Valentin Perla Blanca

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    S

    You couldn't pay me to go back

    Reviewed by Shirley on Jan 29, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    The hotel and pools are both nice but that's all they have going for them. They lacked staff and no management to keep things under control. We would never go again and was glad when the week was over. Toilet didn't work for two days and couldn't get it fixed, no toilet paper in any toilets in lobby's and doors didn't lock, food was always cold in buffet with long lines to get anything at all to eat, kept running out of food e.g. Bread, juice, fries, etc for long periods of time, double booking rooms (people coming in when you are in the room), fridge wasn't restocked, towels not changed and many more complaints.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    T

    Relaxing-could've been better

    Reviewed by Travelgurl on Jan 21, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    I stayed at the Valentin Perla Blanca for a week. It was a good hotel with a solid staff and fantastic beach. The hotel is relatively new October 2014 but a few tweaks can be made to make it better. For example, my friends and I signed up for the Privilege package which included a 30-minute massage, lobster dinner on top of the three a la carte reservations already included in the vacation package, and access to Privilege areas ie. special seating in the buffet area and a la carte restaurant, beach. Personally if I were to return to the hotel, I would pass on the Privilege part and save myself a few bucks as I saw no value for it. There were either none or very few areas on the beach or pool for the Privilege people. And we didn't get any special services by sitting in the designated Privilege areas for our meals. The food was ok-if you go the a la carte route, sometimes they didn't have items listed on the menus. So ask what do you have to save yourself the trouble. Lastly, If you go, I'd also recommend getting a suite far away from the theatre and 'party' pool-when there's something going on, it can get very loud.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    C

    Beautiful resort, fantastic service, will definitely be going back!

    Reviewed by Chris on May 11, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Me and my fiancee stayed at Valentin Perla Blanca from April 29th until May 7th of this year 2016 . Upon arrival at the resort we were thoroughly impressed with what we saw. They had a live dance performance happening in the lobby area, the view of the ocean from over the bar was breathtaking and the entryway and hall themselves were very open and spacious. The staff were excellent and very polite and accommodating and went out of their way to make the stay as pleasurable as possible. There was the odd language barrier but it's to be expected and it never really got in the way of us enjoying ourselves. The room was very comfortable and the air conditioning was as good as the A/C in our condo back here in Mississauga. The mini-bar is stocked daily at no extra cost with a few beers, pop and a big bottle of water, we had fresh towels and intricate designs laid out with the sheets each day and we had a surprisingly large selection of TV channels as well though we didn't use them much. If you want to party, use the main pool by the theater and if you want to just relax and be quiet use the pool around the back of the property by the staff area. You can also get a wi-fi card for 2 convertible pesos per hour at the internet cafe by the main desk as well as use the phones at a cost. Also be sure to hit up the buffet behind the front desk and the main bar after check-in if you're hungry or the snack bar by the main pool. All items are included at both locations. The a la carte desk is located down the stairs directly in-front of the main desk and to the right. Staff member at a desk with a computer. We are already planning our trip to go back next year and hopefully this review will be somewhat helpful as I hope to answer some of the questions we struggled with on arrival. Our WestJet rep Joel was very helpful but wasn't there until the next day at 9:30 am which we were informed about on the bus to the resort.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    J

    Belle experience.

    Reviewed by Jacques.G on Oct 29, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    Nous avons sejourne la derniere semaine d'octobre.Avons apprecie notre sejour.Plage et piscines superbes ,chambres et exterieurs propres .LE personnel attentif et accomodant.La nourriture de qualite.CEpendant si vous desirez manger quebecois il faut rester au quebec.Rapport qualite /prix gagnant.Nous recommandons

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    Worth a repeat visit!

    Reviewed by Shaun Jessome on Sep 20, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    This won't be a long review, but, hopefully it says a lot. We are booking our second trip to Valentin Perla Blanca - we were there last January - because we want to experience the beauty, the beaches and, especially, the people, again. There were minor issues last time - the resort had only recently opened - but nothing that affected our enjoyment of where we were. Management was at the resort the 2nd week we were there and you could see that the new staff was working hard to improve. We are not world travellers, but we have been to other resorts. Some definitely were more professional in serving our pampered North American sensibilities - but none were more genuine about wanting us to enjoy ourselves. If you're not having a good time, I suggest the following: - go to the beach. WOW, that's beautiful! - hug the person you're with! We all don't do that enough and in Cuba, romance is in the air. - have a drink - they're great! - have something to eat. There's lots of it and it's not that bad. - talk to the person serving you. You will find them to be caring, proud, interesting, often very articulate and true about wanting you to enjoy yourself. Cayo Santa Maria was in a rural district before it was a resort centre. Good, hard-working, caring people. They welcome your interest in their country and themselves. We were even fortunate enough to "buy" our bartender a drink to celebrate the birth of his baby. If you can have all that, Plus, 30 degree temperatures in January; who's going to complain because the sheets haven't been changed in 2 days! Just saying......

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    C

    We loved the resort and will go back.

    Reviewed by Cubacouple on Mar 07, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    The resort had only been open a few months and was experiencing some growing pains, but overall everything was great. The staff was amazing. The beach was to die for and it was a great resort just to get away and RELAX....I would go back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    A 3 dressed up as a 5

    Reviewed by Saskie on Jan 17, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    The hotel itself is lovely. Spacious and luxurious rooms on a stunningly beautiful beach. But aside from the beach and rooms, there is nothing here that you can't get at any other 3-star resort in Cuba. The service was poor, the food was worse. The staff were friendly and tried very hard, but it was just too disorganized, too many shortages, too many changes. I felt sorry for them. Given the price we paid it was OK value for money, but there was nothing to set the Valentin Perla Blanca apart from any other established 3-star resort. Maybe it will improve with time, but for now this is a 3 dressed up as a 5.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4686 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-3.5

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Awesome

    Reviewed by Lovecuba1987() on Aug 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My wife and I had an amazing time. The food was the best I’ve had in Cuba. The staff made this place amazing. From the front desk to the bartenders and the waiters. Amazing people all round. Specially the entertainment staff. The DJ Machete and the entertainment leader Amaya made sure our time there was very special. People like them is why we will return there. As well the 24 hour snack bar staff was fantastic. Jorge especially was thoughtful and professional. We absolutely loved this place. And the romantic dinner on the beach was a memory we won’t forget.

    Meh

    Reviewed by Chantel H(Estevan, Saskatchewan, Canada) on Aug 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Food was not very good. Hot dogs hot dogs and more hot dogs. Anything good is either gone in a heartbeat or you have to stand in line for 1 hour for it to be made at the few stations..No ketchup....buffet is better then the resteraunts... bathroom vanity was dirty.... never once was our bedding cleaned in the 1 week we were there.... other than that. Staff is kind and we had a blast hanging out in the pool and an amazing beach! Also wifi was down pretty much every day we were there and for it to work you had to be right by the wifi room you purchase your wifi in...

    Beautiful

    Reviewed by bitbythetravelbu2016(Oshawa, Canada) on Aug 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I've been a couple times but my boyfriend had never been South. This was his first trip and he was so impressed he wants to make this resort "our vacation spot". Even for being an off time in season- the food was great, the staff were awesome, the resort was spotless. We will definitely be making Valentin Perla Blanca our vacation spot!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Beautiful beach...but that's it.

    Reviewed by Tiann1(Toronto, Canada) on Aug 06, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    I stayed at Valentin Perla Blanca in March. The resort is very large and spread out. Although it was at full capacity, we never felt crowded because it was so spread out. We upgraded to the privilege package and we never had a problem with seats at any restaurant or on the beach. We actually had a separate section on the beach all to ourselves. The beach was outstanding. Breath taking. We spent all our time there. Food was just ok. There was always something to eat. The rooms were ok, however I did come back with bed bug bites! Staff are very friendly. The resort is VERY FAR from the airport and it takes approximately 2 hours to get there. I think for that reason Along with the bed bug bites, I will not go back.

    Valentin Perla Blanca

    Reviewed by Tamika C() on Aug 05, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Loved this resort! The customer service was amazing. Osmany and Serge in the buffet restaurant took great care of us. The food wasn’t as bad/bland as everyone claims. I will say that I had stomach pains from eating the pork. It’s not cooked all the way through like I’m used to. Other than that, food was good! On the first day, the toilet in our room wouldn’t flush but they fixed it quickly and we had no issues with our room for the remainder of the week. Our cleaning lady always cleaned our room nicely and left some cool designs with the blankets and towels. The wifi situation was a little annoying but we managed. It’s $1 CUC per hour. It only works in the lobby where there are a lot of mosquitoes. You can log out and save any time you have left for another day. We went on 2 excursions: Land & Sea, and the Catamaran. Both were organized really well. We were picked up and dropped off in the hotel lobby. The land & sea excursion included a Jeep ride, horseback riding, exploring a cave, A LOT of walking in the sun, lunch on a boat and snorkelling. Catamaran included a boat ride, snorkelling, dolphin show/interacting with the dolphins, lobster lunch and swimming on a quiet island. Pros: Beautiful beaches Overall good food (be careful with pork) Good service Clean rooms, great a/c & no bugs/lizards! Fun excursions Amazing mangos!!! Cons: The public transit bus (double decker) really runs on “Cuban time” and shows up whenever it wants/doesn’t show up at all. It’s the cheapest way to leave the resort but you may have to take a taxi instead for faster service. There were TONS of mosquitoes.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX