Valentin Perla Blanca

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    S

    You couldn't pay me to go back

    Reviewed by Shirley on Jan 29, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    The hotel and pools are both nice but that's all they have going for them. They lacked staff and no management to keep things under control. We would never go again and was glad when the week was over. Toilet didn't work for two days and couldn't get it fixed, no toilet paper in any toilets in lobby's and doors didn't lock, food was always cold in buffet with long lines to get anything at all to eat, kept running out of food e.g. Bread, juice, fries, etc for long periods of time, double booking rooms (people coming in when you are in the room), fridge wasn't restocked, towels not changed and many more complaints.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    T

    Relaxing-could've been better

    Reviewed by Travelgurl on Jan 21, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    I stayed at the Valentin Perla Blanca for a week. It was a good hotel with a solid staff and fantastic beach. The hotel is relatively new October 2014 but a few tweaks can be made to make it better. For example, my friends and I signed up for the Privilege package which included a 30-minute massage, lobster dinner on top of the three a la carte reservations already included in the vacation package, and access to Privilege areas ie. special seating in the buffet area and a la carte restaurant, beach. Personally if I were to return to the hotel, I would pass on the Privilege part and save myself a few bucks as I saw no value for it. There were either none or very few areas on the beach or pool for the Privilege people. And we didn't get any special services by sitting in the designated Privilege areas for our meals. The food was ok-if you go the a la carte route, sometimes they didn't have items listed on the menus. So ask what do you have to save yourself the trouble. Lastly, If you go, I'd also recommend getting a suite far away from the theatre and 'party' pool-when there's something going on, it can get very loud.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    C

    Beautiful resort, fantastic service, will definitely be going back!

    Reviewed by Chris on May 11, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Me and my fiancee stayed at Valentin Perla Blanca from April 29th until May 7th of this year 2016 . Upon arrival at the resort we were thoroughly impressed with what we saw. They had a live dance performance happening in the lobby area, the view of the ocean from over the bar was breathtaking and the entryway and hall themselves were very open and spacious. The staff were excellent and very polite and accommodating and went out of their way to make the stay as pleasurable as possible. There was the odd language barrier but it's to be expected and it never really got in the way of us enjoying ourselves. The room was very comfortable and the air conditioning was as good as the A/C in our condo back here in Mississauga. The mini-bar is stocked daily at no extra cost with a few beers, pop and a big bottle of water, we had fresh towels and intricate designs laid out with the sheets each day and we had a surprisingly large selection of TV channels as well though we didn't use them much. If you want to party, use the main pool by the theater and if you want to just relax and be quiet use the pool around the back of the property by the staff area. You can also get a wi-fi card for 2 convertible pesos per hour at the internet cafe by the main desk as well as use the phones at a cost. Also be sure to hit up the buffet behind the front desk and the main bar after check-in if you're hungry or the snack bar by the main pool. All items are included at both locations. The a la carte desk is located down the stairs directly in-front of the main desk and to the right. Staff member at a desk with a computer. We are already planning our trip to go back next year and hopefully this review will be somewhat helpful as I hope to answer some of the questions we struggled with on arrival. Our WestJet rep Joel was very helpful but wasn't there until the next day at 9:30 am which we were informed about on the bus to the resort.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    J

    Belle experience.

    Reviewed by Jacques.G on Oct 29, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    Nous avons sejourne la derniere semaine d'octobre.Avons apprecie notre sejour.Plage et piscines superbes ,chambres et exterieurs propres .LE personnel attentif et accomodant.La nourriture de qualite.CEpendant si vous desirez manger quebecois il faut rester au quebec.Rapport qualite /prix gagnant.Nous recommandons

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    Worth a repeat visit!

    Reviewed by Shaun Jessome on Sep 20, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    This won't be a long review, but, hopefully it says a lot. We are booking our second trip to Valentin Perla Blanca - we were there last January - because we want to experience the beauty, the beaches and, especially, the people, again. There were minor issues last time - the resort had only recently opened - but nothing that affected our enjoyment of where we were. Management was at the resort the 2nd week we were there and you could see that the new staff was working hard to improve. We are not world travellers, but we have been to other resorts. Some definitely were more professional in serving our pampered North American sensibilities - but none were more genuine about wanting us to enjoy ourselves. If you're not having a good time, I suggest the following: - go to the beach. WOW, that's beautiful! - hug the person you're with! We all don't do that enough and in Cuba, romance is in the air. - have a drink - they're great! - have something to eat. There's lots of it and it's not that bad. - talk to the person serving you. You will find them to be caring, proud, interesting, often very articulate and true about wanting you to enjoy yourself. Cayo Santa Maria was in a rural district before it was a resort centre. Good, hard-working, caring people. They welcome your interest in their country and themselves. We were even fortunate enough to "buy" our bartender a drink to celebrate the birth of his baby. If you can have all that, Plus, 30 degree temperatures in January; who's going to complain because the sheets haven't been changed in 2 days! Just saying......

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    C

    We loved the resort and will go back.

    Reviewed by Cubacouple on Mar 07, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    The resort had only been open a few months and was experiencing some growing pains, but overall everything was great. The staff was amazing. The beach was to die for and it was a great resort just to get away and RELAX....I would go back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    A 3 dressed up as a 5

    Reviewed by Saskie on Jan 17, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    The hotel itself is lovely. Spacious and luxurious rooms on a stunningly beautiful beach. But aside from the beach and rooms, there is nothing here that you can't get at any other 3-star resort in Cuba. The service was poor, the food was worse. The staff were friendly and tried very hard, but it was just too disorganized, too many shortages, too many changes. I felt sorry for them. Given the price we paid it was OK value for money, but there was nothing to set the Valentin Perla Blanca apart from any other established 3-star resort. Maybe it will improve with time, but for now this is a 3 dressed up as a 5.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4309 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-3.5

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Amazing!!

    Reviewed by Lori M() on Feb 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My husband and I just got back from Valentin resort. We were so happy with everything this resort has to offer. Like most places I’m Cuba, your not going for the food but for the beaches. The beaches there were absolutely stunning! Crystal clear water and ice cold drinks. What more could you want on vacation. I have to give special acknowledgement to Fabien at the party pool bar/restaurant aka the Italian restaurant. He went above and beyond for us all week. He never let us have an empty drink and anytime we had a request for food he did his wet best to make sure we were well taken care of. All the staff there were so friendly and accommodating every where we turned. I give this resort a ?? ???????? review. Would recommend this resort to everyone I know and also go back another time.

    Very dirty and badly run resort...go elsewhere!

    Reviewed by MrCanuck2014(Winnipeg, Canada) on Feb 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Don't believe the good reviews, or the heavily edited Facebook fan page This resort is very run down and poorly run, unfortunately friends who stayed here years ago say things were not as they are now. First off on our arrival the privilege lounge to check in, the woman just handed us a package with nothing but room keys and told us to just go to the lobby and catch the shuttle..no map, no site info and told us to come back later for our meal reservations, which only 3 for a 7 day trip is a joke. Our room was not really clean when we checked in, big chunk of balled up hair right in the shower in plain site, dead bugs on the bathroom counter, stains on the bedding, a wall light 1/4 turn crooked and half hanging off the wall and a broken ceilingiu fan. After dropping our luggage our only option for food was the 24hr snack bar which is very limited and the best thing is the fries and chicken fingers(when those aren’t all gone). The swim up pool that is in the 3000 section is pretty dirty all around it, and beyond loud all day..the relax pool across the resort is much nicer, but again...mud and dirt everywhere and the swim up bar literally falling apart...you could play checkers with the loose tiles. By 10:30 am my wife was picking sugar packs and a note pad and there was all sorts of garbage on the bottom of the pool, it was clear it was never cleaned from the day(s) before. The resort itself is very dirty in a lot of spots, cigarette butts all over and garbage..which isn’t always the resorts fault, but seems like nobody cleans either. Even the beach is very dirty, took a morning walk to breakfast (8:00 am) and cups and garbage all over from the day before, not to mention old broken lounge chairs 1/2 buried and in the sand and some sort of netting and sharp rebar in other spots. All of the loungers on the resort and beach are filthy and if your lucky enough to get a lounger cushion..they're just as bad and gross. If you have a sensitive stomach or don’t like peppers or strange food blends..good luck eating! Breakfast buffet is always a disaster of cold food, no bread by 9:00 am and some stuff rushed out that isn’t cooked properly. For lunch..same thing..you have to really watch the fresh cooked meat bar..lots of undercooked chicken and fish and the beef is like tire rubber. The a la carte restaurants are not much better, luke warm not hot food and the Spanish left me with a sold day stuck in my room with “issues” from something I ate in there. We had our lobster supper on our last evening...beyond disgusting! Under cooked but still tough as leather, lots of people were sending theirs back or just not eating it, along with the 1/2 peeled cold shrimp appetizer(GET THE CHICKEN or STEAK INSTEAD!!!) As for staff, we did meet some very helpful and friendly people like Jose at the swim up and beach bar, very nice guy and the bartender at the privileged lounge, and a few ladies at the buffet...but our maid constantly left us with only 1 towel total, no face cloths all week, no bath mat most of the week, so always sacrificed the hand towel or a beach towel, which is also very hard to exchange because they seem to hardly open the towel booth by the pool we were near. We got out free massages and just as I was about to tip they asked my wife to go directly to the snack bar and bring back 2 sandwiches for them because they can’t leave the room...this is at 10:30 in the morning....oh...and weirdest message I’ve ever had...not trained End of the day there are so many glaring flaws with this resort, unless all you care about is getting drunk on a beach or by a pool, stay away!! Book the Ocean or another resort that is in better care.

    So bad... see pics attached

    Reviewed by bliane0(Brandon, Canada) on Feb 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    You’ve all heard of the food, no need to recap... I wasn’t prepared for the filth... Our room was fine, but our shower could be turned on and you could get wet 8 feet away on the toilet and around a corner. But my toothbrush went missing mid trip. Towels: we would come back mid cleaning and our door would be open with no one around and there would be 2 new towels.. come back later and we are down to 1 towel... beach towel was changed once during the week, and 1 was stolen from our balcony. Beach is ok. Honestly nice resorts in Mexico have better beaches and they aren’t littered with cigarette butt from inconsiderate smokers. Poorly lit, friend rolled his ankle getting out of the way of the speeding carts. Privilege lounge was the best to escape all the ‘entertainment’ in the lobby. Seriously.. 2 fashion shows in a week with clothes you can’t buy... and the only place with a pool table. We did have a great bartender Jose, who would tell us which bar he would be at so we could hang out there. Wouldn’t go back. Couldn’t find a manager to complain to. Husband got food poisoning and I wasn’t allowed to take him food from the snack bar. Was told to call room service. Even though they have no room service.

    Scarred for life, stay away this was the worst vacation

    Reviewed by Dominique G() on Feb 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    I have to say that nick studio is right on the $$ on his review, we arrived and were getting sick running a fever and we supposedly got the perks from air transat which you get direct shuttle to the hotel but the not so direct shuttle arrived before us. The group of 20 people or so we were taken to a boardroom where they gave us a key to our rooms, got ours dead last since we were visibly ill (worst thing ever) and all we wanted is to go to our room get some meds and go to diner. They advertise 12 restaurants at this resort including 2 buffets only 1 buffet open (the gong show) and the pool and beach restaurant, no bread, no butter, out of everything and people say the food is bland, it’s just downright DISCUSTING. I am not a picky eater and can make do with what in the buffet and the only thing that was decent was the rice pudding. Breakfast was a joke, omelette bar you could wait over an hour, always out of eggs or butter, bread, juice was watered down. People would cut right in front of you to take eggs and the whole tray of bacon then you say something then they reply “that they don’t speak english”. The fresh fruit was canned fruit and the water melon tasted like water with tons of seeds. We could barely get 3 a la carte dîner and got the Italian on the 4th day, we were pretty excited to get the lasagna and it was absolutely gross, pasta was crunchy and the beef tasted like dried up meat or cat food, the cheese on top was that weird milky substance on top, took a bite got up and left and went to the gong show buffet to feed on rice pudding and ice cream. The hotel was run down the walkway to the rooms was dark on some spots and almost get run over by the carts, on a rainy night I slip and fell and hurt my knee. Found cockroaches in the room, asked to switch room but had to insist on looking at the room before moving, the room that they wanted to give me was overlooking a giant pile of garbage so I stuck with the same room at least I had a better view of the ocean, the tiles were broken in the building 24 and there was a huge broken glass mess beside the building. We were supposed to have our fridge restocked every day and had to constantly complait to customer service to get a restock. I was also told that I would get unlimited internet from air transat to find out that I only had 7 hours for the week. Need the internet as I need to be reached with children with special needs. The internet 7 hour time went in less than 2 hours so I had to buy more time. I was also assured that internet works in the room, just another lie. We saw a dead cat in the bushes after they were trimmed disturbing. I was drinking tea being sick and they only served piping hot tea in a plastic cup. The resort does not sale any snacks like chocolate bars or protein bars anything and no over the counter medication, the only way is to see the doctor at the resort which is not available. It was also impossible to get a spot by the pool or get cushions for your chair as they were mostly taken and the plastic chairs were hard on your back. The key for the room didn’t work most of the time and had to try several times before the door finally open and had to walk all the way back to the lobby to get it fixed and still didn’t work. The first day there was no hot water for the shower and all week had to keep adjusting the water as it was getting too hot or too cold. The toilet seat cover kept falling on your back when you go on the toilet glad I wasn’t vomiting and get the cover falling on your head. We could not get clean towels or get them to change the sheets as we got them off the bed to give the cleaner a hint and I am pretty sure that he put them back on the bed. At night we could hear people screaming at all hours (the drunks). There was blood stain on the stairs for days and dirty dishes left on the stairs. We didn’t drink very much but we were noticing when we came back to the room that beer was missing (don’t know who) but seriously. Smokers not respecting the non smoking area, just gross. Being sick for the get go didn’t help but tried to make the best of the situation but with the lack of food and couldn’t stomach the smell of it plus restaurant by the pool never had bread and served burgers, philly cheese sandwich with rubbery beef strips, no bread, cheese or gravy that was just absolutely discusting. I give this hotel no star but 5 thumb down, I would’ve had a better week on survivor at least you can get medics and eat awesome food on rewards and get voted out if you have enough. The only positive was the beach but still could use a nice clean up. Stay away don’t be cheap and spend a little more to go to Mexico, the Dominicans.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-1

    Rooms

    Rooms-1

    Service

    Service-3

    The do's and do-not's

    Reviewed by west250(Shawnigan Lake, Canada) on Feb 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    The patrons that posted previous pretty much sum up all the highs and lows of this resort so I will offer a little different review based on our experience as a do and don't list: Do: Come here for the beach. This is a lovely stretch that can be enjoyed with some privacy on the right (into the reserve), and serviced by the canteen on the left. Note that the beach on center may be washed out at any given time due to the fluctuation of sand. The beach is the highlight of the trip. Enjoy the pools. They were decent although we spent our time at the 'relax' pool. Note that in the afternoon, they ramp up a bit with music and dancing. Appreciate the staff. They are genuinely good people and the glue that keeps the place together. Bring stuff: Sunscreen, bug spray, extra beach towel, and CUC for tips. Use sunscreen. Holey crap, the Cuban sun packs a punch. Asymmetrical sunburns are the norm (myself included) Escape the Cubacanada bubble. Do your holiday a favour, I know it's a lump of taxi fare to get off the cayos, but it's worth a visit to real Cuba, even if it's just an organized trip to Remedios. Don't: Forget your manners. Probably the biggest turnoff is the louts that forget their manners at home. Have some respect for others around you. Just because the buffet is a gong show, don't spread your butthurt around like a child. Drink more than you can handle. What a collection of @sshats at these all inclusives. Handle your booze, or neck it back a bit. Tip. Yea, it's an all inclusive, but Cuba needs the love and nothing is worse than serving self entitled cheapos (wonder why you got bad service?). Complain about the tobacco usage. It's Cuba, and tabac is part of the trip. That being said, users should still be considerate of non smoking areas (some just need to get out of it for a bit, cut them some slack). Expect western housekeeping or dining service. Neither are up to western standards. Bedsheets not changed for the duration of your trip, food (at the feedbag), not up to standard, beach towels are what you get (which is why I suggest bringing another one). Summary: Come for the beach, roll with the rest of it. P.S. If you want a decent taxi driver to show you around, call Yosbel at 52578978. He's a gentleman, his English is very good - and he wants to improve his French!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Service

    Service-4

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX