Meliá Marina Varadero

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    R

    Our second time back at this hotel at the "Level" and we were even more impressed with service!

    Reviewed by Ringo on Feb 04, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2019

    Trip Type: Friends

    We stayed at the "Level" and the service, food and accommodations were the very best. Everyone went beyond their abilities to accommodate the most basic and complex request for us.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    D

    Avoid - Won't forget that smell...

    Reviewed by Darryl M on Jan 12, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: November 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    Friendly and accomodating staff in a somewhat dated hotel beginning to show it's age. The most disapointing elements were the inconsistency with the meals (particularly the buffets), the sanitation (constant terribile sewage smells) and the hotlel was constantly running out of items from beer to toilet paper to hamburger buns. Overall a disaponting stay for the 6 of us that stayed in two rooms 12/30/18 - 01/06/19. Would not recomend and certainly nowhere near the 4.5* rating that WJ puts on this property. 5/6 of the people in our party left with upset stomachs. The beach, pool area and facilities were all decent but the hotel seemed to really be struggling to keep guests happy and the guests we spoke to seemed to have a similar experience.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    D

    ON RETOURNE N IMPORTE QUAND

    Reviewed by DPAQUIN on Mar 09, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    BELLE ENDROIT CLIENTELE VARIE PAS DE FETARD BELLE PLAGE DE TOUS POUR TOUS LES GOUTS

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    s

    We don’t recommend this resort to anybody.

    Reviewed by sally D. on Jan 25, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: November 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    My husband and I stayed at that hotel last November for 10 days. We travel often to various countries but this was our worst experience ever! First, we booked a suite room, but it turns out to be really far from the lobby, gym and other activities. The apartment was full of mosquitoes! We spent the first hours upon our arrival to kill them thinking that we will get rid of them but they keep showing up all night. We contacted the clientele service management to change the room but they told us that the hotel was full and they will have the room sprayed with pesticide the next day. In fact, the hotel wasn’t full as we found out later they had shut off blocks of buildings to safe on electricity. We didn’t sleep well the first night as we were bitten all night. The following day, we waited outside the room all afternoon to avoid the pesticide smell. They were able to kill them that afternoon but the mosquitoes got back in the room that night and kept us up again. As well, we found a big cockroach in the bathroom. I never saw that size before. In the morning, we insisted to talk to a manager and she accepted to give us another room in the main building. Which was a small simple classic room with obstructed view of the side of the resort. She refused to compensate us for the difference of price between the 2 accommodations. But we were relieved to not deal anymore with the mosquito issue.The restaurants were another issue that I have to bring up. The food at the buffet was uneatable, very bland, no flavor at all and almost the same dishes every night. The food at the restaurant were items that was available in the buffet! In the morning to get fresh cooked eggs or crepes you have to wait in line forever as they only have one person with a little pan in charge of cooking them. The room service is very poor and we had to call them every day to get floor towel and small towel, as they don’t replace them automatically. The beach area was small and far from the hotel.You ha

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    n

    I had a wonderful vacations

    Reviewed by nick on Oct 18, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    Great hotel to relax, the food was really good, in special the desserts, really beautiful view from the room and the most important a wonderful staff, I wanna thank you all of you in special the staff of the buffet and the greatest, the bellman michel, who did a great job and help me up with directions and very friendly

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    I

    Great value in the resort!

    Reviewed by IW on Aug 05, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    Located in the very end of the peninsula with some fantastic views with the Marina and the Bay. The staff were wonderful. There is lots to do on the resort and has nearby shopping and other dining options nearby. Plenty of activities but does get noisy at night as all the rooms face the Marina and the nightly entertainment is just right outside.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    P

    Cancunesque, but that's not a bad thing!

    Reviewed by Phil C on Aug 01, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    This hotel may represent the new wave in Cuba as it feels a lot more like you are in Cancun than Varadero, but that's not a knock. Despite the sleek decor and upscale atmosphere their staff consistently display that famous Cuban hospitality as they go above and beyond to make you feel at ease. There's a lot to like about this resort. The food is better than any of the other hotels I've stayed at in Cuba. We particularly enjoyed the Oriental restaurant as the sushi and appetizers were actually really tasty and a lot more authentic than I'm used to for Cuba. The buffet has a wide selection and switches up regularly. We were very impressed with the entertainment staff as the nightly shows were top notch. Enjoyed the pool layout as the pool with the swim up bar has a lively atmosphere and the other pool is more relaxing plus there's plenty of loungers near both. I was a little apprehensive prior to arriving at the hotel about it not being directly on the beach, but my concerns were quickly alleviated as it's only a few min stroll from the pool area to the beach and they also offer golf cart service if needed. The beach is great even despite being near the end of the peninsula and they have lots of palapas plus they offer bar service only a few steps away. The rooms are modern and comfortable and the rain shower and water closet are nice features. They don't offer a steam iron which I thought was bizarre, but apparently not that uncommon. Depending on what floor you're on the views of the marina and ocean can be quite spectacular, definitely request a higher floor if you can! Another definite plus for staying at this hotel is that it's always the first stop after coming back from excursions.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    C

    Large rooms with huge walk in showers! Lively atmosphere in the evening

    Reviewed by Colleen on Jul 31, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    Beautiful resort overlooking the large Marina with shops surrounding the boardwalk area. The rooms were very nice with jetted tubs and walk in showers which could fit at least 2 people if you wanted. Food was fairly good and the staff were attentive if you can catch their attention as very busy lobby and buffet areas of the resort. Entertainment in the lobby and outside along the boardwalk was wonderful except when one day it started in early afternoon and kept going until late at night. If you have a little one to take a nap or even yourself it was difficult that day as music was very loud. Overall a great resort and located outside of the busy downtown Varadero area at the end of the strip of hotels.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    j

    great hotel.

    Reviewed by jstevens on Jul 28, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    This is a large resort with many activities. The only down side is the beach is across the pedway about 300m away from the hotel. They do however have golf carts that will travel you back and forth if you wish. The rooms were large even for a standard size. clean, friendly staff. the hotel is about 15 minutes away from downtown varadero. We asked for extra pillows and was told they just had a few around the hotel and just had 1 left but the maid came the next day to bring another. the only thing to watch for during the rainy season is there's no windows down thehallways and the water tends to pool around,but they were quickly cleaning them up in the morning.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    M

    Nice hotel with great views of the ocean.

    Reviewed by MP on Jul 27, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    I enjoyed my stay at the Melia Marina Varadero. The staff was great, the food was tasty and the rooms were clean and comfortable.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4170 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Second visit to Amelia Marina

    Reviewed by JB2019999() on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We enjoyed our second vacation at Melia Marina, but we found that there is a lot less food variety/selection this year. We travelled there for the first time exactly one year ago. The food was still tasty and fresh like last year, but it was so repetitive. I feel like we ate the same things everyday. They could definitely add more variety. The hotel remains beautiful. Breathtaking views of the marina and a gorgeous beach. I recommend eating lunch outside on the terrace at the buffet. The staff was friendly and nice as always, especially Antonio/Tonito who works at the El Pescador restaurant and the buffet. He is very kind and goes the extra mile to help out. We love the gardener Luis who works by the beach, great guy. The staff in the lobby bar also makes amazing drinks and they work very hard. The animation team during the day is awesome (Yamilka, Elisvan, Yusel and Airiana)... great activities! Make sure you take a ride with Rico Rico, the bus driver to the beach, he will make you laugh. All in all, we still recommend Melia Marina and would return again, but we we’re disappointed with the food variety.

    Amazing First to Trip to Melia Marina Varadero

    Reviewed by NBBrowneyedgirl(Riverview, Canada) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We visited Melia Marina Varadero Feb21th-28th and I have to say it was one of the best trips we have ever had to Cuba. Being our 28th visit we have had some great trips and some not so! Our flight was late leaving Canada due to the terrible weather and even though we arrived in the wee hours of the morning the front desk staff met us with smiles and quickly had us on our way to our room. We had an issue with the air conditioning in our first room but it was quickly rectified with a room change and what a nice room it was!!! The view of the marina in the rising sun was absolutely amazing. We normally don't spend much time in our room but on this trip we found ourselves just sitting on the balcony enjoying the view each morning. We booked the level floor and we are so happy we did! To be able to sit and order your breakfast off of a menu in a very tranquil setting was priceless not to mention you have a beautiful view of the marina while you enjoy your meals. The staff that work the level floor are awesome always smiling and they can't do enough to make your stay perfect. One other area that we must mention is the main lobby bar, two of the day staff Andie and Rosa are two of the most funny, kind and overall amazing human beings! In closing we can't wait to visit again and to anyone considering visiting do it you will not be disappointed! Many Thanks, Lisa and Andrew Perrin New Brunswick, Canada

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Disappointing

    Reviewed by Tika01(Surrey, Canada) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Just arrived home from staying a week at this resort and after 4 days I was ready to come home. There is no proper threate with entaintment. Shows where preformed by the marina where you get eaten alive by misquitos. Misquitios were really bad even in the lobby, bar lounge area and buffet. Went to beach and also got bitten bad from sand flies. They need to spray. This made the trip undesirable with all the bites. Rooms need work. Broken bathroom towel racks, lamp shades stained, the furniture is in bad shape also. Bed was uncomfortable. Felt like I was sleeping on a board. My back was very sore which lead to not much sleep. Breakfast food was terrible. Not much selection. Stuck to eggs and bread as the rest was not good. Lunch and dinner selections were alittle better but because they make the same food everyday you get tired after a few days of eating it. Cooked food was also cold unless you had the meat, fish and pasta cooked by the staff. They need to change the menus and make it more desirable. 24 Snack bar was not good also. Ordered off a menu which half the stuff was unavailable. El la Carte restaurants were not that great also. Worst one was Don Pepperoni. We left that night dispointed which we hardly ate much and ended up back at the buffet to eat. You get tired of the food. I know Cuba lacks on food taste but this was my 3 time there and the most disappointed on the food. Staff was great with us. We got good service and always left a tip. Tipping goes a long way. Enjoyed getting to know them also.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-2

    Service

    Service-4

    Melia Marina Varadero

    Reviewed by Carline A() on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My family and I spent from March 7 to March 14 Everything was excellent from the buffet to the snack bars! The cocktails were excellent!rooms clean and comfortable!The staff was extraordinary from the bartenders Sol and Rosa always smiling and ready to prepare the best drinks another amazing young lady was Penelope Alvarez ! The maid Jenny very polite and always made sure everything was ok! I will return to the Melia Marina Varadero because not only i had a great time But mainly i give them 10/10 for customer service

    Just went to relax

    Reviewed by MichaelLamontagne(Mascouche, Canada) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    the hotel is at the extreme end of Varadero . very clean and the staff were very nice and polite . the food was average for Cuba , the alacarte restaurants were good . the bedroom was out of stile but clean and it took us a couple of days to get used to the hard bed and flat pillows but got the rest we were looking for . the showers have good pressure . the water in the pool wasn't heated , if it was it was only 71 to 75 degrees , I have a thermometer on my watch , I still went in but very few people did . the beach was a 5 min. walk over the bridge or you could take the shuttle plenty of place to rest and the beach snack bar was good and the food was well stocked . the entertainment was mostly in the lobby bar area it was good but the lobby being open the mosquitos were all over us , they olny sprayed once in the week we were there . came home with multiple bites and it was itchy for at least 3 weeks after . lots of clubs , bars , coffe shops , pool room and bowling just of the site on the marina side . flea market and grocery store , liquar store and cigar store , all in 2 min walikg distance from hotel . enjoy it we did

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX