Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    T

    Absolutely beautiful and loved the bits of British details.

    Reviewed by Theresa on May 18, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2019

    Trip Type: Large group

    Loved this hotel. The photos were very historic with regard to the Royal Family. Loved the entrance way with the black lions. The focus on British background was very interesting. The British Pub was beautiful. Was most impressed by the view from the exercise room.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 10781 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    great view but lacking

    Reviewed by robk12345678() on Jul 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    This was our honeymoon and after hearing about sandals we thought we would step it up for an outstanding trip. While there were some highlights, Sandy the tennis instructor was Awesome! and Ciro at Casanova really made us feel like we were in a high end restaurant. Service was usually slow, hard to get a drink and not of the five star standard. At one of the reservation only eateries we waited 45 minutes past our reservation and 15 minutes after that when the appetizer arrived it was cold. I guess we were expecting more than we got.

    Once again - a great time

    Reviewed by Mary Beth B() on Jul 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This is our fifth trip to this property. Happy to report it's much improved. Staff much happier, management more visible. Services at most restaurants are hugely improved. We had such a great time that we are going back in November. Big thanks to Logesh for being such a great butler. Bev and Alanyah in the Loyalty office were terrific, as were Fluffy and Sophie in the Piano Bar. Housekeeping did a great job on our rooms too. Not a single issue with them. Wish we could have stayed longer!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    DISAPPOINTED

    Reviewed by Igsavvy() on Jul 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    I would not revisit Sandals Royal Bahamian, My wife and I was very disappointed. The villa we stayed in was nice,some of the restaurants was ok. Housekeeping isnt up to standard, my mini bar was never stocked on time,our luggage's was lost TWICE. But what i will do is give credit where its due some of the staff have excellent customer service and communication skills. Upon departure we ran into a staff by the name of Roberta we told her we have a 2:30pm shuttle and that we havent seen our bags we watched her look on a sheet of paper and then excused herself what we gathered was there wasnt a 2:30pm shuttle and at that time it was 2pm. After about 3 minutes a lady by the name of D'shae came outside to ask us if we need assistance,keep in mind the bell desk was full with other staff members and not once was we asked if we needed help with anything. We told the lady that we cant find our luggage's what we placed outside our room door and scheduled on the 2:30pm shuttle. She asked us our name and room number and excused herself then she came back asking us to follow her to identify our bags and there it was in a room they keep all the bags, she also apologize for any inconvenience caused and let us know one of the drivers will take us to the airport (because it wasnt any 2:30pm shuttle even though we showed her where the envelope gave us that time) Our driver was Austin if am correct very nice guy. Despite all the cons, customer service like this can outweigh the bad. In all honesty if D'shae (is what the name tag said) didnt solved the problem on the spot I was demanding the General Manager

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-2

    Service

    Service-2

    Value

    Value-3

    Destination Wedding with 140 Guests

    Reviewed by Heather98765(Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania) on Jul 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We just got married at the Sandals Royal Bahamian this June, along with 140 of our friends and family. I do not review places often, but I wish someone would have given me this advice as I was planning our destination wedding. It is very hard to rate this resort overall, so I am rating it by category. Pre-wedding Department: 2.5 starts Onsite Wedding Department : 5+ stars Resort: 4.5 stars Onsite Service: 4.5 stars This is long review, but it is all things I wish someone had told me prior to planning a destination wedding with Sandals. So continue on if you'd like, if not, have a great day! First of all, If you are planing to go here on your honeymoon or just a trip, YOU SHOULD!! When we went down to see what the resort was like, were very pleased with the food, service, amenities, and were 'wow-ed' by beauty of the island of Bahamas. Weather you want to relax by the pool, enjoy the private island, or mingle with others at the pool bar and bars, or venture into the town of Nassau. All activities were wonderful. My new husband and I cannot wait to go back for our third time. Now, if you are planning a wedding you can continue to read further. PRE WEDDING PLANNING- very frustrating and unorganized. I would like to consider myself a "low- maintenance person" hence the reason we decided to do a destination wedding. We did not want to stress about wedding planning, vendors, and all the little issues that come with a traditional wedding. However, I found myself not so much stressed, but rather annoyed with the entire pre-wedding planning process. From the beginning we were told that we would be working with a "wedding coordinator" from the booking time until the month prior to the wedding. We would then be assigned our "onsite wedding planner" one month before our wedding. This I was fine with. When a month before our wedding arrived, we were told that this was not the case and that we would be assigned our planner Two weeks out. Ok, fine. When we finally spoke with the Wedding planner, she informed me that this was never the policy and that we would only be working with her once we arrived at the resort, and that I should continue working with our "wedding coordinator" . Sandals kept wanting our payment, but we still did not know everything we were paying for! We ended up finalizing costs and detail literally the week before we arrived. This was just one out of the many situation where no one in any department could give me any sort of information. Over a 8 month process there were multiple situations where I would email questions or concerns and I would not get answers back. I would need to follow up myself in order to get a response. Or there were times when they would actually respond, but half of my questions would not be answered. Or they would respond "I must have missed that can you please resend me the email"! Another issue that arose was Sandals "bells & whistles" program. For those that do not know, the more guests you bring, the more "perks/bells & whistles" they can offer you. You then can apply these perks to different options they have for you and your significant other, or your guests. TAKE NOTE: not all bells and whistles apply to all of the resorts. We learned this the hard way. And with bringing 140 guests to this resort, one would think they would ecstatic to offer perks where they could. We had already booked our swim up river room months prior to our wedding. So when we asked about redeeming our "bells & whistles" to cover our room, Sandals only honors complimentary nights to the "honey moon suite" rooms. We were fine with this and offered to pay the difference in cost since our initial room was more expensive. Sandals would not honor this request and No one could give us straight forward answers and we ended up paying for our whole week (o they did offer us $200 compensation, this would not have covered even one night! we told them to keep it) Sandals website does a nice job of providing endless options and ideas to help you build your dream wedding. After all was said and done, I had discussed and planned my wedding 5 times over. Again, just be prepared for delayed responses and "let me check" and "this needs to be approved." We were constantly waiting for answers and having to request speaking to other staff members within the wedding departments. OK! enough of the complaining! Just know that whether it is "island time" or "lack of training" or turnover in staffing; just push through until you arrive. ONSITE WEDDING DEPARTMENT- I have 2 words "Keri & Samaria" The second we stepped off of the plane in Nassau, we were checked in and taken to paradise. And as soon as we checked into the resort, Keri and Samaria were waiting for us to immediately walk us out to a "mock set up" of our reception layout. You see, no one prior to this had been able to confirm anything in regards to my 140 set up. We met with Kerry our second day onsite and we did a whole walk through of our wedding week, from our incredible Welcome Party on the beach, to our Wedding Ceremony on the Private Island, and Cocktail hour/Reception on the Ballyhoo courts. We even had rain showers on our wedding day and every single one of our guests had a blast. Keri and her team took amazing care of us, and I had many guests tell me how impressed they were with all of the staff with how friendly and attentive they all were. We even had last minute changes, and her team was so professional and quick to accommodate such a large group. So a "HUGE THANK YOU" To Keri, Samaria, Christian did amazing job preparing all of the food and beverage for our events, Jamaal and Zuri our chefs. Phil and Ravi our pastry chefs (our wedding cake was to die for, trust me we know, even though it got rained on we were given the top part and enjoyed in our room!) And lots of love and thanks to your team: Johnny, James, Livingston, Peter, Chevy, Lucy, Shanae, Shantar, Ashandie, Chakara, Felicitiiy, and so many more..... You truly made our wedding week a dream come true, and all 140 of our guests agree. You have left us with amazing memories for years to come. RESORT: Sandals Royal Bahamian is absolutely beautiful, from the grounds to the pools, to the restaurants, and of course the private island was our favorite. Also, we were very impressed with all of the food at all of the restaurants. We have been to All-inclusive before, and some food is just mediocre. But we can honestly say, that every meal we had was wonderful. All of the staff was very friendly. ONSITE SERVICES: Everyone that we had encountered was awesome. We absolutely loved our butlers, Kevin and Adryan. We normally are not the type of people to get Butler service, but for our wedding week it was wonderful and well worth it. They were both so helpful with room service, questions, and reservations. Kevin was amazing on our wedding day and helped me entertain my family and bridesmaids in our room with champagne and snacks. We did have some guests complain however that often times they would put their name on a list at some of the restaurants, to later find that they could no longer accommodate them. This to me was frustrating because, I had tried to reiterate hundred of times to the Pre Wedding Department that we ARE BRINGING 140 PEOPLE. And although very friendly and professional, Sandals did not seem to properly staff their resort for all of our guests. Whether dinner or resort bars, it was just a little disappointing considering we had brought Sandals all of this business, and my guests paid good money to have this type of service. We did wanted to give a SHOUT OUT TO IAN, who kept the party going not only around the pools but also into the evening at some of the pubs. He was lively and fun and was a great addition to our large crew! And Thanks to Daron the pool bartender, he was very entertaining with his shot tricks and was a great sport with are huge orders of pool side shots SO TO WRAP UP- I would 100 % recommend going to Sandals Royal Bahamian. We plan to go back one day for sure. And if you are considering a wedding, just be prepared for some frustration and lack of communication. But once you get to the resort, your wedding will be wonderful. Cheers!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Our honeymoon dreams come true!

    Reviewed by RamseyTravel_Pants(Saint Charles, Illinois) on Jul 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Thank you sandals and the staff at the resort for an absolutely outstanding time on our honeymoon. Everything about this place is just amazing and I highly highly recommend going. The food, drinks, and beach were the highlights of the trip and everything about the experience was so memorable. We will be going back!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX