Pacific Palace Beach Tower

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 79 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Good location but get ocean view

    Reviewed by Flyer14406049186(Port Moody, Canada) on Apr 02, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    The hotel was new and rooms fresh. Large rooms and a large bathroom. Rooms with full size fridge, and microwave available. The location is great, but spend the extra for an ocean view. Street side has 2 bars across the street with loud music. The lounge is nice and open but with a roof, giving some protection from the sun/wind. Once we finally had an assigned cleaner, she did a great job but the first week no one was assigned and we ended up with another rooms used towels, no water and garbage not removed. Once brought to receptions attention, we got new towels but no more follow upon apology from the management. The pools were very busy with family’s especially on the weekends but there were other pools in Neighbouring hotels we could use. The elevators were very busy but as we were on the 2nd floor, we could take the stairs.

    Do your research !!

    Reviewed by Zappa1954(Winnipeg, Canada) on Mar 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Just got back from the pacific palace hotel, buffet is always Mexican cuisine all the time , breakfast , lunch and dinner . The hotel if getting mountain view it's very loud because of the bars across the road , my suggestion get oceanview pay the upgrade it's worth it . The staff is very nice but not to many English speaking staff. I should have booked the star palace instead very nice and quiet there make sure to book oceanview , the oceano is way to busy and packed all the time , so our stay and play we actually spent more time at Star palace , my opinion stay away from this chain would not go back to that hotel, every a la carte very plain we were all inclusive and ate out more because the food was always the same , this is my opinion the website makes it look better then it is ??

    Great modern rooms in an oddly configured Hotel complex. Newer Hotel.

    Reviewed by Bryan G(Victoria, Canada) on Mar 02, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Overall I give this hotel a Very Good rating (between a 3.5 and 4 star), mostly because the Pacific Palace Tower is relatively new and the Jr Suites (I believe all rooms are Jr Suites) are excellent - Roomy, Good beds, modern fixtures, large balconies. I stayed here for a Week at the end of Feb 2019. The Hotel is connected with the Oceano Palace Hotel, so check-in is centralized. Front desk reception was disappointing with long lines at times, staff spoke English but not on par with other Golden Zone hotels and generally unfriendly staff at front desk. I did not like the room they first assigned me because it was on the first floor and too noisy (beside Diego's Bar), the staff said to me "..but all the rooms are all the same", I said I want to switch rooms and the clerk clearly frustrated, went in the back to talk to his supervisor and they assigned me a room on the 14th floor, but on the exact same side as Diegos, so still noisy but a little less so. Oddly I think I read a similar review about a similar situation. Pacific Palace has its own small pool (very warm) and Hot-tub (very hot). Directly on the beach so you can tan under palapas or poolside. Pool also available at Oceano Palace but water is cold, but has a larger lounging patio. Good Poolside bars. Excellent Free Wifi in Rooms and in Common Areas. Cable TV only has about 30 functioning channels, only 2 in English (CNN and Fox News). Housekeeping is excellent, I tipped so maybe that helped. Great Breakfast with a mix of Mexican/American food (many Mexicans when I was there so more Mexican dishes than I've experienced at other Hotels, but still excellent with two made-to order stations. Cesar was my favourite waiter, he the senior waiter and if tell him your name, he'll remember you and make sure your breakfast is excellent. It has a decent Gym (2 treadmills, 1 elypical and a couple stat bikes) and a good univeral weight station and free weights. Attendant will give you a towel. So Overall, I was very pleased with this Hotel. Yes I was disappointed with the front desk/reception staff, but on balance its a great hotel.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Sunwing Vacation Trip Gone Wrong, Bring Your Earplugs, Bar Next Door

    Reviewed by loveBC(Langley, Canada) on Jan 29, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    I have just recently come back from the worst vacation stay I had in Mexico, in the past 15 years. Serious concerns on my part, on how the Hotel Management involved, felt they could move you to another hotel they own. And concerns with Sunwing on how they would allow it. I like everyone else will look at the hotel you will stay beforehand. This is important as you want a good fit, with your wants taken into account. I booked in a Holiday at the Star Palace Beach Hotel in Mazatlán, from January 19th to January 25th. Sunwing Bus dropped me around 6 pm at night. I go up to the Hotel, told them who I was, and I had a reservation. There answer with no hesitant was we have no room for me. They advised me to go up the street, 2 hotels up, and they have a room for me. Let’s stop right there. I take the time to research a Hotel that is a good fit for me. Their view is tough, go up the street. So I went to the Hotel they stated and it is this one, Pacific Palace Tower Beach Hotel. I get to the Hotel, and as was booked through Sunwing it is Oceanfront room.So they gave me Oceanfront, and gave me a room on the first floor. I walk into this room, and I can hear a band playing. I walk out on my balcony, and there is a bar 60 feet away, and with band playing exactly at the edge of the property line, 60 feet away. You can review photos included. I am just chocked. How could someone be so rude as to not give me a room in a Hotel I booked, and then me to another hotel, with a Band playing 60 feet away. So what I did, was go to the front lobby, and advise them I cannot handle this bar and band playing 60 feet away. They advised me they would move me to the 9th floor. This is another 90 feet away, so I said yes. Now my viewpoint is I am going to enjoy my Holidays, I am not going to get annoyed and ruin it for me. So I tried so hard to put up with it. The band played late Friday night, and I put ear plugs in. Saturday night they played to 3:30 am, ear plugs again. Sunday night Ear plugs again. Monday night, no band, and it was fine. But come Tuesday, all heck went loose. Tuesday morning the bar is setting up a bandstand on the beach with it, and speakers facing the bar, and of course the Hotel. From 12 noon to 6 pm, they played Country Music and singer giving it the best he could. Of course with his life story involved in there. After they finished playing at 6 pm, what happens? The band inside the bar starts playing. That was it for me, I tried so hard to put up with it, tried to enjoy my holiday. But when I am disrespected, by not giving me the Hotel I paid for through Sunwing. When I have to put up with a band playing up to 3:30 am, bands playing through the day, and night, that is it for me. There is no ifs and buts this ruined my holiday. Now to get on why the above action is going on. There are 3 hotels in a row, the Star Palace Beach, Oceano Palace Beach, and the Pacific Palace Tower Beach Hotel. From my understating here, is these hotels are owned by the same Management. That is why they were able to move me from one Hotel to the Next. Customer comes first, don’t they! So what I do, is I ask 2 couples at the hotel where they were originally booked. They advised me they were supposed to be in the Star Palace, but they were moved as I was. One couple did show up, told the Star Palace they had a reservation, and they were told they did not. Luckily they had a print out of the reservation. I take a look at the original hotel, I can see it is not full, both at the front and the sides of it. The reason why we were moved was because it suited the Management of the Hotel. There are numerous noise complaints at the Pacific Palace, so it is less empty there than normally would be. So less move people around to get the cleaning, front desk, restaurant staff working evenly. So much for the customers. Another point, and I cannot confirm this, but it was my thought. We have these 3 hotels in a row, then a bar, and then a street on the other end of the bar. I hear this constant noise from the bar, and my first thought, is this bar owner knows, that the 3 hotels in a row are management by the same group. They would know it has an effect of there premises, due to the noise. And why does this noise keep going on? Maybe the bar owners wants to be brought out. It is the last real estate before the Street, so it makes sense, thus crank the music. The photos shown has the bandstand set up during the daytime, and it shows where the band plays at night? I also include a nighttime photo of the band playing there. Excuse the quality of the photo, but it was night, and I was using an iPad camera. You may say bummer for you, well let’s take a look at other reviews of this hotel. June 20, 2018- loud music till 4am June 9, 2016- sleep there is impossible, even with ear plugs. From 9:00 PM to 4:00 AM, the open air bar immediately behind the hotel plays Disc Jockey music in an ever increasing crescendo until the walls of the rooms actually vibrate And the response from the management was “We agree with you with regards to noise. It can certainly disturb a relaxing vacation. We would like to report that we are working closely with the local authorities to enforce the city's bylaws with regards to noise levels. We are monitoring our neighboring business to ensure they conduct their activities at an acceptable noise level. We have made good progress and as a result, we have received positive feedback from guests.” They have been working on it for 2 ½ years. No progress has be made. April 17, 2016- There was a nightclub next door that played music until 330am making it difficult to sleep. I did read the reviews of the bar next door, and they think it is a great bar. But I booked a Hotel Stay, not a stay in the bar. So I complained to the hotel, they advised me that I received a total of $75 in hotel credits for meals. I complained to Sunwing and what do they first offer me $56. You want to insult me, well you have. The next offer was $150, which I have not accepted. What I will do is continue along this path. I will make people who spend their hard earned money on it, of what to be aware of. I will complain to any agencies in Canada that looks into these things. Will legal action be taken? Maybe. Did it ruin my holiday? Yes. I did not fly 8,000 kilometers there and back to be treated like this. But if I book a Hotel, I do it for a reason. And if Sunwing and this Hotel Management feels they can move a person around due to their wishes and not mine. Well they are not in the customer service business, but is doing it for their own bank accounts.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-1

    Service

    Service-1

    Value

    Value-1

    Would not recommend this place.

    Reviewed by Rhanda1(Eaton, CO) on Dec 31, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Nice place but several issues that we would like to let others know about. No hot water for showers, not even lukewarm. Our room had no a/c and we asked 3 times to get it fixed and they moved us to another room. Another frustrating issue was early morning and the late night, doors slamming from the other guests. We figured out that the hallway echos and it intensifies the noise.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-2

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX