Fairmont Southampton

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    C

    As pretty as the pictures! We would gladly return next September!

    Reviewed by Covells on Oct 13, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: September 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    A beautiful property, staff are knowledgeable, friendly, and prompt. The rooms are spacious and clean, and upscale. There's an amazing breakfast served in an elegant dining area called "Windows"; good value for great food. The beach area is picturesque and private. Perhaps the only things missing is this: when guests enter lobby it would be welcoming and refreshing to have lemon water/ice available, self-serve, somewhere in that large entry. We were there end of September and it was actually very hot and humid .

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4965 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Breakfast at windows on the sound was wonderful

    Reviewed by pinksandgirl64() on Aug 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I have a lovely breakfast at windows on the sound the view is gorgeous the service was phenomenal and the food was extremely tasty for a buffet it was warm and wonderful I enjoyed all the food at the Fairmont Southampton as I love the Fairmont Southampton I've been there six times I wouldn't stay anywhere else when I go to Bermuda I love the location to the beaches I love the service I love the atmosphere and the food is wonderful

    Beautiful Island, Great people but the hotel management needs to step up oversight!

    Reviewed by IrishKate57(Moorestown, New Jersey) on Aug 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    First in their defense this a very large resort and I’ll get to those issues later. Since it is crazy to attempt to drive, taxis are the only feasible option to get around the island. Sunday is a day of rest and many things are closed but not at the resort. Don’t plan to go off site via taxi on Sundays—there is a 25% up charge on an already expensive cab ride. Plan to eat at the Fairmont on Sundays. The hotel shuttle service is excellent down and back to the beach, some of the other Fairmont restaurants and ferry stop. The hotel does have quite a few restaurants and all were excellent. Mediterra and the Ocean Club were our favorites and we would end each night with a drink at Jasmin with live music. The waitstaff at all restaurants and the bar were excellent and very friendly. The bartenders not so much. The concierge staff especially Laverne were great and helped plan some excursions. The bellman were also wonderful and helpful getting cabs. The reality is Bermuda is an expensive island so regardless of where you go expect it to be costly. Many of the restaurants bottles of wine started around $75 and it’s wine you would pay $10 for in the states. The Henry the VIII Pub had a liquor store close by. Ask for a room refrigerator when you make your reservations. You can pick up some more reasonable beer and wine and keep it in your room. The one thing I didn’t understand was why a resort would allow their main doors—the first impression focal point—to be dirty all the time. I understand people use the glass rather than the door handles, and get handprints all over, but assign someone to keep it clean. I kept thinking it would get cleaned but we were there 8 days and it was always dirty. The pool was the domain of families with small children so don’t plan on getting a chair. It’s a small pool but it was well maintained. There is a slide and if my children were still young they would of loved it. The beach was beautiful, the hotel supplies beach towels (show your room key) & chairs. There are restrooms, water to refill bottles and food and drink servers beachside. I did see the staff picking up trash since some of the guests can’t clean up after themselves. These were probably some of the same people holding chairs at the pool so they were available when they came back from the beach but that’s not on the resort. Horseshoe Bay is literally right through the gate next door but it does get crowded with cruise people. Plan to go Tuesdays or Fridays when the cruises are leaving. Norwegian and Royal Caribbean come into the dockyards so if crowds bother you check their itineraries. Now for my biggest pet peeve—housekeeping and WiFi. Housekeeping was very spotty and inconsistent. We always leave a nice tip the first day and throughout our vacation to get good service. Here all gratuities are prepaid on everything—even housekeeping. So I’m not surprised that there is no motivation. We still left money the first day and it didn’t matter. Beds were made consistently but that was about it. Room wasn’t vacuumed the entire stay (and this is a beach resort). Some days the trash was removed, some days not. Dirty glasses were in the room for 3 days. We constantly had to call for bath towels. I was not asking for extras—there were 4 of us and they would only leave two towels. WiFi was free but basically nonexistent. If you have to do some work on your laptop forget it. They do offer a paid upgrade for better WiFi but we were afraid it wouldn’t work anyway so why pay extra! So if you know all this going in, you can judge yourself what your priorities are and whether it’s worth it. There are a lot of positives here but they need to address these issues to truly deserve top stars!

    Amazing accommodations

    Reviewed by Holly C(Boston) on Aug 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My family and I visited Bermuda and stayed at the Fairmont Southampton. I will keep this review short, but could probably go on for a long time. The hotel itself and its grounds are beautiful and have a lot to offer. Several restaurants, a spa, pool area, spa pool area (which my husband and I adored), gorgeous private beach, Horshoe Bay (right around the corner from the private beach!) and a wonderful breakfast. Each staff member we dealt with was very nice and helpful. Both checking in and checking out went smoothly. Our room had an incredible ocean view. My husband and I dined at each of the hotel’s restaurants except for one (Mediterra) and were pleased with each one. Wickets burgers were amazing! Afternoon Tea at Jasmine’s was also wonderful. We also loved that the hotel offered shuttles to the beach and other destinations. Our stay in Bermuda overall was fantastic. We will be back and would absolutely stay at the Fairmont again.

    Nice hotel

    Reviewed by Andzb(Stanley, Falkland Islands) on Aug 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    This was a nice hotel but a little dated and extremely pricey. This wasn’t just the hotel though - Bermuda as a whole is extremely expensive. If you decide to visit try and go self catering! We got a bit of a shock on the first morning when we realized that breakfast was $39 per person! We thought it was included!

    Amazing

    Reviewed by Michael T() on Aug 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The beach was beautiful and filled with endless fun! You could cliff jump, paddleboard, snorkel, play cornhole, and Jenga. We spent one-night playing beach volleyball with the staff and had such an amazing time. Back at the hotel, we ended our day listening to live music in the Jasmine bar lounge.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX