Grand Riviera Princess All Suites and Spa Resort

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Riviera Maya
    5. Grand Riviera Princess All Suites and Spa Resort
    6. Grand Riviera Princess All Suites and Spa Resort review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    A

    Will be back in november this year 3rd time

    Reviewed by Alice on Jul 22, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2019

    Trip Type: Friends

    Great resort helpfull staff/clean rooms/variety of food/good sport bar/a la-carte dissapointing/many pools overall recommend this resort

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    F

    We would never go back!

    Reviewed by Family of 3 from Canada on Jul 02, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: June 2019

    Trip Type: Family

    This was the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. We were travelling with a child who required his medication to be refrigerated. We called ahead and were assured that the mini fridge in the room could accommodate this necessity. Upon arriving to the room we discovered that the fridge had a minimum temperature of 7 Celsius (the drinks in the fridge were warm). There was no way this would work for medicine. We called reception and were told they would try to switch the fridge out, but that the fridge does not keep things cold (we were also told this was our only option for the medication. We decided to fill the cooler we transported the medicine in with ice, however the ice machine did not work. Again we were told there were no other options. We decided to go for dinner - and were absolutely repulsed by the food that was not only flavourless, but ice cold and had an odd baking soda taste to it. We chalked this up to it being Italian night in Mexico. We decided to go back to our room and order room service (which according to the website and our reservation was included). The front desk advised that if we wanted this service we needed to pay $100 usd per day and move rooms. We went to sleep hungry and disappointed. The next morning we tried to take our son to the kids pool (accompanied by us) where we were told if we wanted access to the kids pool we had to pay (pay for the kids pool in an all inclusive???). The adults and kids had to pay ($10 per person per day). So we took our 1 1/2 year old back to the big pools. The kids club was another amenity advertised as included. The meals did not improve at all, however the taco stand from 12-5 was quite good. I should note, my husband is from Mexico and I lived there for 8 years. We went with very tempered expectations and this hotel still managed to disappoint us in all areas. We even paid a taxi to take us to the airport early as we would have rather spent hours wandering the airport then the hotel.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    K

    Wonderful stay. Bring ones and fives for tipping. Change is hard to come by.

    Reviewed by Kirk on Apr 19, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    Great time for a week in early April. Really big resort. Bring a waterproof watch so you know the time. No clocks anywhere. Pool bats close at 6pm. Pools close at 8pm. Buffets aren't 5 star but the a la carte's such a steakhouse and Japanese Miso we're great. Seaweed in water and on beach but big deal. Warm water but small waves. No complaints. Great time for families and non families looking to unwind. So many pools.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    N

    Had a great time

    Reviewed by Nadine on Feb 05, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    Overall great resort. Beach is lovely and so are the pools. However, when we booked I asked what was all included and we were told that the kids area (kids pool, buffet, etc. we?re all included) we have 3 & 5 year old so it was important to us. When we got there we went to the kids area and a staff member came out and told us we had to pay $9/person to play in the pool. The pool was ice cold so I said not to worry about it that we will leave. My kids had fun at the other pools and beach anyway but not the point. Not sure if this was westjet a error or if the hotel is trying to scam people. We talked with other families and they had experienced the same thing and other days they could go and play in the area. Other then this our stay was great.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    M

    Great holiday.

    Reviewed by Manitoba Seniors on Nov 27, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    Go directly outside airport to your rep. About 45 minute bus ride from airport. Hotel was very clean. Room spacious and clean. Great selection and quality of food and drinks at numerous bars, buffets, and restaurants. Pools are clean and lounges plentiful. Nice beach with small rocks only along water's edge and sandy once past the edge. Not great for snorkeling due to waves stir up sand. Slacks or dress golf shorts and golf shirt with closed footwear acceptable in a la carte restaurants. A la carte reservations made behind lobby bar. Casual dress in buffets. Try the ice cream parlor and have a panini in the 24 hour Sports Bar. Lizeth Hernandez and Beatriz Caamal in snack bar/buffet closest to beach were wonderful hostess and server. Large resort with fair amount of walking. Comfortable foot wear such as runners/good sandals recommended. Entertainment in theatre was good most evenings. Staff were wonderful, friendly and accommodating and warranted tips in pesos which they genuinely appreciated.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    j

    Terrible vacation from strt to finish

    Reviewed by jb on Mar 29, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Please note that this is an official complaint concerning our trip to Mexico at The Grand Riviera princess and travels with Westjet vacations. Let me start at the beginning on our flight to Mexico, where we were booked on the most less desirable seats on the plane that we could not change. We were immediately advised by the stewardess that we were booked on points seats. The flight was not enjoyable by any means. These seats have less leg room than any other available seat on the plane. Upon arrival at the Cancun Airport we were not listed with the transportation company that brings you to your hotel. This delay was almost one hour waiting at the airport. Arrival at the hotel was less than welcoming. We were advised that our room was not ready and that our package was an "almost all inclusive package" meaning we were only allowed to dine at certain restaurants, order drinks from the left side of the bar, and no access to the wifi. We immediately requested an upgrade willing to pay for all extras to try and salvage this disastrous booking, but for whatever reason the hotel did not allow us to. Please note, we tried several times to upgrade without success. We were assigned a room at the middle area of the hotel, room 7251. Nothing special by any means, but we settled in none the less. On the third day we returned to our room to find an unbelievable smell from the paint and construction that had been done on either side of our room making it unbearable to breath. We immediately reported the issue to management and made our way to the front desk. The 1st person at the front desk did not want to accommodate us with another room, we then requested the manager. After much persuasion, the manager offered us a downgraded room on the other side of the resort. This was our only option. Room #1266. We were obliged to pack our belongings and wait most of the night for the transfer causing us to miss our supper and show. Room 1266 was in a state, the bed was b

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 10817 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Highly DO NOT RECOMMEND! Stay away!!!

    Reviewed by 999pizza() on Aug 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    FOOD:Very low quality! Furthermore, food was”recycled”, for which I don’t have a problem, when its done *PROPERLY* (e.g. yesterday’s seafood leftover will make great today’s seafood pizza). But chefs at this place lacking skills and creativity! Concrete examples: they never had neither fresh crepes nor pancakes!We’ve been with my wife in several places and having that option feels like basic standard. Not at this place! Another completely missing item-Pizza! Iberostar, Palladium, etc.-all Mexican resorts now have brick ovens and fresh pizza.Not at this place!While they did have pizza, quality of it “equates” to Gas Station Pizza!And as “cherry on the cake”-we were lied by one of the Chefs, that while walking thru main buffet was asked about pizza, and he came up with BS answer:”why would not you order pizza from our Italian Restaurant” And when we did ask about it one of the waiter - he looked at us as we were from Mars.Another area of incompetence:food layout and placings. During the dinner they placed yogurt next to watermelon and other “watery” deserts! And of course, half of the yogurt bowl was filled with watermelon juice! Service in buffer area subpar: numerous times we had to ask several times staff to get our drinks. Often, we were served not was ordered! Furthermore, once we were brought a beer, that we didn’t order, and that beer was placed right-next to my son, who is 6!! SERVICE:this resort is fairly large and yet they have only 1! shuttle.And after 5pm that shuttle becomes a bottle neck!It is not a long walk-about 10 min- from main lobby to the farthest section of resort where we stayed,but when you have small children it is “different story”.However, during the evenings, shuttle was always crowded and few times we almost had to “fight” for seats! KIDS CLUB was not free! There is a separate fee for KIDS CLUB! And another “cherry on-the-cake”: upon arriving home we found out that they OVERCHARGED our CC for cleaning fees! BTW: be aware, despite “”all inclusive”” resort they are charging cleaning fees(about $US1 per night ), however in our case for 10 nights we were charged $US25!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-3

    Service

    Service-1

    Value

    Value-1

    Stuart Steele

    Reviewed by Stuart S() on Aug 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My partner ,children and I spent a lovely few days there recently. Alberto in the ChillOut restaurant literally couldn’t of been a better host . Very very good service from him and all the staff at this hotel.

    Can't wait to take a real vacation

    Reviewed by NJ228() on Aug 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    We were at this resort in July for a 7 day vacation and wanted to express my disappointment with the resort. There was 7 of us and we had three rooms which we paid extra for the platinum package. Unfortunately the upgrade to platinum was a waste of money. All the so called perks were useless to us. We couldn’t go out on the balcony because the smell of seaweed was unbearable so the extra outside jacuzzi was worthless. Not to mention that the balcony view was awful staring into the unmanicured woods. The cement portion of the balcony was so old with two old lounge chairs and no table. Then broken down wood railing leading to a ugly wood floor deck. Just horrible. Next was the beach. I understand totally the seaweed problem but I have been other places that have workers out there all day long cleaning it up. We saw a few workers barely doing anything in the mornings and that was it. So again the platinum section of the beach was another waste of money. We went to Playa del Carmen 3 times during our stay and had to pay extra money for bus ride, chairs, umbrellas and food. Our maid service was terrible. We had to call for towels on several occasions. There was even a day that our garbage pails weren’t emptied. The liquor in the room was a joke. Plastic bottled liquor, never saw that before! Also we couldn’t get any name brand liquor unless we paid extra. Other rooms got nice little towels made into swans and other things with rose petals. We got nothing. There was no draws to put our clothes so kept them in our suitcases. The room itself needs an uplift very old and dingy looking with very poor lighting. Oh also the rooms need more electric outlets in more accessible places. The coffee maker just filled up with water and never brewed. The room service which was another platinum perk was not good at all. Long wait and terrible food. The restaurants were ok nothing great and in one of the restaurants the waiter was just miserable not to mention he didn’t like the fact that we didn’t want to buy a bottle of wine and asked for just the house wine. He didn’t seem to like that for some reason and it showed. Overall it was terrible vacation. We’ve traveled to so many hotels and this was by far the worst. It was a much anticipated vacation and one I really was looking forward to and now close to US $9,000 later I’m left still paying it off and not much good to say about anything. I’m home now back in New Jersey wishing I would have picked somewhere else because I feel like I didn’t get that vacation experience that I so badly needed. By the way I sent 3 emails since my return and not one response from anyone.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-3

    Service

    Service-1

    Returning was not a good Idea!!

    Reviewed by Amanda1277() on Aug 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    To start, my husband and I were at the resort in November, 8 months prior, for a 7 day stay. We travel every 4 months and enjoyed this resort enough for it to be out first resort to return to with our son, for a 10 day stay this August. We were sadly disappointed!! First of all, we were told we would have a chance of a upgrade at a discounted rate for being a returning customer, haha that was no where to be found. Now in November they upgraded us for the 7 day stay for $200US. The first day on check in we asked, it was gonna be a extra $1500 US for a simple upgrade, then 4 hours later when we could check in it went to $950 US. The next day when we met with the “WestJet” representative he was able to get it down to $300 US, but we were never able to find that same person at the counter and so we were %#*+ out of luck!! We were not looking for free, but a little kindness or positivity would have been nice. On the second day, the boys were wrestling and dads bracelet fell off in the pool, and when he went to go get a new one, they made my son go to the lobby to prove he still had his, cause “they knew what was going on...” so we did, and they gave him another bracelet, after of course trying to charge him $75 for a $1 bracelet. Not our fault it’s cheap and or was not fastened properly by the lobby staff. Pretty crappy to be accused of something!! The room was aright, not worth what we paid for, the food was decent, the LA carts are hard to get into, come back after 2....well on a resort of that size coming back at 2 is a waste of time! The snack bar was a hit or miss, out son likes to play pool for he was not 18, and they have a list of order there, but once again it mattered if you have $$ to slip to them or how loud you were, waste of time waiting for the most part. The only one staff member out of a 10 day stay that was worth remembering was Ada at the disco. She was fantastic. We are travelling again this December and we’re looking forward to returning to a familiar resort with more of our family members, but I can definitely say it will not be this one. A little attention to detail, some customer service, and being made to feel like you are a little appreciated for spending your hard earned money would have made this a memorable vacation and the desire to return.

    Very impressive!

    Reviewed by Piperwilly(Saint Thomas, Canada) on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This was our 5th trip to the Caribbean but our first to Mexico and I really would liked to have given an excellent review because we really like the resort overall but there were a few unfortunate things that were negative. At the outset I would say if you are planning to stay here I don't think you will be disappointed so go ahead and try it, I will attempt to explain what we didn't like from our personal experience and you can decide if it is something you can overlook? First off the Grand Princess is huge - it took ten minutes to walk from the beach to the lobby, our room was near the beach so every morning we had to trek up to the buffet for breakfast. Yes they do have a trolley that runs the length of the resort but it is usually a 15-20 minute wait. The temperature was 115 degrees with the humidity so we tried to keep our walking to a minimum. The service was great from check in to the restaurant, the bar, the pool, the cleaning staff, grounds and security. We had an issue with our safe and they sent a security man up within ten minutes and also gave us a follow up phone call to make sure everything was to our satisfaction. Our room was spotless and there were staff everywhere cleaning and repairing things around the resort. There was a good selection of food at the buffet and we found the A la cartes very decent. Overall we thought the food was very good. Yes there was seaweed at the beach but once you get in the swimming was fine. We vacation in the maritimes in the summer so we didn't find the smell overbad, it is tolerable (but can be kind of nasty). Anyhow the resort has no control over it anyways. The staff are good at looking after the pools, we saw them using a test kit a couple times a day and adding shock at night. The pools with the swim up bar were kind of sketchy at times but it mostly because some guests were treating it like a garbage can as opposed to a pool. At one point I found a wedge of lime at the bottom of the pool. Gross. Everything at the resort is efficient from what we experienced, check out was almost effortless. They really seem to understand that part of the tourist industry. Now the down side - we have been to Jamaica and Cuba for our last 3 trips and were sort of unsuspecting when we landed. When we came out to get the bus some lady (who looked like airport staff) brought us over to a guy (who looked like a official tourism rep) who tried to sell us all kinds of tours. If it is your first trip tell them thanks but no thanks and b line it for the front door and your bus! I realize this has nothing to do with the resort but it is the preamble to the next part. Once we checked in we were approached by a guy who (again) we thought was a hotel rep. He said he would answer our questions and look after us for the week. We sat down with him and had a drink under the impression that he was going to explain the resort to us. Very quickly we realized this was for a timeshare deal and he asked us to go for breakfast the next morning and they would show us around the Platinum area a bit and he would get a small commision and that they would give us a hundred dollar gift card to spend at the resort. We wanted to see the Platinum side anyways and since it was only 90 minutes of our time we conceded. We had breakfast at the Chill Out by the Platinum area on the beach and listened to the spiel and then they tried to sell us a 40000 dollar timeshare-type vacation deal. We said we weren't interested so they kept coming down in price and just kept sending different people over to try and talk us into buying something. Obviously we didn't want to buy anything and I had to get blunt with them to let them know it was time to wrap things up. The whole affair left a bad taste in our mouth, yes we did agree to look but we said no. Everytime we went to the buffet or lobby they would start a conversation to try and reel us in again. I finally had to be rude which is something I prefer not to do. We finally resorted to finding alternate routes to avoid the situation. While it didn't ruin our trip it was certainly aggravating, I think most people are looking to relax on their vacation with a minimum amount of harassment. I asked around and the consensus was that it's the norm in Mexico and if it's something that doesn't bother you then no worries, as for us - we hate it! Getting back to the resort, we thought it was beautiful and huge, so keep that in mind before you book. It is a little bigger than we prefer but again it's personal preference, we're glad we tried it but will stick to something smaller. Despite the size we did feel we received great personal service. Having said all that, what people really want to hear in a review is "Do you recommend it?" in which case I can confidently say I don't think you will regret it!

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX