Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel

3.0 star rating

Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    T

    Our family of 9 were well cared for and the staff were superb. Thank you!

    Reviewed by Tom B on Dec 28, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    This is a 3-star hotel with 5-star heart. You won't find friendlier or more accommodating staff and the facilities are exceptional value for the price. Food was varied and authentic Mexican - this is where Nationals holiday - so, if you want LA glitz, hot dogs and hamburgers - look elsewhere.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    J

    Great staff and service, awful hotel, bad location. Will not go back.

    Reviewed by Jan on Jan 04, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2014

    Trip Type: Single

    I will start with the good. The staff were wonderful and I could not have asked for better service! Thank goodness for that! I also enjoyed my spa service and found the spa to be quite serene. Now for the rest: This is no resort, folks. It reminded me of a poor, rundown apartment block with a dirty pool in the middle. Linens, towels, etc were so worn and tattered that should be rags. Building in disrepair and in need of a good scrubbing. The beach was a bit of a walk away and good for exploring. Not good for relaxing as every 2 minutes there is a local trying to sell you their trinkets. Small buffet with few options and same daily. This is the first time I have lost weight at an all-inclusive: There are no amenities to speak of. Worst part was the noise. Boom boom, hooting and hollering, night and day. Noisy guests, mostly locals, who would hang their laundry off the balcony. This added to the poor, rundown feel of the place. Hotel situated on a very busy street with constant sirens. I witnessed a major accident out the hall window..bus and truck flipped. One can imagine it was not relaxing or comforting. I wanted to go home on the next plane. I did end up staying and moving resorts last minute.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 2810 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    A Nice Stay......

    Reviewed by Beavercowboy(Muscatine, Iowa) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    ........at an older resort in PVR. I stayed for a week at the HB Resort in PVR in March, 2019. It is an interesting place in that it is old but...., seemingly, well cared for. My room layout was a little strange in that it was shaped like a “T” with the very small TV at the end of the “T”. I didn’t like that. My room DID NOT have a refrigerator which seemed kinda’ strange. Most resort rooms do. Other than that, everything else was fine. The bed was perfect. The food was good, too. The staff were friendly and helpful. The HB is close to a bus stop, food market, marina area, and Wal-Mart. It is a quiet place to be sure. No “Congo-bongo” going on here! The nightly entertainment consisted of bands playing pop music favorites. One evening, it was flute music. Not bad! This place has quite a loyal following. It appeared to me that a fair number of people had been there before. Would I stay there again? Yes, I would. The good outweighed the not-so-good.

    Great Resort

    Reviewed by kevbr(Winnipeg, Canada) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This was our second visit at the Hacienda, this being a 3 week stay, with lasting memories! The location of the hotel is central, close to downtown, the marina, airport! The hotel has kept its Mexican charm, not much commercialism that most hotels feel necessary, the Hacienda maintains the old Mexican charm. There is a charming court yard that has early morning coffee, 24 hours with cookies! Security is always present at the main door with a bell hop to assist with guests loading and unloading baggage, again, 24 hours. The front desk has English speaking employees that will assist where needed, currency is available, info on local activities is offered. The main restaurant is open at 7AM with a good selection of breakfast choices, all food is fresh, Lunch is served at 1 with supper at 07:00PM. Al a cart is offered outside that has a Great Menu selection, there is no restriction on the number of times that you can go, this is a good break from the Buffett choices. I would suggest to Mgmt though, to replace the wooden stairs that lead out to the buffet choices at supper time, this is a Safety issue where numerous trips were noticed, again, beware and lets have these replaced. The Pool is heated, is cleaned every morning with a good selection of chair choices, there are no pool activities from which is understandable being that there is only one pool, not to disturb guests that wish to relax. There is a pool bar that offers food selections for lunch, with a coffee stand as well. I was not very happy with one of the bar tenders that always, always served a female guest on the side, ahead of others waiting in line! The green areas are nice, well kept, with a crawling iguana guest that was often seen daily making his was to the bushes for his daily feeding, will not hurt anyone but poses for pictures! Management is always patrolling the grounds, watching that there are not issues that inconvenience the guests, I wasn't able to obtain the tall female Manager name that is always present, she did a Fabulous Job, if ever you needed assistance, look for her for guidance !! Some guests are put off that the beach is not on site but I times it, its exactly a 6 minute walk, but if required, a shuttle service is available that will drive you right to the Beach Club! The beach club, again, 6 Min away, has been improved with a cobble stone sit down area with umbrellas where you can order your lunch with a bar close by! One suggestion though to Mgmt, the regular cook at the Beach Club, did not know one word of English, made it hard to communicate as well, her cooking was much to be desired as often the food was under cooked and not hot! The Beach Club chair person was there bright and early in the morning, making all is clean prior to the guest arrival with a large choice of loungers and umbrellas, beach raked every morning as well. The waiters serve you at your chair, a real treat! Mgmt and security are present as well to ensure guest safety ! We will be going back again next winter for sure, I would like to that Suzzie, a Great bar waiter, as well as our room attendant- room 107, they are both great resort reps! Of course, GM Ceasar was the Best along with his mgmt. staff, again, the Tall Female, sorry, cant remember her name were the Best and approachable out of any resorts that we have been to , a Great Job!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Visit in February

    Reviewed by acduroseau(Nepean, Canada) on Mar 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We had a great week staying at the hacienda. The food was good, a lil bit salty on some days, depending on the menu. The staff was helpful, specially : Axel, Lucia, Laura. Thank you for helping out. Puerto Vallarta is also a beautiful town.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    I would stay somewhere else.

    Reviewed by F L(Tennessee) on Mar 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    The employees and staff are all very nice, efficient and helpful. The rooms are adequate, if poorly lit and a little small. Our air conditioning did not work and was never addressed despite several calls and trips to the desk. This would have been acceptable as a budget type motel, but as an all-inclusive “resort” the food (buffet style, open air seating area) was either so salty it was inedible, untrustworthy (to an American not wishing to become ill) or had flies walking about on it. The orchestra at night was in a beautiful setting around the pool, but was a terrible example of music school students trying their best but not yet ready for performance. Since the food is included in the room price, one does feel an obligation to eat there rather than venturing out for other fare. I think more freedom would have been helpful. The hotel is fine for those wishing to immerse themselves in local culture and customs and forgo the usual expected amenities- like air conditioning and edible food.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-2

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-2

    Perfect place for couples !!

    Reviewed by teresarico1201(Lloydminster, Canada) on Mar 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Perfect place !!! My and my husband we love that place is really Mexican style and really green ( perfect for Canadian people in the night cool and mornings hot. The food is good the people is good ! And puerto vallarta is really safe and gorgeous place ,

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX