Playa Mazatlán Beach Hotel

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    J

    Loved Mazatlan! Will be back but will never stay in the Gold Zone again until NOISE problems resolved. Too bad as beach is great.

    Reviewed by Jo on Apr 02, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2019

    Trip Type: Friends

    Pros: beautiful beach to walk on, close to great restaurants, bars, live music to dance to, close to Malacon. The city is lovely! Italian restaurant excellent. Staff overall pleasant, smaller quaint hotel with only 4 levels. Beach is very clean as there is very limited food available to take to the beach & none is served. Palapas nicely spaced out although several tourists still brought their own music to their palapa and played it loud in competition with the bands on the beach. Cons: terrible chairs to sit and lay on at the beach - hard green plastic and no lounge chairs that fold down (see pictures online) and these are the ONLY chairs on the beach. LOUD Mexican bands playing on the beach, NOISY on the weekends in the hotel room (had to use earplugs and full blast AC to not hear street noise & noise from hallways/hotel, room 404), poor showers, poor buffet for dinner, pools cold - hardly anyone ever at the swim up bar with limited seating. Other large pool crowded, noisy. Rooms and hallways dark. No food service on the beach and limited selection from Snack Shack - no guacamole at all. Hotel caters to the Mexican tourists & they like the bandas playing on the beach (check out trip advisor reviews about these Mexican bandas & the problems). There are even signs in the palapas that talk about the "noise pollution" problem and to NOT pay them to play, but they are hired by these tourists & can play for hours with horns/tuba blasting music on the beach. I would not stay in the Gold Zone again until this is dealt with. It is a problem for most hotels in this area. We have been to several AIs in PV & have never had this experience there & have used WJ Vacations in the past & enjoyed every accommodation from Secrets to Fiesta Americana to Friendly. This is definitely no more than a 2.5-3 star. So glad we explored off the resort esp. in Central area & Machado Plaza. Would not do an All Incl. again in Mazatlan - condo & restaurants the way to go. Love this city!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    L

    Playa Mazatlan is absolutely beautiful and a fantastic place to stay...perfect for young and old and everyone in between!!

    Reviewed by Lori on Sep 29, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    I have been going to Mazatlan since 2000 and have stayed at Playa Mazatlan since 2006. I love this hotel!! It is one of the most beautiful hotels I've ever seen...especially at night!! The staff is always very friendly and super accommodating. The location is amazing and set in the heart of the Golden Zone close to tons of amazing restaurants and awesome stores to shop at.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    P

    Will always go back...special place.

    Reviewed by Pepsi and Memo on Dec 19, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2016

    Trip Type: Honeymoon

    We love this place, hadn't been there in 17 years and went there for our honey moon last April. It was as fantastic as before ! We are going back for another 2 weeks in Jan, next month and bringing a couple with us who have never been. Never disappoints and if there are any minor issues, such as a room change, they are right on it ! Food is great, walking distance to many good restaurants and shops. We could have stayed at a slightly cheaper place, but this is great value and so well run.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    G

    Good value for money when on sale, but don't expect much peace and quite.

    Reviewed by Gringotim on Oct 25, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Very noisy hotel, ceramic tile or concrete everywhere which echoes every noise. especially from rooms above/beside you, like drawers/doors slamming shut , chairs being moved etc. If you want to sleep at night, bring ear plugs. Rooms are accessed via outside corridors, so always hear people shouting outside, down the halls, doors slamming, rooms near pools are even worse for noise during the daytime. Ocean view rooms are the best thing about Playa Mazatlan, but can be noisy during the day from strolling bands playing for tips. Hotel caters mostly to Mexican families, so always lots of kids running around yelling and screaming, especially on weekends. Pools are very crowded, beach is small and can be crowded, especially weekends, waves break close to shore so not good for swimming or small kids, they can knock even adults over. Needs more staff with some English, especially housekeeping and the bar. Asked for bag of ice at the bar, guy mixed me drink. Location is so so, and for those wanting to save money by not going all inclusive like we do, its under 5 minute walk to Burger King, 8-10 to Mcdonalds, 12-15 to Carls Jr , plus dozens of non fast food restaurants within easy walking distance. 12-15 minutes to big Mega grocery/department store. Only hotel restaurant we ate at was the buffet, food was so so, but a bit pricey for our budget, $200 pesos each for dinner, $185 for lunch. Stayed here twice, only in ocean view room and only when on sale.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    d

    We loved our stay. The service is fantastic.

    Reviewed by dj on Feb 12, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    Our 4th time and each time the whole experience exceeds our expectations. Fantastic location and superior service. Can't wait to go to go back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    T

    Never going back to that place

    Reviewed by Tracey on Jan 29, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    We were not impressed with this place at all! My husband got food poisoning from their restaraunt, it was a battle with the front desk staff to get a doctor in, and they had the nerve to charge us money for the call. There is no Italian restaraunt and room service don't exsit for the all inclusive..nor did good service.. The broken glass on the beach was never cleaned up, I have a nice scar on my foot where i sliced it. The pedelars that roamed the beach were the best thing about the place. I am so disappointed that the one holiday we get a year was ruined' and not one person from the Hotel cared.. Not a great way to bring back consumers.. It to bad as the town is very nice.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 2631 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Hotel playa Mazatlan

    Reviewed by DinorahhM() on Aug 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Came to Mazatlan with my sister for a week . Everyone here is always so nice and helpful. Lots of food drinks and different pools to swim in. Room Service is amazing ! Had dinner at La Terraza and Georginis. Both were very good! Thanks to Roberto , Kelly, & Jaime for making dinner even more special!

    Once a upon a time this place was great...

    Reviewed by Wilkin95B() on Aug 06, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Ok place to stay if you are walking as parking at nightime is a horrible. The hotel is an old Mazatlan legend, but way over due for some renovations. The rooms are dull, dated and the AC does not chill rooms enough. I wish they skip the high pressure up sell and other unnecesary add ons they try to sell you. Their is nicer, more modern, cleaner and user friendly properties at the same or lower rates than what HPM charges!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-2

    Avoid this Hotel

    Reviewed by Fernando A(Miami, Florida) on Aug 05, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    After doing the check in and the lady at the Reception desk every was fine until I check the room. Just check each photo and make your own conclusions. I paid in dollars over $500 per night, all inclusive 6 person, 3 adults and 3 kids. The room looks like 900 before Christ. The room is old and nothing comfortable, the freezer was empty and the furniture out of the time. The mattress and pillows super firm. After talking with 2 different agent they send me the area supervisor to my room. I went down the hall to my room and the supervisor couldn’t wait for me to explain her our situation. I went back to the desk and the Hotel Manager Rocio García Robles told me, that I have to call the agency to claim why they sell me that room in that condition. She wasn’t try to help us in any condition. Not professional, respectful but not professional at all. I came here because my wife was born in Durango and she trying to take her mother to a Resort Hotel. The Hotel was is over crowded and my days star today. Please avoid this Hotel or you feel like your money going to the garbage. I was reading each review of this Hotel and I don’t think that people who stay here can given them too many star. My room was Superior Family Room. My sister in law has the same room but looks completely different and I paid $ $440 usd over her. Same days.

    First time here !!!

    Reviewed by Robert S(Lethbridge Alberta) on Jun 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This was our first time to Mazatlan. We have been to over 35 resorts in Mexico, so this is our take on this resort. If you want a true Mexico feel this is it, 99.5% are Mexicans here with only .5% North Americans. This stated as a 4* resort, our room did have a coffee maker and a room safe that is not listed in our booking brochure with Westjet. Ala-carts. – you have to stand in line every morning to book the Italian, Brazilian, show. Only once we were able to get into the Italian [very good] They have a Mexican [ Casa Roberto’s] no booking needed, we ate there twice, thank You Jesus for the service. I did not like the booking system, I prefer that you should be able to book all for the week or a pager system with no bookings . Buffet , for Breakfast you can go to either first or second floor . We liked the second floor more personable. For supper they had a very good selection . I found all steam trays held the food very warm-GOOD !! Beach or pools. No problem getting a chair or lounger. Biggest complaint that all the chair solid plastic, way too hard to sit on all day , we prefer the softer canvas type of loungers. The ocean was great!! I could do without the beach bands all day, hotel cannot control this –public beach, vendors were not pushy. Sports Bar – Thank You for finding us the finals for NHL and NBA games. This is a perfect place to finish off the evening with tv, music, popcorn and a glass of Indio cervasa All bars served three kind of draft, Tequate lite. Indio, Dos XX Our room- beds were great with a good selection of pillows. T.V. only one English channel- CNN , not impressed. Great shower with super pressure, lots of towels. Room made up quickly every day A big shout out to “Alfonso” , he went out of his way every day to talks to us-THANK YOU , Darynka thank you for the t-shirt even though we did not win at bingo We like to travel to a different resort each time now, so we won’t be returning, Thank you for everything Playa Mazatlan Beach Hotel

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    The BEST

    Reviewed by Joann S(Cody) on Jun 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Best food, best services, best location, best beach. And check out the Massage services. Two of us had MARY. As experienced massage customers, we can tell you she is wonderful!!! MARY, I will say again. The waiters, maids, service people are so well trained. Congrats to the management. We've been coming 11 years.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX