Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Riviera Maya
    5. Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
    6. Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    W

    We made the best of it. We worked with what was offered and had a great time.

    Reviewed by Westjetter RLang on Mar 04, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    After visiting numerous 5 star and 4.5 star resorts this certainly isn't a 4.5 star as rated by Westjet. That said we made friends and did our best to enjoy our time there. The staff were awesome, no complaints there. We booked for the cove and idea of snorkling off the beach. There was so much seaweed that was impossible. There was 20 workers daily trying to collect it but it just sat in piles and stunk up the place. There was also a pond on the far side that was supposed to be "amazing" but it looked like a dirty pool of disease and garbage..ummm NO! I suppose this was just seasonal, so take your chances. I've heard it was nice in other months. There is a nice pool, though a bit small and not enough chairs, that said, if the beach didn't reek, more people would have been on the beach. Based on experience of other resorts, I wouldn't pay the same to stay here and not likely to again. it is not up to "dreams" standards.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    T

    We stayed at the Dreams Puerto Adventuras from November 20-27, 2017. We were extremely disappointed with this resort in general. We have tra

    Reviewed by Travelaround on Dec 01, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: October 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    Horrible, won't be back!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    H

    Amazing Dreams comes through at DREAMS!

    Reviewed by Hector on Sep 10, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: August 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    Our 8 days at DREAMS Puerto Aventuras was fabulous. Beginning at check in, where we were greeted with drinks and a cheerful staff, to our room overlooking the pool, beach and sea. Breathtaking! All staff encounters were friendly and courteous; great service. We enjoyed three nights of dining on the beach viewing performances, including the big fight between McGregor and Mayweather. What a sight, white cloth covered tables and chairs in the open air on the beach with the sea right there, astonishing; considering that there were hundreds seated. The kids Explorer club was fantastic. Chock full of activities for the kids both day and night. All Night time activity ends at 9:45pm, truly a full days worth of fun. Plus Dolphins are on the premises. Also Dreams is close to local attractions which we visited, Xplor, Xenses, Dolphins, etc. In conclusion, we took full advantage of the facilities; pool, beach, restaurants, games, aerobics, cardio exercises. This resort gets top marks mainly because of exceptional services that were provided by their staff.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    C

    Overall a great experience, would recommend.

    Reviewed by Chris on Dec 21, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Very nice resort, most staff were friendly, drinks were good, although they seemed to be made differently depending on which bar you visited. Our first experience without an adults only resort. Nice to have an adults only area totally separate from the rest of the resort. Food was just ok at the buffet, A-la-cartes were much better. Beach was very nice, but a lot smaller than the pictures represented.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    H

    Not very appealing on the outside but rooms, beach, pool is good.

    Reviewed by Honest review on Aug 30, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: August 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    This is definately not the Bahia or Iberostar....if you are looking to enjoy the beach and pool with your kids not worrying about the long walks to eat or swim then this is the place. Not a 5* more like 4* in Cuba this would be considered a 5* I've been to Cuba....Resort not so appealing on the outside but tbe rooms are spacious and clean. Bathrooms are very large with up to date decor. Hotel lobby not very appealing, pictures in the website are probably from when it was new. Furniture up to date. The rooms are not mouldy as some reviews say and the AC and elevators are fine. Food is ok. This is an honest review. If you pay maximum of $3000 Can. for a family of 4 then it would be worth it........I wouldn,t pay more. If you have never been to a 5* resort you will like this one as there is nothing to compare it to. Overall, its ok though. Service is good. Would I come nack? Not if i can afford a 5* expérience.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    S

    Great service, great food. Can't swim. Tiny pool.

    Reviewed by SS20 on Apr 20, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    It was a bit of a challenge to rate this resort. Good things first. The staff was fantastic, going overboard on every occasion. Most of the restaurants were great- Oceana, El Patio and Portofino. Buffet , Seaside grill were OK. Shows and entertainment were good. You can snorkel right from the beach. Theme dinners on a beach Caribbean, Mexican are great. Bad things. The beach is adjacent to a reef. The basin of water is tiny and shallow. So you can walk waist deep or sit in the water. Access to the sea is blocked by the reef. Shallow, plenty of fish, rocks and sea urchins under them. Bottom line is you cant swim properly. Pools are small and shallow. One of them with adjacent area is designated for adults only - an odd management decision for a family-friendly resort. The other is packed with families and drinking adults at the wet bar. You can barely stand there without touching another person. On a wedding day pretty much every day the volleyball field and, sometimes, the Barracuda bar get hijacked by wedding planners. Should they coincide with a theme dinner at the beach - you have almost no space for anything. Our room was dated and a/c was circulating wet cold air. Everything inside the room was damp and smelly. Bottom line is - service , food and entertainment are great,but barely compensate for the missing beach and pool areas along with dated facilities.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 5641 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Another exceptional Dreams Resort

    Reviewed by Sightsee694472() on Mar 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Great service in all respects. Our room was spacious and the staff was responsive. Food was good and the beach area was very nice. There were many activities to choose from each day. The Dolphin Discovery on the property was a real perk.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Great vacation destination

    Reviewed by Mark H(Rochster Hills, Michigan) on Mar 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was our 25th anaversuery trip. We did not originally plan to visit Cancun. We were planning on going to Hawaii but we booked too late. First time in Mexico for both of us. We did not expect such good service and the staff and travel guides were all so nice and helpful. We upgraded our room to the seventh floor elite rooms which was very nice. Food was very good and we ate at most of the all inclusive restaurants. Definitely plan to return.

    Great Family Spot

    Reviewed by Ricki-Lee R() on Mar 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Our entire stay was fantastic with UVC and Dreams Pto. Aventuras. Great spot for the family, traveled with an infant and a three year old. Service throughout was great and the staff were very friendly.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Not Dreams, it was a Nightmare

    Reviewed by pamelaa598(Nanticoke, Canada) on Mar 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    First time at a Dreams. We always stay at a 5 star resorts. (Secrets, Azul, Excellence). This was my birthday week and again when we are at other resorts we get upgraded somehow and a birthday banner on door. NOTHING! There were banners on other doors but not mine. Picked this resort for 3 reasons, dining, beach and small resort. This was small. Worst beach I’ve been at in 30 years of travelling. If you can overlook the seaweed, and get into water, there’s a smell. The hotel will work at removing the seaweed for a few hours then quit. A few times while we were there, they hooked up hoses and sucked the seaweed and shot it back into the sea. Guess what, it’s coming back. There’s sharp rocks or coral in the water. To walk on the beach, be careful not to trip on the sand bags, fossils and debris. The seaweed from next property is so thick and disgusting, you can’t walk by it without gaging. Smokers have designated areas to smoke, but there’s cigarette butts all over the beach area. Lounge chairs uncomfortable. At Excellence in November, we had plush 2 inch cushions. No cushions here. Dining: Don’t know where I got food poisoning, but got it good. 2 days in room and still symptoms until the day we left. The hotel apologized and sent Gatorade to room. The rodents are agoutis. Endangered species. Cute. They enjoy fruit and nuts. We did the dolphin/manatee. Enjoyable. Rented a golf cart and went into marina area to shop. Most staff was helpful. Would not recommend.

    Beach sucked

    Reviewed by Climber47847545674(Springdale, Arkansas) on Mar 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Getaway for spouse and myself, had bad experience getting there with airline. Then, the next morning we go to the beach and it was covered with seaweed and no way to get into water. Now, they were working the whole time to try and clean up but with no luck. On the last day one of the entertainment team told us they had opened up a beach about a quarter mile from us that we got to use for a couple of hours.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-2

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX