University of Western Ontario

  1. Home
  2. Destination Guide
  3. University of Western Ontario


Practical Information

Dating back to the 19th Century, it was founded by Bishop Isaac Hellmuth as The Western University of London Ontario and had four faculties. In 1923, it changed its name to The University of Western Ontario. Its present campus which spans across 161.87 hectares (400 acres) was expanded in 1916. Western University as it is corporately known now, is among the top public research universities in the nation. Its campus is among the most beautiful of its kind in Canada and comprises of several Gothic structures along with LEED-certified buildings. Today it has 12 faculties and three associated university colleges. Some of the interesting facets of the campus are the McIntosh Gallery, Don Wright Faculty of Music, Paul Davenport Theatre, John Labatt Visual Arts Centre and The Spoke for those keen on visual and performing arts.

Location:  1151 Richmond Street