Tryp Cayo Coco

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    D

    We love tryp and will be returning

    Reviewed by Doug Roberts on Apr 18, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Great staff and a great vacation would go back in a heartbeat Awesome Vacation staff work hard to make you welcome food was exceptional for cuba resort is older but it's clean and any problems staff are quick to help. We go for beach and the beach is grand lots of room Thank you West jet and Tryp for a great two weeks

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    p

    we love our stay the guest service was great id like to mention our maid in room 539 and marvin who filled our fridge love them both

    Reviewed by pat on Mar 02, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    we had an awesome time the staff was friendly and and very helpful the rooms need some tlc if your looking for 5 star rooms this is not the place for you but the rest of it was great the grounds were clean the food was good and the staff was great i would go back again

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    J

    We loved our stay BUT the resort is in a very sad condition.

    Reviewed by Judelie on Mar 01, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2016

    Trip Type: Friends

    Tryp Cayo Coco is an excellent location BUT in very poor repair. Most days our units were without hot water. Some of our group had to move because of washroom problems & flooding. Bath towels were replaced daily but unfortunately some were stained & not in top condition. The bathtubs were stained badly. Bar service was very slow sometimes & acceptable sometimes. The two a la carte we attended were excellent. The buffet was the best I have had in Cuba but could have a little better variety from day to day. Serving staff were super, I cannot complement them enough. Our rep did not have much time at the hotel. When I went to verify wheelchair service it was the rep from another airline that answered my questions. I travel with a great group of people and we determined to make the best of conditions and have a very fun filled vacation and stay positive but having said that I am sad to say I cannot recommend this resort to anyone at this time nor would I want to return until major upgrade was done. I do believe the rating needs to be revisited & downgraded accordingly.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    N

    Our stay at TRYP? 8 out of 10

    Reviewed by Noel Pogi3 on Apr 01, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    Unbiassed Review Do not ruin your vacation with those negative reviews. Change all of those into possitive attitude. Yes some buildings are old and need repairs. Ours toilet are leaking but we asked our WestJet reps to change our room to a nice one and they did. Some food are repeat. Remember, food makes you fat and sleepy, you don't want to sleep more on your vacation. Eat vegie and fish, they're fresh. Staff are friendly, they don't ask for a tip, it's your choice. But canadians are good tipper. Beach are A1. I'm not a beach lover but I was persuaded to swim. Lots of activities at TRYP, you wont get bored. They have quiet pool as well where you can enjoy relaxing with out the noise of the activities from the larger pool. Cuba loved canada. their #1 business is tourism. 95% are canadians just like home. Bring universal adapter. No WIFI but you can buy 1/2 hour internet for 2.5 pesos just to update FB. Don't waste your time and money FB'ing.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    Highly recommend the beach and the people but resort is in major disrepair

    Reviewed by Lana on Feb 19, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    I wanted to write to you to provide some feedback on this facility which is billed as a 4 star resort through your website. I am not privy to how the star rating system works, however, this resort didn’t seem to fit the bill. We purchased the VIP package to take advantage of the extra benefits as we feel our vacations are very important and we want to ensure satisfaction. I’m not sure where to start with the description of what we experienced so I will put it in point form. -The room had mold in the bathroom -There was also mold and mildew on the lamp shade -The electrical outlets were coming out of the wall – some had no face plates and my husband had to hold the cord just so for me to use the blow dryer – also a disturbing and potential dangerous hazard -The fridge had rust on the door -Hot water was sporadic in the shower and all over the resort as we learned -The shower didn’t work when we first checked in however after bringing this to their attention, they fixed that issue -The door to the room didn’t seal properly which resulted in insects throughout the night -Rusty balcony railings and light fixtures coming out of the wall on the balcony -Finish was coming off the inside of the bath tub -Pieces of wood was missing from doorframes and door jams would not seal well -The room was noisy and often we were kept awake by the noise of the entertainment and music. The VIP package was supposed to include a quieter room -We found inconsistencies in the amenities that were in our 3 rooms. For example: Our brother and his wife had a room non VIP privileges that seemed to have a bit of a ‘refresh’ with some paint on the furniture. They also had a bath mat and mats beside their beds. We had none of that and called down for the bath mat -Our furniture showed wear with paint peeling off -All linens – including bath towels had rust stains and beach towels were worn with dark stains -Fire extinguishers were not provided for all floors

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6160 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Horrible Rooms

    Reviewed by Shelbi M(Toronto, Canada) on Oct 07, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Second time going to Cayo Coco, and will definitely be the last time going to this resort. The rooms were absolutely awful. My room was always hot. The AC never worked properly. After complaining to the front desk, nothing was done. Our shower always had freezing water, took about 5 or so minutes to get warm water - if that. My friends room always smelt like sewage water and fish. The doors are not solid, so you could hear people walking past while yelling/talking very loudly. Overall the rooms were terrible, the resort wasn't very clean and the food was okay.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-1

    Service

    Service-2

    Love the staff !!!

    Reviewed by skEdmonton(Edmonton, Alberta) on Aug 17, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This was not our first stay at the Tryp. We stay there because we treat the staff really good and they are excellent to us. They are the nicest and most sincere people that we have ever encountered at any resort. They endured huge devastation in Sept, from the hurricane and they worked extremely hard to put the property back to the best that they could. The beaches are phenominal. You can walk to the market.. The rooms are clean. We are planning on returning again in the new year..

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Alright trip not the best though.

    Reviewed by Taylor S() on Aug 14, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    My trip to TYRP was good. I went a year ago with some friends. I’m not a huge fan of Cuba to begin with and it was actually the best of the 3 resorts in Cuba I’ve been too. We did have a good time while there. Drinks are always available. Always seems to be something going on. Beach was nice. Resort is getting older and we had a few problems with our room. Hot water didn’t work one day. Front door lock didn’t work for a day. When we went the resort was maybe 1/4 full which had pros and cons. The pros were I had a great room that I walked right out to the pool, cons were there weren’t a ton of people to meet. I did meet a few great people who I still talk too occasionally. So that was nice. Food isn’t great but not terrible. Lots of selection but selection is same everyday. I never got to go to the restaurant which I heard is good. For the price I think it is a great spot, but if you can afford to spend another $1000 per person on a trip there are nicer places. Still I think I’d go back if I had friends who wanted to go back. Place is good if you had kids. Seems to have lots of things for kids and adults to do there.

    Do Not Go

    Reviewed by Cenk B() on Jul 13, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    This was my 8th time in Cuba and this was by FAR the worst hotel I ever been.Im gonna cut it short cause my original review of this hotel been rejected by Trip Advisor.(they said I was so harsh which I do not believe so) Pool side was the only nice thing about this hotel But by the pool there were 0 to 1 activity a day.Dj was playing always the same music and getting drunk in his cabin Food was so BAD for even Cuba standarts.Really The head chef sholuldnt be a chef.Worst thing is I see the ingredients they have but I just don't see people who can actually cook.Everything was rushed.en burgers were raw mostly time. They also do that thing they call outdoor disco which is right next to the rooms which you hear extremely loud music till 2 am and you cant do anything about it.(not to mention there are maybe 5 or 6 people having fun while whole rest of the hotel clients are suffering from the noise and if you try to explain that to someone who works there..well good luck. Overall You can get way better hotels for the price you will pay for this hotel..NOT RECOMMENDED

    Loved it!

    Reviewed by lc882017(Bournemouth, United Kingdom) on Jun 27, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We went to Cuba and loved every minute of it! The hotel was great value, and we had everything we needed within the complex. Pools were great and the beach was amazing!! The buffet breakfast/dinners were ok, the other restaurants were very good! Our favourite was the beach grill bar by far.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX