Be Live Collection Marien

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    M

    "SUPER HOLLIDAY"

    Reviewed by Marla and Mark on Mar 16, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    This was our first vacation as a couple in 22 years we has an amazing time. Hotel is clean Staff is super polite and helpful. any concerns are taken care of immediately. Great variety of tasty food. Entertainment staff was the highlight they include you in activities as much or little as you like Spaghetti and Cesar made our day everyday not to mention "sexy man". Evening shows were very good amazing choreography went every night for 2 weeks never the same LOVED IT

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    M

    Raffael head concierge will get you everything you need or want and even great taxi prices, this man goes above and beyond his job title.

    Reviewed by Michael on Nov 27, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: September 2017

    Trip Type: Single

    This hotel was good, was a perfect location, 15 minutes from airport 5 minutes to the downtown, Felt safe at all times even when I was out walking outside the resort, Bar staff and wait staff are excellent at their job and outgoing friendly. I upgraded my room when I got their from regular to the suite, my goodness what a room, Small but useful kitchenette with coffee maker and microwave and fridge, living room with 3 seated sofa and arm chair with flat screen t.v. and a dining table for 4 a full bathroom. Separate bedroom with full bathroom that's right 2 full bathrooms. Yes I would go back to this hotel.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    B

    Problem free stay with a great location.

    Reviewed by Bill M on Nov 04, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2017

    Trip Type: Single

    The hotel was very clean, and not too busy when i was there. Which it what i liked. The pool looked fantastic. The buffet was very good, you would not go hungry. The location was perfect, not far from the airport, and also if you like to get off the hotel, the city was very close. I recommend an afternoon or two on the Malecon. The wifi is not free, if you want to stay online a lot i recommend the full week wifi package. $60. U.S. for each device. The room cleaning ladies were fantastic. I was in room 2308 which got the morning sun on the balcony and a decent view of the ocean. It was my 2nd time there and i will certainly go back again. I cannot think of any negative moments there.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    We enjoyed the trip despite some concerns, although we will never go back to this resort.

    Reviewed by Sulani on Jan 23, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    We were given a room with two beds even though we had booked a room with a king size bed. The mattresses are very hard - there was an aggressive spring which bruised my hip. They did eventually move us to a room with a king size bed but they could not not move us to a different building, saying they were too full. We had to go through our West Jet representative to get anything done as reception is not very compliant. The building we were given was number 7. This is right behind the central lobby area which houses the disco. Everyone in the building suffered from a lack of sleep as they play excessively loud music with a strong bass from 11:00 pm to 2:00 am. After that there are drunk and loud revelers making their way through the area as well as parties on the balconies. The resort allows smoking everywhere including in the snack bar and there are far too many smokers. The cleaning staff and the food service staff are excellent. Most of the meals are also very good. The buffet offers a vast selection of food and the service is fantastic. The drinks at the poolside bar are aggressively strong so ask for less alcohol if you want normal portions. Our WestJet rep Junior Ventura was amazing. He went out of his way to help us and set us up with a fantastic guide called Tony. We hired a taxi and Tony to take us through a tour of Puerto Plata which included everything we wanted to see. This way we could spend as much or as little time as we liked and were a smaller group just family . Tony is someone I wholeheartedly recommend. This was one of the best days we had there! The cable car ride and tour of the area at the top was fantastic. It is quite cold at the top so take a sweater and wear good walking shoes. If you travel in January take some warm clothing as this is their rainy season and gets quite cold in the evening into the morning.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 5368 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Most amazing server ANGI BRITO

    Reviewed by Collado95() on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Best server and most caring server I ever had even better than New York Cith high class and private serves associateserves my lady ANGI BRITO has the best hospitality and humbleness I’ve ever had and my my go to!! Lady God bless her!!!

    Great time if you're not too picky

    Reviewed by madhattr999(Windsor, Canada) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I was a bit concerned with lots of negative reviews, but we were very happy with our stay. Things I was most worried about were good air conditioning and no bugs in the beds, and I'm happy to say there were no problems there. The staff was very friendly, and we tipped often, so the staff kept the same table for us most times and remembered our drink preferences. The pool was fresh water and very clean and temperature was great (around 75 I would guess). However, despite signs forbidding reserving lounge chairs, almost all shaded chairs will be reserved by 8-9AM each day and staff won't enforce the rule. While we didn't want to, we had to join the strange practice of getting up extremely early to put towels and personal items on some chairs in the shade in order to have shade while at the pool. I think it would be a better experience for the average patron if the staff removed towels if left longer than 30 minutes. We got up at 5am every day to put towels/books out to save chairs and that worked pretty well. Keep in mind the resort will charge 20 dollars for a lost towel, though. We paid 60 dollars for unlimited internet throughout the resort and in the rooms, and we had good connectivity in the room. However, during busy days (mainly weekends where there are a lot of locals), the Internet bandwidth was pretty saturated and refused to work at all. This was usually during lunch/dinner times where everyone in the main restaurant is using wifi. The food was great with lots of choices, and we attended all three specialty restaurants. We waited in line about 30 minutes prior to reservations opening (for us Monday at 8am), and I would recommend you do the same. My complaints about the food were that I didn't enjoy breakfast most times due to the rarity of bacon, and fried hash browns. I suspect other resorts in Puerto Plata will have similar scarcity, though. The Greek restaurant is very cold, and I enjoyed the food there the least of the three specialty restaurants, but that's mainly due to personal taste. My favourite food was the pineapple at the Brazilian restaurant. Overall, very happy with our stay even though we have a few gripes here and there. I suspect most of the negative reviews here are due to people letting one or two details ruin their trip. Also, I think, while not mandatory, tipping will result in a slightly better experience.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-5

    Rodizio Restaurant

    Reviewed by ForegoByANose() on Apr 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Fantastic staff. The food is great. Winton is a wonderful waiter and really cares for the guests Kircia is a warm welcome to the restaurant Danny the manager runs a great restaurant The service is excellent, I highly recommend

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Decent budget resort with improvements needed

    Reviewed by kalook156(Old Orchard Beach, Maine) on Apr 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    My criteria for this trip was to find a value priced resort with a nice beach and pool and decent food and drink. Overall, Be Live did meet that criteria. Things I liked: 1. Beautiful sandy beach. It gets very windy in the afternoon but you will rarely feel hot. 2. Large pool and nicely landscaped grounds. The mountain behind the resort provided a beautiful backdrop. 3. The size of the resort is just right. It's not too big or too small. It's an easy walk to wherever you want to go. 4. The staff was very pleasant especially the bartenders. 5. The food and drink were for the most part decent although not great. Things I didn't like: 1. The Dominican themed buffet was unpalatable. In fact, I was up most of the night with diarrhea which thankfully resolved on its own. 2. The ladies at the front desk during the day spoke such poor English it was very hard to communicate with them. 3. I used the jacuzzi in the room. Apparently, it caused a pipe to leak. After checking my room, they proceeded to shut the water off to my room without telling me. I discovered this in the middle of the night. It was my last night in the resort so there was no shower for me in the morning before departing. I had to use the pool bathroom to clean up. 4. There weren't enough public bathrooms. Only one by the pool and one at the beach. They were hit pretty hard all day, every day. 5. The internet access here was terrible. Only 15 hours per week of dependable free wifi. I asked if I could purchase additional wifi but they said I wouldn't need it as there was always free wifi in front of the buffet. The problem is that it was very hard to get on it and you would get bumped off without notice. I had to manage an unexpected family issue back home and the lack of dependable internet was a real issue for me. For this reason alone, I wouldn't stay there again. 6. The gym is a joke. The electronics on the cardio equipment were non-functional and it was too warm and humid there. I went once and didn't go back. I think this is a decent resort that could be better with some small improvements. I wouldn't stay there again but I rarely go to the same place twice. Still, for the rock bottom price I paid, it met most of my needs and I did have a week of glorious warm, sunny weather.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-4

    Amazing Vacation

    Reviewed by Brooke S() on Apr 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    After reading such negative reviews, my boyfriend and I were pretty nervous to be staying here from April 9-16. However, as soon as we arrived we were shocked at how WRONG those reviews have been. Every staff member was extremely friendly and everyone spoke fluent English and French. We upgraded to VIP and I am so glad we did! The number of perks we had throughout the week was unbelievable...having our own check-in saved so much time and this is where you receive a welcome package with a list of everything that comes with the VIP. I suggest every adult upgrade to this before going because once you're at the hotel, it is much more expensive to try to upgrade. The buffet was great with lots of variety for every meal. We also did the Mexican and Mediterranean restaurants with the Mediterranean being our favourite. The room service was really quick and since we were VIP, it was free all week. The snack bar was alright (we think we got food poisoning from there) but having it open 24/7 was very convenient. The drinks were great plus the VIP beach bar had premium liquor and never had a lineup. Chairs around the pool area (even in the shade) were readily available throughout the day which allowed us to switch from the beach when the wind picked up. The beach had quite a bit of seaweed but that didn't bother us at all, especially because the water was so warm and perfect for swimming. As for excursions, we did the TipTop catamaran and the cable car to the top of the mountain. The catamaran may have been the only negative part of our week. We waited in the lobby for an hour and our AirCanada travel rep was nowhere to be seen to help us. We ended up asking the Sunwing rep to call TipTop and ask why we hadn't been picked up yet. Turns out they forgot to pick us up! We eventually got picked up by a man in a van and drove the opposite direction for 10 minutes before turning around and driving another 45 minutes without being told any information. The driver was on his phone the whole time and wasn't telling us what was happening. We finally got to the marina and we got passed through about 7 people before finally being led to the boat to take us onboard. Of course, we were the last people onboard and everyone was waiting for us. The snorkeling was the best part of the day and they took us to 2 locations where you could either snorkel with the guide or just float in the water with a noodle. Lunch was alright and the drinks weren't the best but the staff was awesome. Once we lifted the sail and started our ride, it became incredibly rough with huge white caps splashing onboard. You weren't even able to walk around because the motion was so bad. I have been on several catamarans before and this one was scary rough and hard to enjoy, especially for $100 CAD. The crew said this was pretty normal too! As for the cable cars, we planned this last minute after hearing how great it was. We booked a taxi through the hotel and it was $45 USD roundtrip and $10 for the cable car. This excursion was so beautiful from start to finish and would recommend everyone to see the ariel views of Peurto Plata. However, I would suggest using Uber for there and back because apparently, it was a fraction of what we paid through the hotel. Considering it was such a short ride, it was a rip-off. Overall, the resort was a perfect size, well maintained and extremely welcoming. The rooms were very basic and outdated but since we only used it to sleep, we didn't care. The shows at night were entertaining and then we usually went to the disco afterward for some dancing. We had a fantastic trip that was both relaxing and fun with lots of laughs. For a budget resort, we were extremely impressed!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX