Iberostar Cozumel

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    C

    Great resort, food needs improvement!

    Reviewed by Cozumel chill on Apr 28, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    I have been to Iberostar in Jamaica and really enjoyed the accommodations and food. I was expecting similar in Cozumel. Unfortunately it did not feel like it was the same chain/resort. I have been to Mexico at various resorts over the years at least 7 different resorts . Experience has always been good. Not sure why Iberostar Cozumel failed to feel like Mexico ? Grounds are nice and well maintained. Rooms are decent, good size and sound proofed. Only issue we had is there was absolutely no humidity control. The bedding and our clothes felt wet to the touch for the entire week. As my wife would say "Ew!" Staff is wonderful, cheerful and always helpful. That's the good. Now the not so good. Food, all the meals got old quick from the buffets to the a la cart restaurants. The steak house didn't have a charcoal grill, all was cooked on flat iron soaked in corn oil. Italian restaurant meals were bland almost no spices/flavour. TexMex restaurant had nothing remotely close to Mexican flavours we were in Mexico right ? In closing, we will not be going to this resort again. Mostly because of the food. It's tolerable but not enjoyable for a 4 star rated resort. Nice beach but shallow sand. Careful when playing volleyball, you're playing on top of a giant rock.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 5784 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Solid, but with unfixed disappointments

    Reviewed by iGymnast(Knoxville, Tennessee) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Solid, but with unfixed disappointments There is much to like about the resort. As I noted in my first review of them, the friendly staff is probably their biggest asset. Everyone, and I do mean everyone, makes a point to be friendly, polite, and helpful. This includes the groundskeepers and the custodial staff. Even in the face of language barriers they make the effort to try to understand and accommodate. The buildings and grounds are beautiful and in keeping with what you would expect; thatched roofs, open air common areas, dark wood beams, etc. The pool is large and clean with a swim-up bar. The recreation staff strikes a good balance between urging guests to participate while being respectful of those who aren't interested. The food is excellent with a tremendous variety offered at every meal. We come to scuba dive, and Dressel Divers again proved to be outstanding. The administrative staff is friendly, helpful, and handle schedule changes and snags with grace and make every effort to resolve things to your satisfaction. The boats are big and seldom cramped. The boat crews work tirelessly and always with a smile hauling tanks and alleviating you of the drudge labors associated with equipment moving, set up, and clean up. The dive masters are young, enthusiastic, and knowledgable. I cant say enough about how good this dive shop is. You can use them confident in the knowledge that you are in good hands and will have an excellent dive experience. This probably sounds like yet another glowing review possibly written by resort staff or a paid reviewer. However, let me reassure you that I just wanted to make a point to give praise where it is rightly due. Unfortunately, there are some downsides to this otherwise wonderful resort. The rooms are disappointingly small. This wouldn't be so bad if they were well set up and had adequate storage, but both are sadly lacking. In the first review I noted how helpful a few minor changes would be, so I can't express what a let down it is to return and not see them implemented. Specifically, the suggested improvements were the addition of folding luggage stands and clothing hooks to the rooms. These inexpensive improvements would go a long way to making the small rooms work better. A luggage stand would alleviate the need to work out of a suitcase from the floor or taking it on and off the bed every time. Many guests come to Cozumel to experience the world-class diving. But even if you are not a diver, nearly everyone will be swimming at some point in their stay. It is unconscionable that there is only one hook in the whole room and that one is by the shower for a towel. Everyone will have at least a wet swimsuit or two at some point, so additional hooks inside the room and outside on the deck are a must. The omission of these simple additions indicates that the resort simply doesn't care enough about the guests (or about receiving a less than glowing review) to make such a modest investment. While this might seem like a little thing, it has a big impact when every surface, the deck railing, and the hammock are festooned with items drip drying. Overall, a good resort that would greatly benefit from a few simple upgrades. PROS Friendly staff Nice grounds Good food CONS Small rooms Lack of storage, luggage racks Lack of hooks

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Unable to deliver on services

    Reviewed by Trevman78() on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Booked a week in the “Prestige” service. A number of the services said to be included in the Prestige package were not delivered. List of included services read like a check list of things to NOT expect such as; Private Check In Personalized Mini Bar Wine tasting 30 minute massage in lieu of complementary round of golf. Robes and slippers in room None of the package inclusions would have made or broken our vacation, but if they aren’t going to be delivered, we wouldn’t have opted for Prestige. In speaking with the on duty manager, they seemed regretful but unable to action any of our concerns. It appears that the hotel in general aren’t equipped to provide the Prestige service. Alarmingly it became apparent to us that our daily tip for the maid service was being taken by another staff member of the hotel. The same manager on duty attempted to address that issue by assuring that the maids would receive the gratuity. Generally however, the hotel is very clean and green, and the staff in the restaurants and bars are very hospitable and friendly. Great experience with the car rental service. Rooms could use a bit of a refresh of the paint and furniture. TV in our room was very out of date. The phone in our room did not work. Gardens and grounds are very nice with very lush trees and flowers and lots of friendly animal guests roaming around. You could do a lot worse than staying here, but you could very likely do a lot better.

    Day pass with a cruise

    Reviewed by BradCanada90(Vancouver, Canada) on Apr 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My girlfriend and did a day pass while on a cruise and we absolutely loved it! I don't even know where to start. The food was delicious, the drinks were tasty, and strong! The resort was beautiful, the pools were beautiful. Most importantly the staff were so amazing and friendly! We had a gentleman from the team sit with us during lunch and really made us feel welcome; it was such a special tough.

    Beautiful Resort

    Reviewed by 503jefff(Pella, Iowa) on Apr 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My wife and I just returned from a 5 night stay and have stayed there once previously about a year ago. The Pros: Beautiful resort, grounds were well taken care of. Beach is awesome. We were always able to get chairs either by the pool or on the beach, getting up at 5 AM to save chairs is not necessary(a big plus)! Pool is large and clean. Most resort staff try hard and are friendly and helpful. Our room was cleaned everyday before lunch. The Tex Mex restaurant was very good. The Cons Food is average quality, food on the buffets seemed a little under cooked. The water at the beach has coral so wear your water shoes. I inadvertenley added the prestige option to our reservation, we went ahead and tried it out and it wasn't worth it for us, you get a private area on the beach and also a private pool(small) area with a concierge, we ended spending the bulk of our time at the large pool which was way more fun. Beware we got signed up for "The Club" for a luncheon to learn more about this Iberostar club, we sensed this would be a time share so didn't attend.

    Loved the Peacocks wondering freely around the property!

    Reviewed by Hamilton456(Maple Grove, Minnesota) on Apr 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This property is gorgeous! Beautiful Flamingos, iguanas, and peacocks! This property is sent back off the beach, pack up your beach bag for the day spent at the beach! Depending on your room location it is a hike! The rooms are quaint! We had no problem finding something we liked at all the meals - the restaurants, you reserve two days at a time - They were good! Even serve Sushi and Caviar! Entertainment in the evening was fun, plenty of chairs in lobby bar area to have cocktail and cigars! Pools was great, swim up bar on both sides. The ocean was awesome BUT you should use water shoes walking in from the beach - walking down the pier and using the stairs is fine - no need for water shoes. Alberto's is 5 minute walk for change of scenery - excellent food. We would stay again! We came with (2) 16yr old girls.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX