Hotel Playa Paraiso

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    M

    Beautiful Beach, Great Weather & Fabulous Drinks!! Definitely going back to Cuba!

    Reviewed by M&M, Chatham, ON on Jan 14, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: August 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    Already wrote full review "Beautiful Beach, Great Weather & Fabulous Drinks!! Definitely going back to Cuba!" but wasn't able to upload photos.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    H

    I love my CUban neighbours And they love Canadians!

    Reviewed by Henn to Cuba 5x im the la on Nov 19, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: September 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Love my Cuban friends'= Service and food and drink was accomplished impeccably

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    c

    The beach the people but the food is terrible

    Reviewed by cnaps on Apr 27, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    I stayed at the Pestana hotel april 19-26 2015 the hotel does not look 2 years old more like ten years old and needs work even the lights outside walking to the room where all out for the first two days which made it dark walking back to room but the staff where the best part of the hotel the bar staff cleaning staff and grounds keepers where all very nice and friendly. The beach is very nice a little rocky in shallow parts but once you past the rocks its sandy.people wake up before 6 am to get the shady covers so if you don't get up early your in the direct sun all day.the only problem is the food it's terrible for real there is lots of it but very blan for me and my family. I love CUBA and the people they make CUBA a wonderful experience but the food needs improvement or least at the Pestana hotel

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    D

    Goûtez le poisson frit de la cantine de la plage

    Reviewed by Daniel Pouliot on Mar 15, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    Bonjour, Mon épouse et moi-même avons séjourné à l’hôtel Pestana en février dernier. Le site est merveilleux, et de bonne grosseur, tout est bien aménagé. Le poisson frit du de la cantine de la plage est à ne pas manquer. Yosbani, le chef cuisinier de la cantine de la plage vous servira avec le sourire à tous les jours. Que de belles journées nous avons eues. Merci pour l’accueil généreux de tous les cubains pendant nos vacances.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3518 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Not good

    Reviewed by KathAlan() on Mar 25, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    This hotel could be one of the best in Cuba. The staff from bar, restaurant and room.are fantastic. The animation are fantastic Yuni, Mitch and Humberto are excellent. I’ve read previous reviews and there saying the food was good. This is not true, the food in the main restaurant is Luke warm at best.most days it wasn’t edible. To the chef I say shame on you. The snack bar...........Omg never experienced ruder staff in Cuba. On the up I lost 9lb,

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    HORRIBLE

    Reviewed by Jasmindraa() on Mar 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Do not come to this hotel it is horrible the beds are damaged and they refused to switch my room to another one I have been here for 5 days and haven’t slept one full night .. I’m suppose to be on vacation and have yet to enjoy myself. Food is okay but SERVICE HERE IS HORRIBLE THEY DO NOT KNOW CUSTOMER SERVICE. I have stayed in Cuba before at Cayo Santa Maria and boy that had my expectations set high this is not a 4star hotel it’s more of a 2 star. Also check in is suppose to be 4pm and my room wasn’t ready until 4:45 even then they weren’t finished but I said don’t worry because I was waiting for my room since 11am and was very tired so were my children Horrible experience and I will never come back here again

    Good, not the best!

    Reviewed by tomor b(Windsor, Canada) on Mar 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    I was at Playa Paraiso second-week of march. I liked most of the experience. Good service, especially buffet, theatre bar, beach bar. Food one of the best you can find in Cuba. The best beach so far in my life. The best a la carte restaurants. Good wine everywhere. Poor entertainment! The same group of artists every night, not the best choice. The lip-syncing night ridiculous! The real reason I am not coming back to this resort is the hotel. Outdated, smelly, stained, dirty! Waking up at six in the morning, in the dark, using flashlights, to reserve chairs on the beach and swimming pool a very bad tradition. Services and supplies are never consistent in this resort.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-3

    Lots of great things...but....

    Reviewed by meegwetch() on Mar 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Visited over March Break. Resort Pros and Cons Pros Beautiful resort Best beach ever Priority section of the beach always had loungers, and staff willing to help you Most stunning and warm water-very clear Good room-three beds, beautiful bathroom, mattresses discussed under cons Maid was an absolute sweetheart and our room was always clean and well-stocked Snack bar 24 hours-excellent food and great service. Props go to Carlos, Derick, Yanet, and Ali. No issue with towels-always got clean ones, except that the towel place was not always open. We took a tip from someone else and brought our own. The people-staff is superb Excellent breakfast The price Good service Quiet Kids’ club Good shows Lovely music in the lobby Very family oriented-not a party place Best coffee and cappuccino ever! Small resort-easy for walking Well lit Good airport and fast Cons I got violently ill on day 5, partner was also sick but not to the same degree. Unsure of the cause. It took us a week to recover despite being on a prescription to avoid traveller’s diarrhea. It was NOT caused by too much sun or alcohol. Had it not been for this, I would have rated our trip higher bc before this, we were having an excellent time. Mattresses were BRUTAL. My back has never been so sore no clear idea which part of the pool is priority-people were everywhere Total lack of pool lounges (March Break?) Dinner/lunch buffet not good for kids, especially picky ones Ran out of pizza so not available A la carte takes too long-not worth it, UNLESS you are not travelling with little ones and don’t mind the wait. Italian one was a total bust. No wait staff near pool, or anyone to discuss lounges with. Luckily we lived at the beach No real way to shop or get things you need Suggestions for improvement: If one part of the pool SEATING is for priority members only, keep it that way, and/or monitor chair hogs who put their towels down and don’t show up until 3. Other resorts I have been to take your room number and give you a lounger and towel, when you go. 24 hour snack bar could add a few options that may also serve as breakfast. My teen almost never woke up on time to catch breakfast. Have more kid friendly items at the buffet Some priority clubs at other resorts offer room service, but I understand this is not a five star ?? Priority Club yes or no? For us, having the extra service at the beach and being provided more water was important. We also had a fast check in and bellhop service. We also got a late check out. So, in that regard, yes we would do it again, but it means NOTHING if you are someone who wants to skip lineups or have a quieter pool. Would we come back? Yes. We had a wonderful time on a budget that still provided us with some perks to enjoy. I would just be less adventurous in my food choices. You can get sick anywhere you travel. Pack snacks! This resort has recently changed hands and from what I’ve read, has already improved enormously. And the staff here make you feel like family.

    Mrs

    Reviewed by Lori B() on Mar 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Beach is great. Food was ok But we had three of the nicest,best servers I have met. They made us feel welcomed. I would like to thank Inalvis,Yarianna,Crisley for all they did thank u again for making the trip great. Hope to see u next year

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX