Meliá Jardines del Rey

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    C

    What a rip off! I can't believe I wasted my money and my time. By day 4 I wished I was back at work!

    Reviewed by Cullen on Jan 26, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    I don't understand how they stay in business. The service was very slow. At one of the pool bars with 3 bartenders and 2 customers they couldn't bother to refill the empty cup in front of me. It took 30 minutes to get a hot dog once. In the morning with 2000 guests in residence they were down to one working coffee station that I could find. The servers in the lobby and at the grill often tried to avoid eye contact so they didn't have to take my order. I tried going up to the bar but they ignore you too. The food was worse than the service. The heaters to keep the buffet food warm didn't work so the food was cold. They didn't have a serving utensil for every dish so the food was cross contaminated. If the dish you want was next to the fish your food tasted like fish. The food stations to get hot fresh cooked food had a 20-30 minute wait. The al a carte's were better but the first one still took over 50 minutes to bring out our main course. We had no hot water for 4 out of 7 days. I picked a half dozen cigarette butts out of the pool one day. And a few more the next. But the grounds are well kept and there is a nice sandy beach. So if you can stay tipsy from the moment you wake up until you go to bed this place might be ok.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    M

    First time to Cuba! I wasn't disappointed!

    Reviewed by Mone26 on May 26, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Last minute trip and for the price I payed I was pleased! seems everyone is complaining about the beach but I didn't have a problem with it. If you take a right and walk a 1/4 mile the beach is really nice!!!! My room was very clean! My maid left me enough towels and water... all I had to do was leave a couple dollar tip and whatever I had wrote on the notepad was done! The entertainers at the pool area were fantastic! The grounds were kind of blah (keeping in mind that i've been to Sandals, Grand Princess 5* Resorts). Food wasn't terrible, I always found something to eat, @ lunch time I would go to the little buffet place at the beach and their pizza was delicious!!! always found something to eat (but I'm not fussy). Excursions... kinda pricey but enjoyed the "swimming with the dolphins" and really enjoyed the jeep excursion to Moron! The catamaran was pretty chill..(enjoyed our lunch on the little island). The staff at this resort go above and beyond!!! I would return if I got a good deal like the last time..

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    M

    Cuba many times, but never this resort again.

    Reviewed by Marilyn K on Apr 10, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Stayed for 2 weeks and found the resort and rooms to be well appointed, clean and the food good. The beach was horrible, water so rocky that we went in once and stayed at the pool for the rest of our stay. Go south for the beach! A real problem with towels, both bath and beach, if you turn in your bath towel you get 2 hand towels to replace and then try to get another bath towel. Beach towels, most guest had to wait 2 days before getting one and only if you were there between 1:30-2:00 when clean supplies can in. Restocking coffee and bar fridge was hit and miss, usually miss. Should be restocked daily with anything that was used the previous day, appeared if anything left in fridge nothing gets stocked with exception of water. Reported non working coffee maker to client services 2 days, spoke to tour rep. on day 3 and finally got replacement. Stayed in Cuba many times and never experienced these issues even at lower star rated resorts. Will not be going back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    M

    Amazing

    Reviewed by Megan on Feb 28, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2016

    Trip Type: Friends

    Fantastic experience. Extremely clean and well maintained. Had something to offer for everyone. Will return and recommend this resort in a heart beat. Best all inclusive I have been to.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    C

    Horrible Beach

    Reviewed by Cayo Coco on Jul 19, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: July 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    Wow what a horrible first day in Cayo Coco. We go to Cuba for the beach and this was the worst beach I have ever seen anywhere. There were rocks everywhere, huge rocks on the beach and in the water. This beach is UNSAFE both on the sand and in the water unless you are willing to slice your feet open on rocks or fall on them and break some bones. I have never been so dissapointed with a beach ever. There was no way my family and I were staying at this beach, especially with our Special Needs son. We had no choice but to pay over a thousand extra dollars to be transfered to another resort. I cannot believe Westjet would send families to this resort and Travel Agents can recommend this resort saying how great it is. Such a disapointment. We are now staying at the Melia Cayo Coco and what a difference. We are excited to enjoy the rest of the week. Think twice about going to Meliá Jardines del Rey, especially if you are looking for a nice beach.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    S

    Huge and will be massive resort..time will tell how it can handle 2000+ guests when beach is so narrow and talapas limited.

    Reviewed by Scuba Snorkeller on Apr 09, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2014

    Trip Type: Single

    Location: On Cayo Coco, known for its wonderful talcum-like sand, the beach directly in front of this resort has a sandstone/rocky section requiring rubber 'water-shoes' but 200 metres in either direction the rocks are not evident. I flew Westjet nonstop from YYZ super service thank you for a 2 week stay. The resort is huge..and half open with target for full occupancy in May..the half under final construction and landscaping is of no bother to current guests staying in the eastern half. It was like staying in a self contained village which had just been created. The staff were superb, with special mention to the maids, groundskeepers, and cleaning staff of the public buildings and particularly the public washrooms. Best I have experienced in 35 visits to Cuba. Rooms have either two double on one King Bed and either shower only or combo-tub/shower..lots of hot water. Food was best in Cuba so compliments to Melia..buffet steam tables had visible temp. controls with good preparation and variety. A la carte restaurants varied with my top choice being the Bistro...two others, Aquas and 'Italian' were simply the two halves of the beach restaurant. Wine: The included red and white wine one of each was plonk however, a good variety was available at extra charge by the bottle and reasonable cost..recommended. Getting around:...electric carts/drivers available for transport if the walking is an issue...luggage is delivered to rooms on arrival and a phone call has it picked up and delivered to the lobby on check out. Bars...good friendly service..sometime hectic....the malt scotch and Tanquerey gin disappeared early in my stay and were not replaced..Havana Club recommended for rum drinkers...3 years old for cocktails and 7 years for sipping...good variety of cocktails. Pool: Huge . DANGER: Ent. staff set speakers to full AMP!! Hearing damage likely..beware!! Keep well back...this must be addressed.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4701 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Best Time Ever!

    Reviewed by Marzz1234() on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I came here with my best friend and right away we made good friends with all the staff. There was dancing and good vibes all the time and a smile on everyones face. The service was always so welcoming and felt as if we were at home. If you want know about all the fun events go find Yuli and Thalia and they will show you agood time at the disco, at the beach or in the lobby. Best trip! The beach was georgous, white sand and blue skies. I strongly recomend this hotel.

    Amazing resort and beaches

    Reviewed by Mamadonz(Hamilton, Canada) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Came to Melia Jardines Del Rey for the first time with my best friend this April. The resort was absolutely gorgeous, the food was great the amazing staff welcome you and let you know all the fun things to do around the resort. We met Thalia and Yuli our first couple days in and they showed us around the whole resort and brought us out to dance!! They made sure we had the best time and they’re absolutely amazing girls! All the staff are friendly and welcoming you will definitely find things to do and places to see! Highly recommend this resort!!!

    Paradise

    Reviewed by Kelly M(Halifax, Canada) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Amazing staff! John, Miguel Angel, Ronald, Arlanis, and all the staff at the pool bar are now my favorite people. Saliy at the Flamingo, I'm sorry I didn't get to say goodbye, I miss you guys already. For those complaining about rude staff, maybe you had better check yourself first. I was super friendly with everyone and they were super friendly back. it goes both ways. I found way more rude tourists than staff. the Beach was amazing and Joel at the beach bar was phenomenal. There are programs going in all the time, took some dance lessons on the beach, entertainment by the pool was super fun, the shows at night were delightful! Those dancers are ridiculously talented. I thought the food was pretty good. if you are looking for a five-star, Michelin restaurant then of course you're going to be disappointed. I found it tasted more like homemade food. If you are looking for a luxury experience then you might want to look at a more expensive resorts. However, speaking of luxury, the spa was wonderful. We went to our Transat agent and she was able to get us in for a couples massage pretty quickly, there was a bottle of champagne waiting for us when we got there, and they had pedals on the floor in the shape of a heart, and the massage was really good. After that we had full run of the place, with no one else there. We went into the jacuzzi, then first swim in the pool, then into the sauna. All with our glasses of champagne. the staff were so sweet, we didn't pay attention to what time they closed, and even though we were there a little later, they stayed and never said a word. Once we realized what we had done we apologized profusely. They were very sweet about it but we said we understood they wanted to get home to their families. the only complaint I have, and it is minor, is that the mix they used for the juice at the pool bar was really, really water down. The juice mixture use at the lobby bar was much more concentrated. I am not sure if they are told to water down the Juice mix on purpose to save money ie make it last longer but it really took away from the quality of the drinks. The grounds are impeccable , the room was always clean , the bar fridge always stocked , and from my experience, almost all the staff were more than accommodating. I cannot emphasize enough how happy we were with our experience. The only other concern was two nights before we left a bartender at the Mojito bar outside the lobby bar ask my boyfriend to leave his Bubba mug with her when we left. I thought that was a little unprofessional. That was the only problem we had with staff the entire time. our room was always cleaned, except for one day, when we guess Yudesiy must have been off. No, our sheets didn't get changed every day, but I don't change my bed every day at home so that would be a waste. if you are looking for a sandals quality Resort, might I suggest actually going to sandals. For us, this experience was truly phenomenal. We can't wait to go back.

    BEACH, BEACH, BEACH

    Reviewed by deblovesabeach(Hamilton, Canada) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I am writing this review with the hope people will understand before they go, that the Cayos have their own unique issues, along with the regular ones mainland Cuba confronts with embargoes and such. We have been to Cuba 8 times, twice to Cayo Guillermo and twice to Cayo Coco. In the last year we have also been to Mexico and Jamaica to give you some context. If you are not going for those awesome CUBAN beaches as your number one priority, and not willing to go with the flow, you might have to rethink your destination. We (10 of us ages 6 to 57) stayed at the Melia Jardines the first week of April, and it is beautiful, clean with great service for most of our stay with a few exceptions, and our rooms comfortable and clean, I should also add very quiet. Building 12 great location and central to all. Three of our group moved to our building the next day after late night check in, we were all booked Elegance Club with 4 booked ala cartes, and Towels in our room. But we all brought our own towels and used them all week. My husband and I stayed in 2015 when it first opened. I was surprised by the buffet Monday night, and how small the offerings, but we all found something to eat. But no worries, it got substantially better the rest of the week. We did the Ranchon one night and it was excellent. We only made this one ala carte, as we ate at Lenny's one night and the other two we were on the beach until late and had 6 pm reservations. We ate at the 24 hour snack bar most days for lunch and got the fried chicken and fries,which was very good and the service here was always excellent. They also had a good ham and cheese and sometimes a good Cuban.This bar always had beer. Most days we ate outside at the buffet for breakfast and dinner and the staff were great. The two times we did eat inside, for dinner when the mosquitoes were out, the service was terrible, but the staff were bustling, so I feel it was more short staff problems than anything else. We did find shrimp, rice, some beef, lots of ham n cheese, and fish, pork, chicken, great pizza, breads, croissants, and fruits, veggies, desserts etc.. For breakfast the only thing scarce was bacon, but did find it twice. Great omelet and crepe stations.And we all loved the ice cream and doughnuts. Our daughter brought Heinz for the kids, she also brought Nutella, but never opened it and we all brought snacks. Pools: Many pools and clean and beautiful. Sports pools, to wading pools, to swimming pools, on both sections of the resort with each side having their own pool bar. We rarely use pools on our vacations, but the grand-kids would like a late day swim after the beach and we all enjoyed them. Always found a sun bed and chairs, anytime of day. All the bar service was pretty good and table service at night in the lobby excellent. Great service at The Beach Bar, always had beer. There was chair service on the beach, but it was quicker for us to go to the bar. The service at the pool bar was great the few times we used it but they would run out of beer late in the day, but the 24hr snack bar was not far away. And one pool guy filled our cooler bag with ice one day for a long beach walk for fishing. The front lobby bar would run out of beer on occasion at night, but go around to the back and theater bar always had some. There was also a Mohita bar off the the lobby bars with great service. Never a shortage of rum. Lenny's Lobster Shack- Playa Prohibida We got two classic Taxi's late one afternoon and got to Lenny's around 3:30 and were seated right away and served drinks and enjoyed the stunning view while we waited for our food. Lobster, shrimp, snapper, slaw and veggies for $15 and buck a beer or rum. Delicious. Our cab drivers waited for us and one asked if it was OK if he left to pick someone else up, and we were like yes go, we brought our fishing gear and thought we would be holding him up...lol So some of us went fishing and walking,swimming and some sat and relaxed and all were happy until the sun was going down. The round trip was 30 pesos for each cab and we tipped well for their time. Another great meal was at La Redonda. We booked a full day private tour with Cuba Tours through our Air Transat Rep Yamin Borden and had the best day! Our guide Fidel took us where we wanted to go and our first stop was Moron and we went for a walk and got in two old Chevy's and got a tour of the city, which is bigger than I thought. Than on to Maria farm, and it was our grandsons favourite place all week. They got to feed the animals, and hold some guinea pigs, and a bar for the grown ups. We than stopped in the city square with some free time to walk around and see the shops before heading to the 'Croc' farm and it was only 2 pesos entry and saw the alligators get fed, got to hold snakes, iguanas, baby alligator and pet a flamenco and see a falcon, parrots etc. Another bar for the grown ups. Next to La Redonda on a lake and had the most fabulous lunch, service and the youngest grandson played with the band. After some time to sit by the lake or roam, we all got on our private bus and made our way back down the causeway where we had one more stop to some piers, a huge chair and a bar. We got to make our own pineapple drinks and add our own rum and enjoy over the ocean. Many thanks to Fidel for a great day. Cost $55 per person, $2 to croc farm, shopping and tips. Many, many thanks to Yamin who coordinated the day for us and many others from dolphins to horseback riding for some, to Lenny's for all of us. So the issues: Water On our way to Moron I was glad Fidel showed everyone the pipe line that brings in the water to the Cayos, all the way from the main land down the 45km causeway. The Cayos have no fresh water and have always had water pressure issues (that I know of since our first time 08 to Cayo Guillermo) due to the distance the water comes and gotten worse with the demand of now 19 resorts and thousands of guests. Everyone on that bus was told before we went there were issues, but until they saw that pipe line I don't think they got it. We did have two days mid week of a trickle, in which case I take a bottle of water in with me and make it fast. (Had the same in 2017 Cayo Guillermo) The next day it was pounding and hot again. One of our group who booked standard and in building 3 had some problems 3 days. There is a whole big ocean and many many beautiful pools to jump in. Go back to your room and put a bit of conditioner in your hair and pour a glass of bottled water through it and your fine. Two of our group had never been to Cuba before and I told them we are going for that beach and think of it like going to the cottage or glam camping the odd day. Toilets: We had no problems the entire week. By day two several of our group were. I asked where they were putting their TP. In the toilet. I told them to put it in the bucket, every washroom on and off the resort has a bucket. Well there is no sign, I was told. Does not matter, it runs on a septic system, put your TP in the bucket. After that no one had issues. And the two buttons on the top, just press the big one. Towels: We had towels in our room, but took our own and used them all week. We read about the beach towel problem,..... and back to the water, and when I think about the laundry... Mosquitoes: Bring bug spray, but they only came out at dusk around 7:30 during our stay and last about a half hour, and they do spray, but they are going into winter and the rainy season. No sand flies during our stay. And as for other bugs, need I mention you are in the tropics and they have them? Bottled water: We had plenty but just go to front desk and they are more than happy to give you some more. THE BEACH: The main event and Just WOW. One of the best walking beaches I have ever been on, besides Cayo Santa Maria and some here at home on the great lakes.This beach is a vast empty, wild stretch of sand and ocean and the further you walk south and turn the point to the dunes even more so. Around this side sometimes you are the only one there.I found a steep dune path up to a platform and boardwalk pathways that lead you back to the beach near the lagoon, but it was too hot to continue in land, so turned back the way I came. Some areas you will need water shoes and watch for sea urchins washed up at low tide, but for the most you can go barefoot. I was absolutely shocked to see the big rock on the point missing and sad that some of the majesty of the dunes was gone. I asked if it was Hurricane Irma and a worker told me yes and they lost two months of work afterward. I had assumed the huge amounts of sand near the point was blown down from the dunes due to Irma but amazed a huge rock could just literally be blown away too. The lagoon water shoot was still there, but wider, still with a good strong current at high tide, but not the force like before to shoot you into the ocean. It is so utterly beautiful we spent whole days, fishing the lagoon, swimming, walking, exploring and building a sand castle with the grand kids that the tide could wash away. There is some shade up on the beach under the trees if you take your towels and hang them. The guys were thrilled to be catching some fish too. Oh and the main part of the beach on resort is great too with fabulous swimming, lots of shade and chairs. I love Melias for the fact they have a chair guy and never, ever a shortage of chairs. But thanks to Yamin and Fidel for memories that will be with us forever, Rosemary at the ice cream bar for putting up with our grandsons, and the wonderful waitresses and bar staff in the lobby for doing the same when they wanted water or a Mickey Mouse. Go with some knowledge, be prepared and chill, patient and be kind. This resort is the biggest bang for your buck you will get. If you want fancy, gourmet dining, a butler and turn down service and no water issues, spend the money to go elsewhere. At least now you are aware. And you will have a great time. We did!

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Good rest at beautiful beach

    Reviewed by Vladimir V() on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    For those who doesn't like to read a lot we were very satisfied with the rest and would recommend this place for visiting. There were some concerns in the beginning, but later we have seen more advantages. Review done on the way back home. Visiting time April 2-13 Pros: - good rooms and housekeeping - hotel is big, but still everything is close (electric cars available) - grill prepared for you - beautiful and long beach - good animation - evening shows are also very good - friendly staff - good drinks - kids room. (Special thanks to Isma and Lilly from Emiliya) - ice cream all day - clean beach - free kayaks, catamarans and sales boats - fitness room Cons: - Moscuitos. We had sprays and actually were not bitten much - lines in buffet restaurant for grill dishes - no deep pools (max. 1.3meter) - couldn't get money from card in a bank. Tried several times and every time that said no connection today, try tomorrow. We have read a lot of reviews about this hotel prior to visit. Prepared Beach towels, moscuito spray. First 3 days there were no towels at all. On 4th day we have got it. The same with the water, first 3 days very weak, 3rd day no water at all for about 4 hours. But then no problems. Accommodation: Room was good. Building 12 located good from all main sites: lobby, Beach, pool, ice cream place, kid's club (2-4 minutes walk without kids). Housekeeping everyday, bed decorations also every day. Tips everyday. Food: I don't know is it a pros o con but there are 5 points of cooking at main restourant: fish grill, meat grill, pasta ets (you can choose the ingredients to prepare). If you want to get something from there you need to stay in line. I stayed couple of times when there was no people for pasta, for calmars, for fish and meat, but most of time I preferred to take some thing from the food line. There are some not usual dishes (strange types of meat sometimes), but always can find something tastefull. Drinks are served by waiters: red and white wine, shampane, soda, water. On breakfast pancakes and smoothes (also by line). Need to come earlier to get it without waiting. One additional buffet restaurant that serves breakfasts and lunches on the beach. About 4 times in 12 days there were shrimps, calamars, 1 day ostopuses, 3 times Turkey. But sometimes it's finished and not replaced with other portion, so may be we just haven't seen it and it were more often. Every day 4 types of fruites: pineapples, watermelons and 2 other which are also tastefull but I don't know it's names. 5 alacart restaurants (tried one). Beach: Is beautiful and very long. Till 8:30 am you can choose the place, later will need to move farther and farther. Sand is white and not hot. Beach line provide about 6 km running track (right to the end, then left to the end and back to the beach entrance. I was surprised that food is available at the beach restaurant but people don't bring it to the beach (I saw it only couple times). There are only few waste cans on the beach but still no waste. Sports and entertainments: Free kayaks (was available every time when I asked) Catamarans (1 time was available without pre-entry, other per booking) Sail boats need booking. Fitness room from 7 am. Visited 3 times. 1 time air condition was not working. Beach volleyball, yoga, straching etc. Good evening shows every day. Kids disco every day.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX