Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    G

    Great Stay.

    Reviewed by Great Hotel on May 30, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    It is a remote location, so if you want to travel 50 minutes or more to towns be prepared. If however you plan to stay on resort its perfect. Easy walk to all venues. The beach is not easily accessible if you are mobility impaired. That being said, the sand and water are beautiful. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, they take pride in the resort and Country.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    B

    Great value, fantastic beach, friendly resort staff and locals.

    Reviewed by Brent H on Jan 13, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    Our family 4 couples had a great vacation here from December 28 to January 4th. The weather was great, the hotel was good value and the beach was awesome. Westjet flights were pretty much on time and great service. Hotel is a solid 3.5 to 4 stars. Food was good, very good if you waited for freshly made and the New Year's Eve buffet was great! Service was great and a la carte restaurants were a nice change from the buffets. Nice pools and good overall resort. Catamaran excursion and Remedios/Santa Clara city tour were great.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    D

    ce fut l un de mes plus beau voyage ...

    Reviewed by Diane on Mar 22, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2015

    Trip Type: Friends

    Nous avons aimé visité votre hôtel ..le seul commentaire c,est qu'étant donné les nombreux visiteurs ils fallait souvent faire la file pour aller se servir au buffet ,et au bar il manquait souvent de bière au début de l'après-midi ,mais en général nous sommes très contents de notre semaine de vacances et je le recommanderais n'importe quand ...merci aux personnel courtois et chaleureux..aux sourires et à votre belle humeur..vous êtes des gens sympathiques qu'on a le goût de revoir...Aux gens des spectacles BRAVO BRAVO BRAVO VOUS ÊTES EXTRA......vous avez beaucoup de talent....merci merci et merci xxxxx

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 7761 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Disappointing Stay

    Reviewed by Shewana S(Toronto) on Apr 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    My Husband and I stayed at Playa Cayo Santa Maria March-23-29. This was our first visit to this resort. And have visited Cuba before. The buffet restaurant was not terrible but not great, lukewarm food and same day after day (for me being a vegetarian - not many options, most vegetables/salads had meat in them). Lack of variety and hygiene not in place for food handling. Long line ups for stir fry rice, and egg stations in morning. Was glad that they at least had fresh juice station. We ate in 3 A La Carte restaurants during our stay. We always look forward to the specialty restaurants as our experiences at other resorts have been exceptional. The Seafood restaurant was dirty, unfriendly and very poor food - all the food was super dry and totally bland. The Romantico was not that bad, I ordered fish and it had some flavour. My husband ordered Shrimp, which he said wasn't bad either. The Italian was the worse, we ordered pizza which was as hard as rock. Their night shows are terrible, they need to see the shows that Mexico, Jamaica and other Cuba resorts have. Lobby is extremely busy every night, and sometimes hard to find a chair. The locals were there during our visit, but we encountered no problems. Although we saw some locals in the buffet packing food into their handbags. We also brought it to the attention of the waiters. Front desk staff very unfriendly - they bounce you around from person to person, they hold good rooms for people they want to give. We were in building 6. Saving grace was Elaine in customer service, who assisted us with getting some restaurant reservations - thanks Elaine. Weather on some days was chilly, the beach was very very choppy, and always had a red or yellow flag.. We will never return to Playa Cayo Santa Maria.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-3

    DO NOT BOOK THIS RESORT

    Reviewed by PattyAze() on Apr 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    I have just returned from this hotel and I am so glad to be home! When I booked this trip I came on here and read amazing reviews for this resort, boy where they all a lie! I have travelled to many resorts and this was my fifth and last time in Cuba! I have NEVER EVER been so disappointed in the food and service. Food 90% of the time was served cold, or if they had it one day, chances are the next day it was no longer available. You book all inclusive and expect to not starve all week, well we starved! Food was not edible most lunches and dinners, al la carte restaurants are a joke, 24hr snack bar 5 out of 7 days only served boiled chicken and no buns for hotdogs. On our second day as I reached for some food at the buffet, a black cockroach ran out from under the “hot” food tray! I couldn’t believe my eyes. Disgusting! Saw a worm looking bug crawling across the cold cut station. Be prepared to share the resort with locals. I’m ok with that and understand that people need a vacation to, but these locals are disrespectful to the staff and other guests. They also raid the crappy buffet food and take it home in large Tupperware containers. I witnessed a lady walk out a large salami log! Crazy The resort is pretty for CUBA but needs a lot of up keep, definitely not a 5 star resort. Pools are grey and have a layer of film on them, algae build up on the stairs, pool side chairs broken or moldy. Floors dirty and many areas of the resort smell like raw sewage. My friends didn’t bring their own cups/bubbas from home and were refused any drink service on the beach! WTF Beach is beautiful but there are plenty of places out there that have amazing food and an amazing beach...sorry but this was the biggest waste of money ever. AVOID THIS RESORT NO MATTER THE COST! Resist the temptation to book. If you cave in and book this hotel bring a second suitcase filled of food to survive the week with.

    DISAPPOINTING 7TH VISIT TO PLAYA CAYO SANTA MARIA

    Reviewed by Global29523(Ottawa, Ontario, Canada) on Apr 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    My Husband and I stayed at Playa Cayo Santa Maria March 23-March 30. This was our 7th visit to this resort. We noticed major changes from our last visit 2 years ago. Many repairs and maintenance are required that, in my opinion, explains why the previous 4.5 star rating is now a 4 star. FOOD As most people know, Cuba is not the place you go to if food is an important factor. On previous visits I would rate the food as 8/10. Now I rate the food as a 6/10. Thank goodness for Breakfast, pork chops and chicken as they are the best foods available. The remainder of the food offering is extremely disappointing! Throughout our 7 day stay there were no shrimps available, the majority of the time no fries were available with cold, overdone hamburgers, spaghetti sauce was basically tomato juice mixed with onions/peppers/cheese. The personal pizzas made in wood ovens no longer exist. Lack of flour was given as a reason however, pastries and bread are abundant? ROOM & BUILDING Our room, though clean, was showing massive signs of neglect. I got locked out on our balcony because there was no handle on our balcony door. Several ceramic tiles were missing on the corridor floors and numerous wall scrapes are evident everywhere. Lack of maintenance and broken AC makes this a far cry from even a 4 star resort! The AC in building #7 is having serious problems! Could not use the phone in our room to report this as it was not functional. Fortunately, the maid was able to help us. Our room and many others had compressors break down causing major water leakage from the ceiling! As a result, we had to pack up all our things and move to another room! A TOTAL waste of our time! ENTERTAINMENT Some excellent entertainment (but limited) was extremely good. Don’t miss out on seeing the very talented Violinist that performs in the Hotel Lobby! CUSTOMER SERVICE On previous visits a special lunch, with entertainment, was provided for returning guests. Disappointingly we were not invited to this lunch even after 6 previous visits! After questioning this at the front desk we were told to attend if we so wished. What a disappointment! The welcoming effect no longer exists! Cold, tasteless, fried Bananas was the “appetizer”. Soup was good and Paella was okay. No mingling with invited guests and entertainment was minimal at best. Previous occasions had people signing along and clearly having a great time! Other visits invited returning guests to an evening dinner or an evening offering orderves and entertainment. I assume the change of management has effected this resort in a negative way! STAFF Many of the employees are not smiling and welcoming clearly reflecting the very difficult times the Cubans are currently experiencing. There were the few exceptional Staff members that helped to make us feel welcome and ended up making our vacation a happy one. They are as follows: IDALIS, FRONT DESK IDALIS always had a beautiful, welcoming smile. She was so friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and speaks near to perfect, English. She went out of her way to ensure we were happy and was quick to assign us a new room when the AC broke down in our room. She clearly is in the right job and has a very good understanding of what Customer Service is really about! Great Job Idalis! SERVERS, BARTENDERS ETC GARI, SERVER BUFFETT You MUST ask for GARI as your server at the Buffet. He is 100% fluent in English, extremely professional and very, very personable! He is always smiling and very warm. He goes the extra mile to ensure your dining experience is pleasurable and memorable. I feel the qualities this young man has are not put to best use. Many of the staff working in the lobby are not friendly and can’t speak a word of English (or French). Gari speaks both English and French and has incredible people skills that should be maximized where most of the guests frequent and long for that welcoming experience. He helps to contribute to great vacation experience and has all those wonderful Cuban attributes we have all learned to love. You are AMAZING Gari! MUCHO GRACIAS! LEO, ENTERTAINMENT TEAM MEMBER Having perfected the English language, Leo does an amazing job of mingling with guests to ensure everyone has the ultimate vacation experience. He is warm, friendly and clearly loves his job! He made us feel very welcome and was instrumental in introducing us to several other Guests with whom we spent many hours with telling jokes and having many drinks. Great job Leo. Gracias! JOSE, BARTENDER Don’t miss meeting Jose. He has been at Playa for many years and loves meeting people and contributes to an overall happy Cuban experience. He makes the best cocktails at this resort! Gracias Jose! BEACH This is what keeps us coming back to this resort. It has, by far, the most beautiful beach I have ever seen! Clean, clear, no seaweed and breathtaking! Although the food and room left something to be desired, as always, it’s the Staff and the beach, that determine our return to a particular resort. We may try another hotel but our new friends (Gari, Leo, and Idalis) may (if the price is right) bring us back again to Playa!

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3

    Amazing vacation

    Reviewed by amy m(Cape Breton Island, Canada) on Apr 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Third visit in less than a year . Was there last April with co workers , this January with my husband for 7 days and he loved so much he booked again for another 7 days april 9. The food is delicious, I'm a soup person and this is some of the best soup I've ever tasted. The buffet is well stocked. If you dont mind a little wait you can have it made fresh in front of you , Aimy makes the best omelet in the mornings. Lobby bar is fantastic, morning was our personal favorite around 930 -10 they have live acoustic music to start your day , sit and enjoy your favorite coffee or cocktail, Emily was our smiley server , she was my Cuba daughter. If you head to the beach you will not be disappointed, it's the most beautiful white sand with turquoise water , so many shades of blue even the birds flying over have blue bellies. If the beach isn't your thing Ruben can make you a drink at the pool bar, hes a great bartender, has a memory like an elephant. Right beside the pool bar there is a snackbar ( 24 hr) and bbq open at lunch time ( great soup ) . If your eating bbq , keep in mind the line up , try to have your after lunch conversation poolside so others can eat. Our room was exceptionally clean and close to everything. We requested ground floor from mobility issues. We had the same guy clean our room the last 2 visits and we had troubles saying his name so he told us we could call him Saniel . He would teach us a little Spanish everyday and we would somehow mess it up every time. The spa , oh my dear the spa !! This was the first time I went to a spa on a resort. 3 times I went, next time I'm going every day! If you want to relax, this is how you do it!! The lady's name was Aslily , I'm sure I spell it wrong , but she has magical hands. A word of advise though. Make sure you shower after the massage because they use essential oil and I fried like chicken, now I peel like an onion . Customer service, wow, they cannot do enough for you. Yaidelis is fabulous. We had sent a request to be placed ground floor in building 7 and they did not get it. Instead we were in building 5 second floor and we thought maybe we could do it but it was too much . Within minutes we were moved to building 7 ground floor and we not made to feel guilty. The entire staff of PCSM work so hard to make this the best experience. The entertainment staff, I can't forget them . They keep you moving and shaking , they are so talented . All in all ,, if you visit and you are unhappy with something tell customer service, they are more than happy to help . If it can be done they will do it. Keep your expectations reasonable and you will never be disappointed.

    Great resort for Cuba, I'd have given 4.5

    Reviewed by someone6() on Apr 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I went there in May 2018 and took notes, but forgot to write a review, so I do it now, so give priority to other comments although the information you find here may still be revelant. So this resort has 3 or 4 "bungalows" that surround a pool and a bar and all these spots are near at least one restaurant. Concerning the buffet at the lobby, it is acceptable (not more than that for a majority of the food), but sometimes, sauces were sometimes missing (especially with deserts). You have to take a reservation to take dinner at restaurants, and some have dressing codes and minimal ages (no NSFW, it's only 13+ for the Romantico restaurant). In these restaurants, only take meals that fit the speciality of the restaurant, that is not taking chicken in a seafood restaurant, because you'll be disapointed. There also is a "land and sea" restaurant that you have to pay to go to, but we tried it and it's not worth the price. Be careful with trips, since you may sometimes be told lies. We were told we'd have a catamaran to go visit a cave, but we ended up with a noisy diesel boat. Furthermore, the guide said we were on an uninhabited small island, but when I Googled the name of the place, I saw it was on the main island of the archipel. The animations are adapted to the family customer base, with places where they serve candy, the pools have many depths. Hope this helped!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX