Finest Playa Mujeres by Excellence Group

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Cancun
    5. Finest Playa Mujeres by Excellence Group
    6. Finest Playa Mujeres by Excellence Group review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    M

    Great for families

    Reviewed by Marie on Jul 05, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    This is a great resort for families. The pool and waterpark are great for kids. The pool is also divided and has an adult section. So you can put the kids in camp and have some quiet time with adults. The rooms are very spacious and clean. The restaurants are great. So many that we couldn't even try them all. The room service was a bit lacking. Food was bland. Overall, a great stay for all.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    T

    Not a 5 * any more! 4 hours for food! Musty stinky rooms!

    Reviewed by The Family Trip Planner on Apr 24, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    This is going to be a bittersweet review. I love Mexico and it's people. That still applies! But this was supposed to be a week at a 5 star, expensive property that came highly recommended. We have been terribly disappointed by Finest. We booked it August 2016 for a mini family reunion in April 2017. We had 3 swim-up suites booked with a request that they be as close together as possible. I realize there are no guarantees. The request was on file and I emailed the property who did email me back about a month before our arrival, as a reminder. The front desk clerk must've been new and did not know the property layout. He had us in the same building and assured us "07" and "08" are next door to each other and "04" is just three doors down, same side. Well, not so much! 04 and 07 were on same hallway, 3 doors apart but 08 was on a different corridor altogether. So, quite spread out and two of the rooms 07 and 08 are at intersections of pathways so quite busy areas -- not the best locations, for sure. Anyway, moving past that first let down! The rooms - all 3 - smelled severely musty/mouldy. To the point that allergies were triggered and headaches. Most noticeable when you left for a meal and returned. Housekeeping staff did their best with a lightly scented cleaner and I would think it was gone, 30 min later it was back. Horribly unpleasant. Way beyond that tropical scent that comes home on your clothes. This was nasty! The staff generally were great, just couldn't do enough for you, honestly! The problem is there's not enough staff! Where it's noticeable is in every single restaurant and bar. These men and women are run off their feet! The same person is hosting, clearing, taking orders, serving...maybe cooking, lol? I started to wonder when one night our meal took 4 hours! Not by choice!! Property is only 3 years old maybe. Corona contract ended 6 months ago so no Corona on site! New management perhaps??? Somethings wrong and it's not the staff's fault!!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    A

    Amazing family resort!

    Reviewed by Ang on May 01, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    It was the first time we took our children 7 and 8 years old on an all-inclusive vacation and it couldn't have been a better time. The resort was amazing and we loved that we didn't have to make a reservation for dinner. The staff treated us very well throughout the resort. Our room was spotless. We loved the free wifi throughout the resort and we didn't find it slow at all anywhere on the resort. The food was excellent...but just be aware that you you cannot dine with shorts, t-shirt and flip flops except at the buffet. The drinks were free poured and it was the first time we actually had waiters serve us pool side consistently! The beach had ample loungers and we didn't find it crowded at all. We will be back again!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    C

    Beautiful resort. Great water park for kids.

    Reviewed by CBFreeb on Jul 21, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    We really enjoyed our stay at this resort. It is located in beautiful Playa Mujures which was approx 30 mins from the Cancun airport. There are two water park for the kids. One was for ages 3-6 and the other was for ages 7-12. The older kids' park was fantastic! There is also a playroom with pool, air hockey tables, etc. The resort had lots of live music which was fantastic. The night of the 'beach party' they had an amazing band and a colourful dance floor. The whole family had a blast. There were 8 restaurants and a few bars. The buffet was really good as they have chefs that will prepare your eggs, or grill meat for you right on the spot. Overall the food at the restaurants were really tasty. However, be sure to read the dress code prior to leaving. Men were required to wear long pants and closed toe shoes for the majority of the restaurants so be sure to pack those in your suitcase. They will request that you go back to the room to change. Also, plan to go to the restaurants when they open, otherwise the wait could be fairly long. The service at the restaurants were fairly slow potentially due to being under staffed. It was probably the biggest complaint of our trip. The rooms were really spacious - our room had 2 double beds and there is a pull out sofa. The fridge was well stocked with beer, pop and water. They also stocked the room with chocolate bars, cookies and chips. In addition, the hotel supplied bottles of vodka, rum, wine and tequila in the room...all included! The showers are really big but there are no drapes or curtains which would require coordination if you have older kids sharing the room with you. We will probably go back to this resort but may want to see if the service time improves over time. I hope it does because it was a beautiful resort, with friendly staff and great amenities.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    E

    WOW!!!!!!

    Reviewed by EK on Jun 15, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    Beyond amazing! The rooms are beautiful and a great size, the staff are so wonderful and made sure everything was satisfactory when ever we came accross them. The Japanese restaurant was incredible and the Market Place Buffet was the best I have had in Mexico. I can not say enough about our wonderful experience at The Finest Playa Mujeres and will be back ASAP!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 5376 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    6th time and it’s still the “Finest”

    Reviewed by luxtravelmama007(East Gwillimbury, Canada) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Detailed review broken into Categories Booking details Traveled March 9 - 17, 2019 for a March Break family holiday getaway (Husband, our 6 year old and myself). Having been to FPM, EPM and ERC over 11 times in total, it was a no brainer for us to once again return to the Finest Playa Mujeres (for the 6th time) for a luxury all-inclusive filled vacation. In September 2018 I found an incredible flight deal through Google Flights and then booked it immediately on Expedia. Because we booked a flight with them, Expedia offered additional deals on hotels and about 2 weeks later I found a very competitive rate for the Finest Playa Mujeres – we booked 1 room (Junior Suite with Private Pool and King bed). I contacted the hotel via email to confirm our reservation, they responded and recognised our booking. Airport Transfer Booking About a month before we travelled, I emailed Seasons Tours (airport service exclusively for the Excellence Group of resorts) to book private airport transfer. They also responded that day with confirmation. Now all we had to do was pack up our suntan lotion and beach gear! Pre-Arrival Correspondence We received an email directly from the resort a few days before our arrival welcoming us and confirming if there were any special requests we had. I made a few and they accommodated all of them. We also heard from the OneSpa with special packages if we wanted to book ahead of time. Flight Our early morning flight to Cancun went like clockwork – we beat the March Break lines and arrived in Cancun a half hour early. About 7 planes landed at the same time and customs was not prepared for all 1000+ of us. We had about a 2 hour wait to get through – this was not the norm that we had previously experienced. It didn’t dampen the mood or excitement that awaited us but it would have been better planning on their part to open more kiosk stands, they were not operating at capacity. Airport Transfer After clearing customs and picking up our bags (which were waiting for us) we flew through the airport to the warm air outside and found our Seasons Tours representative. He welcomed us and arranged for the driver to make his way over. Within a few minutes we had our nice cold waters and were headed towards paradise. If you’re here for the culture – the Seasons tours staff will educate you on most Cancun topics, very educational. We drove through the more historically established areas of Cancun and then came to our first set of gates in Playa Mujeres, followed by a second set of gates for the Excellence Group of resorts and a few other hotels/condo properties and lastly the gates to the Finest Playa Mujeres. All gates have security measures and the resort itself will not let you in if you’re not a registered guest. I have heard that there is a secret road in elsewhere but that doesn’t both us. We pulled up to the large doors and were greeted with a “Welcome Home” and a cold cloth by the bell person. When you enter the hotel there is a spa like aroma and calming music starting your trip off with ultimate relaxation – I’ve seen complaints about this but the fragrance is one of my favorite things. Check in They provided us with a glass of champagne and juice and started the check in process. Again, they start off with a “Welcome Home”! The front desk staff were wonderful. Warm, welcoming and shared in the excitement of getting our trip off to the right start. The process itself was easy, we filled some paper work out and went through the ins and outs of the resort. Our room was not quite ready but we were provided with a pager (we made it to our room by about 3pm). Concierge Just as we finished our check in, this is where we were introduced to the incredible Guest Service Manager – Florencia A. Where do I start with this Hospitality Queen – she was nothing short of amazing. Right from the moment she “welcomed us home” to the day we left she provided us with an “Excellence” experience that exceeded any of our already heightened expectations. She went out of her way to setup multiple special dinners, made sure we had something special waiting in our room a number of times, checked in on us, helped us with checkout requests….the list goes on. If we needed anything and it was possible, she was there making it happen. Florencia works incredibly hard to exceed the hospitality branding of the Excellence resorts for the guests – the Finest is unbelievably blessed to have her. She is a big reason we will return continually return and encourage other to as well. The rest of the concierge staff was amazing too – we didn’t have as much interaction with them but they all shared that same “want to help” attitude. Victor from concierge also had left a number of things in our room for us. Hotel grounds A luxurious landscaping vision for the eyes. The vegetation has continued to bloom each year we stay and has been manicured to perfection. Crews of gardeners are continuously pruning, planting and watering both on the hotel grounds and the beach. There is also endless maintenance to buildings, walkways, resort equipment (games, chairs, etc). You’ll always find someone painting, cleaning or fixing – and every single one of them makes the effort to say “hola”. They don’t have to – but they do. The Excellence culture is carried out by everyone that is employed there. Hotel room Just like home. There was a letter welcoming us back and a token of appreciation. It was lovely. The room still looked as new as our visit the first year it opened. It’s a very large room considering the size of most “non upgrade” resort rooms. The large bathroom gives you plenty of space to unpack your toiletries with a large shelf underneath the double sinks. Love the shower options (rain and a wand). There is a never ending list of amenities (Body wash, shampoo/cond, shower cap, shoe sponge, hand soap, sewing kit, shaving kid, vanity pack, comb, powerful hair dryer, etc). There is a closet with a large safe, bathrobes, extra blankets, a steam pod, an umbrella and TONNES of space to store your clothes. Free calls to Canada and US are also a key feature for us. The bed offers a great night sleep, we had a our sofa bed pre-pulled out for our daughter - even with this there is a lot of space in the room. There are top shelf liquors available in the cupboard above the fridge, we didn’t use any this time. The fridge is fully stocked with water, juice, wine (top shelf), beer and snacks. There is also the typical TV, desk workspace, UBS ports and a Coffee/Tea maker and cups. inclusive at it’s best! The is a courtesy box beside the front door for you to leave anything that you use (besides toiletries) and it will checked and cleared once a day. There was a massive soaker tub in the room with glass looking to outside. There is also plenty of information surrounding the resort available in the room in the books they provide. Now, this was our first time in a room with a private pool and let me say – it was spectacular. A very different feel to be able to walk out on the large wood deck to your own pool. The privacy level was great and our 6 year old loved opening up the doors and jumping in! We spend quite a bit of time here. I like to fully unpack during our stays and there was enough storage for our “stuff” and the luggage so that it didn’t feel cluttered. We were in Building 3 and had a great view of the spa and very quiet pool. This time a year the sun was on our deck all day long. The cleaning staff was diligent and always showed up. Turn down service was always a treat – who doesn’t like soothing spa music playing, chocolates and a fun filled agenda for the next day left on your pillow with the excitement of tomorrows forecast laid out for you! Room re-stocking happened every afternoon – we called concierge and asked for more of specific items and less of others. Overall, the room was spectacular and a very different feel with the pool – we will be booking this room again. Restaurants Breakfast is great everywhere – whether you’re looking for a light meal or a full “morning after” breakfast! Same goes for lunch – we love it all. A new touch they’ve added is lunch and beer tasting at the Juice bar by building 1-3. It was fantastic and a new theme each day. Really great touch for those that want to hand out in a quieter area. The sweet corner is always a popular pick throughout the day – the Excellence version of Starbucks! The “taco truck” is worth waiting for, a great tie over till dinner. They have also introduced a food truck in the kids club, our daughter loved this. A few of our favorites for dinner - Shoji changed their menu in the last year and it was incredible! The teppanyaki is also a big pic of ours – our daughter gets her best meal there. Tinto and Tapas has some great appetizers that I would never think of trying at home. And for the first time we tried Le Petit Plassuer The Kids Club Simply amazing. The staff there are very special individuals and really care about the kids and their families. Our daughter wanted to be dropped off there a couple times, once for dinner and once for face painting – she had a blast. They remembered our daughter and made sure she had fun with everything they did. The kids club is one of the main reasons for our returns. The waterpark is pretty amazing too! Beach Beautiful, crystal clear in most areas. Through no fault of the resort, the seaweed has moved in a little more but we found the beach was much clearer this time. Even though the once quiet Playa Mujeres beachfront is expanding with resorts we still feel safe. We see the measures the Excellence Group of resorts are going to keep up with security – anyone on the beach has been approved. Pools If you want some quiet, there’s a pool for you. If you’re looking to have some fun with your family and meet other people; there’s a pool for you. They are all clean, maintained and fund to hang out in. Chairs We did notice a problem with people reserving multiple palapas in the morning and not showing up till 5-6 hours later. We actually saw two ladies bully a women who had apparently “taken their chairs” because they said they left a hair clip on the chair. These women were ridiculous. You don’t own the resort. There was no hair clip (it probably blew away) and they didn’t come around for hours. The policy of the hotel is you CAN”T HOLD A CHAIR. If you leave something you stand the chance of having it removed and the chairs taken. It boils down to having respect for others – if it’s a busy spot think of others. The lifeguard by the pool was making sure people followed this policy. Check Out Check out was painless. We didn’t have to leave the resort till dinner time but were able to get a hospitality suite. Sad to say goodbye. Future Visit Needless to say we are hooked on their level of hospitality and service they provide and can’t say enough about this wonderful “place to call home”. There is just something about the Excellence Group of resorts that is hard to come by – it’s a feeling you get when you walk through the doors. ALL their staff seem to truly care about the clientele and this will keep us coming back again and again. I had previously posted a review from our visit last year with some areas of improvement and send this to the hotel as well. They responded to my concerns and made every effort to ensure these areas were Recommendation - YOU HAVE TO STAY HERE!!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Great family vacation!

    Reviewed by Amy S() on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We had a wonderful time at the Finest! The resort is beautiful, the food is great and the service is excellent. Everyone was friendly and attentive. They did a great job catering to both adults and kids. I do wish the kids entertainment in the theater started slightly earlier as it was a bit late for my kids being 3 and 5. We booked a Jr pool suite and enjoyed having the private outdoor area. It was a bit loud on the 1st floor but that is to be expected. We will definitely be back for a future family trip!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Muy bien!!!

    Reviewed by Road13363696436(Columbus, Ohio) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This was my third time at the Finest. We enjoy our time there and the location. It’s fun for the whole family:) The reservation process for the hibachi needs to be revamped. The hot tubs need to be hotter. The bathrooms and showers need doors. The lost and found never seems to retrieve lost items. The sports bar is always fun and Michel is a good bartender.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Just keeps getting better!

    Reviewed by Amanda G(Columbus, Ohio) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was our 4th visit and I think our best! The weather was amazing which certainly helps. We stayed in a Finest Club swim up room and were facing the main pool which was perfect. Our boys enjoyed some freedom bouncing between the swim up and main pool since we could watch from the room. Service was great as always! Abraham kept us hydrated and fed poolside for the stay. We really enjoyed Lizo for dinner, twice! Las Dunas was our go-to for lunch, loved the themes each day! I enjoyed Romain’s tennis clinics but I think the resort should really consider adding a second court! The Kids Club was a godsend for dinners! My boys went every night and we were able to relax at our meals! Thanks to all the Kids Club staff for keeping them safe and entertained. We can’t wait to return, hopefully sooner than later!!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Fantastic Service

    Reviewed by 6bills(Toronto, Canada) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was our second trip to the resort. Our expectations were exceeded. The resort staff is simply one of the best group of people I’ve come across, they made you feel so very welcome in their county, they take the time to really engage with the guests. Food is great, facilities are perfect for a low key vacation. We noticed they had really stepped up the entertainment from last year. If a calm relaxing vacation is your ideal, then seriously consider The Finest Playa Mujeres.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX