Royal Hideaway Playacar

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    V

    Not clean

    Reviewed by Viv on Jan 03, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Very unpleasant in terms of being unclean

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    V

    Unclean.

    Reviewed by Vivien on Dec 31, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: November 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    This hotel was filthy. Stained sheets. Carpet gone grey from lack of cleaning. Tub plug was rusted completely through. Both phones weren?t working. The bed skirt looked like it had never been washed it was so discoloured. We found many areas of the hotel to be very poorly maintained. I would never return. WestJet located another hotel to move to however it did increase our cost significantly

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6228 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Honeymoon at this beautiful resort

    Reviewed by Victor S(San Antonio, Texas) on Jul 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My wife found this resort on TripAdvisor. We stayed from Tuesday to Tuesday and we had a great time. Service is amazing and the food is even better. Only complaints are we didn't get to try the habachi dinner experience. My wife really loves that. And the other is that for an adults only resort there wasnt much of a festive/party scene at the pool. But like i said minor things. There were lots of couple at the pool and bar Allegria that helped keep the party going. Would recommend this place to anyone.

    Destination wedding at Royal Hideaway

    Reviewed by JMUalum() on Jul 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    We came to the Royal Hideaway for a wedding and had a great time with few exceptions. Our room was very nice except for the air-conditioning. It could not move below 27.5 degrees. We were told that it was working and we put up with the heat for 2 days. I finally went to see Miguel our concierge and he was fantastic to work with and attempted to move us to another room. When Miguel attempted to get the new key for the room he was told by Angelina Lopez that he was not going to move us to another room and we would have to stay in the original room. Miguel did get us to the new room and we did enjoy our last night but I am very disappointed with management that would not accommodate the guest and Angelina Lopez is the reason for the low rate of this review. The rest of the staff was excellent.

    Excellent place

    Reviewed by apckg(New York) on Jul 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Fantastic service from each staff member. Great food at breakfast, lunch, and dinner, which is not always the case for all-inclusive resorts. Solid drinks. Beach is wide with white sand and lots of chairs. Lots of sargassum on sand and in the water with workers doing their best to clean it from the beach. Palazzo restaurant was somewhat warm on the night we were there. Relaxation pools away from main pools are terrific. They are quiet and very private. Sad to leave this spot.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Anniversary trip

    Reviewed by taparluie(LaSalle, Canada) on Jul 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This was our first time at Royal Hideway .All restaurant staff were amazing. Thanks to Oscar and all staffs at The Grill ,Mario, the chief of concierge ,Alexander and Nicholas at the Ventanas for everything you’ve done for us to have a wonderful vacation . The beach waiter worked very hard to make sure you have everything you need. Most other staffs were great, in special -Miguel Domingo and Guadalupe that created a very nice room setting plus chocolate covered strawberries and bottle of champagne for our 36th anniversary. The only inconvenience is that you must make reservation for the dinner for entire vacation. There is no restaurant available without reservation in case you do not like the time that is offered to you. Looking forward to another visit. The only reason why we haven't given this hotel a 5 rating is because of the people who work at Reception, we had to wait 15 min for someone to come to check out. Although thumb up for the bellboy.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    Birthday Celebration

    Reviewed by makmaw() on Jul 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We travelled to celebrate my milestone birthday. Royal Hideaway did not disappoint! We asked for a quiet room, by the beach. Our room was in building 24, closest to the beach. The concierge was helpful and helped us make all our dinner reservations for the week. The entertainment staff was excellent! Is you have the chance, take a bike tour with Mercedes. Our favourite pool server was Ricardo, he worked hard until the end of the day! We did notice that the other servers spend a lot of time standing in the shade by mid -afternoon. Another pleasant surprise was the house white wine, it was actually good! Most resorts house wines are terrible. Room service was excellent and added to the vacation. We were slightly disappointed with the stocking of our minibar. We spoke to our concierge and specifically asked for extra water. Two of the days during out stay our mini bar wasn’t even re-stocked and we realized after the concierge had left for the day. The pool towel situation has to be improved. Unlike most resorts you don’t have to use a towel card to get pool towels. The problem is people take towels to hold chairs and don’t return and we saw a couple and each of them had 4 towels! Because of this, there were never any clean towels. It would be better to limit the number of towels per person, then everyone would have access to clean towels. It was a wonderful holiday and we can’t wait to return!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX