Villa del Palmar Resort & Spa at the Islands of Loreto

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Loreto
    5. Villa del Palmar Resort & Spa at the Islands of Loreto
    6. Villa del Palmar Resort & Spa at the Islands of Loreto review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    N

    Beautiful resort with lots to do

    Reviewed by Natalie on Apr 10, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2016

    Trip Type: Friends

    Villa del Palmar is in a beautiful isolated location with lots of surrounding wildlife. There is lots to do from hiking, kayaking, paddle board, golf, swimming, island touring, etc. The staff were very friendly and the resort is very clean. We had amazing weather with blue skies everyday.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    m

    Perfect!

    Reviewed by mcceplis on Mar 24, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    Just what the doctor ordered.... My husband had a broken leg and needed a change in scenery - WOW! Outstanding location and service from all at the hotel - everyone was genuinely happy to greet you and make sure everything was perfect. The golf course manager even took his personal time to drive us to the 17th hole for a spectacular view of the ocean. Would highly recommend as a safe and relaxing get away!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 1474 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Golfers Paradise

    Reviewed by jmurworld(Puerto Vallarta, Mexico) on May 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I had never golfed before and this resort has inspired me to learn. The resort has spacious apartment-style suites with stunning views of the surrounding mountains and bays. The staff was incredibly friendly and all seemed to have a real passion for hospitality. There are multiple turtle motif pools to cater to the needs of families, adults-only, and everything in-between. I received a guided tour of the the course from Richard and it was a pure delight. He had an intimate knowledge of every inch of the course and made me feel an excitement for the game of golf. Zayra, the social media director for the hotel, arranged ATV's, spa treatments, and a personally guided sunrise tour of the surrounding mountainside. She also arranged and amazing boat tour of the Loreto Islands where a school of dolphins leap out of the water for our delight. Captain Paul gave us a day of pure magic. Villa del Palmer has a beautiful beachfront where guests can find kayaks, paddle-boards, hammocks and much more. At night guests can enjoy and sunset cocktail by the resorts multiple fire-pits and bars. If you need to work during your stay you may run into a few issue with Wi-fi but try to remember...you are on vacations. Sometimes it's ok to let go and enjoy. Put down the computer and get outside.

    Great Get-away!

    Reviewed by KTKimmy(Mukilteo, Washington) on May 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My husband and I recently visited Villa del Palmar and had a wonderful trip. The setting is beautiful and we enjoyed getting outside for hikes a few days while we were there. It was wonderful to be able to spend time relaxing on the private beach and enjoying cocktails and beers from the Beach Bar (great job David and Felipe!) The staff are very attentive and friendly. We enjoyed dinner a few evenings at Casa Mia restaurant and want to give a special shout out to the kitchen staff: Rafael, Adriana, Mano and Jesus; as well as the wait staff: Benjamin, Edgar Benito and Alex. They ensured that we have a wonderful time. Relaxing by the pool was also a great way to spend the afternoons and the service from staff there was also top notch. Shout outs here go to Roberto! If you are looking for a spot to relax and unplug then Villa del Palmar is highly recommended. We are looking forward to our next trip back.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    BEST experience EVER. Beautiful resort, fantastic food and OUTSTANDING staff!

    Reviewed by PMCLovers(Frazier Park, California) on May 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    From the moment we arrived at Via Del Palmar we felt extra special and welcomed. We were greeted by Tina was our concierge, who went above & beyond to see that we were satisfied with all of our needs throughout our stay. Our room was perfect and all the details were extra special, including a welcome message with tiny colored stones on our beds. Patty was our main room keeper and she did an outstanding job every day. The view from our room was spectacular! Yes, we were spoiled on the 6th floor in the penthouse. It only got better as our 11 day stay went on. The food was out of this world and if you have an opportunity to have dinner at Danzante, don't pass it up. Lili and Eduardo really took good care of us. The Market breakfast and dinner were always great. Emanuel and Manuel were right on with always remembering our drink orders. Dinner was always special too at the Market. I truly wanted to take home Candelario and Rafael who treated us all like kings and queens. Others, who I am sorry, I do not recall their names were also special. One very special waiter I called "blue eyes." I am sure you know who he is! Oscar Torres always made us feel like royalty and catered to our every need. Casa Mia has the best supervisor ever. Mercedes greeted us with open arms and always made us feel like extra special family. Edgar Lopez and Benjamin Hernandes were also very special. Then Manny, our perfect man at pool's edge was beyond special. He was always on top of our needs and brought us great drinks. Then the highlight of the trip were the activity staff, who always put on a fantastic shows. This is where I fall short on remembering all of their names, however, two that really stand out is Hugo and Sofia and the team leader Divius (sp?) WOW!!! CATS, LION KING and AZTEC were three of the best shows! Great entertainers and all of them stopped by after the shows to greet us and see if we liked the show and to take pictures. Incredible!!! BTW, Hugo also did an outstanding job in providing us "The back of the House" tour, which we would highly recommend. We also enjoyed the tour to the town of Loreto, (great place to have lunch is Mi Loreto and Eddy was great too)The Mission and the island tour of Carmen and Danzante was outstanding. We were fortunate to witness at least 400 dolpins. Again, I am sorry I do not recall the boat driver, yet he was also fantastic and good looking. We also took a great LED kayak adventure in the evening in the bay and the two guys that were our guides were very attentive and made sure we were safe at all time. Chris was one guide and not sure of the other. I am sure I am forgetting something and someone's name but I can assure you each and every person you will meet and come in contact with are friendly, accommodating and professional. I would also like to make a special mention of Sixto Navarro, General Manager, who represents this resort with such professionalism and class it is hard to put into words. He is not above busing tables and helping out and seeks to see that everyone is well taken care of. Very classy gentlemen. I am sure you can tell by my review I was one very happy and satisfied client and would highly recommend the Via Del Palmar at any time. A outstanding place to spend a relaxing vacation. The first part of May was perfect for the weather. Again, a sincere thank you to everyone at Via Del Palmar. Until next time.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Beautiful place to get away from crowds and enjoy outstanding service!

    Reviewed by mym0neysw0rth(San Jose, California) on May 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This was my second time to VDP but this time I travelled alone. Neither time did it ever feel crowded. Just the opposite. It always felt intimate, seeing the same faces each day, a lot like a small cruise ship. My favorite things about this property? Excellent service in all areas. The wait staff called me by my first name and couldn't have tried harder to please me. Special kudos to Manuel & Emmanuel (breakfast), Cesar (lunch) and Gregorio at dinner. They always made me feel like their only goal was to delight me. More kudos to my personal concierge, Alma D. We had many fun & interesting conversations both in Spanish and English, even in French. Given the distance to the town of Loreto, I opted for the full meal plan both visits. The food was delicious and I never had any issues. At night time the place is nice and quite after the outdoor dinner entertainment. If you like to walk/hike, there are trails on the hills/mountains along the sea. But don't miss walking the cart path around the gorgeous golf course (and golf if you are a golfer. Beautiful course, especially the 17th green!). I did it every day, enjoying the scenery, the roadrunners & other birds... and I always sat down on the bench above the 17th hole, just looking out at the spectacular view which often included pods of dolphins. Great place to read or simply gaze & think how lucky you are to be there.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    AMAZING 5 DAYS

    Reviewed by Jam C() on May 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    First and foremost, the resort employees are beyond courteous, generous, and helpful. From the pool attendants, Manny, Roberto, Rafael, and Julio to the restaurant staff, they are always smiling and assuring we are comfortable. Oscar, the restaurant manager, is so kind to us and makes a mean cup of espresso. Ceasar, the Casa Mia bartender, has an amazing passion for his job with delightful creativity in producing the drink of your choice. David and Fidel are so fun to hang out with at the beach bar. Their fruit bowls are divine. Martha at the spa was the most gentle manicurist I have experienced. I was able to access wifi in the spa and translate to her how perfect she performed the pedicure. I will definitely request her again when we come back in July. Carmin, Hugo, and Duvis are perfect hosts and their Lion King performance was the best we have seen at a resort. Carmins kind demeanor displayed during my spanish class at the pool. Muchas gracias to everyone. We are blessed to be a part of the Villa Del Palmar family. We look forward to seeing everyone in another two months.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX