ang on May 01, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    It was the first time we took our children 7 and 8 years old on an all-inclusive vacation and it couldn't have been a better time. The resort was amazing and we loved that we didn't have to make a reservation for dinner. The staff treated us very well throughout the resort. Our room was spotless. We loved the free wifi throughout the resort and we didn't find it slow at all anywhere on the resort. The food was excellent...but just be aware that you you cannot dine with shorts, t-shirt and flip flops except at the buffet. The drinks were free poured and it was the first time we actually had waiters serve us pool side consistently! The beach had ample loungers and we didn't find it crowded at all. We will be back again!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    C

    Beautiful resort. Great water park for kids.

    Reviewed by CBFreeb on Jul 21, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    We really enjoyed our stay at this resort. It is located in beautiful Playa Mujures which was approx 30 mins from the Cancun airport. There are two water park for the kids. One was for ages 3-6 and the other was for ages 7-12. The older kids' park was fantastic! There is also a playroom with pool, air hockey tables, etc. The resort had lots of live music which was fantastic. The night of the 'beach party' they had an amazing band and a colourful dance floor. The whole family had a blast. There were 8 restaurants and a few bars. The buffet was really good as they have chefs that will prepare your eggs, or grill meat for you right on the spot. Overall the food at the restaurants were really tasty. However, be sure to read the dress code prior to leaving. Men were required to wear long pants and closed toe shoes for the majority of the restaurants so be sure to pack those in your suitcase. They will request that you go back to the room to change. Also, plan to go to the restaurants when they open, otherwise the wait could be fairly long. The service at the restaurants were fairly slow potentially due to being under staffed. It was probably the biggest complaint of our trip. The rooms were really spacious - our room had 2 double beds and there is a pull out sofa. The fridge was well stocked with beer, pop and water. They also stocked the room with chocolate bars, cookies and chips. In addition, the hotel supplied bottles of vodka, rum, wine and tequila in the room...all included! The showers are really big but there are no drapes or curtains which would require coordination if you have older kids sharing the room with you. We will probably go back to this resort but may want to see if the service time improves over time. I hope it does because it was a beautiful resort, with friendly staff and great amenities.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    E

    WOW!!!!!!

    Reviewed by EK on Jun 15, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    Beyond amazing! The rooms are beautiful and a great size, the staff are so wonderful and made sure everything was satisfactory when ever we came accross them. The Japanese restaurant was incredible and the Market Place Buffet was the best I have had in Mexico. I can not say enough about our wonderful experience at The Finest Playa Mujeres and will be back ASAP!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 5426 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Honest Review

    Reviewed by marshall_wood96(Falkirk, United Kingdom) on Mar 25, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Not one for writing reviews but as I'm 9 out of 10 nights in , I want to write the review I wish I'd read. Staff are absolutely amazing, just incredible. The rooms are superb and twice daily outstanding maid service is just great. Shout out to Lourdes and Armando for looking after us so well. The main buffet restaurant, The Market Garden, is no more than a works cafeteria or, most normally, a child's playground. They stock a very diverse selection of really crap food. The other restaurants, which are very available are simply superb and we were never disappointed at all. Main pool is very shallow and doesn't feel clean but at the adults end it is very peaceful and at the right times, absolutely great fun and a place to meet new people. As soon as you leave the adult end, it is child hell and not the place to go for couples without kids. The entertainment is for kids and they are running about everywhere. Great for some, not for us. Still, so many great things to say, primarily because of the staff, but I really didn't want to stay in a nursery. Thank God for the adults end!! Paid £4600 from UK and just not worth the money but in March for the wonderful weather, well, you know :)

    Fantastic!!

    Reviewed by LuZambon(Toronto, Canada) on Mar 25, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was our first time staying at the Finest and it definitely won't be the last one!! The whole complex is beautiful, extremely clean and rooms are impeccable. Food quality was excellent. Everything was perfect but the highlight was the service, from our arrival to the last day staff was amazing, extremely helpful and went above and beyond to make our stay special. Attention to detail defines this place!! Special thanks to Enrique, Luis and Alejandro, Arturo and Liliana for their great service at the beach bar, to Margarito for making breakfast at the Market Kitchen so lovely, to Armando for the wonderful time at Le Petit Plaisir and to Lizbeth and Humberto for welcoming us so many times at Lizo and making our last dinner at the resort so memorable. We simply can't wait to go back and we hope to see you all again!!

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Even better the second time

    Reviewed by Road02727831438(Toronto, Canada) on Mar 25, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was our second visit to Finest Playa Mujeres. Our experience exceeded last year and our expectations. Food choice and quality and entertainment were improved. The service at all venues (restaurant, beach, pool side) was impeccable. Special thanks to Bathesar at Dukes and Javier and Bernice at Tapas and Tintos for going above and beyond to make our dinners memorable. We felt welcome and safe at all times. I would highly recommend Finest Playa Mujeres to family and friends. Hopefully we will be visiting again next year. Many thanks for all your hard work and attention to detail!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    AMAZING!

    Reviewed by 205jt(Toronto, Canada) on Mar 25, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We stayed at Finest March 11-18, with our daughters and extended family, and we all had a wonderful time. We have stayed at Excellence Playa Mujeres 10 times previously, once at Excellence Riviera Cancun, and a previous time at Finest when it first opened. We obviously LOVE Excellence, and Finest is the equivalent for families. The service is what makes this resort stand out from all of the other family resorts we have stayed in. The staff are all top notch, and will go out of their way to make you feel special. Every meal was great, the gym is fabulous, and the service provided by the Finest Club Beach Concierges ( Damian, Jose, and Antonio) is out of this world! Always smiling, and so helpful. They kindly pumped up our big pink flamingo floatie, and they tracked down a coconut for our youngest, even though they had run out. Can't say enough great things about them!!! We had a minor mix up with a dinner reservation at Shoji one night, and Ruben went out of his way to take care of us. So appreciated! Florencia always checked in with us, and her beautiful smile lit up the beach. Francesco spoiled us with wonderful drink service on the beach, as well as Esteban. Fredy always brightened our days at breakfast and lunch, and even remembered our drink orders. Thank you to Martin for all of his help at the Finest Club Concierge. He made sure we were always very well taken care of. The resort is just beautiful, the rooms are great, and the service is wonderful. Can't wait to go back!

    Perfect Honeymoon!

    Reviewed by e_gabriella1() on Mar 25, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We had a picture perfect honeymoon. We were pampered by the two Carlos' and Damian on the beach, and enjoyed a spa experience with Melissa. We had several delicious breakfasts outside at the Bistro. Everyone there made sure our experience was nothing short of amazing!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX