Golden Parnassus Resort and Spa

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Cancun
    5. Golden Parnassus Resort and Spa
    6. Golden Parnassus Resort and Spa review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    K

    Amazing staff would go back for sure

    Reviewed by Kenny on Aug 15, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: August 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    This was our first time in Mexico and We were pleasantly surprised with the service at this hotel. The staff was Amazing , so friendly ,always happy, humble, hard working and would always accommodate your requests. They would always go above and beyond their duties to fulfill your desires. We even received a free upgrade to an ocean view room upon arrival after my husband requested for one. The food was awesome . The best food was at the Pier Restaurant. The Shangri-La restaurant has formal-casual dress code in effect ,but I personally didn't like the taste of food at this restaurant. Oscar who works at the Paradise restaurant was the best. Others were great too. The bartenders were amazing. The resort had entertainment programs throughout the day. The Group who performed at the karaoke night was amazing. Although I wish they had similar programs each night .We always felt safe, secure and pampered to the extremes at the Golden Parnassus despite of all the horrible stories we here about Mexico in the news . I would say the beach was a little rough at this area. The tide was always high and the waves would really kick you out always. The guys who picked up at the airport (Best Day Travels)were really nice and helpful too. All in all since the moment we stepped in Cancun till we departed we had an Amazing dream like experience. The only thing the resort lacks is free wifi, You have to pay $21 CAN for a day for the internet which is only available in your room..If you want to connect to the internet though the La isla mall is just 3 km away from the resort and has MacDonald's and Starbucks that has free internet. And the Bus that goes in the hotel zone only take 12 pesos to get there. But all in all I would give it five stars .

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 7408 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Golden

    Reviewed by Marlo F() on Jul 16, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property
			3
			out of 5

    Not what we expected....$15 per day for wifi....ridiculous!!!! The rooms stayed hot and shower smelled like sewage. The staff however was nice. I just think for the price we paid there should've been more.

    Great All-Inclusive Resort

    Reviewed by jscar22(Chicago, Illinois) on Jul 16, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property
			4
			out of 5

    Had a great stay - it is a beautiful resort with multiple restaurants and bars to really enjoy the all-inclusive experience. The rooms are a little outdated but still clean and spacious. We received great service from all of the staff, there were fun activities each day, and the bartenders make awesome drinks!! I'd recommend this place to anyone looking to have enjoyable, affordable stay in Cancun.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Take the chance

    Reviewed by edw0782018() on Jul 15, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property
			5
			out of 5

    Let me start by saying I was a bit hesitant to book this vacation. Even after booking I was a bit scared to stay here. In the past I have stayed at Sandals, Secrets, and Couples. I knew this would be different but I was pleasantly surprised how awesome this resort is. It was booked for a quick girls getaway. It was PERFECT for that! The major differences 1. Not as fancy 2. Rooms are plain hotel rooms 3. Lounge chairs are very basic 4. Food is just ok, 5. No high end feel The things that are fantastic 1. STAFF!! They really were great 2. Location, was great 3. Pool was perfect, big and plenty of chairs 4. Lots of bars 5. Entertainment was fun and got you involved. I would highly recommend this resort for something different. The price is CLEARLY going to tell you this is NOT a Sandals type resort BUT it was GREAT! If you have the correct expectations you will LOVE IT! We had one big issue and it was handled quickly! We were put on the 2nd floor lagoon side. It was beautiful until the club under us started playing music. We could have had a dance party in our room. The first night we dealt with it the second we could not. After two calls to the front desk they changed our room, as that is what I asked for. They were nice and accommodating.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Great sevice

    Reviewed by Church2018(Rome, Ohio) on Jul 15, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property
			4
			out of 5

    Nice affordable place with a gorgeous beach and nice pool. The service is amazing from the restaurants to the bar service. The old barn is by far the best restaurant the food is good and the service is unbelievable. Only negatives are the rooms are a bit dated no free WiFi and they were out of Fruit Loops for our entire 10 day stay.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Aniversario # 22 arruinado / 22th Anniversary ruined

    Reviewed by J4445IPjohno(Lynn, Massachusetts) on Jul 14, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property
			1
			out of 5

    English at the end... Fuimos recibidos muy cordialmente por Sharon, quien como la mayoría del personal son sonrientes y amables (Luis, Daniel, Fernando, Romeo). El asunto comenzó cuando se nos fue asignado un cuarto con dos camas, habiendo reservado uno con una cama tamaño king. El cuarto asignado fue en el segundo piso sobre un lugar de billar, bar y karaoke llamado Sixties, así que gran parte de todas las noches el ruido no nos dejó descansar. El aire acondicionado no pudo ser ajustado, solo funciona el on/off. Nunca salió agua fría! El tanque del sanitario no paraba de correr agua todo el tiempo, tuve yo mismo que repararlo. Pero lo peor de todo fue que mi esposa quiso sorprenderme el día preciso de nuestro 22 aniversario y reservó con Jonathan, el conserje del hotel, una mesa en el restaurante de ellos llamado Shangrí-la y cuando llegamos los del restaurante no tenían nada listo porque, según ellos, no habían sido notificados al respecto... Sorpresa arruinada y mil excusas presentadas... Al momento del check out nos estaban cobrando una botella de vino que nunca consumimos (era parte de la sorpresa en el restaurante) y finalmente todo trató de repararse con un "mil disculpas por arruinar su día aniversario" TERRIBLE! We were greeted very warmly by Sharon, who like most of the staff are smiling and friendly (Luis, Daniel, Fernando, Romeo). The matter began when we were assigned a room with two beds, having reserved one with a king-size bed. The assigned room was on the second floor over a billiards, bar and karaoke place called Sixties, so much of every night the noise did not let us rest. The air conditioning could not be adjusted, only the on / off works. Cold water never came out! The toilet tank did not stop running water all the time, I had to repair it myself. But the worst of all was that my wife wanted to surprise me the precise day of our 22nd anniversary and booked with Jonathan, the hotel concierge, an special table in their restaurant called Shangri-la and when we arrived the restaurant did not have anything ready because, according to them, they had not been notified about it... Surprise ruined and a thousand excuses presented... At the time of check out they were charging us a bottle of wine (which was part of the ruined surprise) that we never consumed. Finally everything were tried to be repaired with a "thousand apologies for ruining your anniversary day" was simply TERRIBLE!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

    This is the name that will be attached to your review.

    Our submission policy:

    XXXX