Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    R

    Good value

    Reviewed by Rick on Aug 10, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    Will be going back loved it

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3958 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Trip #3

    Reviewed by 182mattyo() on Jun 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This was our 3rd family vacation to the Tamarijn and probably not our last! I'd like to start by acknowledging a few of the horrible reviews about the staff as well some who feel they should be pampered as if this were a 5 star resort. We have never encountered a member of the staff who was rude to us or even seemed bothered by their job. We always are friendly and treat others as we like to be treated. We do always tip for drinks and meals and such. That being said, you get what you give...if you walk around acting as if you're better than the people who are working hard to help make your vacation special then shame on you! Some of our favorite employees who always go above and beyond, Bernadette serving drinks by the pool, Hendrik at the breakfast buffet, Corneil(civil) and Edwin at the bar, and Marina at the Palm grill just to name a few of the many hard working people always smiling and doing a great job! As mentioned this is not a 5 star resort more like a 3 star resort with a 5 star location. While I feel the employees have maintained their stellar service, I do feel management has not maintained the property as well as they should. Some examples include...a foul septic smell coming from various locations( restroom behind coffee station in lobby, our restroom in block 15 as well)...poolside chair cover are getting old, need to be replaced...railings on balconies need replacing...railing to upper level in block 15 is broken and very loose...deck above the pool bar has the same loose wooden boards from last year( very unsafe)...chairs in the lobby are stained, need to be replaced. These are all fixable and hopefully will be addressed. One problem facing this property is also it's biggest selling point...the beach! While still ok in some spots, the beach has eroded quite a bit over the past 3 years and now almost the whole length of the resort is lined with huge rocks. The water itself is still amazing, although water shoes are still a must due to all the broken coral while entering the ocean. The beach down by the divi is much nicer, we used that most times. I hope mother nature doesn't keep taking the beach away because soon it will reach the boardwalk... The poolside activities are fun, bingo with Donny and Bradley is always a good time as is pool volleyball. My sons also enjoyed the pool table and ping pong table by the towel hut. The food is always good here. The breakfast buffet will always have enough selections for everyone, I particularly enjoyed the French toast. The lunch buffet was more of the same, plenty for all tastes. We'd usually grab our lunch and eat by the pool. The Dinner buffet, again, anyone should be able to find something they like. The sit down restaurants are also good. Ginger is the only one we skip as we didn't care for it our first visit. The Red Parrot is my favorite, make sure to ask for outdoor seating. Paparazzi is also very good, also prefer outdoor seating. Pure lime was better this time than previous years and Palm grill is always fun( hibachi, cook your own food right on the table). The bar in the lobby also serves pizza, snacks and sandwiches. The brand new Gym seems awesome, supposedly the best hotel gym in the Caribbean( wish I used it??) Sadly the bar below is not part of the all inclusive... The nightly entertainment by the pool seems to be less show oriented and more just music. I remember they used to have a real show every night at 8/8:30...now probably 3-4 shows and rest just bands, not bad still just prefer shows. I'm sure I'm forgetting something, but all in all we still really enjoy our time here and are always sad to leave! I still highly recommend the Tamarijn but hope to see some improvements if we go back again next year!

    2019 trip

    Reviewed by Sharon677(Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom) on Jun 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Just a few things that could be improved but overall we loved it ?? anybody that’s not fond on a walk ask before you unpack to be moved closer we were in block 24 by the end of the first week we were worn out so had to call for a shuttle and often got sick of waiting so would end off walking to the main part for food . Now the rooms lots of people say the same I agree a little dated needs lots of TLC but very clean and that’s all we ask for . Food really nice not much to complain about . Lots of reviews on how miserable the staff were well I thought almost all were smashing you engaged in a conversation and they are fine it’s just the way it is some yes terrible didn’t matter what you did so our tips went to the best at the end of our holidays these complaints must not be noted as it’s clearly not addressed. Night time shuttles is a real nightmare and as we were in bloke 24 you feel very isolated nothing at all down there if your young it’s not a problem but older guys it sure can be other than that we loved it and dearly miss some nice staff and the bunker bar was a beautiful place to sit also we really could of done with a mini bar down block 24 fair walk for a nice beer or cocktail mid day or a pop even real part of penny pinching I felt ......

    Worst hotel ever, avoid!!!

    Reviewed by 876cathm(London, United Kingdom) on Jun 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    We have been here since Saturday and we have had nothing but problems! This is our second stay at this resort but sadly we will never return, even if the trip was free, we would decline the offer! We were not given any welcome drinks upon arrival and when we got to our rooms there wasn’t even a single bottle of water in the fridge. The room we are in is very dated and even worse, it’s infested with ants! We complained and were basically told to put up or shut up. The air conditioning unit leaks, the water pressure in the bathroom is low, the rooms were not cleaned properly, there is no room service and you cannot take food away from the restaurants. The food is mediocre, as are the cheap drinks. If you do not eat pork, or you have special dietary needs, then this is not the place for you. When we arrived we were told we could make bookings for the restaurants by calling concierge. We were able to do this once. We called again today and were told we cannot make bookings over the phone! The receptionist was extremely rude, so I asked for a manager and she hung up! I then called the front desk and was told the manager wouldn’t be available for another two hours so I’d just have to wait. The service is absolutely diabolical, it’s like the staff go out of their way to be completely unhelpful. I have never been treated so badly. Our toilet has been blocked twice. The first time we were told we had to wait until 8 am for the maintenance team to start. We had to wait 40 minutes. The second time we were told we would have to wait over two hours even though we had a diabetic pensioner in our room! When the plumber eventually arrived, we were told not to flush toilet paper and instead we should put the soiled paper in the bin! This is disgusting and inhumane. The room is only cleaned once a day, can you imagine the scent and the flies that built up soiled toilet paper would bring? We are completely disappointed with the treatment we have received and we wouldn’t recommend this hell hole to our worst enemy. Please do not waste your hard earned money, go elsewhere and enjoy the fruits of your labour.

    Ok resort, beautiful views

    Reviewed by rebeccabJ9593ER() on Jun 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    First time staying at this resort, but have traveled to Aruba before. We picked this resort because the kids stayed free and we brought our kids this time. We arrived at the resort around 130p on our check in day. The lady at the reception desk would not let us go to our rooms, even though they were ready, until 3pm. I have traveled a lot, and this was the first time we have ever had to wait. The rooms are dated, small, and the furniture is falling apart. They were clean though. One day our bath towels smelled like fish horribly bad. The views from the room are beautiful, but the balconies have cracked glass and just look old. The pool was closed from 7a-7p. When we would get to the pool around 8am, it was never cleaned and about half of the time someone would come and clean it between 9a-10a. We didn’t drink a lot at the bars, but didn’t find any of the staff to be friendly. They all seemed annoyed when we would ask for a drink or food. And be prepared to wait. They are in no hurry to help you. All cheap liquor and drinks are full of sugar. We only ate at Ginger, Palm grill, and Pure lime (Divi). Food was good, service was lacking. The one waitress made my son cry at dinner. The beaches are rocky, but we knew that before arriving so we brought water shoes. Buffet had a wide variety of food, most was pretty good. But again, be prepared to wait it you want something cooked/prepared for you. The doors would open and there would be no one at the cooking stations for 5-10 minutes and all the other staff members would just stare at you without offering assistance. It really doesn’t seem like the employees enjoy their jobs. Very rarely did anyone say hi as you walked past or smile. But the views are beautiful and the rooms are just steps from the beach.

    Aruba tamarijn

    Reviewed by gillianvera(Swindon, United Kingdom) on Jun 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Checked in on the 8th June after a two hour delay from LGW and weather was gorgeous. Hotel is lovely as is the sister hotel, where we can use their facilities as well. Room as a lovely outlook straight on the beach/sea which is two minutes from the patio (ground floor). Rooms are a little dated but adequate and well equipped (safe, hairdryer, coffee machine (no milk supplied) and fridge. But only sleeping there so it’s ok. Staff are really friendly and helpful in the bars and restaurants although the desk staff could be a little bit more courteous. Edwin is the man to see if you want to go deep sea fishing. Found my Jack (to me Gill),Julio, JP, Latanya, Doris, Adolfo all who are lovely and enjoy their company. They even danced and sang for my hubby’s birthday and gave him a cake. Recommend a one day hire car to see the whole island which is beautiful and very safe. Weather is gorgeous every day since we have been here and would definitely recommend a visit. The sea is the most beautiful turquoise I have seen on my travels and the pelicans are lovely to watch. See the iguanas walking around the pool at the sister hotel as they are amazing. Only suggestion I would have is to make the bookable restaurants, smart dining as amazing how many Americans turn up in shorts, t-shirt and baseball cap when we Brits turn up in long trousers & shirt and the women dressed in their finery.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX