Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan Resort

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Mazatlan
    5. Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan Resort
    6. Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan Resort review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    b

    Some old world charm but not quite as represented so won't return.

    Reviewed by betham54 on Mar 07, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    We booked this hotel based on reviews and a travel company recommendation and were disappointed as it isn't what we expected at all. However it did have some redeeming qualities so will start there. The room though dated and in need of sprucing up was clean and the view of the ocean from our balcony was amazing. The food was very good and the waiters work hard to get your meals to you in a timely fashion. Overall the resort and grounds are very clean and most staff do try to their best to help you. But there are major issues that should be dealt with. It was our first visit to Mazatlán though we have been to numerous resorts in Mexico and had never run into these problems. Check in was difficult, very few staff and very limited English skills. Before they will give you your room key, they tell you must see the lady at the side desk. Of course its to plug their timeshares at the sister resort Emerald Bay. There was little info in the room to tell you where to go and really the biggest problem is that some of the staff spoke no English at all or very limited English. This is so weird for a hotel catering to mostly americans. The beach is lovely and sandy. But the red flag for danger was up every day for our 14 day visit. The waves are at times so huge that local people surf there and there is an undertow as well. There is no lifeguard so swimming can be dangerous. There is no nightly entertainment at all. After dinner your choices are to go to your room or venture outside to Mazatlán on your own. The bars are swim up bars basically with no music etc., not at all what you would envision. The resort itself is in dire need of renovations. It is charming and very old Mexico style but the lounge chairs at the beach and pool are so old and uncomfortable. There weren't enough of them especially on the beach. Some dining chairs had cushions, most didn't. Some things in the room itself didn't work well eg phone, toilet, sink. They charge $14/day for Wifi with no free zones.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    E

    Always a fun time from check in to check out.Staff smiling & friendly.

    Reviewed by Edward (Eduardo) Oliver on Jan 09, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    Location is perfect as close to golden zone by taxi, and away from bad areas.Staff are the best experienced anywhere in past 25 years.Enjoyed many months vacations there over the years.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 1961 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    My Heaven on Earth

    Reviewed by Mittena(Onalaska, Washington) on Jul 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I have gone to Mazatlan for about 15 years now. Each time, I do my best to stay at PB Mazatlan as this is a second home to me, with my extended family there to greet and welcome me each and everyday. The staff are friends. None are better with customer service than the front desk staff, Patty is my constant go-to but each are highly capable and really care about my stay, my care and ensuring myself and my family experience excellence. Over then years, it is the people and relationships that keep me going to PB Mazatlan, from Oscar, Juan and Jorge poolside to Enrique selling his fruit, Ofelia selling her wraps and my Leonard selling his jewerly...each are special to me and my family. The rooms all have a charm to them, a real Mexico feel. They meet my needs and the housekeeping has always been great. I prefer the smaller community of PB over Emerald Bay anyday. I will continue to vacation at PB Mazatlan as long as my people are there and they are taken care of by the company.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Construction

    Reviewed by LindaMBP() on Jul 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Room nicely updated and clean. Staff friendly and efficient. Food was great. However, had to listen to a jackhammer when at the pool. Coffee pot,filters and coffee cups in the room but no coffee. I called for coffee and was told, it's not provided you need to bring your own. I booked through Travelocity. I paid for an all-inclusive resort. I spend weeks online finding the ideal place that I want to go and the ideal Resort. I was very disappointed when I got there. 3/4 of the Resort and 3/4 of the amenities we're not available. I do not blame the resort, I blame Travelocity. If you look at Apple Vacations.Com, their website tells you about the construction. Travelocity is now aware of the construction and they still make no mention of it online. I am fighting with Travelocity for some compensation. I paid for amenities that I did not get. DON'T BOOK THRU TRAVELOCITY. THEY DON'T CARE ABOUT YOU, THEY JUST WANT YOUR MONEY!!!

    Big changes to Pueblo Bonito

    Reviewed by vanessa932015(San Francisco, California) on Jul 06, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    I have been coming to Pueblo Bonito every year for the last 10 years. I always looked forward to my stay and seeing some of the staff members that I have come to know well like Enrique from Cilantros, the bell boys Manuel and Raul, and the front desk member, Cindy. Year after year they are always very attentive and provide excellent service. This year, my biggest disappointment came with finding the modern rooms and removal of the lovely colonial style that set apart Pueblo Bonito from the rest of the hotels on the Zona Dorada. I never purchase an all-inclusive plan because I like to go out and about with my family and eat on the zona dorada or in el centro etc. However, i do like to have some food items in the room to drink or snack on while we are there for days when we don't go out to eat...however I couldn't do that because I was so surprised to find out that the kitchettes and refrigerators had been removed. Worst of all, when I made my reservation via phone earlier in the year, no one had informed me of those changes and I arrived under the impression that the rooms still had those amenities. I certainly hope that the remodel that is going underway includes kitchens or at least a mini refrigerator because if not I do not think I will be returning to PB, unfortunately.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    So disappointed on our return visit

    Reviewed by snorkler(Vancouver, B.C.) on Jun 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    The new rooms at PV Maz no longer have a kitchenette. No fridge!!! A deal breaker for us for future trips, wish I had known ahead as I would have cancelled. Also, the bands on the beach are much worse than previous trips, they are out playing for hours, no quiet beach at all. Be warned PV Maz has changed.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-3

    Service

    Service-3

    Great place to stay

    Reviewed by Canuck500(Calgary) on Jun 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We stayed here June 8 to 15, 2019. While the hotel is undergoing renovations, it was still a wonderful place to stay. What made it special was the staff, who are welcoming and friendly. A special thanks to Carlos at the front desk who gave us a wonderful room, to the servers at Cilantro's and Angelo's, who we had nice conversations and laughs with. The manager at Angelo's always greeted us as old friends and the servers were the best. We were always well looked after for breakfast in the morning at Cilantro's. We didn't hear much noise from the construction at all, so don't let that deter you. You only hear some when walking on the way to Cilantro's or very faintly if sitting by the pool and close to the building being renovated. Our room was new, clean, and modern. A fridge would have been nice; nonetheless, it was a beautiful room. The food was very good at the restaurants. Make sure to order the bacon wrapped shrimp at Cilantro's. One earlier poster said that the timeshare presentations are mandatory - they definitely are not. Just make it clear that you don't want to attend and they will respect your request. The only downside was the loud and untalented band that played for about two to three hours in the afternoon on the beach. They play polka music (yes, polka, which apparently is popular in Mazatlan due to the Germans who settled there earlier on). One guy comes with a big tuba. They sound terrible and were the only thing I would change. All in all, we will be back as we really enjoyed our stay. The showers had lots of force, although one guest said his didn't. The West Jet rep was also great and helped us with tours.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX