Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Riviera Maya
    5. Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
    6. Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    i

    Back again this year !

    Reviewed by ian on May 02, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: September 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    The best value in the Mayan. Quet pools are great. Top shelf drinks and pop up bars awesome.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6471 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    The good, the bad, and there wasn't any ugly

    Reviewed by JanJarman(kansas) on Jun 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This was our 20+ visit to the area and the second time at GPC. We had a great time. The good: LOVE that you don't need reservations for most restaurants. Short waits even for our big group of 10. The food in the whole area has really improved. We ate at: Brazilian, Steak, Japanese and Italian. The Brazilian was our favorite. The Japanese would have been great, but the meat was overcooked....by a lot. LOVE the service. Went to Jamaica in May and had to wait FOREVER for a drink. Not at this hotel. Tip or no tip, I felt like I was treated well everywhere I went. LOTS of chairs, both on the beach and at the pool. Yay for earlier shows. And we LOVED the house band. Such fun to dance at night. The hotel always felt lively and fun. The not-so-good -The hotel added a new level called TRS. I don't mind that they get some extra perks, but closing the salt water pool is silly. No one used it. Such a pretty area. A waste not to allow everyone to enjoy. -The booze...so watered down never felt a thing. Have never had this happen in Mexico before. I don't want to get loaded, but a little alcohol would be good. I even wonder if the beer is lower than 3.2? -The beach. It has really eroded. The seaweed was a mess, but not much they can do about that. I wish they would build a pier with stairs in front of Poseidon so you could go straight to the nice water. Even when the seaweed clears, there is not much usable beach. Very rocky. Little sand. Overall, really enjoyed the hotel. But build a pier with some stairs into the water and it would be GREAT.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-5

    Stay if you want to feel ill

    Reviewed by ejcaustx() on Jun 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    I've stayed at many all-inclusive over the years, including in Mexico. There are much better places to stay than this. It has always been a safe thing to eat and drink what you want within an all-inclusive resort. We've always been ok doing that for years. But not at Grand Palladium Colonial. 3 out of 5 of us became ill eating at the resort, and stayed that way all week. The food was really poor quality as well for the most part. Absolutely the worst we've ever had at an all-inclusive resort in any country. The buffet food was tasteless, often cold, and was left on the buffets too long. Maybe even leftovers? Not sure. We had good food at the Brazilian restaurant, Japanese restaurant, Spanish tapas. The seafood restaurant was ok, but I got sick that night off of it. The steak restaurant was inedible...literally. Buffets were never good. Breakfast is ok, but the rest was mostly bad. And comes with stomach cramps and bathroom issues at no extra charge. Shows - These were actually really good. Best we've seen in a while. Beaches - Lots of seaweed, but that isn't the resorts fault. Kantenah beach is by far better than Colonials so walk down there. Nice bar and hammocks there. Pools - These are ok. Actually they are too big and a little too deep for the most part. But nice enough. Rooms - These were nice. We had a suite with adjoining rooms. One had a great AC, the other one didn't work quite as well. Bathrooms are small. Beds are hard. But it is a decent room. Grounds - These were nice and well kept. Staff - We kept feeling like we were getting the runaround. Misquoted us a price on a taxi that they pretty much demanded we use their person (for our own safety of course), then charged double what they said it would be and acted like we didn't know what we were talking about. Merchandise - They have stalls set up selling stuff in the main lobby area. These were so aggressive they were literally trying to sell my 8 year old daughter stuff, bargain with her, and trying to get her to bring her dad over to sell her stuff. It was a new level of aggressive and very unappreciated. So overall - find a different place. We wouldn't go back. In fact, we probably won't return to Mexico. There are lots of nice beaches across the Caribbean with nicer resorts and nicer, more honest people that aren't trying to rip you off at every turn.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-2

    Value

    Value-2

    11th Visit Fabulous Again

    Reviewed by carolw36(Manchester, United Kingdom) on Jun 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    After a three year break we returned to the hotel, it was everything we expected and more..... there have been a lot of changes with the Riviera hotel changing to the TRS but there’s still loads to do and loads of restaurants to choose from. We were immediately upgraded to the White Sands accommodation, to a massive suite in villa 57 next door to the TRS and given access to the TRS facilities, due to being a valued customer. Having a child with us, we didn’t take advantage but went for a look, it’s amazing...... The staff in resort were brilliant, from Nadia and Vanessa on reception, to Nadia moving onto the animation team and looking after us, the staff in the kids club including Karen and the other girls, the staff in the restaurants including Anameli, Viridiana, Estephanie (apologies if I’ve spelt your names wrong)... bar staff were Freddie’s Valentin and Santiago. waitress girls by the pool were all amazing as was Luis, the other lad ignored us as we didn’t tip him straight away!!! Maria in the Sports Bar. I loved the exercise classes with Omar and the pop up activities, the giant hamster ball in the Colonial pool was fun fun fun. Loads of live bands popping up during the day in the restaurants. My son loved the kids pool, the kids club and the animated characters Raggs, Trilby etc. Best lunch time food was at the Colonial buffet, best Al a cartes we felt were the Japanese, Spanish and Ribs and more in our opinion though food is a personal preference. Had poorer service than normal in two of the restaurants the Mexican and the Steakhouse, no welcome drink or bread roll offered in either and no drink given at all in the Mexican! But minor quibbles really as perfect everywhere else. We didn’t see the shows as we were always at dinner, I guess that’s why we did miss there being two shows previously when there were two theatres and a later show. There was an influx of seaweed whilst we were in resort, the worst wash up ever apparently, the whole bay was brown and thick with weed when we arrived. There was clearing up activity from around 6am each day and towards the end of our holiday the sea was virtually clear. I was impressed by the amount of seaweed cleared as there were trucks full leaving the beach hourly, I saw three drive past me on the to/from breakfast on one day. Would we return? Yes.

    Amazing hotel

    Reviewed by gabybuck(Plainfield, Illinois) on Jun 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We visit Cancun each year. This is our first time in the Palladium and we love it! Food is delicious, activities the best and everyone super super nice. We definitely will continue coming back! ?? We highly recommend this hotel!

    Could have been better

    Reviewed by lventura5515(Washington DC, District of Columbia) on Jun 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Roberto at the front wasn't very welcoming, big shout out to Adela in the White Sand area and Antinio in the sport bar area. Very pushy Brenda to get you on that Travel Club. Food very plain no flavor. This resort caters more to Europeans makes sense the resort is owen by Spanish. Will not come back!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX