Playa Costa Verde

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    J

    Best part was the club houses chauffeur

    Reviewed by JD on Feb 18, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2019

    Trip Type: Couple

    First time at ?this hotel won?t recommend it . Really disappointed the services was bad, the food wasn?t great and flavourless , don?t leave any personal valuables out as housekeeping have sticky fingers. Although we tip greatly

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    V

    Everyone is entitled to their own opinions, but in my opinion I was not so happy with the service.

    Reviewed by Vacations on Nov 13, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: November 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    The resort is an hour transfer ride from the Holguin International airport & 15 minutes to Guardalavaca. It has 3 pools (general w/pool bar, sports/activities & kids pools), 1 buffet & 4 a la carte restaurants (reservations required & dress code in effect). We were able to only book 3 a la carte restaurants which included the Cuban, Japanese (very good) & Italian as the 4th was a paid steak a la carte restaurant. The buffet basically stayed the same for the week but knowing that Cuba is not the place to go for fine dining we were able to find things to eat during buffet time. The snack bar wasn?t too bad with a basic breakfast and lunch/diner menu. Two storey bungalows with 8 rooms, rooms were standard with king bed & sofa bed, large bathroom, mini safe, mini fridge (only stocked daily with water), satellite TV with large balconies or Terrace. The beach is a walk from the main resort over a bridge covering a marshy swamp which is not very appealing, but the beach is beautiful with their own beach bar & grill and lots of non-motorized water sport options. Beach water activities were limited as exposed coral reefs beneath the waters surface. The resort has an amazing lobby bar, pool bar & beach bar as well as the disco. Good evening entertainment, some of the staff were very friendly.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    S

    Above and beyond expectations

    Reviewed by Steve on Apr 11, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    Awsome staff, better than average food and the rooms were kept very clean. We loved it and cannot wait to go back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    T

    Not a place to go for peace and quiet and service.

    Reviewed by Tax lady on Feb 22, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    This was not our first time to Cuba, but it was our first time to Play Costa Verde and it will be our last. Pros - room clean, Cari a good housekeeper. Grounds nicely laid out. Beach lovely Cons - no service in buffet, lobby bar, beach. Never felt welcome or wanted. Too many noisy people. No non smoking areas. I could go on, but what is the point? We have always found the Cuban people to be warm and friendly and happy to work at earning tips. We've been home for two weeks and I am still spending money I took to give as tips because there was no one to give the tips to! The last day I was giving gifts to the floor cleaner in the lobby and the bus driver to the airport because I didn't want to take them back with me.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    w

    Had a great vacation!

    Reviewed by winnipeg1680 on Jan 24, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    Just returned from Playa Costa Verde Hotel Jan 24,2015. Had a great time. If you are looking for a 20 something party hotel this is not the place to go. This is a 40 to 50 something hotel which was fine....because we are in our 40's!!! There were some younger couples and families with small children but everyone was well behaved. It blows my mind when I hear people complain about the buffets always being repetitive. There are at least 40 choices and from these 40....yes a lot doessn t change. But.....how many people make 40 dishes at home for dinner or lunch every day! If you take one meat, one vegetable and one potato or starch dish there will be enough choices to last two full weeks. Time and time again you see people load their plates with 10 different dishes....and then leave half behind. People complain about the food not being hot....but what do you expect if you are walking around with your food on the plate for ten minutes deciding what to take.....sheeesh! The buffet was good. Five star.....no.....but good. The Italian was good...the Cuban was good....the Japanese was excellent. Our bed was firm....but softer than many Mexican hotels we have stayed at. The bed spread does need to be changed....old. The rooms were fine...good hot water.....great maid service. It would be nice if the hotel played some music other than the Cuban and Spanish disco music at the pool especially. We were starving for some north American music . Listening to "Rosie Perez" scream into the microphone around the pool really got annoying after awhile. I understand the staff is trying to entertain the guests but is it really necessary to scream into the P.A. system for 2 little kids doing a game. Just a Peave of mine. Staff are extremely friendly and the Spanish Coffees were fantastic. The mixed drinks are not so good however. Very sweet and not made with a lot of crushed ice. Beer and simple drinks are good. Even Wine was ok. I would definitely go back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 8471 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Will not go back.

    Reviewed by Go100058() on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    This was my 11 th time . And I will not be back. Upon arriving the reception staff not the friendly . Rooms need to be upgraded and the bathrooms. Showers. Had some isssues about our room. Day 3 got everything fix. Staff doesn't look happy. The lounge chairs are terrible.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-1

    Very good hotel

    Reviewed by daves1969(london) on Apr 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I have just got back from playa costa Verde with my friends and their 6 year old daughter, we had a great time, the hotel and grounds are very nice, the rooms are slightly dated but I liked it as it gave me a Cuban feel, the pool is very nice to cool down in an the animation team were very good at keeping everyone amused, an the beach is amazing gorgeous white sand and clear blue sea,,the food was very nice in the buffet, but even better in the Japanese restaurant an a very good experience with the show cooking they do for you, the Italian restaurant was ok but the food not so good,the staff in the hotel were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them an glad to help you, I would also like to thank Jesus in the aqua bar he was great fun an a very friendly chap,an I would highly recommend going to his own restaurant we went for my friends wife's birthday he made it a lovely evening with great food and a truly Cuban feel too it, hopefully I will be coming back very soon!!!

    Great Holiday - April 2019

    Reviewed by DanielleLessard(Gatineau, Canada) on Apr 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    What is Hotel Playa Costa Verde? Guests call it ‘Home away from Home’. I go there for relaxation, meet up with old friends and meet new ones. It’s a great feeling when from the moment you arrive at the Resort the staff greet you with a smile and consider you like family. Lately there have been many students in training in the different services, so please instead of calling the staff useless try be patient and understanding. My room was very well located, air/con worked fine, water pressure was good in the shower and mattress was comfortable. I encountered a problem with mosquitoes in my room the first night, did not get much sleep so the next morning I went to report it to Public Relations’ Office (Guess Services). I was greeted by Niurka, she was very polite, professional and efficient. She made a phone call and problem solved, someone went to fumigate my room. I enjoyed the food in the Buffet even if they were still some shortages on certain items. I was lucky enough to have pizza at lunch on two occasions but didn’t get my freshly made donuts in the morning. The A-la-carte Restaurants were good, service was fine. As usual the best one was the Kyoto/Japanese with the very funny and entertaining Chef Leo Tremblay from Lac St-Jean. People from Québec CANADA will understand the meaning. Beach is the spot to spend my days, there were enough loungers and the sea was clear and warm, great for snorkeling. They have a new service at the Beach, there is a type of cabana where you can have a massage and it’s located close to the Beach Bar. By the way, even if you are on holidays don’t forget your manners, be polite and show respect. All in all, I had a wonderful week, made new friends and they enjoyed themselves so much they are hoping to be back next year.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    Relaxing family break

    Reviewed by Tracey S() on Apr 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Having read some reviews before we travelled, I was a little concerned about one that mentioned bed bugs. I want to put that worry out of other travellers minds, definitely no bed bugs! We had an amazing week, a family of four with two teenage children. A few weeks before travelling, I got in touch with the hotel through their Facebook page as I wanted to request adjoining rooms. They were very helpful and said they would do all that they could but did suggest upgrading our room to a suite which would guarantee adjoining rooms. We decided we would treat ourselves and up grade. We only had to up grade our room and received loads of extras included in the up grade price as we booked through the hotel and not our travel company. It cost £240 and was worth every penny to us. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and very clean. As with the rest of the hotel, everything is a bit dated but very charming. The restaurants were all really nice, plenty of choice if a little repetitive. We were a little disappointed with the greediness of some other guests, possibly locals, who filled their plates and wasted lot’s of food. This is obviously not the fault of the hotel but sad to see. Birds are a bit of a problem in the restaurant but the hotel do all they can to stop the problem. We didn’t really get involved with the entertainment but did see an amazing water ballet performance, a must see! All in all, we had a fabulous time and would definitely recommend this hotel.

    Tired resort, lovely beach

    Reviewed by Car0lin0(Swindon) on Apr 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We are a family of two adults and two kids (9 and 6) who visited for a week in April, looking a for a relaxing beach holiday. Things we liked: the beach was lovely with lots of shade and some good snorkelling albeit quite a way offshore; there were lots of animals about - crabs, lizards, toads, birds of prey, kittens etc; restaurant staff were friendly and the minidisco staff had boundless energy - bye bye super kids! I liked the random pop-up stuff like a guy opening coconuts and the churros and Buck’s Fizz at breakfast one day. Not so keen on: the first room we were given had a leaky ceiling and resulting puddle of water that my daughter slipped over in, which was also full of mosquitoes, not acceptable; wasted guests being hauled out of pool and collapsing on the floor on Saturday afternoon; hotel is a bit stuck out in the countryside. Things I wish I’d known at the start of the week: the nicest part of the reef is to the left of the hotel and way offshore requiring confident swimming or a pedal boat to get out there; in April the mornings are calm and the wind picks up throughout the day meaning that water sports are generally finished by 3pm whether you’ve booked them or not; the open top bus to Guardalavaca is super windy, takes ages, and only goes to a little market selling the same trinkets as the stalls in the hotel; the hotel pool and beach bars use lots of wasteful small plastic cups so we should have brought some reusable cups like the Canadians do. Overall, hotel is a bit tired and could use a renovation but it is on a lovely beach, and we had a nice holiday in the sun.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX