Valentin Perla Blanca

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    S

    You couldn't pay me to go back

    Reviewed by Shirley on Jan 29, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    The hotel and pools are both nice but that's all they have going for them. They lacked staff and no management to keep things under control. We would never go again and was glad when the week was over. Toilet didn't work for two days and couldn't get it fixed, no toilet paper in any toilets in lobby's and doors didn't lock, food was always cold in buffet with long lines to get anything at all to eat, kept running out of food e.g. Bread, juice, fries, etc for long periods of time, double booking rooms (people coming in when you are in the room), fridge wasn't restocked, towels not changed and many more complaints.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    T

    Relaxing-could've been better

    Reviewed by Travelgurl on Jan 21, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    I stayed at the Valentin Perla Blanca for a week. It was a good hotel with a solid staff and fantastic beach. The hotel is relatively new October 2014 but a few tweaks can be made to make it better. For example, my friends and I signed up for the Privilege package which included a 30-minute massage, lobster dinner on top of the three a la carte reservations already included in the vacation package, and access to Privilege areas ie. special seating in the buffet area and a la carte restaurant, beach. Personally if I were to return to the hotel, I would pass on the Privilege part and save myself a few bucks as I saw no value for it. There were either none or very few areas on the beach or pool for the Privilege people. And we didn't get any special services by sitting in the designated Privilege areas for our meals. The food was ok-if you go the a la carte route, sometimes they didn't have items listed on the menus. So ask what do you have to save yourself the trouble. Lastly, If you go, I'd also recommend getting a suite far away from the theatre and 'party' pool-when there's something going on, it can get very loud.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    C

    Beautiful resort, fantastic service, will definitely be going back!

    Reviewed by Chris on May 11, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Me and my fiancee stayed at Valentin Perla Blanca from April 29th until May 7th of this year 2016 . Upon arrival at the resort we were thoroughly impressed with what we saw. They had a live dance performance happening in the lobby area, the view of the ocean from over the bar was breathtaking and the entryway and hall themselves were very open and spacious. The staff were excellent and very polite and accommodating and went out of their way to make the stay as pleasurable as possible. There was the odd language barrier but it's to be expected and it never really got in the way of us enjoying ourselves. The room was very comfortable and the air conditioning was as good as the A/C in our condo back here in Mississauga. The mini-bar is stocked daily at no extra cost with a few beers, pop and a big bottle of water, we had fresh towels and intricate designs laid out with the sheets each day and we had a surprisingly large selection of TV channels as well though we didn't use them much. If you want to party, use the main pool by the theater and if you want to just relax and be quiet use the pool around the back of the property by the staff area. You can also get a wi-fi card for 2 convertible pesos per hour at the internet cafe by the main desk as well as use the phones at a cost. Also be sure to hit up the buffet behind the front desk and the main bar after check-in if you're hungry or the snack bar by the main pool. All items are included at both locations. The a la carte desk is located down the stairs directly in-front of the main desk and to the right. Staff member at a desk with a computer. We are already planning our trip to go back next year and hopefully this review will be somewhat helpful as I hope to answer some of the questions we struggled with on arrival. Our WestJet rep Joel was very helpful but wasn't there until the next day at 9:30 am which we were informed about on the bus to the resort.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    J

    Belle experience.

    Reviewed by Jacques.G on Oct 29, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    Nous avons sejourne la derniere semaine d'octobre.Avons apprecie notre sejour.Plage et piscines superbes ,chambres et exterieurs propres .LE personnel attentif et accomodant.La nourriture de qualite.CEpendant si vous desirez manger quebecois il faut rester au quebec.Rapport qualite /prix gagnant.Nous recommandons

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    Worth a repeat visit!

    Reviewed by Shaun Jessome on Sep 20, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    This won't be a long review, but, hopefully it says a lot. We are booking our second trip to Valentin Perla Blanca - we were there last January - because we want to experience the beauty, the beaches and, especially, the people, again. There were minor issues last time - the resort had only recently opened - but nothing that affected our enjoyment of where we were. Management was at the resort the 2nd week we were there and you could see that the new staff was working hard to improve. We are not world travellers, but we have been to other resorts. Some definitely were more professional in serving our pampered North American sensibilities - but none were more genuine about wanting us to enjoy ourselves. If you're not having a good time, I suggest the following: - go to the beach. WOW, that's beautiful! - hug the person you're with! We all don't do that enough and in Cuba, romance is in the air. - have a drink - they're great! - have something to eat. There's lots of it and it's not that bad. - talk to the person serving you. You will find them to be caring, proud, interesting, often very articulate and true about wanting you to enjoy yourself. Cayo Santa Maria was in a rural district before it was a resort centre. Good, hard-working, caring people. They welcome your interest in their country and themselves. We were even fortunate enough to "buy" our bartender a drink to celebrate the birth of his baby. If you can have all that, Plus, 30 degree temperatures in January; who's going to complain because the sheets haven't been changed in 2 days! Just saying......

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    C

    We loved the resort and will go back.

    Reviewed by Cubacouple on Mar 07, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    The resort had only been open a few months and was experiencing some growing pains, but overall everything was great. The staff was amazing. The beach was to die for and it was a great resort just to get away and RELAX....I would go back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    A 3 dressed up as a 5

    Reviewed by Saskie on Jan 17, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    The hotel itself is lovely. Spacious and luxurious rooms on a stunningly beautiful beach. But aside from the beach and rooms, there is nothing here that you can't get at any other 3-star resort in Cuba. The service was poor, the food was worse. The staff were friendly and tried very hard, but it was just too disorganized, too many shortages, too many changes. I felt sorry for them. Given the price we paid it was OK value for money, but there was nothing to set the Valentin Perla Blanca apart from any other established 3-star resort. Maybe it will improve with time, but for now this is a 3 dressed up as a 5.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4049 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-3.5

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Mixed bag

    Reviewed by Adrian J() on Sep 16, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Hello we came back a fortnight ago so thought I'd review whilst still fresh in my mind. The hotel was nice and seemed clean enough as was the beach with white sand and crystal clear water. The staff here was fantastic and very polite nothing was to much trouble.the food however was shockingly bad and after a week we was ready to come home because of it . There are Tarantulas there we had only seen one but other folks there seen more. Hope this helps

    Beautiful beaches, lots of Entertainment!

    Reviewed by Lindsay H() on Sep 16, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My boyfriend and I recently visited Valentin and overall, it was a really great experience! There are pro's and con's of course, as well as some tips for future travelers that I will mention now, PRO'S: - Beautiful beaches white sand blue/green waters - you cant get a better view on a beach. - Everyone is welcoming, friendly and trying to make sure you all have the best possible time - Entertainment. Every single night the lobby has some sort of event happening. Michael Jackson impersonators, Cuba Night, dancers, Retro night, they have a man on a guitar with another man on the violin that play an amazing variety of top 40 and 90s tunes, another man that plays tunes on an electric guitar, there is beach volleyball as well as pool volleyball, music playing everywhere you go, dancers that come to the poolside for entertainment during the day, the entertainment is just endless! - Lots of creatures to see! My boyfriend and I love animals. And were pleasantly surprised with the huge variety of animals and creatures we saw! (Some of course you need to be careful around - mentioning in the Con section below). Lots of little lizzards, frogs, birds, toads, small snakes, butterfly's... -Lots of Excursions to Book - We booked the Dolphin Excursion which I would highly recommend. You can book in the lobby a day or two before you go. It's early so you catch a bus around 6am, head to the Catamaran boat where you can drink and they play music. They take you snorkeling, to see a live dolphin show and a long one too! Then they give you the chance to go down to pet, swim with, kiss and play with the dolphins. Not rushed time either! You can buy a professional photo at the end of the session. They then take you to lunch for either chicken or lobster (both fantastic). Then for us, we had extra time leftover so they took us to a secluded side beach where we could snorkel again. - Large spacious rooms & Clean! We only have our room story to share of course and cannot know about anyone else s room conditions, but our room exceeded my expectations. It was huge, tons of storage, chairs and a table, a mini fridge that got stocked daily if you left them a little tip each morning (TIP: Bring small dollar store gifts such as notebooks, soaps, perfume samples, little bags, etc to leave for the staff each morning and as a result, you'll get a fully stocked fridge, an extra cleaned room plus a fancy set of towels in shapes such as swans, birds, crabs on your bed each time you return!) CON'S: - Some of the creatures you really have to be aware of. We found out there were tarantulas, snakes, crabs, scorpions and sand flies. All of which can cause painful reactions when not being careful. There were also hundreds of clear/purple jellyfish in the ocean all 7 days of our trip, so the swimming part for us was at a minimum due to the fear of being stung. We still went in every day, but had to be completely aware of your surroundings the entire time you are in the water which takes away from being able to fully relax. - NO lighting at night at the resort! Each time we left our room at night, we had to constantly use the flash light on my phone in order to simply see where we were stepping as well as to watch for the dangerous creatures. We aren't sure why there were no lanterns or small pathway lights, but it was scary to walk around at night. - Cleaning staff come early. A few mornings, my boyfriend and I were still in bed or stepping out of the shower when the staff knocked only twice quickly then entering with little warning. We had to politely ask the staff to come back a little later. They of course respected this but it did wake us up early each morning. - The Food. Its Cuba so we all know the food is not the reason we go. The food for me was not good at all. I can only recommend a few items at the buffet and snack bar that are decent to eat. The buffet - rice, breads, the fish, the chicken, the coffee. The snack bar - ham & cheese sandwiches, chicken sandwich, wings, cuban sandwich. Overall, a good place with friendly staff, good entertainment, nice big clean rooms. You'll enjoy it if you are coming to relax by the beach, take some great naps, enjoy the beauty of the ocean and okay with keeping an eye out for the dangerous creatures! Would definitely recommend.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Most likely the last time in Cayo Santa Maria

    Reviewed by Sierra X(Hamilton, Ontario, Canada) on Sep 14, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    I was at the Valentin from Aug 28 - Sept 4 with my girlfriends. Be prepared for a long bus ride from the airport to the resort. Approximately 2 hours long. It wasn't too bad because you have a tour guide talking to you, but I thought it was only an hour long ride. This resort is huge, but unfortunately because it was "low season" half of the resort is shut off. No service. I think this is one of the main reasons why I won't be going back to Cayo Santa Maria. This area just seems to be dead. Of course you're on vacation to relax, but it was almost a ghost town there. Not very lively. You were almost walking around LOOKING for a party. This is exactly the same issue I experienced when I was at the Playa Cayo Santa Maria. The beach is probably the most beautiful I've seen but the resort is pretty dead. I found the staff extremely nice and helpful. There are wifi cards you can purchase that give you one hour of internet for 1 CUC. There were shows every night held in the lobby because the theatre was closed. One thing I get tired of at these resorts that don't have much going on is, after dinner and after you're done watching the show, there is absolutely nothing left to do. Besides sit in the lobby all night ordering drinks, smoking cigars, playing cards ect. After 2 nights of this, it gets so boring. Especially when the paths at nighttime are barely lit, so if you do want to wander around the resort at night, you need a flashlight.They have a disco but its not located at the resort. There is a bus that comes to your resort, picks you up, takes you to the disco (which is just down the street basically) and the bus comes and picks you back up at 2am and takes you back to your resort. We went one night and it was pretty horrible. That's just our opinion though of course. Food - I've been to Cuba before and I already know that you cannot expect the best food when travelling there. That's fine. We didn't starve at all. We stocked up on McDonalds condiments (great call) however, the main buffet was probably the worst I've ever seen at any resort I've ever been to. The selection was so very minimal. It was the exact same things almost everyday. They never changed it. We found the snack bar by the pool to be the best for lunch. Chicken fingers, hamburgers, hotdogs ect. Or, every day I think from 1-3pm there is a BBQ on the beach which had amazing burgers. The El la Cartes - There was only 2 restaurants open this entire stay. Italian and French. In our opinion the French was horrible and the Italian was great. They give you a menu and a list of main courses but then they tell you "but we don't have the Steak, or the Salmon" so half of the menu wasn't even available because of "low season". The rooms were basic. Clean. AC worked. Fridges stocked daily. Don't expect anything fancy. Nothing special about them but then again, how often are you in your room for this trip? If its clean that's all I care about. One thing though, in the bathroom, the shower has no door at all. So, if someone is in the shower, you cannot go into the washroom without seeing them naked! LOL so just a heads up. After 2 days we just didn't care anymore. 3 girls all trying to get ready for dinner we were bound to see naked-ness. There is no way around it unless you wait until the person is done showering to go into the bathroom. Because it was "low season" there was absolutely no issue in finding any lounge chairs or beds. Like I said, it seemed so dead. The entertainment crew was there everyday but it didn't help much. There are 2 gym rooms. Ones with weights and the other with ellipticals. Overall I would not come back to this resort. I also think I'm done with this area of Cuba. Maybe this resort has an entirely different atmosphere when its not "low season" but it all depends on what you're looking for out of a vacation. My girlfriends and I are only 30, and found this resort to be too boring for us. There was no foam party! BIG SHOUT OUT TO RANDY ! - From the snack bar by the pool. He was the absolute best! Always took care of us. He was so funny and very entertaining. We will miss him.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-3

    !0th time to cuba. If you want an honest review from experienced travellers this is the one!

    Reviewed by Trueuro12(Ontario, Canada) on Sep 13, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I've been all over cuba from holguin, varadero, havana, cayo coco and cayo santa maria. I basically go every summer because its the absolute best place to go for a week and best bang for your buck. As for valentin perla blanca i was blown away by the hospitality and the overall hotel experience that it made me post a review after 9 visits and never once leaving one. Check in was quick and we got a great room. Overlooking the ocean actually which was a nice surprise. Did have tiny tiny ants one day but it is common and one quick call to front desk and the issue was resolved. A big shout out goes to Tomas at the snack bar, Elbis, Jesus, Heidy, Miguel Alejandro, Denys and all the amazing snack bar staff. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone looking for a good deal and a great time. The BEACH as always is beautiful. There is a rocky area nearby that is great for snorkelling and spear fishing! All the staff are so attentive and working so hard to keep the resort looking at its best. Yes a tile or two may be missing here or there but they are out every morning at 5 am working to make sure the place looks great and I can't thank them enough. As i always say if you cant bring an extra 50/100$ for tip dont come. Its cheap how it is im sure you can toss a peso here and there as gratuity. The one thing i will say I was disappointed in was the food. Im never picky and I always love the food in Cuba. I stick to the made to order pasta and fish. But 6/7 days there was no pasta to be ordered or served. Was a bit of a bummer but the rest of the food and the ala cartes were fantastic. Overall id highly recommend this resort and I am actually in debate whether or not to go book to this resort just 4 weeks after I left for another vacation! Cant get enough of Cuba! Thanks again to everyone :)

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Beautiful beaches, fun in the sun!

    Reviewed by BeachQueenB(Canada) on Sep 13, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We had a great vacation at this beautiful property. The beach is one of the nicest I have seen. The property is very large and well appointed. The service was good, and the rooms are very nice. The entertainment was great as well. We had no issues at all and would recommend this resort for a fun and relaxing adults only escape, especially for the value. It's well worth the low price tag!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX