Kauai Shores Hotel

3.0 star rating

Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    K

    Mom , daughter trip

    Reviewed by Karen and Krystina on Mar 28, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2019

    Trip Type: Family

    Location was perfect ; had a rental car so took advantage of valet parking, as their lot is at a premium; from check in to check out , service was amazing; housekeeping excellent, rooms clean, tidy , shower was great, tub side low to get in and out of; one sink so a bit of a tight space there; I would stay again for sure <3

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 682 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Funky with a real Hawaii feel

    Reviewed by paloaltotman() on Jun 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The kitchenette rooms are large and well appointed and close to parking (which is a bit of an issue). The Lava Lava Beach Club with tables on the sand has great breakfasts and decent lunch/dinner options. So much aloha. Pools well placed and in near-constant use as we all enjoyed the amenity. Fire pits at night were a nice plus. Overall a very nice place to stay for a taste of real Hawaii.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Great value for the beach location

    Reviewed by Michael S(Tuscaloosa, Alabama) on Jun 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This is an older hotel that has been nicely remodeled. The rooms and surrounding grounds were clean and well kept. There are two swimming pool locations with one having a hot tub and beach view. We ate at the Lava Lava Club once and the food was average and the service was excellent. Live music each evening was great and could be heard from the beach chairs at just the right volume. Valet parking was handy since late evening parking availability is limited due to the Lava Lava Club activity. Highly recommend checking this hotel out if you don't need the space of a condo or don't need high-end occupancy in order to be satisfied. Hotel is centrally located so that a drive from either side of the island is not overburdening due to traffic.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Staycation

    Reviewed by Sandi H(Honolulu) on Jun 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I can’t say enough about this property. Soooo much Aloha Spirit. Very clean and accommodating. Grounds beautiful right on the beach . Clean rooms all newly remodeled. Lava Lava restaurant. Great food and prices. I highly would return. Mahalos

    Lovely stay!

    Reviewed by MaryAnn D() on Jun 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    From the smiles and support at check in, to a lovely and clean room, to the superb location, we enjoyed our week at Kauai Shores and would go back in a flash. Parking was very tight, and that means one less star, but other than that, the staff, surroundings, and all were just right! We really appreciated the "quiet after 10 P.M." rule, which was well observed!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Premier location on the isle

    Reviewed by bigwalt4(Anchorage, AK) on Jun 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We booked this hotel through Costco travel and it was part of a package with a rental car and food credits. We chose Kauai Shores because of the beachfront location, the proximity to all areas of the island, and the savings to be had on parking and resort fees. The hotel restaurant was right on the beach and as a result all of our meals had a perfect setting. The restaurant was good though the prices were higher than I would have desired. The convenience factor made this the dining option of choice for us. The hotel staff were always polite and friendly which made for a welcoming feel. The buildings themselves were clean and air conditioned, however they were by no means resort-like. The biggest thing lacking was the bathroom which was squeezed into a tiny space with a sink barely large enough to wash up in. That said, the hotel was well cared for and we were comfortable. I would also recommend this place for kids as there were a number of children who seemed to enjoy playing in the pool and the large open green areas. While the beach out front didn’t seem safe for kids given the frequent waves and undercurrents, there was a beach just next door (to the south) that had a protective cove and what seemed like safer play ares. A big perk for us was the availability of free parking and the low rip-off “resort” fees. I think we paid ~$21/day for the latter, which seemed like half of what the larger resorts charged. The hotel was smack dab in the middle of the island as far as distance to activities goes. We were able to get to the north side and the south side in under an hour which meant that we were unburdened by driving constraints when looking for activities. All in all we would recommend this hotel and would strongly consider staying in the future. If I could make recommendations it would be for the hotel to lower the food prices a bit (it was a very good restaurant in a great location), and to invest in a swim-up bar. The Hawaii laws on drinking are strange with limits on where you can drink and how many drinks you can order at once and apparently the pool wasn’t close enough to the bar to allow guests to walk their drinks to and fro.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX