Paradisus Rio de Oro

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    E

    We enjoyed our stay with you and cant wait to be back at your truly beautiful resort.

    Reviewed by Ernie and Julia on Jan 26, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    HELLO My husband and I have just come back from staying a week with you. Unfortunately I wasn't well and we had a lot of rain but that didn't stop us from enjoying the warm hospitality and care given to us by all your staff and management. We loved everything from the food choice, rooms and above all the great many sitting areas you had under cover. The landscaping and gardens were beautiful. We were picked up many times by one of your buggies to take us to lobby or back to our room, which helped us enormously. In fact we cant fault anything and today booked two more weeks at the end of September through to October 15 of this year. So will look forward to seeing you all again. Ernie and Julia

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6228 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    World Class Hotel

    Reviewed by JohnRG(Bangor, Pennsylvania) on Jul 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My wife and i spent a few days at the Paradisus Rio de Oro, all i can say is wow, this was without a doubt one of the finest hotels we ever stayed at. Our suite was out of this world, wonderful staff and amenities. Wish we could return

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Loved it!

    Reviewed by Kate R() on Jul 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My Husband and I visited May 2019. We stayed in a Junior suite Room 4223. It was ground floor near the main resort and restaurants, we were very happy with the room, A real treat. Our coffee machine was broken and they immediately replaced it. We would recommend that you don't need to go Royal to have an amazing time. The whole resort is so spacious and not at all crowded. Overall the resort is fantastic. There are some areas that need a bit of maintenance. In particular if you walk along sea front behind the accommodations. Something needs doing about the excess of Mosquitos at the Cuban Restaurant as well, I recommend you wear insect repellant if you eat there. The Staff here are the very best. So very welcoming. They can't do enough for you. Special shout outs to Osmany and Lorenzo at the Pool Bar. Also I highly recommend the special meals they do here. We did both. One at Beach Restaurant and one overhaning the sea at a table all on your own, Our Waiter at both was Dixan. He is a great waiter and a lovely man. It was a very special holiday. We want to revisit.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Amazing staff

    Reviewed by Vicki K(London, United Kingdom) on Jul 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Me and my partner went to Paradisus Rio de Oro for his 30th. Couldn’t have been any better. The location is perfect, near the beach and tucked away. The buffet was absolutely great (if they do the potato croquets, make sure you have plenty as these were definitely what I loved the most) I wouldn’t bother with the Royal service. The service in the main area is absolutely great and we had one meal at the royal service and it wasn’t as good, the portions were small and the staff seemed rather rushed and as if they wanted us to leave, although it was a beautiful view from up there. Still wouldn’t pay the monies again if I was given an option. The other free restaurants were amazing, we preferred the Mediterranean menu the most! When we weren’t away on excursions we spent a lot of our time in the pool where we met the fantastic member of staff Lorenzo. He was top quality and he worked really hard to keep everyone topped up with drinks and a good mood. Only thing I could recommend is to bring your own cup that keeps cold as these are plastic and quite small so we went veeery often for refills. They had a bar just above the pool where you could play a lot of food (and they had the best tuna salad ever) and there was a gentleman there who served us, he never let the glass go empty before he came with another. Unfortunately I cannot remember his name. The lobby bar was were we spent our time before and after dinner with our newly found friend Yander who deserves all credit possible. He was the highlight of that place and he was off for 1 day before we left and you could tell. The rest of the lobby staff was polite but a bit slower, whilst Yander did table service even if he didn’t have to. He was also the person we told it was my partners birthday so he did great arrangements in the restaurant we ate in and it really felt like special treatment, but for everyone! We went to the spa one day which I could recommend for anyone! The snorkelling there was absolutely fantastic, massage was great and we sat in the jacuzzi on top floor overlooking the sea. I’d also recommend to bring a tips-budget for staff. Cuba has a big tips-culture, and even though a lot is cheap/free on the hotel, sometimes we felt rude if we forgot. Also, the water sports through the hotel are free but you “pay” in tips. (Plus it’s always so nice to make other people so happy)

    A hot trip...

    Reviewed by Barbara B(Bolton, Canada) on Jul 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Yes, the weather was very hot and humid! …but that is Cuba in the Summer. We had another super visit to Rio de Oro Paradisus (Holguin) experiencing the great service and friendliness of all the staff and management. They really work hard to make you comfortable and happy. Many thanks to Pablo and Roger (among so many others) for all the extra things they helped us with in our two-week stay. The occupancy rate is quite low at this time of year but they still provide everything you want or need. Many thanks to all the artisans that come into the resort. There is always a great variety by many talented people. The musical talent is exceptional. We especially enjoyed many laughs with Marco at the piano and Sandra singing and playing guitar. Some of the other entertainment was really too loud so we had to find a quieter place so we could talk and visit. We will definitely be a “Returner”.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Returned and still did not disappoint!

    Reviewed by vonormrod(Birmingham, United Kingdom) on Jul 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Love the hotel and all the staff are so friendly and helpful ! Thank you to the lady on reception when requested an upper floor at the start of the holiday and it was great to see the staff were still without exception friendly and helpful! But special mentions to Alien at the lobby bar Lorenzo at the pool bar ! All the staff at the pool bar and beach restaurants ( with the extra chilli sauce made for hubby ) Miguel who served us at el patio and the buffet some nights. This is just to name a few. Food was great and no issues with the heat of it. El patio was amazing but even though booked on arrival could Not get in to the ala carte till the second week Only slight downside was the Cuban restaurant which left us a little disappointed and feeling that we had better service at the buffet. Our only other niggle was the pool was being cleaned but sometimes would leave the equipment in the pool and the cleaning was done quite late while people were using the pool! Entertainment in the evening worked best when they were closer to bar area as the hotel was a little quieter I make the comments only for the hotel to improve - we will be going back next year so it did not put us off ! The only reason did not give the full 5 star is because of reasons stated - unfortunately could not give 4.5 :)

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX