Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya by Karisma

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Riviera Maya
    5. Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya by Karisma
    6. Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya by Karisma review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    K

    Snorkeling right off the beach in this smaller 150 room hotel which is max 50ft from the beach! No golf carts necessary... Great for kids!

    Reviewed by KyBosh on Feb 21, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    50ft from the beach... small 150 room resort where you actually get to know the staff and many of the other guests. Great for kids... and great entertainment every night culminating with the fantastic bbq seafood dinner with latin dancers and fantastic music. Pelicans diving for fish right in front of us on the beach and snorkeling right on the same beach. They have a shark net which also keeps away the pesky seaweed which is seasonal in these parts... Food was better than the other bigger hotels AND they didn't try to HARD SELL us on the time share like at the massive hotels. They do ask if you are interested but as soon as you say no thanks, they don't keep trying to sell you.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    N

    Of all the resorts and vacations in my lifetime (100+), this resort was the best!

    Reviewed by Nancy Polleis on Feb 11, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    The whole vacation was flawless from start to finish. I have to say that whoever manages this resort is someone pretty special because everything was as promised PLUS - right down to the finer details. The two of us felt completely at home because the staff was so friendly, humorous, accomodating, fun, energetic and playful. The activities were non stop and very well organized. The front desk management was extremely professional (especially Oscar!). The beach, bar and restaurant staff were SO much fun treating us like family all the time (especially Raul, Avolino, Enrica, Noel, Eduardo, Manuel, & all staff at Blue & Grill). The beach activities were lots of fun and well organized. The long walks on the beach were amazing. Snorkelling was wonderful. Spa was great. Food outstanding. Cleanliness abosolutely perfect. I can't think of a negative thing to say (and normally I'm pretty judgemental). So, my friend and I plan to come here 2-3 times a year now. There's no reason to search elsewhere. Everything we needed was right here. Thanks Azul for a great sunny happy vacation!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    Best ever and loved it.

    Reviewed by Senior Gary and Mama on Jan 28, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    BEST EVER, Food awesome, service you could not ask for better, personal service, warm, friendly and safe. We started going 1 time a year now going 2 times a year and do not want to go anywhere else. We highly recommend this resort

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4593 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Slipping from 5 to 3 Stars!

    Reviewed by Freedom66795244289(Vancouver, Canada) on May 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Our first trip to Azul was pure heaven. The second time, 6 short months later was somewhat disappointing with many of our favourite meals missing (steak was removed from 2 of the 4 restaurants for instance)... There was no longer a waiter doing rounds across the beach which forced us to make the trek back to the restaurant to serve ourselves. They removed the amazing Caribbean Night which was just amazing the first time... A lot of the staff were still there and most were amazing, but some would forget things, some would take forever to refill coffee etc despite our reputation for generous tipping. Lastly one would think that a half full hotel would be lowering rates but looking forward to rebooking, we found that the price had doubled or even tripled for a 12 day all inclusive, basic room with 2 adults plus our 8yr old son. (From $5k to $10 to $15k!!!) We sadly are now looking at another place for winter as we come twice a year.

    Excellent Hotel and Excellent Staff

    Reviewed by Go42587833284() on May 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Hotel and location are fabulous, staff can not do enough for you, Aldo and his entertainment team are great at their jobs and always up for a laugh. We were lucky enough to have a swim up hotel room and this only complimented the whole holiday experience.

    Staff, fantastic food

    Reviewed by Dreamer66848793556() on May 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The staff is always helpful and goes out of their way to be friendly. This is not a "buffet" all-inclusive. All four of the Dinner restaurants are outstanding.They offer a wide variety of food cooked to perfection. The big surprise was the two restaurants available for lunch. Very creative dishes that you would not expect on a lunch menu.

    Mexico 2019

    Reviewed by Happiness574243() on May 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Azul Beach is a wonderful resort for kids of any age. Staff is very accommodating and pleasant. Grounds are beautiful and the food is great. Everyone there treats you with the utmost courtesy and genuinely want your vacation to be the best.

    Amazing resort with perfect staff

    Reviewed by B1622FClucyb(Rushden, United Kingdom) on May 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I have just come back from the best holiday ever, I got upgraded to a room with a swim up pool which made my holiday even better as it was so relaxing to have my own pool to go in. The staff: The staff here are very friendly and helpful nothing is too much for them and they will wait on your every need some staff members went above and beyond for me during my stay and they were ; Antonio from blue , he was always so happy and learnt all my parties name on the first day which was a nice touch ,he would always talk to us and help us with getting our drinks and food with a smile. The beach bed boys Joan and Ivan made our stay very relaxed and easy to reserve the beach beds , we managed to get one most days due to there good system, they were also very funny and we got to have some laughs with them everyday. The entertainment team Joaquin , Mauricio and Aldo were great fun, make sure you go and see them to play any games you want, these guys really made my holiday and were a great laugh to be around. The food on this resort is amazing with all À la cart restaurants to eat at , all the food is really fresh and tasty and is presented very nicely, my favourite restaurant was Roma the Italian as there chocolate lava cake is amazing and I must of had about 20 of these during my stay. I would recommend this hotel to everyone and I will defiantly be back it was the best holiday I’ve every had.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX