Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

3.0 star rating

Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    What to expect (based on 1632 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-3.5

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    I AM A REGULAR HERE ! GREAT BUT!

    Reviewed by MichaelD11032() on Sep 08, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    I have been staying at Ocean Sky for years , first with myself and kids after the Disney thing Etc. I continued to say once a year even as the kids became adults and I was Solo. The area in the Galt Mile is a perfect relaxing area and a stroll or 6.00 uber to Lauderdale by the sea. 6 decent places to eat. The Ocean Sky never took the time to develop a decent in house restaurant. Always empty except Breakfast. Same for the inside Bar. The outside Tiki has always been a good time. The issues I had on my last two stays mainly March 2016 -2017. The elevators were Broken for both Trips. The 2016 trip not as bad the beach elevator worked as well as two lobby. 2017 The whole week only 1 lobby elevator functioned and could smell that motor straining. I as a mechanical engineer spoke to the repair crew , who I wouldn't trust with my railings at home said they were stealing parts of one for another and I mentioned That these things have been down for years and he just said tell me about it. So Put a little money back in guys.. Also I was on my balcony one day and witnessed a Hotel sweeper sweep up a cell phone while cleaning up while a bunch of people were enjoying the Hot Tub. I was on a higher floor and tried to keep an eye on him but he disappeared under a tarp area. I called and reported and Never heard anything. The Valet service is Great as it should be at 18.00 a day to stay . Ask for Migelle he's the Best. Well They must have New Elevators by now so Otherwise Enjoy ! I also should mention I had the Deluxe Rm with King bed and if you need a quality firm bed Bring your own. The worst!!

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-3

    Great Resort, but the bartender needs to be fired

    Reviewed by OregonSnowflake(Oregon) on Sep 04, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We had the most amazing experience at this hotel. Because of the staff and waitress in the restaurant, I'll give it 5 stars. We were immediately upgraded to a suite without question due to weather. I thought that was extremely nice and thoughtful. The whole staff was accommodating to our needs and the restaurant had great service. HOWEVER...we went to the pool bar after dinner and we each asked for a Coors Light. The male bartender said, "we don't have Coors Light" and tossed the menu to us and walked away. Coors Light was listed on the bar menu he passed us. We were confused, but decided on something else anyways. When he came back, his exact words were, "have you decided, otherwise I'm out of here"....it was so rude...we were waiting for him to come back. I've never had anyone be so blatantly rude in the customer service field. Definitely not the kind of service that matched the rest of the resort. I'd still recommend the accommodations.

    Timing is Everything: Potentially Great...but?

    Reviewed by jazzmankg() on Sep 03, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    So here's the thing. There are so many things you could like about this place that I'm sure - depending on when I booked the Hotel that I could probably side with the rest of the 4 to 5 star reviewers who couldn't understand the 1 star complainers who have reviewed this place. That said, I honestly can understand some of the complaints of this place. Maybe the hotel was trying to score deals with more budget conscious vacationers during their down-times and were pushing the envelope. The cost was definitely much cheaper than other hotels of comparable level. They gave us an auto-upgrade without cost on a two bed top floor room - and this is something that I know they had been doing generally with customers as a courtesy to enhance the experience. But if I had written my review about 2 days in I definitely was getting a little pissed off. They make all this critical dumbfounding little misses that just add up making this a 3 star hotel when it really shouldn't be. Here are the things to like about this place. The view. A great view on the top floors (note- this is a technically partial view because the building is pitched sideways towards the beach but it's still great. Lovely to have coffee on a full terrace overlooking the sunrise and the city). Main floor style - quite elegant. Staff was cordial, helpful. Pretty and spacious room with refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. Nice modern shower with two adjustable shower heads. They have an outdoor jacusi and a nice pool with plenty of lounge chairs and cabanas (available at a cost. more on that in a sec) and access to the beach from there (despite a curious note from amenities brochure that says it's not accessible?). Exercise facilities, computer PC area as well as (what seems to be) a local rage - a Mystery Adventure Escape Game room. They also have a big dining hall - which looks like it opens up for parties and weddings. Word has there was once a great Italian restaurant located there? They a have free Tiki shuttle van that does on call pick ups up to night time dining at Commericial Blvd and Oakland Park Blvd in the eve. You can walk there in 20-25 minute but it's really convenient to take the shuttle. Would've been perfect if it was available during the day. The local Winn Dixie and Dunkin Donuts and some local eateries (For ex. NY Deli - I nice little breakfast place) is a 3-5 min walk away. The beach is directly accessible from the hotel via the pool and this hotel doesn't charge a "Resort Fee" as many Hotels with Resort in the title do - but maybe they should if we could avoid some of the other issues I'm about to detail. TV lineup not bad (It has my Favs - MSNBC, CNN and HBO free of charge). Here are some things that ranged from completely annoying to slightly irritating. The elevators were being worked on the entire time. They have only 2 and 1 was being serviced. There was one point where all the elevators were out, including the beach elevator and the only elevator available was the service elevator. I nearly missed the Uber I had called because I couldn't get downstairs. There was renovation, drilling and construction noise going on everyday. The local shop - which is open late and offers some pretty reasonable deals on clothes was not so reasonable on necessities. A small bottle of eye drops that I needed cost me $7. Although this hotel beach is among a relatively small number of hotels that are directly on a Ft Lauderdale Beach (many other adjoining building are condos) there is no advantage as they have no Hotel deal on the beach umbrellas and chairs. This is no different than going to a public beach further south where they offer the same cut-throat umbrella and chair price for a prettier beach and more options. And this local Jetski rental contractor which rents out the beach items, stands directly between you and access to the beach. It's just so obnoxious (as are the signs that prohibit you from bringing your own umbrella to the beach or bringing any of your own food to the pool area). So depending on what you asked for this cost adds up to 40-50 dollars a day for a couple. If this cost would be covered by a typical $20 a day resort fee or a slight increase in room cost, I would so much prefer it. I'm usually prepared to spend money but the thing is when you try to enforce a system where your guests need to pony up exorbitant costs to be on your premises - is this really the relationship and memory you want my guests to have? These are just little annoyances. On our first day we got enough towels and coffee for 3 guests (given that is the general limit on a room of this type). As soon as it became apparent that there were not 3 people the housekeeper cut our towels to 2 and cut our coffee and creamer. So here's the thing, we like bath towels and coffee in hotels is typically a weak so we use them. So I placed a little note with a pillow tip to the housekeeper that if she could please keep our 3 towels. The housekeeper responded by leaving us zero bath towels. I went to the front desk and complained. I have never not tipped a chambermaid in my life- as I'm sure many guests leave nothing. But I did that day. The vending machines don't take any other payment other than one dollar bills or change and doesn't indicate which bills it accepts. Again such a small thing bordering on dumb. Why the limitation? The Internet is free but really low level, you have to log in every day to the hotel portal and you can't stream at all without being throttled. There is no access to other ports on the TV (i.e. HDMI) so I couldn't run my computer thru it. So this is my full experience. Again I see this place as much better potentially but there are decisions the hotel needs to make to bring it to the next level. Maybe this is similar to Spirit Airlines - they make a decision to make the place more affordable for average folk but take away the perks. Don't know. It's really the small things that matter.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-3

    Awesome

    Reviewed by CelyMary R(miami) on Aug 28, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Excellent, the beach is awesome, we passing a wonderful days there. The clerks are so very nice. Definitely this is a recommended place, to enjoy vacations. Also the location is very convenient close to Las Olas Boulevard, malls, and Commercial Boulevard.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Coach roaches and response was call me when you come to Florida again

    Reviewed by dollytravler(Massapequa, New York) on Aug 21, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    My husband myself, sister and brother-in - law have been staying at ocean sky resort for the past 3 years... We love the location, pool and bar... Will not be staying there again! We visited in February 2018... We're given a room that smelled on 2nd floor... Went down to the front desk and they moved us to the 7 th floor... We thought this was a good resolution...well...the second night my sister said she saw a little coach roach in the bathroom at night.. We discounted and thought maybe she was mistaken.. WE had all stayed at ocean sky and never could imagine roaches. Welll..as we were packing up , my sister yells OMG ...there is another roach climbing up the night stand between our beds...my skin crawls as I recount this situation,..went down to check out and advise the manager...his response ...."here is my card call before you stay with us next"...Sorry but won't be staying there anytime soon...maybe a thank you for bringing this to our attention ,we will call out pest control company to address the issue...guess they don't have a pest control company...sad but we can not stay there in the future...don't want to bring roaches home in my luggage from vacation.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX