Valentin Perla Blanca

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    S

    You couldn't pay me to go back

    Reviewed by Shirley on Jan 29, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    The hotel and pools are both nice but that's all they have going for them. They lacked staff and no management to keep things under control. We would never go again and was glad when the week was over. Toilet didn't work for two days and couldn't get it fixed, no toilet paper in any toilets in lobby's and doors didn't lock, food was always cold in buffet with long lines to get anything at all to eat, kept running out of food e.g. Bread, juice, fries, etc for long periods of time, double booking rooms (people coming in when you are in the room), fridge wasn't restocked, towels not changed and many more complaints.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    T

    Relaxing-could've been better

    Reviewed by Travelgurl on Jan 21, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    I stayed at the Valentin Perla Blanca for a week. It was a good hotel with a solid staff and fantastic beach. The hotel is relatively new October 2014 but a few tweaks can be made to make it better. For example, my friends and I signed up for the Privilege package which included a 30-minute massage, lobster dinner on top of the three a la carte reservations already included in the vacation package, and access to Privilege areas ie. special seating in the buffet area and a la carte restaurant, beach. Personally if I were to return to the hotel, I would pass on the Privilege part and save myself a few bucks as I saw no value for it. There were either none or very few areas on the beach or pool for the Privilege people. And we didn't get any special services by sitting in the designated Privilege areas for our meals. The food was ok-if you go the a la carte route, sometimes they didn't have items listed on the menus. So ask what do you have to save yourself the trouble. Lastly, If you go, I'd also recommend getting a suite far away from the theatre and 'party' pool-when there's something going on, it can get very loud.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    C

    Beautiful resort, fantastic service, will definitely be going back!

    Reviewed by Chris on May 11, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Me and my fiancee stayed at Valentin Perla Blanca from April 29th until May 7th of this year 2016 . Upon arrival at the resort we were thoroughly impressed with what we saw. They had a live dance performance happening in the lobby area, the view of the ocean from over the bar was breathtaking and the entryway and hall themselves were very open and spacious. The staff were excellent and very polite and accommodating and went out of their way to make the stay as pleasurable as possible. There was the odd language barrier but it's to be expected and it never really got in the way of us enjoying ourselves. The room was very comfortable and the air conditioning was as good as the A/C in our condo back here in Mississauga. The mini-bar is stocked daily at no extra cost with a few beers, pop and a big bottle of water, we had fresh towels and intricate designs laid out with the sheets each day and we had a surprisingly large selection of TV channels as well though we didn't use them much. If you want to party, use the main pool by the theater and if you want to just relax and be quiet use the pool around the back of the property by the staff area. You can also get a wi-fi card for 2 convertible pesos per hour at the internet cafe by the main desk as well as use the phones at a cost. Also be sure to hit up the buffet behind the front desk and the main bar after check-in if you're hungry or the snack bar by the main pool. All items are included at both locations. The a la carte desk is located down the stairs directly in-front of the main desk and to the right. Staff member at a desk with a computer. We are already planning our trip to go back next year and hopefully this review will be somewhat helpful as I hope to answer some of the questions we struggled with on arrival. Our WestJet rep Joel was very helpful but wasn't there until the next day at 9:30 am which we were informed about on the bus to the resort.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    J

    Belle experience.

    Reviewed by Jacques.G on Oct 29, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    Nous avons sejourne la derniere semaine d'octobre.Avons apprecie notre sejour.Plage et piscines superbes ,chambres et exterieurs propres .LE personnel attentif et accomodant.La nourriture de qualite.CEpendant si vous desirez manger quebecois il faut rester au quebec.Rapport qualite /prix gagnant.Nous recommandons

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    Worth a repeat visit!

    Reviewed by Shaun Jessome on Sep 20, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    This won't be a long review, but, hopefully it says a lot. We are booking our second trip to Valentin Perla Blanca - we were there last January - because we want to experience the beauty, the beaches and, especially, the people, again. There were minor issues last time - the resort had only recently opened - but nothing that affected our enjoyment of where we were. Management was at the resort the 2nd week we were there and you could see that the new staff was working hard to improve. We are not world travellers, but we have been to other resorts. Some definitely were more professional in serving our pampered North American sensibilities - but none were more genuine about wanting us to enjoy ourselves. If you're not having a good time, I suggest the following: - go to the beach. WOW, that's beautiful! - hug the person you're with! We all don't do that enough and in Cuba, romance is in the air. - have a drink - they're great! - have something to eat. There's lots of it and it's not that bad. - talk to the person serving you. You will find them to be caring, proud, interesting, often very articulate and true about wanting you to enjoy yourself. Cayo Santa Maria was in a rural district before it was a resort centre. Good, hard-working, caring people. They welcome your interest in their country and themselves. We were even fortunate enough to "buy" our bartender a drink to celebrate the birth of his baby. If you can have all that, Plus, 30 degree temperatures in January; who's going to complain because the sheets haven't been changed in 2 days! Just saying......

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    C

    We loved the resort and will go back.

    Reviewed by Cubacouple on Mar 07, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    The resort had only been open a few months and was experiencing some growing pains, but overall everything was great. The staff was amazing. The beach was to die for and it was a great resort just to get away and RELAX....I would go back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    A 3 dressed up as a 5

    Reviewed by Saskie on Jan 17, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    The hotel itself is lovely. Spacious and luxurious rooms on a stunningly beautiful beach. But aside from the beach and rooms, there is nothing here that you can't get at any other 3-star resort in Cuba. The service was poor, the food was worse. The staff were friendly and tried very hard, but it was just too disorganized, too many shortages, too many changes. I felt sorry for them. Given the price we paid it was OK value for money, but there was nothing to set the Valentin Perla Blanca apart from any other established 3-star resort. Maybe it will improve with time, but for now this is a 3 dressed up as a 5.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3956 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-3.5

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    3 th time

    Reviewed by Lubica T(Brampton, Canada) on Jul 16, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property
			3
			out of 5

    It was our 3 th visit and we was not recognized Went to customer service few days after and they told me that I should get that and that but is to late because they don't have availability It should be there job to recognize repeated quests specially when I email it Anyway Hotel is going down hill. Cleenless,food,is not bad but not good like last time. Looks like there is not enough money to keep this jewel of Cuba in shape. Service is great,people working there do what they can. Beaches r the best ever. And that is what is keeping us coming back. First time after all these years we went to ala carte restaurant and newer will make that mistake again. Not good,don't waste your time. Entertainment good,but in the bar area and only first row of people could see the show. Will I come to Valentine perla Blanca again? Yes,but with low expectations and one of the reason will be price for one week of all inclusive. Thanks to staff at the beach ,lobby bar ,front desk ,maintance stuff and our cleaning lady. Customer service people should pay more attention to quest then their cell phones.

    Average

    Reviewed by Diann S(Georgina, Canada) on Jul 09, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property
			3
			out of 5

    Average Resort .The place is about as casual as it gets. Except the insecticide spray , that was GREAT . Just before breakfast , and just before dinner , just GREAT. What ! That's right . Piano player was good, Beach was nice , People nice and resort was average .

    3rd year back to the Valentin Perla Blanca April 2018

    Reviewed by Lorna S(Cape Breton Island) on Jul 09, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property
			4
			out of 5

    Excellent Vacation once again, beach is beautiful, food is ok, we were never hungry, beach bbq was delicious. Drinks were awesome, service is great. We never had an issue finding shelter on the beach. Quiet Pool is was my favorite for after the beach. Snack bar food is great, chicken fingers and fries. Entertainment is great in Lobby Bar. My only recommendation would be to have the nightly entertainment go at least until midnight. We will be back to the Valentin for sure.

    Love this resort!!

    Reviewed by Joan B() on Jul 09, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property
			5
			out of 5

    January was our 4th time at the Valentin. Never disappointed!! We head back there again next week! Affordable and very nice resort!! ?? Very kind people and lots of options for quiet beaches/pools or party areas. We are always happy! ??

    I do not recommend

    Reviewed by Sophie Q() on Jul 05, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property
			2
			out of 5

    People were nice. The beach beautiful. Resort nope disappointed. Very far from airport. We arrived at the room and the rooms are nice if you look at it in a global perspective, but once you install yourself in your room, you're disgusted. Mirrors, toilet and washroom had stains of god knows what on it. It was brown I assume it was dry poop or blood. The rest seemed fine acceptable I guess. For other guests their room were ready cool down as for ours nope we arrived, it was hot, and we had to put a card in the AC machine for it to start. We also had poisoned frog that got into our room some how. We did have a crack under our door so I assume it got in by that way or the cracked ceiling (where the AC equipment was). We had to get it out of our room, we turned the room upside down to find it. We through a towel over it and squished over 30 times and the damn thing didn't die. We checked the next morning on our balcony and it wasn't there! As for another couple their creature was a cockroach. The food was what ever you expect from Cuba, but bugs for me was a no no. So about 3 couples from our plane got sick on the 5th day :( and we don't know each other we just had the plane in common. So I wouldn't recommend this resort to anybody. Please don't go there.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

    This is the name that will be attached to your review.

    Our submission policy:

    XXXX