Disney's Grand Californian Hotel and Spa

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 4910 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    More than I expected

    Reviewed by Janet L() on Feb 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Beautiful accommodations, clean, quiet and the staff was above and beyond helpful and friendly. As a grandma wanting to spend time with my young grandchildren (3-7 yrs} I wanted to feel safe, and check all the boxes for myself and the kids. There was so much for the young kids to do from an art class to folded towel sculptures, pin trading in the lobby every night plus the magnificent pool and Disneyland right out the back door and shopping out the front with no walking to a hotel or car I don't know who was happier, me or the kids. We spent 2 nights there and just barely discovered all that was available to us. I thought it was more than I was comfortable paying but it turned out to be more than worth it in so many ways that we're planning to do it again.

    Four/Five Star prices - 3 star service

    Reviewed by rhillnyc(New York City, New York) on Feb 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    I should begin by saying that I love Disneyland and visit often. I have stayed at this hotel previously and had a great experience. I arrived early for check in and expected to check my bags and come back later to get into my room - which was the case. Totally fine. However, it ultimately took me 35 minutes just to check in. There was a huge line and every guest took upwards of 10+ minutes to check in. That wait time was insane and nobody in line could figure out what it was taking so long. The cast member who ultimately checked me in told me that I had to come back to claim my luggage and that it could not be delivered to my room once I was assigned a room. She told me to walk to the end of the desk to check my bags. When I arrived to that spot I was told to walk across the lobby and wait in another spot for someone to check my bags. Once my bags were checked I left for the park. I got a text that my room was ready and left the park to check in. I claimed my bags and was not offered help to get them to my room - which was lovely, but quite a hike. The food on property was always just ok - be it the Kobe Burger at the bar or breakfast from room service. It’s disappointing because this hotel is priced at 4 and 5 star prices. The service, however, does not live up to Disney standards or the standards or other hotels in this price range. It is perfectly located and morning on your balcony are magical - but the service should be better.

    Beautiful hotel

    Reviewed by MeekoOrangePark_FL(Orange Park, Florida) on Feb 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Spent a couple nights at the Villas of the Grand Californian hotel and spa in a one bedroom. The one bedroom was nice, the separate bedroom is always great. Had a bit of a view of California adventure. So that was nice. Line to check in was a disappointment as it was so long, as was driving up and feeling like there was no choice but to give your luggage to the porters when self parking. Was not informed about the short parking to just check in. Not as much of a welcome home as we are used to at the Florida resorts. Once we got the room we called for the luggage and was told it would be over an hour to get. It add faster to go back downstairs ourself and ask for it. Over all it is a great location for visiting the parks .

    Grand California concierge level - expensive but worth it!!

    Reviewed by Christy C(Boise, Idaho) on Feb 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My daughter and I just got back from a 3-day trip to Disneyland/California Adventure and a stay on the concierge level of the Grand Californian (the splurge of a lifetime!). So, yes, it wasn't just a little expensive. It was VERY expensive. But for us, it was worth every penny. First of all, we arrived at the Grand Californian via Lyft and somehow, some way, a concierge staff member was waiting for us outside the entrance to greet us by name and escort us to check-in on the 6th floor. My daughter had no idea we were staying on that level, so this level of service made her feel like a princess! Our room wasn't ready, but we were able to enjoy the amazing food and service at The Veranda immediately, and again on our last day after we checked out while we waited for our ride back to the airport. The staff in The Veranda worked so hard and went out of their way to make us feel like royalty. Bringing fresh and delicious food constantly, refilling our wine glasses, whatever we needed. I was able to print boarding passes at the 6th floor desk and had all my questions answered without needing to go downstairs to the main lobby. Yes, it was expensive, but we had every meal there and never ate out, and felt like a million bucks. If you can, treat yourself. You won't be disappointed.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-3

    Bad Customer Service

    Reviewed by Buson808() on Feb 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    I stayed here on points 1/29/19-2/6/19. On Jan 31 between 2-4 pm I went down to the front desk to get my Laundry card as laundry is free to dvc member. I stood in line and a guy who directed me to a lady at the front desk. I got my laundry card and went back to my room to get my laundry. I had 3 loads. I went to the dvc laundry room and both washers were in use so I proceeded to the Napa building laundry room. I loaded 3 washers, added soap and went to the payment kiosk and slid my laundry card. NO credit on card. I then call from the laundry room and told the front desk my situation. They said to go back down to the fron desk to get another card. I go back to the front desk and the same guy who helped me earliar was there and I told him the situation. He completely ignored me and told me to stand in line. By now I am furious so I just go directly to the front desk and tell the lady my situation. She calls a manager and he comes out and apologizes and gives me another card. I go back to the laundry room and same crap happens NO CREDIT! I call the front desk and a lady tells me to use my own debit or credit card. I tell the lady on the phone that I did not bring any credit cards because I thought I wouldnt need to. I tell her this is Complete Crap and hang up. I go back to front desk and demand to call the manager to come out and resolve this situation. Another lady comes out and comps me dinner to any of the restaurants. She also gave me 2 more laundry cards. I asked if I should get my credit cards as this would my 3rd time trying to use their laundry cards. She says it should work. I decided to give it another shot and same crap happens. NO CREDIT! I call the front desk to demand someone to come to the laundry room and help me get the washers on. I wait 10 mins and NO ONE comes. Keep in mind their are ppl waiting to use the washers but my laundry is in their. Very embarrassing! At this point I have no idea what to do so I remove all my laundry and go back to my room to calm down. I waited 2 hours and went back with my own credit card to start up the machines. I stayed in room #4516. The new mini fridges dont have freezer compartment. The toilet paper is 1 ply and i called front desk twice and told a housekeeping lady I need more tp. Finally on the 4th call they brought more tp. The pull out sofa couch smelled really bad. Really bad as if someone took a crap on it. They replaced the sheets but the smell lingered! I also called for more paper plates and they said to go to white water. I go to white water and they said they no longer give out paper plates. I call front desk and they finally give me more paper plates. Housekeeping also threw away both my ponchos. Call front desk and they gave me new ones. Ok so this is my 4th year in a row staying here on points. Im pretty sure this will be my last. The lack of customer service. The run arounds that was given. The prick who ignored me and told me to stand in line. So so disappointed with this hotel. I GOD DAMN REGRET BEING A DVC MEMBER!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX