Grotto Bay Beach Resort

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    B

    Perfect spot!

    Reviewed by Bob & Lynne on Feb 16, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    3rd stay - better than ever! Jonee King, Front Office Manager and Staff were the best! Could not ask for a better facility and location. Will be returning soon!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3139 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Pleasant Spring Break Getaway

    Reviewed by john r() on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This trip was a relatively short, 5 night, stay with my 17 year old daughter over spring break (April 13-17). I loved that the resort was only (about) 1 mile from the airport. Even so, there was no air traffic noise that I heard at any point during my stay. My daughter and I were impressed with the beauty of this resort. The views and landscaping are spectacular. We had a waterfront room with a small balcony that overlooked the bay and causeway. The sunrise and blue waters were absolutely beautiful to wake up to. The room was clean and the housemaids were very easy going about not making up the room in the morning. I am one who likes to sleep late and absolutely hates that early morning knock on the door. The underground caves were pretty cool to see and if we had a bit more time would have liked to get to the spa for a message in that incredible spot. I will say I was somewhat disappointed about the fitness room. Although it was inspiring to run on a treadmill overlooking the beach and crystal clear blue waters, it needed some attention. The first time I used the room, there were no towels, no water and one of the two treadmills was broken. The second time, the treadmill was fixed, there was water but, still, no towels. My daughter and I did not get the all inclusive plan and that worked out in our favor. We don't typically eat breakfast and spent part of our days out and about, eating lunch while out. I don't drink very much and she is not of age so it did not make sense for us. We did eat dinner every night at the resort and were pleased with the menus and the quality of the food. There were scheduled events in the evenings which were fun and interesting. We saw the comedian and also attended the talk with a Bermuda historian. The staff is friendly and mellow. No pretentiousness here.

    Great Vacation Spot

    Reviewed by Chris C(Lower Truro) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa. This is our fourth time to this resort and it just keeps getting better and better. The staff are very helpful and friendly and catered to all of our specific needs. I have dietary issues and the Chefs accommodated me. The servers were all very professional and friendly. Tara (Guest Services) and her co-workers were very helpful and so easy to deal with. I enjoyed my yoga class and lastly but most importantly, my son and his wife got married while we were there and it was just perfect (thank you Rebecca). The Minister and the photographer were awesome and we look forward to seeing the pictures. I would highly recommend this resort.

    Should have been much better

    Reviewed by jonesjel(Washington DC, District of Columbia) on Apr 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    The positives: reasonably located, the beach is amazing. The drinks are decent. All inclusive could work, if the food and dining experience was better, which brings me to the next point. The negatives, and there are many: food is consistently overcooked, literally every meal had overcooked items. Shrimp cocktail had soggy, overcooked shrimp and mayo/ketchup that’s supposed to be Cocktail or Bermuda-specific dipping sauce. My friend had overcooked pork wanton. The desserts were awful. The evening meals are disastrous. For starters, they have a faux wardrobe that at best, appears subjective, or at worst seem targeted to specific demographics. For example, I dined on our final night wearing the Gucci cap pictured. One waiter stopped by to ask me to remove my cap, citing a dress code. Then, a second stopped by to ask me to remove my hat. Finally, a third waiter stopped by to ask the same, who went on to threaten to have the manager to speak with me, who never appeared. Meanwhile, I counted at least 5 patrons who were wearing flip flops and opened toe sandals, such as those pictured as well. That’s the problem that I have the “dress code,” it’s either targeted or selectively enforced, which the front desk assistant appear to confirm that flip flops are not acceptable in the hibiscus room. The other issue that I have with this establishment is this notion of “all inclusive,” which really isn’t the case. For example, you can eat only three meals, without any snacks. That wouldn’t be a problem if the hours were so restricted, which limits the amount of time you get to spend out in town. Overall, Bermuda is awesome - I hope that there are better alternatives than here. The staff outside of dining, are excellent. The concierge, front desk and cleaning staff were exceptional, but the dining, which frankly is an important part, is inconsistent and not very friendly. Again, couple this with poorly prepared food, and that makes for an awful experience. Oh, and how could I forget the gentleman who monitored water sports. He vanished on his personal wind sailing experience, leaving things unattended. Yet, when we wanted to go paddle boarding, he informed us that it was closed, despite him spending hours wind surfing.

    Best Hotel On The Island!

    Reviewed by Tomas L(New York City, New York) on Apr 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Grotto Bay is a great hotel, with a reasonable nightly price. The staff is great and useful, and the grounds are big, with many things to do. The rooms are well maintained. The poolside restaurant is horrible, but the rest are good.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Nice stay

    Reviewed by Excursion61949532886() on Apr 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We enjoyed our stay. Nice room and excellent service. We went all inclusive.It included bus transpotation around the island. It was easy to navigate around and for the most part the buses were on schedule. We also enjoyed the kayaks and paddle boards. The food was good and the service was excellent.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX