Hilton Playa del Carmen, an All-inclusive Resort

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Riviera Maya
    5. Hilton Playa del Carmen, an All-inclusive Resort
    6. Hilton Playa del Carmen, an All-inclusive Resort review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    J

    Best holiday ever

    Reviewed by Jessica on Feb 24, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    We have been to the Royal Playa del Carmen 9 times and plan to go back again this year. Great location, excellent staff. There is not one thing that we could complain about. We have travelled to different places and find this is definitely a 5 star and one of the best.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    d

    Excellent food and service

    Reviewed by dirtdigger on Sep 29, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: September 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Excellent service. We ate at one of their restaurants and they just made some food up for my wife that was not on the menu. You are right in Playa so you can try some of the local restaurants and shops, but we found the food and drinks so good at the Royal that we only ate off site once. The only reason I gave the beach a 4 star is that I like to snorkel and their

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 19791 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Amazing Staff, Beautiful Property

    Reviewed by susant11(Atlanta, Georgia) on Aug 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My husband I have stayed in Sandals All Inclusive Resorts multiple times and this was our first step outside of that familiar box. We looked at many different resorts on the Riveria Maya, but found some comfort in the familiar Hilton name, so we took the plunge here. We were not disappointed. From the moment that we pulled up to the beautiful building we were treated like royalty. We were whisked over to a separate check in desk as Hilton Honors members (we are just entry level members, nothing fancy) . Christihayno was our concierge and he made sure that he explained the resort and that we had everything that we needed. Our room was spacious and the view was one of the best we have ever had. Floors are stone, huge jacuzzi tub overlooking the balcony view. Every request we had was taken care of. The lobby is open air with fans overhead and amazing view of the turquoise waters and palm trees. There are people everywhere making sure it is clean and polished, not a piece of scrap paper anywhere! Ivan at the front desk helped us with some special requests and went above and beyond for us! Each person is more kind than the next. The food is above the quality of Sandals in my opinion. Pico and Guac are flowing at every meal!! Try the tacos at Rincon Mexicano , the octopus at Pelicanos and the coffee shop. Coffee expertly prepared and atmosphere just what you would expect - and try the gelato -yum!! There is also a special place called Chef's Plate. It is a $90 upcharge (only resturaunt not included in all inclusive) we typically do not go for stuff like that, but we won a meal there at the Hilton Honors cocktail party one evening. It was such a special night . The food was exquisite and the service so warm, friendly and yet professional. We will choose to go and pay for it on our next visit For activities the hotel staff refers you to "Best Day" a private travel company with a space at the hotel. They will set up your tours/excursions. They were our only disappointment with the hotel. We were interested in 3 things - scuba diving, cenotes and Tulum ruins 1/2 day trip. Tulum ruins tour was just what we expected, the other 2 were not. We were 90% sure that there was a PADI dive center associated with the hotel and wanted to use that. We expressed that to Best Day representatives but they chose to book us with an outside group. The next day at the pool we met the hotel based (also a private company-Aquavetures) scuba instructors and learned that we had not booked with them. They leave right from the hotel beach and were fabulous, so if you scuba go through them. Best Day did return our money with out question and we switched to Aquaventures. The Cenote trip was billed as 1/2 day, but we didn't get back to the hotel until 4pm. It was a good excursion, but misrepresented, so when working with Best Day, be sure that you confirm what you are getting. Hilton Playa del Carmen is a great value for the money. We plan to return!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    The Hilton Playa Del Carmen

    Reviewed by Cain k(Saint Louis, Missouri) on Aug 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    My partner and I have stayed at this resort more than once prior to being sold to Hilton. It has always been an incredible and beautiful place that we have looked forward to coming back to visit. This year, however, I could not be more disgusted at what Is happening now that the Hilton has taken over. We were never notified that massive construction would be happening during our stay including the complete shutdown of the main lobby. This left guest to use a side entrance with a makeshift lobby causing confusion of guests. The new design for the lobby is also absolutely hideous. It appears that the Hilton prefer you feel you are in a hotel in New York or some other large city in the US instead of getting the experience of Mexico and it’s lavish resort we spent thousands of dollars on to enjoy. We feel this takeover is absolutely horrible for this place and the changes being made are utterly destroying what once was the most fabulous and luxurious resort in Playa Del Carmen. Just a moment ago I received a knock on my room door from and employee who asked to come inside and measure our balcony for new railings. This is unacceptable. I know this man was jus only doing his job, but I did spend a good deal of money to be here for nine days and did not know nor was I notified of all the construction, the noise, and the fact that half of the hotel including some restaurants were also closed for renovations and redesign by Hilton. Sadly this will be our last year coming to this resort as it has lost the appeal it once had. Although we were given a newly redesigned room, it looks entirely like something I could have paid to stay at in Florida. This place use to be a sparkling gemstone of Playa Del Carmen. It is now becoming an over dramatized hotel with no real authenticity of its location or surrounding culture. Deeply saddened and disappointed.

    Great Place to lose weight.

    Reviewed by Michael L() on Aug 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Came to Hilton All Inclusive with my wife. I got food poizoning within 24 hours that lasted until we left the resort. I felt terrible and it ruined our vacation. I usually come back from Cancun with 5 pounds or so of a weight gain, first time I came back and lost weight. It's a beautiful property but the food and beach are mediocre to say the least. I would say it's the best place to go if you want to loose weight but if you want a great vacation it is not the place to go. Stay away from Hilton All Inclusive Playa Del Carmen!!! Shame on you Hilton, i am used to a better service:(

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Best all inclusive vacation

    Reviewed by mayrasides912() on Aug 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This is definitely worth every penny, this is EXACTLY what an ALL INCLUSIVE vacation should be like. Dessert were bland and tasteless but even that can be overlooked because of everything/everyone else

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Brilliant stay

    Reviewed by fayelouise92(Leeds, United Kingdom) on Aug 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This hotel was absolutely gorgeous. Right on the seafront, spotless and the staff were lovely and welcoming. The entertainment through the day was brilliant especially when they do the pool party with foam and music, very interactive. At nighttime it was a bit repetitive, although they have various shows each night, once you’ve seen one you’ve seen them all. Our first room was on an odd angle, was dark and the hot tub bath didn’t work and also we had 2 separate beds. We requested to change rooms and were put into a better room with a king size bed and a south facing balcony, the only thing missing was a hammock which other people we met there had ( they also changed rooms) . The hotel was just taken over by the Hilton the night before we arrived at this point and there was rumours of the hotel rooms being decorated. They are also very health and safety and twice an adult pooed in one of the pools, they were very quick to close the pool and clean it. The restaurants had lovely food and the standard restaurant had different things there every night ( we stayed for 2 weeks) The location was fantastic, just next to playa del carmen markets. Only issue with this is your standard people shouting you over for selling things. We also went to coco bongos which was a good night however the people who look after you are a little crafty. They constantly want tips from you when they get a drink ( which you have already paid for the service) and when your drunk they try get more. Also they have a limit in tips you give them, they will only take minimum of 5 dollars, we tried to give them paso and they said it wasn’t enough and didn't take it. They only want dollars. The adventure park was fantastic , swimming through caves and zip lining, if you want to do this make sure you buy wet shoes that you can get from the market! Overall it was a lovely 2 week stay and I would definitely recommend.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX