Valentin Perla Blanca

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    S

    You couldn't pay me to go back

    Reviewed by Shirley on Jan 29, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    The hotel and pools are both nice but that's all they have going for them. They lacked staff and no management to keep things under control. We would never go again and was glad when the week was over. Toilet didn't work for two days and couldn't get it fixed, no toilet paper in any toilets in lobby's and doors didn't lock, food was always cold in buffet with long lines to get anything at all to eat, kept running out of food e.g. Bread, juice, fries, etc for long periods of time, double booking rooms (people coming in when you are in the room), fridge wasn't restocked, towels not changed and many more complaints.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    T

    Relaxing-could've been better

    Reviewed by Travelgurl on Jan 21, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    I stayed at the Valentin Perla Blanca for a week. It was a good hotel with a solid staff and fantastic beach. The hotel is relatively new October 2014 but a few tweaks can be made to make it better. For example, my friends and I signed up for the Privilege package which included a 30-minute massage, lobster dinner on top of the three a la carte reservations already included in the vacation package, and access to Privilege areas ie. special seating in the buffet area and a la carte restaurant, beach. Personally if I were to return to the hotel, I would pass on the Privilege part and save myself a few bucks as I saw no value for it. There were either none or very few areas on the beach or pool for the Privilege people. And we didn't get any special services by sitting in the designated Privilege areas for our meals. The food was ok-if you go the a la carte route, sometimes they didn't have items listed on the menus. So ask what do you have to save yourself the trouble. Lastly, If you go, I'd also recommend getting a suite far away from the theatre and 'party' pool-when there's something going on, it can get very loud.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    C

    Beautiful resort, fantastic service, will definitely be going back!

    Reviewed by Chris on May 11, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Me and my fiancee stayed at Valentin Perla Blanca from April 29th until May 7th of this year 2016 . Upon arrival at the resort we were thoroughly impressed with what we saw. They had a live dance performance happening in the lobby area, the view of the ocean from over the bar was breathtaking and the entryway and hall themselves were very open and spacious. The staff were excellent and very polite and accommodating and went out of their way to make the stay as pleasurable as possible. There was the odd language barrier but it's to be expected and it never really got in the way of us enjoying ourselves. The room was very comfortable and the air conditioning was as good as the A/C in our condo back here in Mississauga. The mini-bar is stocked daily at no extra cost with a few beers, pop and a big bottle of water, we had fresh towels and intricate designs laid out with the sheets each day and we had a surprisingly large selection of TV channels as well though we didn't use them much. If you want to party, use the main pool by the theater and if you want to just relax and be quiet use the pool around the back of the property by the staff area. You can also get a wi-fi card for 2 convertible pesos per hour at the internet cafe by the main desk as well as use the phones at a cost. Also be sure to hit up the buffet behind the front desk and the main bar after check-in if you're hungry or the snack bar by the main pool. All items are included at both locations. The a la carte desk is located down the stairs directly in-front of the main desk and to the right. Staff member at a desk with a computer. We are already planning our trip to go back next year and hopefully this review will be somewhat helpful as I hope to answer some of the questions we struggled with on arrival. Our WestJet rep Joel was very helpful but wasn't there until the next day at 9:30 am which we were informed about on the bus to the resort.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    J

    Belle experience.

    Reviewed by Jacques.G on Oct 29, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    Nous avons sejourne la derniere semaine d'octobre.Avons apprecie notre sejour.Plage et piscines superbes ,chambres et exterieurs propres .LE personnel attentif et accomodant.La nourriture de qualite.CEpendant si vous desirez manger quebecois il faut rester au quebec.Rapport qualite /prix gagnant.Nous recommandons

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    Worth a repeat visit!

    Reviewed by Shaun Jessome on Sep 20, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    This won't be a long review, but, hopefully it says a lot. We are booking our second trip to Valentin Perla Blanca - we were there last January - because we want to experience the beauty, the beaches and, especially, the people, again. There were minor issues last time - the resort had only recently opened - but nothing that affected our enjoyment of where we were. Management was at the resort the 2nd week we were there and you could see that the new staff was working hard to improve. We are not world travellers, but we have been to other resorts. Some definitely were more professional in serving our pampered North American sensibilities - but none were more genuine about wanting us to enjoy ourselves. If you're not having a good time, I suggest the following: - go to the beach. WOW, that's beautiful! - hug the person you're with! We all don't do that enough and in Cuba, romance is in the air. - have a drink - they're great! - have something to eat. There's lots of it and it's not that bad. - talk to the person serving you. You will find them to be caring, proud, interesting, often very articulate and true about wanting you to enjoy yourself. Cayo Santa Maria was in a rural district before it was a resort centre. Good, hard-working, caring people. They welcome your interest in their country and themselves. We were even fortunate enough to "buy" our bartender a drink to celebrate the birth of his baby. If you can have all that, Plus, 30 degree temperatures in January; who's going to complain because the sheets haven't been changed in 2 days! Just saying......

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    C

    We loved the resort and will go back.

    Reviewed by Cubacouple on Mar 07, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    The resort had only been open a few months and was experiencing some growing pains, but overall everything was great. The staff was amazing. The beach was to die for and it was a great resort just to get away and RELAX....I would go back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    A 3 dressed up as a 5

    Reviewed by Saskie on Jan 17, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    The hotel itself is lovely. Spacious and luxurious rooms on a stunningly beautiful beach. But aside from the beach and rooms, there is nothing here that you can't get at any other 3-star resort in Cuba. The service was poor, the food was worse. The staff were friendly and tried very hard, but it was just too disorganized, too many shortages, too many changes. I felt sorry for them. Given the price we paid it was OK value for money, but there was nothing to set the Valentin Perla Blanca apart from any other established 3-star resort. Maybe it will improve with time, but for now this is a 3 dressed up as a 5.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4108 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-3.5

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Fantastic hotell

    Reviewed by Colin S(Swindon, United Kingdom) on Nov 05, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    All though hotel not fully opened at time of visit . me and my partner were very impressed with the level of service food was excellent and very satisfied with the level of service in the restaurant. The pool side snack bar was excellent and unbelievably food service and quality. The room was large clean and well furnished . The entertainment was good and the bars well stocked the grounds were well kept and all the staff very friendly . Will certainly return to this hotel fantastic location and managed very well

    Better then I anticipated

    Reviewed by Marcello M() on Nov 04, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Stayed here for 7 days the week of October 21st. The grounds are beautiful, atmosphere was perfect and the violinist who played in the lobby bar was outstanding. If you go during off season, don't bother with the privilege package, it's not worth it, as there are no lineups at any restaurant. Remember that half the resort is closed during the off season, but you wouldn't know by the sheer size of the grounds. I stayed in building 33 with an ocean view, and thought the room was adequete. The only hiccup was our room never got cleaned one day, but they sent some poor guy up with towels late in the evening. I would highly recommend this spot though.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Love Love Love

    Reviewed by Bozena S(Lindsay, Canada) on Nov 04, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Hey travellers, My hubby and I travel quite a bit, average 3/year so we have a rather realistic feedback. It was out second stay at VPB. ( Jan 2016 and Oct 2018) As a result of inferior conditions at a near by hotel ( Sanctuary at Grand Memories) , we were transferred to VPB. Hotel is new (2014), well appointed rooms, comfy beds, large balconies. Our room was #3863 and offered a view of the pools and the ocean. Beautiful. Food at this hotel was good and plentiful. The omelette stations (2) were not very busy and in 2-3 min you could enjoy your eggs anyway you like them. Same for chicken , fish and beef. Buffet was well displayed and full of fresh dishes, fruits and vegetables. And... Oh the dessert table!! Don't forget the yummy ice cream. The pools are very clean, staff takes pride in what they do. The snack bar near the pool offered lighter breakfast choices ( eggs, fruit, toast). Fabian was ... Fabulous server. Beach is rocky when you access it from the pathway across from the buffet, or the one leading to the aquatic centre. But the 3rd pathway leads to a beautiful sandy beach, with plenty of palapas and chairs. Plus a beach snack bar and , of course beverage bar. Valentin is on " Yes, we will return " list . Enjoy your vacations!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Wonderful vacation

    Reviewed by Rhonda M() on Nov 02, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We just returned from vacation at this resort. First I would like to say that we have been to Cuba many times but this is the first time at this resort, the first time in Cayo Santa Maria. We usually go to Varadero. I was kind of apprehensive going after reading some of the reviews however we were pleasantly surprised. I think that I would like to give this review separating the pros and cons. Pros We arrived at the hotel to a beautiful, clean lobby with pleasant staff and a nice cool welcome drink. Check in was quick and easy and our room was ready when we arrived. Our room(building 34) was lovely, clean and had a beautiful view of the pool. Everything was in excellent working order and in good condition. The property is beautiful. The grounds impeccably maintained. Flowering plants, shrubs and trees are everywhere, the colours amazing! The beach is beautiful, the effects of hurricane are still evident, however the white sand and azur water and blue sky as far as you can see have to be one of the most beautiful in the world. The staff on the beach help you find the perfect spot, set your chair and even clean it for you. The staff are truly wonderful. Our room was always clean,cool and well stocked. The staff in the lobby(I wish that I could name them all) were amazing. Always greeting with a smile and ensuring that you had exactly what you needed. The staff at the buffet excellent. The grounds crew amazing. I have to give a special shout out to two of the people that helped make our stay so enjoyable, Jorge and Michael at the a la carte restaurant. These two gentlemen were entertaining, friendly,professional and every other positive word that you can think of. Don’t miss the opportunity to meet these great people. Cons(this is short) Unfortunately the food was OK at best. The buffet was small and the choice limited.( I know it is Cuba, but even saying that it was not good). I usually look forward to breakfast, but even at the grill there was only ham and cheese for the omelette. Lunch and dinner fair and repetitions. Bland. I would recommend you bring some condiments. A la carte, although we loved the staff the food was only ok. With only 2 open it difficult to get reservations although the restaurants appeared to be mostly empty at any given time. About half of the resort is closed due to damage from the hurricane, limiting access to some of the resort. I know that this is not a fault of the resort but felt that it should be mentioned. The beach has been eroded and in some places difficult to access because of the exposed rock. All in all we had a great trip made memorable by the wonderful people, a lovely resort and beautiful Cuba.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    amazing

    Reviewed by Coastal61028002167() on Oct 29, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    we stayed here after choosing to leave another hotel after a week. brilliant staff very attentive. very good food . very nice rooms and cleaners etc very good and nice. hygiene and cleanliness are very good. would stay here again any time.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX